New Zealand is simply gorgeous. Lush rainforest, coastal walks, island cruises, snowfields, glowworm caves and bubbling mud – there's plenty to enjoy on a short trip from Auckland! Drive to the dunes at Cape Reinga, where Maori spirits depart for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 560 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Getbusytraveling United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Beautiful tour. Highly recommend

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Katie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It's a long day, but the tour packs in so many great experiences. The tour is exactly as described. Our guide was funny, friendly and informative. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Lesley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent driver and tour guides. Very informative. Lovely place to visit and so glad we made it part of our trip

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Jennifer V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our day trip to Rotorua from Auckland was great. Our 4 year old son loved the bus tour and the glow worms. Pick up was smooth and stressfree. Kenny our driver made the trip fun and interesting.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Erik A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The coach ride was comfortable, the commentary from Rachel was informative and interesting, and there was enough food provided to keep us satisfied. I can highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Judy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a great tour and certainly did not seem like 13 hours. The time went by quickly but we had enough time in each of the destinations and enjoyed each one thoroughly. Would highly recommend it to anybody our tour guide was named Ben and he was very informative and pleasant. The bus even had Wi-Fi

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Melinda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Thrilling and slightly terrifying but I would say this was the highlight our entire 3-week trip to New Zealand!
The Wunder Family, Lyons, CO

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

Christopher R

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Expensive for what it is, but an enjoyable day nonetheless

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

imjungle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A little strength tour but so awesome.

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

Eng Eng N

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

I guess it depends on whether you are a seasoned traveler. If you don't travel much, then you should find this fascinating. If you travel much, it is rather underwhelming. As for the Waitomo Caves, please be prepared that the real glowworms are not as bright as the picture. The only real highlight is probably only the Agrodome sheep farm portion.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Curt P

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Glow worm caves were fantastic but time spent there was limited and photography was not allowed. Agrodome experience was superficial. They gave a quick and messy sheep shearing demonstration followed by a lackadaisical sheep dog herding demonstration. The sheep were so conditioned to performing that they did not need the guidance provided by the sheep dog. The geothermal mud pools and geysers of Rotorua at Te Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve were fascinating and worth the trip. The Maori Arts and Crafts Institute could have been an interesting experience but a lot of the views of the stage were blocked by rude tourists who had to stand and photograph every minute of the performance. While the trip was a decent value for the money it was a very long day.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

eddie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Out of this world experience at Waitomo Cave!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

THEODORE H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The instructors and staff at Skydive Auckland were awesome and gave me the thrill of a lifetime! If you visit, say hi to Owen!

Doing what: Skydive Auckland

leobell711

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent stops and funny driver Beenan. A bit hard on the backside for the trip back to Auckland which takes about 3 1/2 hours. Could use a rest stop!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Jaymi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This trip was great. It was a very long day, but our coach driver, Rachael, was excellent. I was traveling by myself and highly recommend it for solo travelers. It takes you to parts of the north island you otherwise wouldn't see especially if you're like me and are terrified of driving on the correct side of the road, and to know that your lunch and snacks are included with the price is worth it. If you are staying at a central hotel in Auckland, they will even pick you up the morning of just make sure you arrange for it ahead of time!. The glow worm cave was out of this world. Too bad you can't take pictures, but I know the photos would do it no justice. I really recommend this tour!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

lee g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

worth getting wet

Doing what: Cave Tubing at Waitomo Caves

Mackenzie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

One word. SEAN. This tour has a lot of driving, but it's absolutely worth it. A crazy train, a hot spring beach, fantastic lunch and some stops in little towns that you'd never seen on a bigger tour. This includes some of the best views I've ever experienced and Sean is so knowledgeable about any and everything New Zealand. He made the tour. I can't say that I've ever had such a pleasant, intelligent and thoughtful tour guide in all of my travels. What a beautiful country and wonderful tour... ask Sean to stop at the pig farm so that you can pat the pigs!

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

ROY J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Not many things can make you go WOW, but the glow worms in the Waitomo caves sure did. Amazing, great tour.
Roy and allana, Geraldton WA

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

mauiknutson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Exhilarating, once in a lifetime experience. We had the luxury of going to the back of the cave since our group was small. Guide was excellent, funny, informative and friendly. Worth the time, drive and money. At first seemed a bit drawn out, but need to have the full effect.

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

Tess H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was great the sceneries on the way to both the caves and the farm were awesome and Kenny did a great job on commentary the whole way!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Tess H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Such an enjoyable trip! Rachel was great, funny and so accommodating! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Jack H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Really good tour, it is a very long journey from Auckland though. The bus driver going was good however the one on the way back was boring.... the tour I found was very expensive for a 45min tour!

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Caves Discovery Tour from Auckland

Jim H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great day out, fantastic scenery

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Brandon T

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Really long day of bus riding easy 8 hrs and about 5-10 mins of time between tours so you can't be late. But overall great tour, definitely worth the price for tickets, food and transportation, esp for those not willing to drive on their own.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message