Auckland is New Zealand's largest city, set between two harbors of staggering beauty. Whether your passion is America's Cup sailing or relaxed harbor cruises, exploring the wilderness or shopping, dining and culture, Auckland offers an amazing ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1351 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Malou Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour is the highlight of our New Zealand trip. Starting off with the hotel pickup, we were picked up on time based on the first email they sent. The driver/tour guide of our whole day trip I forgot his name is very informative, kind and approachable. He gave us lots of information while we were on the coach bus. My sisters and I were amazed when we learned that he is just on the job for 2 weeks but knows a lot of information.
The Hobbiton location is really a very nice tourist spot. The place is really taken cared of and has amazing views. We had a lot of pictures and the people who saw our pictures in social media were delighted to see them and I had some friends who asked me about the place and they also want to visit NZ too in the future.
The Glowworm cave is also an amazing area and who could've imagined that there could be creatures in a cave which glow like stars. During our boat ride, we were all in awe watching the thousand glow worms which look like stars at night.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Richard C D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A good way to get an overview of the Auckland area with recorded commentary explaining where you were and its significance to the area. There are 16 stops on two different lines which overlap at the Auckland Museum. We got off at several stops. In our opinion the best were Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium excellent and not to be missed, Sky Tower wonderful views of the city make sure to go to the highest viewing level. WE also got off at Parnell Village and ST Lukes Westfield shopping Center. The former was mostly restaurant s and cafes and the latter can be found in every city in the US. Buses run conveniently every 30 minutes from each stop.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Malou Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Everything is on time. The tour driver is very jolly and gave us lots of information. The island is great!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Malou Philippines

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

This is a good trip in order to tour Auckland. But I think it's better if we could have book a tour with longer hours because 3 hours is not enough to roam around Auckland. The tour driver is always in a hurry. We were picked up in the hotel late 21 minutes.

Doing what: Auckland City Highlights Tour

Jacqueline P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a great time on the boat. The crew was very knowledgeable, enthusiastic and helpful. A great way to see Auckland's Waitemata Harbor. Loved the rain gear wished we could have been out there longer! Highly recommended would do it again!
Jackie P.

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

Margaret Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

One of the best trips we took in New Zealand. We got so much information, saw many, many dophins on our cruise as well. The staff was wonderful, helpful, fun. Just great.

Doing what: Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Cruise

Norma M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Louis our driver was courteous, informative and professional! He provided numerous information about the regions along the way. It was a perfect way to go to these attractions. Leave the driving to someone else! I wish I had looked at the tours more closely and extended to Rotorua. It is worth every penny and the sights were breathtaking!!!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Kalpana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was great! I enjoyed the ride around the island and then, the walk up the volcano. The views were breathtaking as was the walk around the rim of the volcano.

Doing what: Rangitoto Island Tour from Auckland

bcdwyer5066

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was an amazing trip. The crew was friendly and had many hours of experience. Wish the trip had been longer.

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

An enoyable way to spend a few hours in auckland. The boat staff was friendly and informative. Since most of the people on this trip were upstairs and outside most the time, we felt as if we had a private boat tour. Great overall experience!

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Sightseeing Cruise with Round-Trip Devonport Ferry Ticket

lee g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

worth getting wet

Doing what: Cave Tubing at Waitomo Caves

Mackenzie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

One word. SEAN. This tour has a lot of driving, but it's absolutely worth it. A crazy train, a hot spring beach, fantastic lunch and some stops in little towns that you'd never seen on a bigger tour. This includes some of the best views I've ever experienced and Sean is so knowledgeable about any and everything New Zealand. He made the tour. I can't say that I've ever had such a pleasant, intelligent and thoughtful tour guide in all of my travels. What a beautiful country and wonderful tour... ask Sean to stop at the pig farm so that you can pat the pigs!

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

qsnipe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a beautiful Island! The tour was very informative and very flexible. Being able to go from one end of the island to the other, find out all about the history and some other tasty insights, you can get off at the end and take your time coming back the way you came using the local transportation as many times as you like. I'd definitely lower some of the prices of food and other items on the island if I were in charge but I guess the economy warrants it.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

qsnipe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A great way to see the sights. Great information on all of the sights. I would definitely recommend a two day pass as there is too much to see for one day.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Charlotte D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour needs to be a 10 . We had beautiful weather, a great guide, plus they went the extra mile and had a golf cart for us because we have mobility issues. The flowers are like a well groomed garden, the food was excellent, I have nothing but praise for this tour

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Kristina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I'm a bit of a wimp when it comes to these sorts of things and could never bring myself to do the SkyJump like my wife did, so I compromised and did the less-intense SkyWalk instead. As someone who is afraid of heights, I was really nervous beforehand but our guide, JP, was awesome. He made sure we all felt comfortable and safe and that we trusted our equipment. We were blessed with a beautiful, clear day, so we had stunning 360 views of Auckland the whole time. I was lucky to be part of a really friendly and fun group of people, so we all had a great time! I surprised myself by doing all of the challenges and by the end of the tour, I felt completely comfortable standing atop the tower, some 630 feet above the city. We had to head to the airport straight afterward, so doing the SkyWalk/SkyJump was an amazing way to end our incredible time in New Zealand!

Doing what: SkyWalk Auckland

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a complete package and worth the day. First, Damian, our driver, was excellent. He provided an excellent presentation of the culture and politics of New Zealand. Background you probably will never get on a tour and made it all the better. He also gave a complete background history of the Hobbit area from start to the present, more than we were provided by the tour guide at the location she was excellent too, more later. The Hobbiton set was magical, being a long fan of the adventures of the Hobbits. Our guide was excellent, filling in on the background and set features that Damián missed. The complementary Hobbit beer, Cider, or Ginger beer was excellent as was the buffet lunch provided. On to the Caves, a short but excellent tour showing the cavers and glow worms that hang from the ceiling we were told they weren't worms but sounded better than glow roaches :-.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

ccwa29 Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour! We enjoyed everything! Tour guide/bus driver was very friendly and informative. Seats on the coach bus was very comfy. Buffet lunch was very good! The hobbiton tour was alot fun. We wished the boat ride for the glowworm caves were longer but still very cool experience! No photo taking inside the caves tho! Book this tour is you want to do both attractions in one day!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Dorothy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

In Auckland the Hop-on Hop-off bus was a really good buy. It took us all around the town and we got to get off along where we wanted to.
It gave us also a view all around town. We enjoyed it very much. It was a good choice.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Danhya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour, the ride is a little boring but Hobbiton and the Caves make it worth it. The lunch at Hobbiton is superb!! Pack snacks for the ride home ahhaah highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Louis W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Good guide and complimentary ticket is good

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Sightseeing Cruise with Round-Trip Devonport Ferry Ticket

aayalina

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

It's a good way to visit the city and you can have discount on visit museums, zoo ....

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message