New Zealand is simply gorgeous. Lush rainforest, coastal walks, island cruises, snowfields, glowworm caves and bubbling mud – there's plenty to enjoy on a short trip from Auckland! Drive to the dunes at Cape Reinga, where Maori spirits depart for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 526 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Leolani K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Literally an all day tour but what a wonderful experience. Favorites for us were Waitomo Caves and Te Puia especially because of the Maori culture experiences. A snack is provided in the morning cut fruit and a boxed lunch sandwich, fruit, juice box and yogurt both of which was more than sufficient. This was a large group tour and some of which there were guests who did not speak English. All in all a fabulous tour and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Jamie C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a bit far from Auckland 4 hours, but the driver was super-nice. He warned us of potential bad weather, but by the time we got there, it wasn't too horrible. The guided historical tour of the treaty areas was very fascinating and well-timed the waka was no kidding huge. I also enjoyed the ferry ride over to the peninsula. And since I was the only one who selected a tour of the town of Russell, I had the guide to myself a VERY friendly ol' chap who lived there permanently and had a ton of fun stories/local knowledge.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

irenetpete

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Pretty good, just be aware that there is another option of doing a dolphin cruise/hole in rock boat tour. If you want to do that you'll have to pay a lot more, it was worth it, but wish there had been 2 options listed on viator. If you book directly through the company I guess you can do that, but I definitely did not see a way to do it on this website. Our guide Rachel was fantastic!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Betti-ellen W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

We would have preferred to do the Rock tour once we knew it existed. Even the bus driver tried to talk us out of this tour. The treaty ground visit was too short and you couldn't see the cultural show. The ferry ride over to the island was nice, as well as the shuttle. However, it wasn't worth the 4 hour ride each way.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

tpv1666

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Although long, the tour is totally worth it - our driver Kenny was absolutely awesome. So knowledgeable and fun! The caves, the thermal geysers, the Maori show and the animal farm were great to visit. The organization of the tour was spotless and the 2 meals provided were very tasty. I would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Louis S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great day. The driver was very knowledgeable and gave his commentary in a very good way and gave sufficient gaps in it so that you don't tune off. The caves were spectacular and a must see. In Rotorua the Agrodome was interesting and the Maori cultural show was fabulous and the thermal area was great as the main geyser was going off. The weather on the day was wet but this had no impact on the trip and the enjoyment of the day. The lunch and refreshment supplied were excellent. Overall a great day and well worth it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Elizabeth J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The best part of this varied tour day was going to the Agrodome where we watched a sheep being shorn, and a working sheep dog herd the flock. The glowworm cave was interesting, but not as grand as all the hype about it. The thermal areas were mini versions of Yellowstone. The show the Maori people put on gave an endearing look into their history and culture.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Ben was a great tour guide who shared authentic experiences as a New Zealander. He also has a great sense of humor. He let the tour very precisely, giving passengers the time they needed to see things, yet keeping us to schedule. I personally enjoyed the Bay of Islands tour, with the added bonus of seeing the island of Russell. It is a long day, but the bus is comfortable, and is a great way to see things if your time is short.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

dleehey34

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very exciting and the Agradome was a great surprise it was wonderful . An excellent tour

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

kristinerl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing tour. Lovely guides with great knowledge.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Theresa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent day out sometimes not enough time but well worth it. Have now cross off some of my bucket list.
Excellent snacks

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Danielle V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Long drive but bay of islands is really nice, we had nice weather, saw a lot of dolphins and sealions.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Julie B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was a good value! A very long day of travel, much of it spent on a bus with an engaging driver who kept us entertained with commentary about the areas we passed. For folks who are looking to check some attractions off the list, and not worry about driving, this is the thing to do. Our time at Waitomo caves was pretty quick -- but awesome. The boat ride into the silent dark cave with thousands of glowing worms was spectacular. The trip out to the Agrodome was my favorite part. The cultural experience show at the living Maori village was good too.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Fiona F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic and highly recommended. Tour guide was great and the cave was amazing.

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Tour at Footwhistle Cave

Effie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a wonderful tour, and our guide (Rachel) was wonderful! She brought the area to life with her personal experience of the region.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Bonnie S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Such a great trip! The bus ride to Waitomo is very scenic. Loved the glowworm caves--the glowworms are so cool!

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Caves Discovery Tour from Auckland

Katie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was excellent! I am a young traveler with limited time in New Zealand and this was a great way to pack in some more of this amazing country. The day is very full and you do not have time to linger, but I did have time to go into gift shops and buy a few souvenirs. Amazing day!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

day trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip Kenny our bus driver made the trip

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Juan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great ! Long but Rachel kept us well informed about New Zealand

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Pick Chin N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Waitomo Caves - a surreal experience! Thumbs up for Rotorua Day Trip. Overall, the tour was well organized - a must to experience New Zealand. And booking through Viator was easy and straight forward.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

john c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Best time ever.highly reccomend to anyone.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Molly D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide/driver made the trip organized and entertaining! Beautiful area to visit, strongly recommend if you only have one day to spend in the Bay of Islands.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Linda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our driver Ben made the whole experience fantastic. Brilliantly organised, our snacks and picnic lunch were delicious. Waitomo, Rotorua, and the Agrodome are all excellent places to visit, and lived up to and beyond my expectations. The Maori concert was wonderful. Thank you Great Sights, thank you Ben

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

ksorckoff

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Rained all day which was unfortunate but the staff at the Geyser and mud pool were fantastic!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message