Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Tiritiri Matangi Island

Tiritiri Matangi Island is an open wildlife sanctuary devoted to the protection of local endangered species. The island is tightly controlled to keep out predators such as cats and mice, which hunt fragile bird species, including the tiny kiwi ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 62 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mnsweeps

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The trip to Tiri was awesome. I just got the tickets from Viator as I had a 10 off coupon. You can purchase them directly from 360 Discovery for same price..Basically Viator purchase doesn't add any value to purchase itself unless you have a coupon.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We really enjoy birding, but we enjoyed the hiking as much as the birding on this trip. The ferry ride to the Island was also very enjoyable, with great views of Aukland.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Kalpana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was the highlight of my visit! I was struck by the sheer dedication of the volunteers who have brought the flora and Fauna of this island back. We saw the pictures of the barren landscape in 1984! We heard and saw so many of the native birds listed as living on the island.
Bring a good camera along! Every visitor to New Zealand should see this lovely little paradise!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

June M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was wonderful to see the birds up so close and to have the tour guide explain a great deal about the history of the island and the flora and fauna. Not overly touristy, so that was refreshing.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Dawn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a fantastic trip from leaving the quay side on the ferry. The skipper of the boat was brilliant provided commentary whilst going along the coast and coming in to dock. Our guide Gill was amazing! the guided walk should have been 1hr 30mins, however, she spent about 3 hours with us as we walked from the beach to the top of the hill to the lighthouse. She pointed out birds, told us which birds we could hear and showed us some penguin nesting boxes one of which actually had a penguin in it. Be sure to take a packed lunch in a backpack because you do not get back to Auckland until about 5pm. Although complimentary tea and coffee are provided when you get to the lighthouse and visitor centre and there is a shop here too, proceeds go directly to the upkeep of the island. Loved our day there thank you again Gill.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

zon05454

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was absolutely beautiful seeing the birds! The guide was very knowledgable. It was somewhat difficult to walk the steep inclines with my bad knees but the views were spectacular!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Dandre D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The volunteers have done an amazing job of preserving this island, and our volunteer tour guide was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Saw birds we had never seen before. REally great trip for eco-conscious travelers, bird watchers, hikers, just plain fun seekers!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

djb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you like bird watching this is a great place to go. We took the guided walk for the first part. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the wildlife and plants. We saw some rare birds and had a super day. I would recommend buying the map of the island with the trails on it. Also keep track of your time to get back to the ferry.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Monica H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing! Did the guided walk and it was spectacular.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Shelley A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous day out, great cruise and very informative tour of Tiritiri Matangi. Our volunteer guide Sahrah was very knowledgeable and a excellent birder. We saw kereru, takahe, tui, bell birds, quail, kokao , saddlebacks and stich birds. We couldn't have asked for more. The free teas and coffees were a nice surprise too.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

crossy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Despite a wet morning we had a comfortable trip on the ferry to this stunning island! We were all divided up into groups those of us who opted for the guided walk. Jane, my guide, was very informative about the various birds who call Tiri Tiri Matangi their home. She is most passionate and obviously loves the Island. it was fascinating to discover which trees which are most important to certain birds. After this very interesting tour,we were invited to partake in complimentary tea/coffee in the Visitors' Centre, which was most appreciated. The volunteers are to be congratulated for giving of their time to staff the Visitors' Centre, the Shop and the guiding. After enjoying my tea and lunch bring your own, we were encouraged to find our way back to the Wharf via an alternative track. I certainly recommend this fascinating Island as a peaceful, rejuvenating jewel.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Heidi J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was an amazing day. The weather was perfect, the ferry trip pleasant and the guided tour very informative and informal. We got to see nearly all of the birds that can be seen on Tiritiri Matangi as well as a few others. I would recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys leisurely bushwalks, birdwatching and the amazing nature of New Zealand

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A fantastic nature trip on ferry to TIRI, the walk with a knowledgable volunteer guide very good value.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Robin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The boat return boat trip was great. The staff on board were very friendly and the island guides were most informative. The island is a must for everyone interested in nature and the environment.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Lyndall S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a great effort has been put in to rehabilitate this island. Wonderful day out and the guided tour just added to it. Bit rough on the ferry both ways. Don't forget your seasick pills, lunch or water. Only tea and coffee available at the top of the island.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

billgould1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very knowledgeable guide took a small group of 8 people under his wing pun intended and we took a 2-3 hour walk where he identified and pointed out almost all the varieties of birds on Tiritiri Matangi Island. The tour was not rushed and time was also spend identifying key plants and trees. The ferry ride over and back was also nice, although there seemed to be more people than seats.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Gregory B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour, make sure your take the guided tour but don't do the long walk because you won't have a lot of time left before going back to the boat.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Gillian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely magnificent experience great work from the friendly volunteers and Department of Conservation workers.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was an outstanding adventure. Being avid birdwatchers we tried to book this tour during our last visit to Auckland, but it was fully booked. This time I booked it on line and we had a great time. Jane, our volunteer guide was amongst the best we have ever had. If you like birds, plants or trees, this is the tour for you.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Beverly K R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabulous trip. So well-organized and all by volunteers. We were separated into small groups for the guided walk. Our hour walk stretched to almost three because there was so much to see. And our guide was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable. And the birds--oh, the birds--were up close and personal. A special trip.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Rachel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabulous! This is mostly run by volunteers so most of the ticket cost goes to keeping the island as a conservation. Bring an iPod or something for the ferry. A nice bird watching walk!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Susan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent, if you live in Auckland you should really come here at least once. The island is beautiful, lots of birds and birdsong. We did the guided tour and our guide was really informative. Great gift shop, managed to do a little shopping. If you are into photography this is a great spot, wonderful views. Geocaches too! Ferry excellent.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Paul O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Tiritiri is a must do when in Auckland. Our guide was very informative and helpful in identifying the numerous birds we saw while hiking around the island. All in all it was a marvelous time and money well spent.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message