The Waitomo Caves are undoubtedly—and justifiably—one of the most popular attractions on the North Island. In addition to millions of stalactites which drip from the ceiling in a fascinating display of color, imagine a subterranean river which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 103 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bonnie S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Such a great trip! The bus ride to Waitomo is very scenic. Loved the glowworm caves--the glowworms are so cool!

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Caves Discovery Tour from Auckland

ROSAIDA T B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing tour! Everything was great - the driver, the tour guides, the lunch and of course the tour itself of both the Hobbiton movie set and the Waitomo caves. The only thing I would wish for is a longer time at the Hobbiton so we can appreciate the place longer because it was really fantastic!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Meghan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I had an awesome time on this tour. Worth every penny. Our tour guide/bus driver from Great Sights New Zealand was awesome and not only gave us great info on Hobbiton, Waitomo Caves, and things we saw along the way, but also provided wonderful insights on the social issues, politics, history, and economics of New Zealand.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Lucinda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful day primarily because of our driver/guide, Damian. He spent the 3 hour drive to Hobbiton educating the group on the history of New Zealand, including her politics and economy. He was very knowledgeable! The tour of Hobbiton was fun, and Damiam proved to be as knowledgeable as the private guide we had there, Beth. He also shared helpful tips on buying souvenirs. After our visit to the Waitomo Caves, Damian chose a route home that allowed us to see wildlife along the roadside. GREAT!!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Kevin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was amazing. Hobbiton was such a great experience. The buffet lunch was huge as well! I took a lot of photos from the movie set. It's remarkable how good it all looks. You can't take photos within the Waitomo Caves but that was such a surreal experience to see all of the glow worms. There are a LOT of glow worms too. It was also great to see a lot of the landscapes of New Zealand. Our bus driver Damian was a great guy and gave us a lot of information about the history of New Zealand and the Maori people. This tour was definitely great value for money!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Joseph A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great. The driver provided a lot of information about New Zealand's history and culture on the way to each of the destinations. The Hobbiton Movie Set and Waitomo caves are definite must sees while in New Zealand and this tour allowed me to see both in one day. Being able to enjoy an included meal in Hobbiton was an added plus to the tour. I didn't feel at all rushed at any point of the journey and the driver ensure we were able to get to most out of the experiences.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Clariza Mae G. R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour bus driver Ben was awesome! He was a great guide with a sense of humor. It made the long ride enjoyable. He was also very patient, especially when a lady from our group was missing. When we entered the set, we found her. She went with another tour group.

The Hobbiton Movie Set was beautiful! The tour and allotted time to take pictures in front of the hobbit holes was appreciated and the lunch served at the party tent was good, especially the desserts. The Waitomo Caves was definitely an experience and interesting. Definitely worth it for the price we paid! I have recommended it to my family and friends. On my next trip to Auckland with my family, this is on the itinerary.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Rajwant C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was soooo great. The tour guide was amazing. We had 2 hours to drive in the morning and he filled it with so much cool information on NZ and the places we would be going to.

Both Hobbiton and Waitomo lived up to all my expectations. And much more

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Lco323

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing tour. My family and I totally enjoyed Hobbiton with the help of a very interesting commentary from our guide Shalia ?. The picnic lunch that was promised turned out to be a buffet, so that was a major surprise. The Waitomo Caves tour was phenomenal with outstanding tour by our guide Mark. Being in the cave with the glowworms was like floating in space. I've never done anything like it before. Take this tour- you won't regret it :

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

marla

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The attention to detail was incredible. The lunch was top notch. We enjoyed the experience.
The Waitomo caves were amazing.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Deborah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A must for any Lord of the Rings fan. Even in not so great weather we had a spectacular day. Waitomo Caves was surreal.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Roderick V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The trip to Hobbiton is informative and entertaining. Our driver, Damian, is quite knowledgeable about the history of New Zealand and about the local area. We enjoyed visiting Hobbiton in costumes as the Lord of the Rings characters and really immersed ourselves in the experience. The food at the Green Dragon Inn is great and quite hearty. I recommend the tour for everyone and Tolkien fans would really love it.
The Waitomo cave is quite an experience too. My son sang the theme song for the Hobbit inside the cave 'cathedral' and the sound was mesmerizing. In the boat ride, you can see thousands of glow worms like blue christmas LED lights.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

GD O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Hobbiton was a lot of fun and our guide, AJ, was exceptional. The lunch and drink at the Green Dragon included in the tour price was very good and appeared to cater to a wide variety of dietary requirements. We were unable to enter the Waitomo Caves due flooding, but the staff there were very professional and flexible and were able to organise another cave for us to see the formations and glowworms. Very happy with this tour and would recommend it, but it is a long day with lots of driving.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Anessa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was AMAZING!! I enjoyed it so so very much. Our tour guide Damian was the absolute best tour guide I have ever had. He was so informative, helping and way fun! If you've ever had him as your tour guide then you know what I'm talking about. Thank you for the amazing experience, he made the tour that much better. Hobbiton is AWESOME and so fun! The Waitomo caves were beautiful, would do this tour over again.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Janna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had such an amazing time on this tour. Our bus driver - Damien - was so passionate about New Zealand and the attractions we visited. Made the transit time much more enjoyable, so much so, that it was difficult to sleep because the information was so interesting. Hobbiton and the lunch was superb. Waitomo Caves was so beautiful. Definitely recommended.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Shannon Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour Guide/Bus Driver Damien was a wealth of knowledge but also ensured everyone got their pictures taken when at the Hobbiton Gift Shop. This is a long day and I think the order of going to Hobbiton first then Waitomo Caves was the best option. Lunch was included and it was amazing! I would highly recommend everyone this tour!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Chen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was a woderful trip with the amazing waitomo caves and beautiful ! My friends and I were enjoyed this trip! Besides,the guide is very enthusiastic and the driver is very patient and conscientious during the trip. It is a really worth going!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Dino H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

An excellent and thoroughly enjoyable day tour even for people who haven't seen any of the Hobbit/Lord of the Rings movies or don't know anything about glowworms. I have never been fond of sci-fi or fantasy movies like the Hobbit series, but I went on this tour after a friend recommended it. I'm so glad I went, and my girlfriend says the same thing.

The bus ride, with entertaining and informative driver Damian, was very pleasant. I usually sleep when bus drivers start talking, but Damian had me interested the whole time because he talked about the country and the people and the history instead of just rattling off boring statistics like most other drivers do.

The Hobbiton scenery is amazing! It's real, but it's so beautiful it looks like a movie. Even if you don't care at all about Hobbit movies, like me, go and check it out. There's no other place like it in the world, I bet. You'll get some fantastic photographs sure to make all your Facebook and Instagram buddies jealous, guaranteed. And the lunch at the end of the Hobbiton tour was an outstanding all-you-can-eat buffet, with all sorts of high-quality breads, meats, fish and veggies. I stuffed my face until I couldn't even squeeze in dessert, that's how good the lunch was.

The boat ride in the glowworm caves was much shorter than I expected, but that was fine. It came at the end of the day, after the Hobbiton tour, and was appropriate in its length. Don't book the glowworm caves as a separate activity or tour because it fits in comfortably at the end of this tour.

Overall, this Hobbiton/Waitomo glowworm caves tour is highly recommended.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Andrew N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I'm not a big Lord of the Rings fan, but visiting the Hobbiton movie set was still worth it. The scenery was beautiful and what you experienced here will last you a lifetime.

The Waitomo cave tour was pretty short 30-40min, but that might be a good thing if you're not that interested in rock formations. I definitely enjoyed the 10 minute-ish boat ride while looking up to see the glow worms. It was peaceful, relaxing, and mesmerizing all at the same time.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Teresa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This day trip outside of Auckland is wonderful! Our driver, Dameon, was extremely knowledgeable and knew a vast amount of New Zealand's history. He kept our interest piqued during the 2.5 hour drive down to Waitomo.

The caves are wondrous. Being immersed in the dark silence whilst viewing the glowworms is an amazing feeling. Just know you'll only have about 10-minutes of viewing time in the cave.

Following that, Hobbinton was a lot of fun. If you're a fan of the books and/or movies, this retreat will not let you down. The local guides are fanatical about the stories and give you a lot of background information on the making of the films. Ending the day in the Green Dragon and having a pint was the best way to finish the tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

gchasebc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is a great tour and the Hobitton Movie Set was more than I expected when it was booked but everything I hoped it would be. Waitomo Caves were fascinating followed by a great meal.The tour bus driver from Auckland to the movie set was absolutely full of valuable information about New Zealand in general and the people. We greatly appreciated his commentary and pleasant way. The bus driver from the movie set to Rotorua kept us guessing and chuckling with his fantasy tales.
A great tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Robert T Green G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A full day tour packed with activities. Our informative driver kept us entertained and organized for the various sub-tours enroute. Waitomo Caves were magical as we silently floated in a small boat with a miriad of tiny lights from the glow worms above our heads. We also enjoyed the sheep shearing and herding demo at the farm and the traditional Maori songs and dances at Rotorua. The three snacks/meals onboard were fresh and of high quality.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

FuroraCeltica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Trip has good parts and parts for improvement and I'd stress I really enjoyed this trip. On the good side, you see Hobbiton in all its glory, and your guide gives you stories about which parts of Hobbiton appear in which of the LOTR/Hobbit films. For a fan of LOTR, you will never forget the visit! You have plenty of photo opportunities by Hobbit holes and even get a complimentary drink of beer in the Green Dragon pub, with the beer there being unique to Hobbiton. The Waitomo caves are a genuinely pleasant experience, and being surrounded by thousands of glow worms is very charming. In terms of what could be improved, you only get 15 minutes in the Green Dragon pub, so you don't have time to order warm food from the bar. Maybe slightly longer 30 mins? would be better. I also think that you should go to Hobbiton first, as by late afternoon the shadows of the sun can fall on Hobbiton's buildings in such a way as to impact on photographs. In the Waitomo caves you are in a dark tunnel anyway so it shouldn't matter what time of day you go at. So in short if I could offer two slight improvements, it would be a organisers should go to Hobbiton first b slightly more time in the Green Dragon pub.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

cookiemonster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Waitomo Caves are well worth seeing, just beautiful. We loved the Agrodome, and seeing the geysers at Rotorua finished the day off nicely. Well organised tour and commentary and food that was provided was great. Well worth it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Sheri O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour around 600 km of panoramic views of New Zealand North Island countryside on your way to both the Waitomo caves and the Hobbiton Movie Set. WELL worth the trip!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message