Rotorua and the sacred waters of the Bay of Plenty lie just 230km (140 miles) southeast of Auckland in New Zealand’s North Island. This famously lively geothermal hot spot abounds with spurting geysers, steaming hot springs and bubbling mud pools. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 405 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

eddie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Out of this world experience at Waitomo Cave!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

leobell711

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent stops and funny driver Beenan. A bit hard on the backside for the trip back to Auckland which takes about 3 1/2 hours. Could use a rest stop!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Jaymi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This trip was great. It was a very long day, but our coach driver, Rachael, was excellent. I was traveling by myself and highly recommend it for solo travelers. It takes you to parts of the north island you otherwise wouldn't see especially if you're like me and are terrified of driving on the correct side of the road, and to know that your lunch and snacks are included with the price is worth it. If you are staying at a central hotel in Auckland, they will even pick you up the morning of just make sure you arrange for it ahead of time!. The glow worm cave was out of this world. Too bad you can't take pictures, but I know the photos would do it no justice. I really recommend this tour!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

lee g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

worth getting wet

Doing what: Cave Tubing at Waitomo Caves

ROY J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Not many things can make you go WOW, but the glow worms in the Waitomo caves sure did. Amazing, great tour.
Roy and allana, Geraldton WA

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

MARIANA BEATRIC M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

the trip was wonderfull and the tour agency very professional

Doing what: Exciting Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Tess H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was great the sceneries on the way to both the caves and the farm were awesome and Kenny did a great job on commentary the whole way!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Jim H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great day out, fantastic scenery

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Brandon T

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Really long day of bus riding easy 8 hrs and about 5-10 mins of time between tours so you can't be late. But overall great tour, definitely worth the price for tickets, food and transportation, esp for those not willing to drive on their own.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Giulia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This Great Sights tour was long but really enjoyable. Ben was our driver and he was very funny and helped us pass the time during our transfers to the various locations. I would recommend every single part of the trip, and all our guides were really nice too. Definitely worth the price !

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Mitche227

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Love the glowworm cave. Amazing - you travel inside a boat and see the cave lit up by the glowworms. It was a very convenient way to see sights while traveling to our next New Zealand destination - Rotorua

Doing what: Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour

Leolani K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Literally an all day tour but what a wonderful experience. Favorites for us were Waitomo Caves and Te Puia especially because of the Maori culture experiences. A snack is provided in the morning cut fruit and a boxed lunch sandwich, fruit, juice box and yogurt both of which was more than sufficient. This was a large group tour and some of which there were guests who did not speak English. All in all a fabulous tour and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Jennifer M S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A lovely trip. Ben, our driver was fantastic - a font of all knowledge! A long time to be on a coach, but it was comfortable and we were looked after very well. Would absolutely recommend it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well organised, very helpful guides.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Wayne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fantastic day trip and included even more than advertised. The driver was very knowledgeable about Auckland and pointed out lots of interesting sights along the way. The Agrodome farm stop was lots of fun, where we got to feed lambs and sheep right out in the field. The glowworm cave is spectacular. Rotorua is amazing with the geyser and mudpools. Only lunch was mentioned in the tour description, but we were given fruit when we started in the morning, plus a lunch box, plus another sandwich and water later for the ride home. Very nicely done and a great way to see these beautiful sights.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

tpv1666

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Although long, the tour is totally worth it - our driver Kenny was absolutely awesome. So knowledgeable and fun! The caves, the thermal geysers, the Maori show and the animal farm were great to visit. The organization of the tour was spotless and the 2 meals provided were very tasty. I would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Louis S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great day. The driver was very knowledgeable and gave his commentary in a very good way and gave sufficient gaps in it so that you don't tune off. The caves were spectacular and a must see. In Rotorua the Agrodome was interesting and the Maori cultural show was fabulous and the thermal area was great as the main geyser was going off. The weather on the day was wet but this had no impact on the trip and the enjoyment of the day. The lunch and refreshment supplied were excellent. Overall a great day and well worth it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Elizabeth J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The best part of this varied tour day was going to the Agrodome where we watched a sheep being shorn, and a working sheep dog herd the flock. The glowworm cave was interesting, but not as grand as all the hype about it. The thermal areas were mini versions of Yellowstone. The show the Maori people put on gave an endearing look into their history and culture.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

dleehey34

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very exciting and the Agradome was a great surprise it was wonderful . An excellent tour

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

kristinerl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing tour. Lovely guides with great knowledge.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Theresa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent day out sometimes not enough time but well worth it. Have now cross off some of my bucket list.
Excellent snacks

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Jordan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

WOW. That's all I can say. I initially looked into booking a few of these tours by themselves and figuring out our own transportation, but honestly, it's INCREDIBLE how they strung this all together perfectly and efficiently. Book this if you want to see it all without wasting time!
Not once did I feel like I may have been stranded anywhere, forgotten about among buses of tour groups, or that I would have gotten on the wrong bus which were my main fears. All of the drivers were insightful, funny, and caring. Food provided on the bus was tasty. All of the tours were FANTASTIC. When we got back to our accommodations I had felt as though I had seen the whole northern island! In fact when we told people what we had already seen and done within 3 days of being there they were stunned.

ONLY thing I would say is at the VERY end, you are not dropped off at your hotel. You are dropped off at the Skybus main hub in the middle of Auckland city. We were lucky and had a hotel only a block away, but for those who are not staying as close, be sure you have a for the cab company. It was dark when we got back so if we would have had to walk farther it would have been a problem.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

Julie B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was a good value! A very long day of travel, much of it spent on a bus with an engaging driver who kept us entertained with commentary about the areas we passed. For folks who are looking to check some attractions off the list, and not worry about driving, this is the thing to do. Our time at Waitomo caves was pretty quick -- but awesome. The boat ride into the silent dark cave with thousands of glowing worms was spectacular. The trip out to the Agrodome was my favorite part. The cultural experience show at the living Maori village was good too.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message