Auckland is New Zealand's largest city, set between two harbors of staggering beauty. Whether your passion is America's Cup sailing or relaxed harbor cruises, exploring the wilderness or shopping, dining and culture, Auckland offers an amazing ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1321 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jamie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I highly recommend this tour, as well as getting the two-day version. It's a great way to get a feel for the layout of the city and where all the touristy things are. But make sure you plan ahead and know what you want to try. The bus only stops at each location once per hour basically, it's the same bus making a loop 6 or 7 times a day. So you'd better be there at that time, or try again in an hour. There are also two different loops or paths that the buses take, and they see different things around the city the common point is the History Museum. I recommend both loops, mostly for a great way to see the city and surrounds and for picking out highlights and popular areas that you'd like to visit.

This Tour is most advantageous if you only take one hour or two at each of the 8-9 stops on each loop. This will enable you to get on/off at almost every destination. However, if you have small kids who don't move fast, or perhaps you want to spend several hours at the aquarium or the museum or whatever, then don't plan to use this as your main way of transportation on that day. If you plan to spend several hours in one location, then this Tour is a waste of your money to just be simply used as a mode of transport. Take the bus or a taxi. But the price of this Tour is wasted if you only use it to get to one location. This is because the bus doesn't start running until 9:30am, and stops 3:30pm.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Jason B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was one of the most worthwhile experiences we have ever had. Truly amazing!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Betti-ellen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved this tour! It was well worth the price going and the small group setting helped us not feel rushed through everything.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Bill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic

Doing what: Rangitoto Island Tour from Auckland

Nicole Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Highly recommended we had an amazing day on the cruise, helicopter ride and jet boat ride. Every one was so friendly and welcoming which made the adventure that much better

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Matthew U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was awesome and the highlight of our trip for our son. Some sightseeing, some scenery and relaxation, and some thrills all in one day!

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Nancy S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fabulous -- Sam, our guide at Hobbiton, had a lot of interesting things to tell us about the movie set. Our driver/guide knew a lot about New Zealand and the areas we traveled through. The weather was gorgeous. Definitely worth experiencing.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Jamie C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The guide was waiting right outside the pier, as advertised. The vehicle made me feel like it was a combo of a Disney train and the Little Engine That Could fun and quaint. The scenery was amazing, and the guide knew TONS to talk about I especially liked learning about the rehab of the island, and the oral Mauri tradition of seeing it explode out of the ocean. The hike up to the top of the island isn't overly hard, and the views from the top are astounding you can really tell why it was a lookout point in times of conflict. Note: make sure you leave yourself enough time at the Auckland Pier, to exchange your Viator trip printout coupon, for actual physical tickets. I got lucky, in that there was no line at the ticket counter but that could've easily been a 30-minute ordeal if there was a line-- which would've made me miss the ferry, because I arrived at the pier only 10 minutes prior to departure time.

Doing what: Rangitoto Island Tour from Auckland

Jamie C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The guide was waiting right outside the pier, as advertised. The vehicle made me feel like it was a combo of a Disney train and the Little Engine That Could fun and quaint. The scenery was amazing, and the guide knew TONS to talk about I especially liked learning about the rehab of the island, and the oral Mauri tradition of seeing it explode out of the ocean. The hike up to the top of the island isn't overly hard, and the views from the top are astounding you can really tell why it was a lookout point in times of conflict. Note: make sure you leave yourself enough time at the Auckland Pier, to exchange your Viator trip printout coupon, for actual physical tickets. I got lucky, in that there was no line at the ticket counter but that could've easily been a 30-minute ordeal if there was a line-- which would've made me miss the ferry, because I arrived at the pier only 10 minutes prior to departure time.

Doing what: Rangitoto Island Tour from Auckland

Antero R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Trees were very impressive and the whole mission!

Doing what: Coast and Rainforest Walk Eco-Tour from Auckland

Nicholas A

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Interesting experience. Certainly not the usual excursion.

Doing what: Rangitoto Island Tour from Auckland

Ngocanz

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Take 1 day tour to both Hobitton and Waitomo cave, not much to do and to see as expected. Tour guides have done their jobs well. If you expect to take the tour as chance to see the landscape of North Island, New Zealand, then it is fine. For me, tour cost is expensive versus what you can get from the tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

pe4328

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

OK to see what's around. It's one hour wait for the next bus. Commentary is a tape. Driver of the blue bud was good and added more info.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is an excellent tour The scenery is magnificent. The tour guides were informative and knowledgeable

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Sheldon United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to get around the city, see the sights and visit places that would normally require a vehicle. Its worth purchasing a two day ticket as many venues will require a few hours to complete.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly recommend doing a small group tour. Tour guide was excellent!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

dleehey34

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

excellent Great day

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Sandra H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Pick up was a little late, but thoroughly enjoyed the tour. The meal at Hobbiton was especially good, nice hot meal, not merely a lunch.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Haley W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour! Our guide was very nice and knowledgeable. The site is amazing and well worth the trip. Definitely highly recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Sacha P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Just an incredible experience !

Doing what: Auckland Helicopter Tour and Waiheke Island Winery Lunch

Sabrina W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Lovely guides, lovely guests, lovely views! EcoZip is all around great!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Jane O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really enjoyed zip lining through the trees the views were spectacular and the guides very experienced and fun.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Corowa Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The captain was an excellent commentator who extended the trip so that we could see two whales.

Doing what: Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message