The Waitomo Caves offer an exciting underworld experience in New Zealand. There are a variety of activities to partake in and the fascinating cave system with its geological wonders and fantastic creatures to explore. Climb through the long ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 209 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very beautiful place. Amazing to learn not only about the glow worms but also the history of the caves. Really cool to see the stalagmites that have formed over years and years. Seeing the glow worms is so magical. It's like looking up into space and seeing bright blue stars everywhere. Absolutely no photos allowed inside because it will scare the worms then their lights will go out for sometimes days. Thought the actual boat tour would be longer though, but it just takes you in a circle in one small cave where there's a huge cluster of worms. Still amazing to see, and the surrounding forest is beautiful as well.

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Caves Discovery Tour from Auckland

Teresa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Hobbiton is the most charming place on earth! Delicious lunch, too! Really enjoyed the Waitomo Caves part of the tour as well!! The only downer was our grouchy tour guide/driver, Brian. He even made one woman cry!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

mjfecke

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing tour and experience! The guides made us feel so welcome and really made the experience a blast. So much fun jumping and climbing around the caves! Such beautiful sights and plenty of mesmerizing glow worms all along the way. Soup and bagels at the end were perfect to warm us up

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

Hannah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

AMAZING tour!!!!! Both the glow worms and Hobbiton were highlights of my New Zealand trip. Would HIGHLY recommend to anyone and everyone!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Amelia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was above and beyond! Damion, the driver, provided detailed and interesting commentary throughout the drive. He touched on Maori/early settler conflicts, culture and government, native flora and fauna, and a bit about kiwi way of life. He was fantastic! And, the glow worm caves and hobbiton set were each magical in their own way :

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

susan h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour! I was concerned it would be too long, but the time flew by. The visit to the caves was fabulous. The caves were beautiful and the glowworms breathtaking. I've been to other glowworm caves, but this was by far the best. The visit to the agrodome was fun. We watched a sheep shearing and a herding demo by the sheep dog. We also got to feed the sheep. Next was a visit to a Maori village,where we saw a very good show and then onto the geysers, which were at the peak of their eruptions. Along the way we passed beautiful landscapes.

Our guide was very friendly, informative and knowledgeable. He was able to field all the questions hurled at him. The bus was quite comfortable, with WiFi, and even the box lunch provided I chose the chicken and snacks were delicious.

While this tour is a little pricey, you really do get your money's worth. I'd strongly recommend it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Kevin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great Trip, Ran Very Smoothly.

one minor problem which was very quickly resolved thank you Jessica

glow worms are amazing

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Jennifer V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our day trip to Rotorua from Auckland was great. Our 4 year old son loved the bus tour and the glow worms. Pick up was smooth and stressfree. Kenny our driver made the trip fun and interesting.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Saori S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Amazing Waitomo Glowworm experience. Awesome diver - she was very knowledgeable, safe, friendly diver!! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rotorua to Auckland via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour

Audrey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was great! Only complaint is that we were informed the tour began at 7am and to be at the pickup location hotel 10 mins prior to this time. We were in the lobby of our hotel by 6:30am. We were then informed by the receptionist of our hotel that the bus came at 6:15am for us and left because we were not there. We had to quickly rush to the pick-up location in the city and made it there by 6:45am. I recommend the tour company emails everyone the day before to confirm pick up time. We had no clue! Anyway, once we got on the bus all was good. Our tour guide Marty was full of energy and ready for the day ahead. You could tell how much he loves Auckland and shared his knowledge with us on the bus ride to Hobbiton. Hobbiton was amazing! My friend and I could not stopping talking about it for the whole day. We enjoyed a delicious all-included lunch at Hobbiton and a nice glass of beer once the tour finished. We then hopped back on the bus to the Waitomo caves. This was also a great experience! Marty also stopped a few of his favorite local places on the way back to the city for New Zealand ice cream. Our tour was fantastic. I really have no complaints. I give Marty 5 stars for being a great tour guide, he really made this experience great for us. I also loved the small tour group size of 5 people as it was more personal and was not rushed at all. Highly recommend this! I will be back.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Malou Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour is the highlight of our New Zealand trip. Starting off with the hotel pickup, we were picked up on time based on the first email they sent. The driver/tour guide of our whole day trip I forgot his name is very informative, kind and approachable. He gave us lots of information while we were on the coach bus. My sisters and I were amazed when we learned that he is just on the job for 2 weeks but knows a lot of information.
The Hobbiton location is really a very nice tourist spot. The place is really taken cared of and has amazing views. We had a lot of pictures and the people who saw our pictures in social media were delighted to see them and I had some friends who asked me about the place and they also want to visit NZ too in the future.
The Glowworm cave is also an amazing area and who could've imagined that there could be creatures in a cave which glow like stars. During our boat ride, we were all in awe watching the thousand glow worms which look like stars at night.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

ccwa29 Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour! We enjoyed everything! Tour guide/bus driver was very friendly and informative. Seats on the coach bus was very comfy. Buffet lunch was very good! The hobbiton tour was alot fun. We wished the boat ride for the glowworm caves were longer but still very cool experience! No photo taking inside the caves tho! Book this tour is you want to do both attractions in one day!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a complete package and worth the day. First, Damian, our driver, was excellent. He provided an excellent presentation of the culture and politics of New Zealand. Background you probably will never get on a tour and made it all the better. He also gave a complete background history of the Hobbit area from start to the present, more than we were provided by the tour guide at the location she was excellent too, more later. The Hobbiton set was magical, being a long fan of the adventures of the Hobbits. Our guide was excellent, filling in on the background and set features that Damián missed. The complementary Hobbit beer, Cider, or Ginger beer was excellent as was the buffet lunch provided. On to the Caves, a short but excellent tour showing the cavers and glow worms that hang from the ceiling we were told they weren't worms but sounded better than glow roaches :-.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

ROY J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Not many things can make you go WOW, but the glow worms in the Waitomo caves sure did. Amazing, great tour.
Roy and allana, Geraldton WA

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Jaymi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This trip was great. It was a very long day, but our coach driver, Rachael, was excellent. I was traveling by myself and highly recommend it for solo travelers. It takes you to parts of the north island you otherwise wouldn't see especially if you're like me and are terrified of driving on the correct side of the road, and to know that your lunch and snacks are included with the price is worth it. If you are staying at a central hotel in Auckland, they will even pick you up the morning of just make sure you arrange for it ahead of time!. The glow worm cave was out of this world. Too bad you can't take pictures, but I know the photos would do it no justice. I really recommend this tour!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

eddie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Out of this world experience at Waitomo Cave!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Mitche227

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Love the glowworm cave. Amazing - you travel inside a boat and see the cave lit up by the glowworms. It was a very convenient way to see sights while traveling to our next New Zealand destination - Rotorua

Doing what: Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour

ash.oliver1289

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Hobbiton was a lot of fun and seeing the glow-worms in the Waitomo Caves was definitely something I'll never forget. You also get to see a lot of the surrounding areas and countryside while you are driving to and from the sights.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Erika L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Worth Every penny!
We went on a drive through the beautiful landscape of New Zealand's North Island, with our bus driver as our tour guide. He was so funny and informative. Hobbiton was absolutely a sight to see. The lunch buffet was alright, I'm a bit of a food snob so I'm not the best person to talk about that. And the Waitomo caves were indescribable, something you have to see in your life time! 100 worth it, Don't do Hobbiton without going to see the Waitomo Caves!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Wayne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fantastic day trip and included even more than advertised. The driver was very knowledgeable about Auckland and pointed out lots of interesting sights along the way. The Agrodome farm stop was lots of fun, where we got to feed lambs and sheep right out in the field. The glowworm cave is spectacular. Rotorua is amazing with the geyser and mudpools. Only lunch was mentioned in the tour description, but we were given fruit when we started in the morning, plus a lunch box, plus another sandwich and water later for the ride home. Very nicely done and a great way to see these beautiful sights.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Leolani K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Literally an all day tour but what a wonderful experience. Favorites for us were Waitomo Caves and Te Puia especially because of the Maori culture experiences. A snack is provided in the morning cut fruit and a boxed lunch sandwich, fruit, juice box and yogurt both of which was more than sufficient. This was a large group tour and some of which there were guests who did not speak English. All in all a fabulous tour and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Elizabeth J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The best part of this varied tour day was going to the Agrodome where we watched a sheep being shorn, and a working sheep dog herd the flock. The glowworm cave was interesting, but not as grand as all the hype about it. The thermal areas were mini versions of Yellowstone. The show the Maori people put on gave an endearing look into their history and culture.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Alison J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the highlights of the trip thankfully as it was quite expensive!. There was some confusion in the morning. Our tickets said 7:30am so we checked out from our accommodation early with our toddler and rushed to the bus stop 20 minute walk as our accommodation wasn't on their list with a broken suitcase thanks Jetstar only to discover that for some reason the tour was at 8am and we had to wait 45mins.

We went to Hobbiton first I thought we were going to Waitomo caves first as per the itinerary on the site which seemed to make more sense for those going to Rotorua later. There's a short time to buy souvenirs at the shop, but they tended to be really expensive or cheap junk, there wasn't much middle ground. Hobbiton was fantastic, and the weather was beautiful which helped us enjoy it. We would have liked more time there, but all of the tour groups have a limited time as there are so many people. It looked like every session was full!

We had a fantastic lunch catering to our dietary requirements in a special tea party tent, it was great.

The tour guide was also kind and good value, we learnt a lot from him and this helped the trip be a success.

The caves were spectacular, we were in awe. Make sure you have a song in mind to sing in the caves!

Overall, it's a good way to get a lot done in one day without the stress/fatigue of doing all of the driving yourself. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Pick Chin N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Waitomo Caves - a surreal experience! Thumbs up for Rotorua Day Trip. Overall, the tour was well organized - a must to experience New Zealand. And booking through Viator was easy and straight forward.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Bonnie S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Such a great trip! The bus ride to Waitomo is very scenic. Loved the glowworm caves--the glowworms are so cool!

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Caves Discovery Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message