Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Waitemata Harbour

Waitmata Harbor, often referred to as Auckland Harbor, is one of two beautiful harbors surrounding Auckland. Its name refers to 'obsidian glass' in Maori language and its spectacular waters are said to sparkle like the dark volcanic glass that ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 264 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Adrianna G B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Amazing! Crew was great enjoyed the harbor especially when it got dark and Auckland was light up. Beautiful!

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

Wendy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great cruise, very different and informative. Wonderful experience

Doing what: Maori Cultural Experience: Waka Sailing on Waitemata Harbour

Janet E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Lovely evening sailing in the Harbour. Very knowledgable crew and tasty dinner!

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

D C S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very professional and great fun. Superb views of Auckland.

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Coffee Cruise

jjdk62

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

This day was not what was expected, again we were rushed 1/2 hour late from start time then we were very busy picking up people and dropping them off at their connecting tours more than we were being taken on a sight seeing mission. The University Tour is a better name for this tour, our morning tea stop was so short barely had time to drink the coffee we ordered. One stop Port side, which let us stretch our legs for what? - there was nothing to really see there. Then off we went again for a whirlwind bus trip, dropping off people to their next connecting tour.....

Doing what: Auckland Discovery City Tour

andrew a Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

First time in a jet boat and had a complete ball

Doing what: Jet Boat Ride on Waitemata Harbour

Adrian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Crew were great in showing off the boat - unfortunately not too much wind which can't be helped but were given a voucher to use again. Would definitely do again

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

Doug E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Staff did an outstanding job. I met some great people!

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

jstirn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very informative and fun, too !

Doing what: Maori Cultural Experience: Waka Sailing on Waitemata Harbour

Judith S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The sailing experience was wonderful! We had great wind, and with reefed main we were doing 16-18 knots easily, heeled over, water whipping over the leeward toeboard! The crew was great fun, very competent, and sociable. I got to take the helm for 15 minutes which was a thrill, and the boat was very responsive. All in all a fabulous sail. My one criticism is that, while technically Viator does not make any false claims, one gets the impression that you are going to be sailing, if not the winning NZ America's Cup boat, at least a NZ boat. It turns out the boat we sailed was actually Japan's entry, and was not a winner. This took a bit of the shine off the experience. Maybe they should make it clear before someone signs up, what boat he/she will be on.

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

Manmeet

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

I am rating this tour 3 Star only because I have done this in Queenstown and the experience is totally different as we go in between rock formations whereas this is an open sea. This was quite nice as well if you like a feel of adrenaline rush with a very wet outcome.

Doing what: Jet Boat Ride on Waitemata Harbour

May

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Amazing cruise. Food is good.

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

Jim M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Don't think just get on it and love every second

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

Marilynne S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

the atmosphere was so so friendly. the crew were great. even in the rain it was great. the sun came out as we boarded which made the trip more enjoyable. the meal is so so but who cared. the people we met on the boat made the trip for us

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

tpftantris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Had a wonderful time and loved it, perfect start to my 2.5 days of vacation time in Auckland. I was going alone and was a bit unsure whether that was going to be awkward or not and it was fine.. would be more fun eating with someone. But a great time sailing and interesting information about boats, harbor and sailing as well as Auckland!

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

Jacqueline P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a great time on the boat. The crew was very knowledgeable, enthusiastic and helpful. A great way to see Auckland's Waitemata Harbor. Loved the rain gear wished we could have been out there longer! Highly recommended would do it again!
Jackie P.

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

bcdwyer5066

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was an amazing trip. The crew was friendly and had many hours of experience. Wish the trip had been longer.

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

carpecactus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really great, love that it is a small group tour, only issue was the weather, which obviously is out of our control, still had a great time and got to steer the boat!

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

Marilyn R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The crew were so good a little bit like comedy act, really made us laugh. It was great to be able to take over the controls of the boat. The food was very good considering the small area the crew had to work in

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

Jennifer D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Short sail but fun and pleasant. Satisfactory food. Dinner ate into the sailing time and the location for dinner was a bit weird tied up across a mooring chanel.

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

tonya h

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. Great tour guide.

Doing what: Auckland Discovery City Tour

Bill

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

VERY BAD. DINNERS WERE SERVED COLD AND DID NOT TASTE WELL AT ALL. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS TRIP TO ANYONE. NOT MUCH WIND, MOTERED MOST OF THE WAY FOR A SAIL BOAT. TERRIBLE

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

dave

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

very nice. Don't expect gourmet food, but its a nice ride.

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message