New Zealand is simply gorgeous. Lush rainforest, coastal walks, island cruises, snowfields, glowworm caves and bubbling mud – there's plenty to enjoy on a short trip from Auckland! Drive to the dunes at Cape Reinga, where Maori spirits depart for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 576 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nuo Si L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

So happy to see so much of Auckland in just one day, this trip was extremely well planned and I would definitely recommend to others :

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very beautiful place. Amazing to learn not only about the glow worms but also the history of the caves. Really cool to see the stalagmites that have formed over years and years. Seeing the glow worms is so magical. It's like looking up into space and seeing bright blue stars everywhere. Absolutely no photos allowed inside because it will scare the worms then their lights will go out for sometimes days. Thought the actual boat tour would be longer though, but it just takes you in a circle in one small cave where there's a huge cluster of worms. Still amazing to see, and the surrounding forest is beautiful as well.

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Caves Discovery Tour from Auckland

Terrence J P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A great day visiting the birthplace of New Zealand. The Bay of Islands is picturesque.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

David P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our only complaint was with the weather of that day, we had light rain and leaden skies and sea. But we especially enjoyed the Council House, the Maori guide was incredibly knowledgeable, the history extremely enlightening, the war canoes most impressive. The lunch that was provided was perfect. Russell was most interesting and we had a great guide there. We got shopping in, too! The sun did come out on the way back to Auckland. Our driver on the long runs back and forth was informative and took breaks from talking at times so we felt a good balance was held. We'd do it again on a nicer day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

ANNA P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Wonderful day.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Madonna M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Fantastic day only thing I would have done is stayed over night to have extra time to have a look around. Great tour if you are on limited time. Long day however the bus trip was very comfortable and plenty of time to rest.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Patricia L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Very long day, but well worth visiting. The coach driver was very informative and kept us entertained for much of the travelling. The seats in the coach were not comfortable enough for a long trip. It was a nice touch to get fresh fruit on loading onto the coach. The Waitomo caves were great and a wonderful experience. The Rotorua visit was very good, especially the Maori culture show, this however was spoilt by some ingnorant people standing up and taking photo's and video's even when they had been asked not too.
This was a great way to get a flavour on New Zealand in our short stay.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Peter B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Bit of a long journey, but worth it.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

jjdk62

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Overall it was a good day, a long but very entertaining day, our bus driver was full of fun facts and stories.
Disappointment was in being constantly rushed, we started the day late and it seemed we were always running late to get to the next stop, had no real time to browse or shop at any of the ports for souvenirs. The lunch provided was nice enough, afternoon tea was not what was stated was just a smaller version of lunch! Considering the price we paid for the day....Meh!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Sabrina M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

I'm a Narnia Fan and so this tour was a must-do for me. I visited the Coromandel Peninsula mid-February and it was a rainy and cloudy day. The schedule for the day is tidal-dependant.
The train journey was nice and at the top there was a lookout platform, not much walking involved. The whole experience lasted about one hour.
The sky started to clear up and the weather was beautiful. Instead taking us to the Cathedral Cove right away to make use of the nice weather, we stopped at an unspectacular waterfall and went for a lovely 10-min stroll through a Kauri forest. We then had lunch and by the time we've finished lunch it was raining again. I felt bumped because the Cathedral Cove on a rainy and dark day is not the same as on a nice one. However, the only good thing is, not too many people went there, so it was less crowded. Cathedral Cove is definitely a must-see place in New Zealand!! I wouldn't have minded to spend the whole day only at Cathedral Cove but we had 1 h 15 min including 30 min walking distance from the car park each way to get a feeling for the place. It was too little time and I felt extremely rushed. Last stop was Hot Water Beach and two boys in my group dug a hole. The water temperature ranged from cold over lukewarm to scalding hot. The guide made up for the lack of time at Cathedral Cove thanks to his informative and interesting commentary otherwise I think I would only have given three stars. I have no idea where the money went for this tour. In my opinion it is highly overpriced and I think there are many cheaper offers to get to Coromandel than this.

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

Sabrina M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

I felt as the tour was a little unorganised. We left 15 minutes late because people didn't know where to check-in and which bus to board there was more than one. If you only want to get a small glimpse of Waitomo and get to Rotorua as fast as possible this is the tour for you. If you're like me and always want to see as much as possible, it isn't. The 30-45 min guided tour in the cave was good. However, I've visited a few caves around Australia and it didn't impress me the that much anymore. The very best bit of the tour were the glow worms. They are stunning! The boat ride lasts about 5 minutes and it felt like the shortest five minutes of my life because it was soo spectacular seeing the glow worms. I would definitely go back to Waitomo but I would rather book a tour where I get to see more.

Doing what: Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour

Getbusytraveling United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Beautiful tour. Highly recommend

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Katie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It's a long day, but the tour packs in so many great experiences. The tour is exactly as described. Our guide was funny, friendly and informative. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Lesley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent driver and tour guides. Very informative. Lovely place to visit and so glad we made it part of our trip

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Jennifer V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our day trip to Rotorua from Auckland was great. Our 4 year old son loved the bus tour and the glow worms. Pick up was smooth and stressfree. Kenny our driver made the trip fun and interesting.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Erik A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The coach ride was comfortable, the commentary from Rachel was informative and interesting, and there was enough food provided to keep us satisfied. I can highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Judy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a great tour and certainly did not seem like 13 hours. The time went by quickly but we had enough time in each of the destinations and enjoyed each one thoroughly. Would highly recommend it to anybody our tour guide was named Ben and he was very informative and pleasant. The bus even had Wi-Fi

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Melinda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Thrilling and slightly terrifying but I would say this was the highlight our entire 3-week trip to New Zealand!
The Wunder Family, Lyons, CO

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

susan h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour! I was concerned it would be too long, but the time flew by. The visit to the caves was fabulous. The caves were beautiful and the glowworms breathtaking. I've been to other glowworm caves, but this was by far the best. The visit to the agrodome was fun. We watched a sheep shearing and a herding demo by the sheep dog. We also got to feed the sheep. Next was a visit to a Maori village,where we saw a very good show and then onto the geysers, which were at the peak of their eruptions. Along the way we passed beautiful landscapes.

Our guide was very friendly, informative and knowledgeable. He was able to field all the questions hurled at him. The bus was quite comfortable, with WiFi, and even the box lunch provided I chose the chicken and snacks were delicious.

While this tour is a little pricey, you really do get your money's worth. I'd strongly recommend it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

wayne Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fabulous experience. Our two young hosts guiding us through the experience were just wonderful. We also had a great mix on people in our group. Us five Aussies in our 60's couldn't have been in better hands. Can highly recommend this experience

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

mjfecke

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing tour and experience! The guides made us feel so welcome and really made the experience a blast. So much fun jumping and climbing around the caves! Such beautiful sights and plenty of mesmerizing glow worms all along the way. Soup and bagels at the end were perfect to warm us up

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

laizcampos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The place is totally worth the visit!! The driver was great!!!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Randall S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great experience! Very convenient to book:hotel pickup and drop off, meal and snacks provided and even bottles of water so even though the day is long and time is limited at all stops, you are kept fed and hydrated. It is a long way for one day, we could have spent most of one day at each stop, but if you want to see the best of everything in one day, this is a good choice.our driver was Kenny, and he was delightful. Staff at all stops were very nice as well.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Christopher R

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Expensive for what it is, but an enjoyable day nonetheless

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message