Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Waiheke Island

Aucklanders swarm to Waiheke Island in summer to make the most of its stunning beaches, which are some of the safest and cleanest in the world for swimming and water sports like sea kayaking and snorkeling. Some of the best beaches include Palm ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 245 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Fabulous day trip, a bit of everything Ziplining, 3 Vineyards and an Olive grove then stayed in the town and ate at the Oyster shack and got a later ferry back to Auckland. Very good trip would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

tayoc2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent tour with beautiful scenery. Tour director, Glenn, very informative and good humour. Wines very good, Mudbrick Wines being the most informative. A very pleasant day.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Wine Tasting Tour from Auckland

Madonna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Fantastic day!! Zip lining was heaps of fun. Gasita Miro Winery was my favourite the views spectacular. Take the option to stay longer and catch a later boat have dinner at one of the many restaurants.

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

Sylvia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a very fun and fully packed adventure! Lots of good wine was consumed. The views from the wineries were spectacular! Only wish we could have spent a little more time at each winery.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Miriam V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Love this tour! Nice and funny bus driver, no rush, good organised, delicious lunch under olive trees and very good wines at each of the three vineyards. I would do this tour again!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

cmberk

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Good tour visiting wineries. Only problem was that they didn't stay on schedule so we had to skip the third winery on the tour so we could catch to the ferry to the mainland in order to return to our cruise ship on time.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Sheldeen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Educational, delicious and varied in the type of vineyards. A wonderful tour.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Katie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

So much fun! This was my first zip-line experience and I was a bit nervous, but was put at ease immediately upon meeting our guides. They were kind, professional and informative! I felt very safe the entire time. The views were gorgeous and the forest walks between zip lines were very cool, as well. Definitely a highlight of our Auckland trip!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Mario Augusto Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fun and Safe, Very Professional!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Judy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was so much fun. I am close to 70 years old, have had multiple joint replacements, and was afraid it would be too much for me but it was great . The staff there was very helpful and patient and made it a once in a lifetime experience

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Chelsea B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The beautiful scenery of Waiheke island was definitely a highlight!! The tour was run very well, with an informative local guide/bus driver. The wineries that we stopped at had stunning surroundings and great wine. The ease of not having to research where to go or having to select a designated driver makes the tour well worth it!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Robert K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had such a wonderful day on Waiheke Island. Our guide was exceptional, the island is lovely, the wine tasting so much fun and delicious. This is a must do when you are in Auckland..

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Leona C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was so much fun! Our guide, Jocelyn, was amazing! The 3 vineyards were interesting although you should know that there is a very steep climb at Mudbrick you can stay below but then you miss out on tasting the second wine. Lunch at Stoney Ridge was a nice quiche and allowed some time to get to know some of our fellow tour members. One thing to note before you go - at the ferry get in line where there is a flag for tour groups rather than the general boarding line.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Jacqueline B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great experience! Three different zip-lines and the wine was phenomenal. We had a great group and the guides at each location were knowledgeable.

In Stony Bridge, Jessie, was absolutely hilarious and extremely passionate. She made the experience that much more enjoyable.

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

mitchell s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely fantastic! One of the most beautiful islands in the world!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Jacinta M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing to say the least...Our tour guide was a lovely lady also.. The vineyards are amazing .. Cannot recommend this trip enough :

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Rose M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent way to tour Waiheke and learn about local food and wine. Top marks.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Michael O

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The ziplining was great, although my experience in Queenstown was better could go upside down there!.
The wine tasting tour was a lot of fun although more wine could've been served!
Having the all day bus ticket was awesome. A group of us headed to the beach before heading back to the mainland.
Shout out to Jake, one of the ziplining guys. You're a good bloke Jake

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

David R

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Only so so. The driver was good but it was a big bus full of people - a smaller group would be better. For some reason we were always running late even though we started on time. wineries only ok. lunch only so so. Olive farm though was excellent. Learnt a lot there. The return ferry line up and timetable was very badly organised - a long wait and a scrum to get on and get a seat. having said that - it would be hard to get around to the wineries on the island by public transport.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Mary d

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Very organized operators. Nice weather, beautiful vineyards. Our guide seemed good, but we realized that there was some misinformation as she told us a particular store was duty free. We went to that store and bought things, and then the cashier told us that there store was not duty free and that there was no such duty free stores on the island.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Herricklg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our zipline trip was absolutely fabulous! Our driver from the ferry was fun and friendly and our two guides on the zip line were professional yet fun. The scenes were amazing as you went over the tree tops. Breathtaking views. The walk back was so beautiful and you felt like you were miles and miles from anywhere except the jungle! The wine tastings and lunch were also fun. We tasted amazing wines and the lunch was delicious! I would highly recommend this adventure!

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

SYLVIA G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed, had a wonderful day, the tour itself was enough, some stayed longer to visit the township but alot caught ferry back after last winery. A great day.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Julie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

What at wonderful trip. Scenery amazing, wineries and lunch beautiful, and bus driver fantastic. A good time was had by all and I would say this is a not to be missed trip when visiting Auckland and surrounds. This trip was certainly the highlight of our time in the North Island of New Zealand.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

jsburnett82

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Totally enjoyed this. Very nice experience.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Steven H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

A really good tour but would have got much more out of this if the guidance from Viator had been a lot better. All it says is be ready 20 minutes prior to departure time pier 2 - 1pm start. What it should have said was go to the Fullers ticket booth on pier 2, swap your voucher for boat/bus and tour tickets then get the 1pm boat to Waiheke. You meet your tour guide and transport on Waiheke Island and not at Auckland Pier 2. We would have got a lot more out of this tour had we known this - good job we asked at the ticket booth or we would have missed the tour - and we wouldn't have been the only ones. We could have caught a much earlier ferry to Waiheke and used the included bus pass to tour the island and town prior to meeting the guide at the ferry terminal. We visited 3 wineries - Mudbrick, Cable Bay and Te Whau Vineyards. Wine was excellent, food/snacks at Cable Bay was nice but in short supply for the number on the tour cheese and crackers. The guide Glen was very knowledgeable with a wry sense of humour. A really pleasant afternoon that could have been a great day out.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Wine Tasting Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message