Rotorua and the sacred waters of the Bay of Plenty lie just 230km (140 miles) southeast of Auckland in New Zealand’s North Island. This famously lively geothermal hot spot abounds with spurting geysers, steaming hot springs and bubbling mud pools. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 414 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Katie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It's a long day, but the tour packs in so many great experiences. The tour is exactly as described. Our guide was funny, friendly and informative. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

st.svitlana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We loved this tour. We got to participate in Maori cultural performance and we loved it. It was very interesting to get to know Maori culture and all their trades as well as to see some geysers. We were even lucky to clearly see kiwi bird. We had a great time.

Doing what: Exciting Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Jennifer V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our day trip to Rotorua from Auckland was great. Our 4 year old son loved the bus tour and the glow worms. Pick up was smooth and stressfree. Kenny our driver made the trip fun and interesting.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Erik A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The coach ride was comfortable, the commentary from Rachel was informative and interesting, and there was enough food provided to keep us satisfied. I can highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Judy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a great tour and certainly did not seem like 13 hours. The time went by quickly but we had enough time in each of the destinations and enjoyed each one thoroughly. Would highly recommend it to anybody our tour guide was named Ben and he was very informative and pleasant. The bus even had Wi-Fi

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Ana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

THE BEST!!! All atractions were fantastic!!

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

Jill P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Really enjoyable and fun tour. There was always something interesting to do! Well organised!

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

Eng Eng N

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

I guess it depends on whether you are a seasoned traveler. If you don't travel much, then you should find this fascinating. If you travel much, it is rather underwhelming. As for the Waitomo Caves, please be prepared that the real glowworms are not as bright as the picture. The only real highlight is probably only the Agrodome sheep farm portion.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Curt P

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Glow worm caves were fantastic but time spent there was limited and photography was not allowed. Agrodome experience was superficial. They gave a quick and messy sheep shearing demonstration followed by a lackadaisical sheep dog herding demonstration. The sheep were so conditioned to performing that they did not need the guidance provided by the sheep dog. The geothermal mud pools and geysers of Rotorua at Te Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve were fascinating and worth the trip. The Maori Arts and Crafts Institute could have been an interesting experience but a lot of the views of the stage were blocked by rude tourists who had to stand and photograph every minute of the performance. While the trip was a decent value for the money it was a very long day.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

eddie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Out of this world experience at Waitomo Cave!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

leobell711

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent stops and funny driver Beenan. A bit hard on the backside for the trip back to Auckland which takes about 3 1/2 hours. Could use a rest stop!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Jaymi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This trip was great. It was a very long day, but our coach driver, Rachael, was excellent. I was traveling by myself and highly recommend it for solo travelers. It takes you to parts of the north island you otherwise wouldn't see especially if you're like me and are terrified of driving on the correct side of the road, and to know that your lunch and snacks are included with the price is worth it. If you are staying at a central hotel in Auckland, they will even pick you up the morning of just make sure you arrange for it ahead of time!. The glow worm cave was out of this world. Too bad you can't take pictures, but I know the photos would do it no justice. I really recommend this tour!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

lee g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

worth getting wet

Doing what: Cave Tubing at Waitomo Caves

ROY J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Not many things can make you go WOW, but the glow worms in the Waitomo caves sure did. Amazing, great tour.
Roy and allana, Geraldton WA

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

MARIANA BEATRIC M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

the trip was wonderfull and the tour agency very professional

Doing what: Exciting Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Tess H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was great the sceneries on the way to both the caves and the farm were awesome and Kenny did a great job on commentary the whole way!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Jim H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great day out, fantastic scenery

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Brandon T

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Really long day of bus riding easy 8 hrs and about 5-10 mins of time between tours so you can't be late. But overall great tour, definitely worth the price for tickets, food and transportation, esp for those not willing to drive on their own.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Giulia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This Great Sights tour was long but really enjoyable. Ben was our driver and he was very funny and helped us pass the time during our transfers to the various locations. I would recommend every single part of the trip, and all our guides were really nice too. Definitely worth the price !

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Mitche227

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Love the glowworm cave. Amazing - you travel inside a boat and see the cave lit up by the glowworms. It was a very convenient way to see sights while traveling to our next New Zealand destination - Rotorua

Doing what: Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour

Leolani K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Literally an all day tour but what a wonderful experience. Favorites for us were Waitomo Caves and Te Puia especially because of the Maori culture experiences. A snack is provided in the morning cut fruit and a boxed lunch sandwich, fruit, juice box and yogurt both of which was more than sufficient. This was a large group tour and some of which there were guests who did not speak English. All in all a fabulous tour and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Jennifer M S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A lovely trip. Ben, our driver was fantastic - a font of all knowledge! A long time to be on a coach, but it was comfortable and we were looked after very well. Would absolutely recommend it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well organised, very helpful guides.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Wayne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fantastic day trip and included even more than advertised. The driver was very knowledgeable about Auckland and pointed out lots of interesting sights along the way. The Agrodome farm stop was lots of fun, where we got to feed lambs and sheep right out in the field. The glowworm cave is spectacular. Rotorua is amazing with the geyser and mudpools. Only lunch was mentioned in the tour description, but we were given fruit when we started in the morning, plus a lunch box, plus another sandwich and water later for the ride home. Very nicely done and a great way to see these beautiful sights.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message