New Zealand might be part of Polynesia, but don’t be fooled into thinking it’s tropical. New Zealand can become legitimately cold during the winter months of May-September, and the South Island gets so chilly and receives enough snow that the skiing ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 115 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Molly D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide/driver made the trip organized and entertaining! Beautiful area to visit, strongly recommend if you only have one day to spend in the Bay of Islands.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Sotheary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The trip to and from the Bay of Islands was a long ride, but it was definitely worth it. This place is so beautiful and definitely a must see. I would recommend the tour that includes overnight stay because there is so much to do in this area.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Catherine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Long journey but comfortable and the driver was great. The treaty ground talk was especially interesting the guide explained the history really well.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Katherine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great full day tour of this wonderful area. Bay of Islands is a must see destination in New Zealand.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Claude I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It's a long bus ride 4 hrs from Auckland to Bay of Islands, but well worth it. If you want to see some of New Zealand's countryside--the green rolling hills, the deep blue lakes, the herds of fat sheep and dairy cows--this is an excellent choice. Bay of Islands is a stunningly beautiful area. The Waitangi Treaty Grounds are pristine and lovely. It is easy to see why they each decided to settle there. The ferry to Russell, once the Hell Hole of the Pacific was a sunny 10-minute ride across sparkling waters to a sleepy little holiday town. No pirates left. Rachel, our guide, was super organized, very informative, and gave us a good overview of the area and New Zealand in general. A great day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Scott H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Was a great day next time would stay overnight sightseeing was rushed

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Andy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A great day out to see some breathtaking scenery

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Marie-Therese B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Absolutely beautiful. Just about the best place I've been to yet. I was disappointed that the weather didn't allow a tour to the hole in the rock.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip was great

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Mikolaj M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good and informative tour. Nicely planned, so you do not have to rush and run all the time. Quite amazing views.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

WILLIAM W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very enjoyable day but no time allowed to eat our lunch

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Sandra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This day trip was excellent. The bus was very comfortable. The driver was excellent, the scenery was amazing. We really enjoyed the trip around Russell and the driver was very informative. My friend loved her trip in the helicopter. Very good value for money.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Peter K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We very much liked our Bay of Islands tour and will recommend it to others. Thank you, Pete of California

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

alehtsan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Recommend overnight stay. When you have a chance at Russell, you can stay for another hour before coming back at 4pm. The beaches are great and not that crowded, wish I had done an overnighter to explore Russell a bit more.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Gillian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our experience was good and our coach driver Kenny gave us such an informative commentary for the 2-3 hour drive up to the Bay of Islands. We got to see a lot in a short amount of time we were up there. If you would like to explore the area more, then I would suggest choose the option where you can stay there overnight. For us the only thing we would change is to choose the lunch option for all the shuttling around we did, we didn't have a chance to grab lunch until after 3pm.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Vicki G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I had a wonderful bus driver/guide on the 1st day who was very informative about the sights we were passing. On the 2nd day I had a private tour with a local driver who followed the pre-planned route and also was able to add his own personal touch since he was a local resident. It was a friendly and fun trip!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Jing S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Steve was a super guide, very informative and knowledgeable. very good views and i would like to stay one more day if i have time.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Davjo United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Beautiful day out!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Helen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Owen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A marvellous experience. Dennis, our driver, was a great source of information and commentary and kept a great watch over us during the whole day. The Waitangi Treaty grounds gave us a great insight -and in my case an introduction -into Maori history and culture and our tour guides and the people on the grounds were some of the nicest, sweetest, kindest, most gentle and friendly people I've ever come across in my travels anywhere. Our private bus tour in Russell was great -our driver was funny, informative and very helpful and even went out of his way to allow me to see some of the local wildlife up close. The town itself clearly has a lot of history and heritage and is a worthwhile visit. It was a long journey from Auckland but well worth the visit and I could not recommend it highly enough

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Margaret K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very enjoyable. Well organised even provided picnic lunch for the cruise to Russell Island. Driver excellent. Very informative. Thank you.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Gav

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

It was a brilliant tour and the driver was great

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Dono Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Most enjoyable. prompt pick-up and getaway. Extremely informative coach driver. The trip to the Bay was absolutely breath taking with scenery... as was the Bay and Russell itself. The little mini tour of Russell and the short ferry trip was enjoyable. Recommend taking in this part of the world. It would be however better to stay overnight, albeit you can get your fix from the one day trip which basically presents you to everything... long day but, 13 hours... pretty knocked up when you get back (age condition dependent). Greg and Claire mature couple, East Fremantle WA Australia

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message