A verdant archipelago blessed with sun-soaked beaches and turquoise waters teeming with exotic marine life, the Bay of Islands is among New Zealand’s most idyllic destinations. The collection of 144 islands is dotted around the northeastern coast ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 184 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our only complaint was with the weather of that day, we had light rain and leaden skies and sea. But we especially enjoyed the Council House, the Maori guide was incredibly knowledgeable, the history extremely enlightening, the war canoes most impressive. The lunch that was provided was perfect. Russell was most interesting and we had a great guide there. We got shopping in, too! The sun did come out on the way back to Auckland. Our driver on the long runs back and forth was informative and took breaks from talking at times so we felt a good balance was held. We'd do it again on a nicer day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Terrence J P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A great day visiting the birthplace of New Zealand. The Bay of Islands is picturesque.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

laizcampos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The place is totally worth the visit!! The driver was great!!!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Bernadette C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our family thoroughly enjoyed this action packed holiday and especially recommend it to those who have a limited time to see highlights of the North Island. We were so impressed by the exquisite scenery, the kindness of the countrys people and the richness of the Maori culture. Our only issue with the 5-day tour was that we would have preferred more detail about our itinerary and how to coordinate with the tour operators. Although Viator organised the bus transportation, hotel accommodations, and individual tours, we were left to coordinate when/where for pickups etc. for tours and transportation to the next locations.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Lesley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent driver and tour guides. Very informative. Lovely place to visit and so glad we made it part of our trip

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Getbusytraveling United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Beautiful tour. Highly recommend

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

wilhelmino

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful experiences everywhere we went. Definitely worth the price. The crew were very friendly and punctual. Would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Tess H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Such an enjoyable trip! Rachel was great, funny and so accommodating! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Penny G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Stunning trip. Great coach drivers super friendly service

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Danielle V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Long drive but bay of islands is really nice, we had nice weather, saw a lot of dolphins and sealions.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Ben was a great tour guide who shared authentic experiences as a New Zealander. He also has a great sense of humor. He let the tour very precisely, giving passengers the time they needed to see things, yet keeping us to schedule. I personally enjoyed the Bay of Islands tour, with the added bonus of seeing the island of Russell. It is a long day, but the bus is comfortable, and is a great way to see things if your time is short.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Molly D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide/driver made the trip organized and entertaining! Beautiful area to visit, strongly recommend if you only have one day to spend in the Bay of Islands.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Madonna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

very organized. packed with value. Great hotels. Clean buses well maintained with WIPI. . courteous bus drviers. Best land tour we have had.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Sotheary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The trip to and from the Bay of Islands was a long ride, but it was definitely worth it. This place is so beautiful and definitely a must see. I would recommend the tour that includes overnight stay because there is so much to do in this area.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Catherine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Long journey but comfortable and the driver was great. The treaty ground talk was especially interesting the guide explained the history really well.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Katherine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great full day tour of this wonderful area. Bay of Islands is a must see destination in New Zealand.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Claude I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It's a long bus ride 4 hrs from Auckland to Bay of Islands, but well worth it. If you want to see some of New Zealand's countryside--the green rolling hills, the deep blue lakes, the herds of fat sheep and dairy cows--this is an excellent choice. Bay of Islands is a stunningly beautiful area. The Waitangi Treaty Grounds are pristine and lovely. It is easy to see why they each decided to settle there. The ferry to Russell, once the Hell Hole of the Pacific was a sunny 10-minute ride across sparkling waters to a sleepy little holiday town. No pirates left. Rachel, our guide, was super organized, very informative, and gave us a good overview of the area and New Zealand in general. A great day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Scott H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Was a great day next time would stay overnight sightseeing was rushed

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Andy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A great day out to see some breathtaking scenery

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Marie-Therese B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Absolutely beautiful. Just about the best place I've been to yet. I was disappointed that the weather didn't allow a tour to the hole in the rock.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Bradley N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great Tour have to say it was very organized. Always had are names and picked up on time.
All buses were great as they all had free wifi on board. All bus drivers were very informative and friendly. Highly recommend this trip all the activities are great

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip was great

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

monika.lamprecht

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

An absolutely impressing tour - the only disadvantage: due to big distances sometimes simply to much driving. But all the visits on the tour: just grandious! Will go back to some places one time, that is for sure.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Raul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

All the reservations, connections and transports worked.
The places visited were nice and very interesting.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Rachel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabulous! Each day was different and with a different company. However it was well organized and a lot of fun. I loved doing 3 days instead of just one so we could slow down and take in the sights in Pahia. We thought it was too much to do in just one day. 90 mile Beach and going to the light house in Cape Regina were the highlights for us.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message