New Zealand is simply gorgeous. Lush rainforest, coastal walks, island cruises, snowfields, glowworm caves and bubbling mud – there's plenty to enjoy on a short trip from Auckland! Drive to the dunes at Cape Reinga, where Maori spirits depart for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 520 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

tpv1666

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Although long, the tour is totally worth it - our driver Kenny was absolutely awesome. So knowledgeable and fun! The caves, the thermal geysers, the Maori show and the animal farm were great to visit. The organization of the tour was spotless and the 2 meals provided were very tasty. I would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Louis S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great day. The driver was very knowledgeable and gave his commentary in a very good way and gave sufficient gaps in it so that you don't tune off. The caves were spectacular and a must see. In Rotorua the Agrodome was interesting and the Maori cultural show was fabulous and the thermal area was great as the main geyser was going off. The weather on the day was wet but this had no impact on the trip and the enjoyment of the day. The lunch and refreshment supplied were excellent. Overall a great day and well worth it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Elizabeth J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The best part of this varied tour day was going to the Agrodome where we watched a sheep being shorn, and a working sheep dog herd the flock. The glowworm cave was interesting, but not as grand as all the hype about it. The thermal areas were mini versions of Yellowstone. The show the Maori people put on gave an endearing look into their history and culture.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Ben was a great tour guide who shared authentic experiences as a New Zealander. He also has a great sense of humor. He let the tour very precisely, giving passengers the time they needed to see things, yet keeping us to schedule. I personally enjoyed the Bay of Islands tour, with the added bonus of seeing the island of Russell. It is a long day, but the bus is comfortable, and is a great way to see things if your time is short.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

dleehey34

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very exciting and the Agradome was a great surprise it was wonderful . An excellent tour

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

kristinerl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing tour. Lovely guides with great knowledge.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Theresa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent day out sometimes not enough time but well worth it. Have now cross off some of my bucket list.
Excellent snacks

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Danielle V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Long drive but bay of islands is really nice, we had nice weather, saw a lot of dolphins and sealions.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Fiona F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic and highly recommended. Tour guide was great and the cave was amazing.

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Tour at Footwhistle Cave

Effie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a wonderful tour, and our guide (Rachel) was wonderful! She brought the area to life with her personal experience of the region.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Bonnie S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Such a great trip! The bus ride to Waitomo is very scenic. Loved the glowworm caves--the glowworms are so cool!

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Caves Discovery Tour from Auckland

Katie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was excellent! I am a young traveler with limited time in New Zealand and this was a great way to pack in some more of this amazing country. The day is very full and you do not have time to linger, but I did have time to go into gift shops and buy a few souvenirs. Amazing day!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

day trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip Kenny our bus driver made the trip

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Juan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great ! Long but Rachel kept us well informed about New Zealand

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Pick Chin N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Waitomo Caves - a surreal experience! Thumbs up for Rotorua Day Trip. Overall, the tour was well organized - a must to experience New Zealand. And booking through Viator was easy and straight forward.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

john c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Best time ever.highly reccomend to anyone.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Molly D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide/driver made the trip organized and entertaining! Beautiful area to visit, strongly recommend if you only have one day to spend in the Bay of Islands.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Linda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our driver Ben made the whole experience fantastic. Brilliantly organised, our snacks and picnic lunch were delicious. Waitomo, Rotorua, and the Agrodome are all excellent places to visit, and lived up to and beyond my expectations. The Maori concert was wonderful. Thank you Great Sights, thank you Ben

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

ksorckoff

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Rained all day which was unfortunate but the staff at the Geyser and mud pool were fantastic!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

djnightside

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour went off without a hitch. The ferry ride was nice and the mini tour was very informative. I was the only one on the tour, so it was even more personalized. The tour was about 30 minutes, so it left plenty of time to walk around the fishing village and explore.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Anne M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The cave was very small, and not something I will do again. The afternoon tour of the Rotorua are was great! I would spend more time there if I could.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Lynn C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very nice day trip. Kenny, the driver was very knowledgeable. All three stops were very interesting and fun. The lunch was decent. Would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Anne-Marie L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The tour itself was excellent but the bus driver was extremely rude. He refused to lend me his pen to fill out my baggage tags to ensure my belongings would arrive at the right destination. I was five minutes late arriving on the bus after touring the Waitomo caves and the bus driver embarassed me in front of all the passengers. He announced that I would need to pay 5 dollars to each passenger for my lateness, handed me my lunch and said A bientot in french which means see you later. I believe he also left one passenger behind at the Waitomo caves. I do understand that it is difficult to organize a bus full of people going on a full day tour with different destinations and he did drive safely but treating passengers the way he did is unacceptable.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Sofian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Well informed Bus Driver and tour guides. Pity that it rain, howeverI would still recommend the tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message