New Zealand is simply gorgeous. Lush rainforest, coastal walks, island cruises, snowfields, glowworm caves and bubbling mud – there's plenty to enjoy on a short trip from Auckland! Drive to the dunes at Cape Reinga, where Maori spirits depart for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 512 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Fiona F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic and highly recommended. Tour guide was great and the cave was amazing.

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Tour at Footwhistle Cave

Effie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a wonderful tour, and our guide (Rachel) was wonderful! She brought the area to life with her personal experience of the region.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Bonnie S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Such a great trip! The bus ride to Waitomo is very scenic. Loved the glowworm caves--the glowworms are so cool!

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Caves Discovery Tour from Auckland

Katie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was excellent! I am a young traveler with limited time in New Zealand and this was a great way to pack in some more of this amazing country. The day is very full and you do not have time to linger, but I did have time to go into gift shops and buy a few souvenirs. Amazing day!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

day trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip Kenny our bus driver made the trip

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Juan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great ! Long but Rachel kept us well informed about New Zealand

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Pick Chin N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Waitomo Caves - a surreal experience! Thumbs up for Rotorua Day Trip. Overall, the tour was well organized - a must to experience New Zealand. And booking through Viator was easy and straight forward.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

john c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Best time ever.highly reccomend to anyone.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Molly D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide/driver made the trip organized and entertaining! Beautiful area to visit, strongly recommend if you only have one day to spend in the Bay of Islands.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Linda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our driver Ben made the whole experience fantastic. Brilliantly organised, our snacks and picnic lunch were delicious. Waitomo, Rotorua, and the Agrodome are all excellent places to visit, and lived up to and beyond my expectations. The Maori concert was wonderful. Thank you Great Sights, thank you Ben

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

ksorckoff

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Rained all day which was unfortunate but the staff at the Geyser and mud pool were fantastic!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

djnightside

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour went off without a hitch. The ferry ride was nice and the mini tour was very informative. I was the only one on the tour, so it was even more personalized. The tour was about 30 minutes, so it left plenty of time to walk around the fishing village and explore.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Anne M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The cave was very small, and not something I will do again. The afternoon tour of the Rotorua are was great! I would spend more time there if I could.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Lynn C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very nice day trip. Kenny, the driver was very knowledgeable. All three stops were very interesting and fun. The lunch was decent. Would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Anne-Marie L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The tour itself was excellent but the bus driver was extremely rude. He refused to lend me his pen to fill out my baggage tags to ensure my belongings would arrive at the right destination. I was five minutes late arriving on the bus after touring the Waitomo caves and the bus driver embarassed me in front of all the passengers. He announced that I would need to pay 5 dollars to each passenger for my lateness, handed me my lunch and said A bientot in french which means see you later. I believe he also left one passenger behind at the Waitomo caves. I do understand that it is difficult to organize a bus full of people going on a full day tour with different destinations and he did drive safely but treating passengers the way he did is unacceptable.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Sofian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Well informed Bus Driver and tour guides. Pity that it rain, howeverI would still recommend the tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Ahona M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a long day but the bus driver and his commentary was incredible. It was very well organized and I was surprised by the amount of food given throughout the day! It was a wonderful day trip and I enjoyed it very much. We even got to see the geyser erupt and an authentic Maori show on their reservation. A great way to experience all things New Zealand.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Luke W Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour is very well designed to put all must see attractions into a single day trip.
Especially for visitors only have a short stay in Auckland like us.
Booking through Viator website is very easy and straight forward.
All of attractions and events were well worth to see and commentary on board was a plus.
The tour operator also provides hotel pick up and drop off as well as a boxed lunch and light snack in the morning and in the evening.
After all, the experience we had was very good.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Nancy O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a fabulous time. Well worth the money. Our guide was excellent, extremely knowledgable. Viator made it a very comfortable excursion.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Winston T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best tour I have with viator. Rachel the driver took care of us. Timing was good. The spots were seen in a timely manner . For a one day tour definitely worth the trip and the price.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Adrienne R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Having just completed a 10 day tour of the Southern Island and part of the Northern Island, finishing in Auckland, we regreted we hadn't continued our tour up to the Bay of Islands, so we were delighted to find this tour. it was a long bus tour with an early start 7.30am but was very scenic and included a tea stop and comfort break. The included visit to the Waitangi Treaty Grounds was very educational and the traditional Maori meeting house was beautiful.. Then we got the ferry across to Russell, an early European settlement where we had a very nice tour of the island followed by a swim and picnic lunch. We had some delicious ice-cream from one of the local creameries before getting the ferry back to Paihia for the return bus home. It was a long day out but very worth it. We arrived back into Auckland around 8pm.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Thi Thu Huong H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The driver was very knowledgeable and helpful. The cave with glowworms was also amazing but I wish they would have given more time for boating and looking for some souvenirs from the shop.

Doing what: Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour

ritawdurham

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Although a very long day, worth doing if you are limited on time. Trip felt a bit disorganized in beginning as we were picked up by a shuttle bus and taken to another location to get on a bus weren't directed very well on how this was going to work. Waitomo glow worms pretty amazing to see. Our visit to the Agrodome to see a sheep sheared and a dog herding sheep was absolutely awesome! Once we finally were in Rotorua to see the geysers and mud pool, we were extremely rushed. You have about one hour there and at least half of that time is getting tickets and watching a show to better understand the local Maori culture. Although the show was very nice to see, with such limited time, I would skip the show as while we were watching the show, the geyser went off which we missed. If you have time, stay a night in Rotorua.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message