Auckland is New Zealand's largest city, set between two harbors of staggering beauty. Whether your passion is America's Cup sailing or relaxed harbor cruises, exploring the wilderness or shopping, dining and culture, Auckland offers an amazing ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1396 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Katie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

So much fun! This was my first zip-line experience and I was a bit nervous, but was put at ease immediately upon meeting our guides. They were kind, professional and informative! I felt very safe the entire time. The views were gorgeous and the forest walks between zip lines were very cool, as well. Definitely a highlight of our Auckland trip!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

brenda d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

If you are a Lord of the Rings fan, even if your not, experience this beautiful countryside. Quite a memory!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Kathleen N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Delightful trip to Hobbiton and our driver, Mike was a great source of information about NZ esp. Sites along the route to Matamata. Nice rest stop between and enough time to stretch the legs, have a bite to eat. Once at Hobbiton, Mike also filled us in on little side stories about the farmer, the land, movie tidbits etc.which rounded out the tour. Being in a small group was a plus. We got to know our fellow travelers. The early morning pick up time was well,worth it and we enjoyed it very much as Hobbiton is a magical place.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Iris B. United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Definitely recommended. We got to go on a private tour bus after our beautiful boat ride to the island. The tour was very informative and entertaining. We got to see most of the island and had time to take pictures.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Mario Augusto Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fun and Safe, Very Professional!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Judy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was so much fun. I am close to 70 years old, have had multiple joint replacements, and was afraid it would be too much for me but it was great . The staff there was very helpful and patient and made it a once in a lifetime experience

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Kevin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great Trip, Ran Very Smoothly.

one minor problem which was very quickly resolved thank you Jessica

glow worms are amazing

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Edmund A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Long drive on a bus from Auckland but worth the time. Hobbiton was amazing and well preserved from the two series that were filmed there. Very cool. Then Waitomo and the gloworms- incredible. Unlike anything you will see elsewhere on the planet. A must see.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Claire M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

So much fun! The kids loved it, even the 4 year old!

Doing what: Hukafalls Jet Boat Ride from Taupo

Ana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very good!

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Judith S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The sailing experience was wonderful! We had great wind, and with reefed main we were doing 16-18 knots easily, heeled over, water whipping over the leeward toeboard! The crew was great fun, very competent, and sociable. I got to take the helm for 15 minutes which was a thrill, and the boat was very responsive. All in all a fabulous sail. My one criticism is that, while technically Viator does not make any false claims, one gets the impression that you are going to be sailing, if not the winning NZ America's Cup boat, at least a NZ boat. It turns out the boat we sailed was actually Japan's entry, and was not a winner. This took a bit of the shine off the experience. Maybe they should make it clear before someone signs up, what boat he/she will be on.

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

Melba B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We loved the Hobbiton tour. The Small Group was a good option, even though it was more crowded during the holiday season. Tour group was great, and the lunch at the Shire was very special and delicious. Would recommend this highly.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Paul T Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Were in Auckland on 7th December 2016 and prebooked on the hop-on hop-off tour. Unfortunately, it was raining that day and there is no cancelation. We went on and took a ride around the city but couldn't make many stop for photos. Only stop we made was the rose garden and as I said was wet. Our other stop was at Westfield Shopping. We were told that the last bus was 4:00pm and we got to the pickup point 10 min prior. There was an elderly couple waiting there before us. The bus never came. We waited until 4:45pm and decided to take a public bus back to the Civic Centre where we boarded the coach. There 5 of us and we have to pay 5 each on the public transport. I believe there should be a refund policy when there is wet weather when you prebooked. We won't have got on if we have not prebooked.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

marie laure v

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Parfait sauf que nous n'avons pas eu les explications écrites en français comme annoncé. Dommage que le bus ne circule que jusqu'à 16h30 .

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Hilary H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

The tour itself was in the main informative and about the right length of time at an hour but the two guides showed a complete lack of respect to their customers with inappropriate personal remarks and swearing on their microphone headsets, upsetting and embarrassing my party which included two young children and I would expect a number of other customers. In fairness I did write to complain and the Company apologised, advised that they had investigated the matter and taken appropriate action. Lets hope It works!

Doing what: Auckland Duck Tour

Malou Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour is the highlight of our New Zealand trip. Starting off with the hotel pickup, we were picked up on time based on the first email they sent. The driver/tour guide of our whole day trip I forgot his name is very informative, kind and approachable. He gave us lots of information while we were on the coach bus. My sisters and I were amazed when we learned that he is just on the job for 2 weeks but knows a lot of information.
The Hobbiton location is really a very nice tourist spot. The place is really taken cared of and has amazing views. We had a lot of pictures and the people who saw our pictures in social media were delighted to see them and I had some friends who asked me about the place and they also want to visit NZ too in the future.
The Glowworm cave is also an amazing area and who could've imagined that there could be creatures in a cave which glow like stars. During our boat ride, we were all in awe watching the thousand glow worms which look like stars at night.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Richard C D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A good way to get an overview of the Auckland area with recorded commentary explaining where you were and its significance to the area. There are 16 stops on two different lines which overlap at the Auckland Museum. We got off at several stops. In our opinion the best were Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium excellent and not to be missed, Sky Tower wonderful views of the city make sure to go to the highest viewing level. WE also got off at Parnell Village and ST Lukes Westfield shopping Center. The former was mostly restaurant s and cafes and the latter can be found in every city in the US. Buses run conveniently every 30 minutes from each stop.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Susan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fabulous! We enjoyed both our tour bus driver and the Hobbiton tour guide. Very articulate and gave us some inside information on the making of the movie there. We only had 17 in the group, and that was perfect. Other tour groups had 30 or 40. We were able to stop for photos. What a beautiful and magical place. Peter Jackson was a genius! We ended the day at the replica of the Green Dragon and had a beer before going to our delicious lunch. I would do this again. So worth it!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Lelia Ann B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Hop-on-hop-off was great! Was led to believe that you could not take one complete trip and wait until it went around again to decide where you wanted to get off so we got off at the aquarium 1st, went on to the museum 2nd and sky tower 3rd. We were able to continue the tour easily and still had xtra time. The buses ran virtually continually and the stops were VERY convenient. Would highly recommend the ho-on-hop-off buses!

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Linda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tour was exactly as describe. The ferry ride over was beautiful. Our tour guide was friendly, knowledgeable, and funny. The island was beyond our expectations. We used the all day bus pass to visit one of the towns we saw on the tour. The beaches are beautiful and so is the scenery. So glad we did this tour.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Audrey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was great! Only complaint is that we were informed the tour began at 7am and to be at the pickup location hotel 10 mins prior to this time. We were in the lobby of our hotel by 6:30am. We were then informed by the receptionist of our hotel that the bus came at 6:15am for us and left because we were not there. We had to quickly rush to the pick-up location in the city and made it there by 6:45am. I recommend the tour company emails everyone the day before to confirm pick up time. We had no clue! Anyway, once we got on the bus all was good. Our tour guide Marty was full of energy and ready for the day ahead. You could tell how much he loves Auckland and shared his knowledge with us on the bus ride to Hobbiton. Hobbiton was amazing! My friend and I could not stopping talking about it for the whole day. We enjoyed a delicious all-included lunch at Hobbiton and a nice glass of beer once the tour finished. We then hopped back on the bus to the Waitomo caves. This was also a great experience! Marty also stopped a few of his favorite local places on the way back to the city for New Zealand ice cream. Our tour was fantastic. I really have no complaints. I give Marty 5 stars for being a great tour guide, he really made this experience great for us. I also loved the small tour group size of 5 people as it was more personal and was not rushed at all. Highly recommend this! I will be back.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Robert United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Brilliant . 16 whales seen and up close to the boat. Also saw a hammerhead shark and a pod of maybe 2-300 dolphins. Boat had about 100 people on board but plenty of room to watch from and the skipper moved the boat around as well. Worth every penny.

Doing what: Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message