Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Waiheke Island

Aucklanders swarm to Waiheke Island in summer to make the most of its stunning beaches, which are some of the safest and cleanest in the world for swimming and water sports like sea kayaking and snorkeling. Some of the best beaches include Palm ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 322 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sheldeen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Educational, delicious and varied in the type of vineyards. A wonderful tour.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Katie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

So much fun! This was my first zip-line experience and I was a bit nervous, but was put at ease immediately upon meeting our guides. They were kind, professional and informative! I felt very safe the entire time. The views were gorgeous and the forest walks between zip lines were very cool, as well. Definitely a highlight of our Auckland trip!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Iris B. United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Definitely recommended. We got to go on a private tour bus after our beautiful boat ride to the island. The tour was very informative and entertaining. We got to see most of the island and had time to take pictures.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Mario Augusto Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fun and Safe, Very Professional!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Judy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was so much fun. I am close to 70 years old, have had multiple joint replacements, and was afraid it would be too much for me but it was great . The staff there was very helpful and patient and made it a once in a lifetime experience

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Chelsea B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The beautiful scenery of Waiheke island was definitely a highlight!! The tour was run very well, with an informative local guide/bus driver. The wineries that we stopped at had stunning surroundings and great wine. The ease of not having to research where to go or having to select a designated driver makes the tour well worth it!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Robert K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had such a wonderful day on Waiheke Island. Our guide was exceptional, the island is lovely, the wine tasting so much fun and delicious. This is a must do when you are in Auckland..

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

David R

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Only so so. The driver was good but it was a big bus full of people - a smaller group would be better. For some reason we were always running late even though we started on time. wineries only ok. lunch only so so. Olive farm though was excellent. Learnt a lot there. The return ferry line up and timetable was very badly organised - a long wait and a scrum to get on and get a seat. having said that - it would be hard to get around to the wineries on the island by public transport.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Mary d

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Very organized operators. Nice weather, beautiful vineyards. Our guide seemed good, but we realized that there was some misinformation as she told us a particular store was duty free. We went to that store and bought things, and then the cashier told us that there store was not duty free and that there was no such duty free stores on the island.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Herricklg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our zipline trip was absolutely fabulous! Our driver from the ferry was fun and friendly and our two guides on the zip line were professional yet fun. The scenes were amazing as you went over the tree tops. Breathtaking views. The walk back was so beautiful and you felt like you were miles and miles from anywhere except the jungle! The wine tastings and lunch were also fun. We tasted amazing wines and the lunch was delicious! I would highly recommend this adventure!

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

Linda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tour was exactly as describe. The ferry ride over was beautiful. Our tour guide was friendly, knowledgeable, and funny. The island was beyond our expectations. We used the all day bus pass to visit one of the towns we saw on the tour. The beaches are beautiful and so is the scenery. So glad we did this tour.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

SYLVIA G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed, had a wonderful day, the tour itself was enough, some stayed longer to visit the township but alot caught ferry back after last winery. A great day.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Julie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

What at wonderful trip. Scenery amazing, wineries and lunch beautiful, and bus driver fantastic. A good time was had by all and I would say this is a not to be missed trip when visiting Auckland and surrounds. This trip was certainly the highlight of our time in the North Island of New Zealand.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

jsburnett82

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Totally enjoyed this. Very nice experience.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Malou Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Everything is on time. The tour driver is very jolly and gave us lots of information. The island is great!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Steven H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

A really good tour but would have got much more out of this if the guidance from Viator had been a lot better. All it says is be ready 20 minutes prior to departure time pier 2 - 1pm start. What it should have said was go to the Fullers ticket booth on pier 2, swap your voucher for boat/bus and tour tickets then get the 1pm boat to Waiheke. You meet your tour guide and transport on Waiheke Island and not at Auckland Pier 2. We would have got a lot more out of this tour had we known this - good job we asked at the ticket booth or we would have missed the tour - and we wouldn't have been the only ones. We could have caught a much earlier ferry to Waiheke and used the included bus pass to tour the island and town prior to meeting the guide at the ferry terminal. We visited 3 wineries - Mudbrick, Cable Bay and Te Whau Vineyards. Wine was excellent, food/snacks at Cable Bay was nice but in short supply for the number on the tour cheese and crackers. The guide Glen was very knowledgeable with a wry sense of humour. A really pleasant afternoon that could have been a great day out.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Wine Tasting Tour from Auckland

Katherine B K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour! Loved all the vineyards that we stopped at as well as the olive grove. The lunch was very good, and the views from one of the wineries were fantastic! Josselyn, our guide/bus driver was terrific and we thoroughly enjoyed this day!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

patrickjosephmcgowan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great - well planned out day. We felt like we had more than enough time at each stop.

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

qsnipe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a beautiful Island! The tour was very informative and very flexible. Being able to go from one end of the island to the other, find out all about the history and some other tasty insights, you can get off at the end and take your time coming back the way you came using the local transportation as many times as you like. I'd definitely lower some of the prices of food and other items on the island if I were in charge but I guess the economy warrants it.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Pbaileyhb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a fabulous time on this tour. Mudbrick Vineyard was amazing. This is one of the most beautiful vineyards I've ever seen. Prepare to hick to the top of the property for an amazing view of the whole island. Oh, and the wine was good too! We also went to a winery called Stonyridge. That's where we had lunch. It was delicious! One of our stops was to an olive tasting. It was so good that we had to bring some home. What really helped make this a wonderful trip was tour guide. She was fabulous!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Tess H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The wine tasting was fantastic! We had Evelyn as tour guide for the day and she was adorable. The wines and the olive oil from the four places we went to were great, regretted now buying more!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Darline Anello D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Zip line was smaller then I had expected but still a lot of fun. The wine tour was Fabulous the views from Waiheke were breath taking. The wine was great as well.
Can't wait to revisit!

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

Jim H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Fun day out, the guides and scenery were excellent

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Andrew T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Well organized, extremely safe. Easy hike, and great views/guides. Wine tasting was a bit rushed at each stop, and the first felt very tourist oriented we sat for a quick meal, a helicopter landed with another tour, and a bus was arriving as we departed. Still an amazing wine tour, especially for the value. We also were able to see a brewery and an olive farm/olive oil factory which was great.

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message