New Zealand might be part of Polynesia, but don’t be fooled into thinking it’s tropical. New Zealand can become legitimately cold during the winter months of May-September, and the South Island gets so chilly and receives enough snow that the skiing ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 130 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ANNA P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Wonderful day.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

David P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our only complaint was with the weather of that day, we had light rain and leaden skies and sea. But we especially enjoyed the Council House, the Maori guide was incredibly knowledgeable, the history extremely enlightening, the war canoes most impressive. The lunch that was provided was perfect. Russell was most interesting and we had a great guide there. We got shopping in, too! The sun did come out on the way back to Auckland. Our driver on the long runs back and forth was informative and took breaks from talking at times so we felt a good balance was held. We'd do it again on a nicer day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Terrence J P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A great day visiting the birthplace of New Zealand. The Bay of Islands is picturesque.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

laizcampos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The place is totally worth the visit!! The driver was great!!!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Lesley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent driver and tour guides. Very informative. Lovely place to visit and so glad we made it part of our trip

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Getbusytraveling United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Beautiful tour. Highly recommend

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Tess H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Such an enjoyable trip! Rachel was great, funny and so accommodating! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Danielle V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Long drive but bay of islands is really nice, we had nice weather, saw a lot of dolphins and sealions.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Ben was a great tour guide who shared authentic experiences as a New Zealander. He also has a great sense of humor. He let the tour very precisely, giving passengers the time they needed to see things, yet keeping us to schedule. I personally enjoyed the Bay of Islands tour, with the added bonus of seeing the island of Russell. It is a long day, but the bus is comfortable, and is a great way to see things if your time is short.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Molly D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide/driver made the trip organized and entertaining! Beautiful area to visit, strongly recommend if you only have one day to spend in the Bay of Islands.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Sotheary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The trip to and from the Bay of Islands was a long ride, but it was definitely worth it. This place is so beautiful and definitely a must see. I would recommend the tour that includes overnight stay because there is so much to do in this area.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Catherine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Long journey but comfortable and the driver was great. The treaty ground talk was especially interesting the guide explained the history really well.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Katherine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great full day tour of this wonderful area. Bay of Islands is a must see destination in New Zealand.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Claude I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It's a long bus ride 4 hrs from Auckland to Bay of Islands, but well worth it. If you want to see some of New Zealand's countryside--the green rolling hills, the deep blue lakes, the herds of fat sheep and dairy cows--this is an excellent choice. Bay of Islands is a stunningly beautiful area. The Waitangi Treaty Grounds are pristine and lovely. It is easy to see why they each decided to settle there. The ferry to Russell, once the Hell Hole of the Pacific was a sunny 10-minute ride across sparkling waters to a sleepy little holiday town. No pirates left. Rachel, our guide, was super organized, very informative, and gave us a good overview of the area and New Zealand in general. A great day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Scott H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Was a great day next time would stay overnight sightseeing was rushed

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Andy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A great day out to see some breathtaking scenery

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Marie-Therese B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Absolutely beautiful. Just about the best place I've been to yet. I was disappointed that the weather didn't allow a tour to the hole in the rock.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip was great

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Mikolaj M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good and informative tour. Nicely planned, so you do not have to rush and run all the time. Quite amazing views.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

WILLIAM W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very enjoyable day but no time allowed to eat our lunch

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Sandra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This day trip was excellent. The bus was very comfortable. The driver was excellent, the scenery was amazing. We really enjoyed the trip around Russell and the driver was very informative. My friend loved her trip in the helicopter. Very good value for money.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Peter K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We very much liked our Bay of Islands tour and will recommend it to others. Thank you, Pete of California

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

alehtsan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Recommend overnight stay. When you have a chance at Russell, you can stay for another hour before coming back at 4pm. The beaches are great and not that crowded, wish I had done an overnighter to explore Russell a bit more.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Gillian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our experience was good and our coach driver Kenny gave us such an informative commentary for the 2-3 hour drive up to the Bay of Islands. We got to see a lot in a short amount of time we were up there. If you would like to explore the area more, then I would suggest choose the option where you can stay there overnight. For us the only thing we would change is to choose the lunch option for all the shuttling around we did, we didn't have a chance to grab lunch until after 3pm.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message