New Zealand is simply gorgeous. Lush rainforest, coastal walks, island cruises, snowfields, glowworm caves and bubbling mud – there's plenty to enjoy on a short trip from Auckland! Drive to the dunes at Cape Reinga, where Maori spirits depart for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 548 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

eddie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Out of this world experience at Waitomo Cave!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

THEODORE H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The instructors and staff at Skydive Auckland were awesome and gave me the thrill of a lifetime! If you visit, say hi to Owen!

Doing what: Skydive Auckland

leobell711

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent stops and funny driver Beenan. A bit hard on the backside for the trip back to Auckland which takes about 3 1/2 hours. Could use a rest stop!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Jaymi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This trip was great. It was a very long day, but our coach driver, Rachael, was excellent. I was traveling by myself and highly recommend it for solo travelers. It takes you to parts of the north island you otherwise wouldn't see especially if you're like me and are terrified of driving on the correct side of the road, and to know that your lunch and snacks are included with the price is worth it. If you are staying at a central hotel in Auckland, they will even pick you up the morning of just make sure you arrange for it ahead of time!. The glow worm cave was out of this world. Too bad you can't take pictures, but I know the photos would do it no justice. I really recommend this tour!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

lee g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

worth getting wet

Doing what: Cave Tubing at Waitomo Caves

Mackenzie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

One word. SEAN. This tour has a lot of driving, but it's absolutely worth it. A crazy train, a hot spring beach, fantastic lunch and some stops in little towns that you'd never seen on a bigger tour. This includes some of the best views I've ever experienced and Sean is so knowledgeable about any and everything New Zealand. He made the tour. I can't say that I've ever had such a pleasant, intelligent and thoughtful tour guide in all of my travels. What a beautiful country and wonderful tour... ask Sean to stop at the pig farm so that you can pat the pigs!

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

ROY J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Not many things can make you go WOW, but the glow worms in the Waitomo caves sure did. Amazing, great tour.
Roy and allana, Geraldton WA

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

mauiknutson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Exhilarating, once in a lifetime experience. We had the luxury of going to the back of the cave since our group was small. Guide was excellent, funny, informative and friendly. Worth the time, drive and money. At first seemed a bit drawn out, but need to have the full effect.

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

Tess H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was great the sceneries on the way to both the caves and the farm were awesome and Kenny did a great job on commentary the whole way!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Tess H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Such an enjoyable trip! Rachel was great, funny and so accommodating! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Jack H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Really good tour, it is a very long journey from Auckland though. The bus driver going was good however the one on the way back was boring.... the tour I found was very expensive for a 45min tour!

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Caves Discovery Tour from Auckland

Jim H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great day out, fantastic scenery

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Brandon T

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Really long day of bus riding easy 8 hrs and about 5-10 mins of time between tours so you can't be late. But overall great tour, definitely worth the price for tickets, food and transportation, esp for those not willing to drive on their own.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

kimluch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was the highlight of my trip. I had never skydived before, and there was no better place for my first time. The guides were knowledgeable and made sure that I wasn't nervous Thanks Owen!. Breath taking views. Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Skydive Auckland

Giulia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This Great Sights tour was long but really enjoyable. Ben was our driver and he was very funny and helped us pass the time during our transfers to the various locations. I would recommend every single part of the trip, and all our guides were really nice too. Definitely worth the price !

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Mitche227

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Love the glowworm cave. Amazing - you travel inside a boat and see the cave lit up by the glowworms. It was a very convenient way to see sights while traveling to our next New Zealand destination - Rotorua

Doing what: Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour

Mherm70205

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

GREAT GUIDE AND GOING ON RUSSELL TOUR WAS FANTASTIC.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Leolani K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Literally an all day tour but what a wonderful experience. Favorites for us were Waitomo Caves and Te Puia especially because of the Maori culture experiences. A snack is provided in the morning cut fruit and a boxed lunch sandwich, fruit, juice box and yogurt both of which was more than sufficient. This was a large group tour and some of which there were guests who did not speak English. All in all a fabulous tour and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Jennifer M S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A lovely trip. Ben, our driver was fantastic - a font of all knowledge! A long time to be on a coach, but it was comfortable and we were looked after very well. Would absolutely recommend it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Matt R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had an amazing guide, Em who made the trip so much fun as well as informative. On top of that, she was serious about safety so that we knew what to expect. We almost skipped Waitomo because it was a bit out of the way and I'm so happy we wound up doing it. A great, once-in-a-lifetime memory that we'll always have!

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well organised, very helpful guides.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Wayne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fantastic day trip and included even more than advertised. The driver was very knowledgeable about Auckland and pointed out lots of interesting sights along the way. The Agrodome farm stop was lots of fun, where we got to feed lambs and sheep right out in the field. The glowworm cave is spectacular. Rotorua is amazing with the geyser and mudpools. Only lunch was mentioned in the tour description, but we were given fruit when we started in the morning, plus a lunch box, plus another sandwich and water later for the ride home. Very nicely done and a great way to see these beautiful sights.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Jamie C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a bit far from Auckland 4 hours, but the driver was super-nice. He warned us of potential bad weather, but by the time we got there, it wasn't too horrible. The guided historical tour of the treaty areas was very fascinating and well-timed the waka was no kidding huge. I also enjoyed the ferry ride over to the peninsula. And since I was the only one who selected a tour of the town of Russell, I had the guide to myself a VERY friendly ol' chap who lived there permanently and had a ton of fun stories/local knowledge.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

irenetpete

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Pretty good, just be aware that there is another option of doing a dolphin cruise/hole in rock boat tour. If you want to do that you'll have to pay a lot more, it was worth it, but wish there had been 2 options listed on viator. If you book directly through the company I guess you can do that, but I definitely did not see a way to do it on this website. Our guide Rachel was fantastic!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message