For many travelers visiting from North America, Sauvignon Blanc from the region of Marlborough is synonymous with the finest of New Zealand wines. The famous white from the top of the South Island is easily the country’s most well-known varietal, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 95 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ragnar G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

In February we took this splendid tour of downtown Auckland's most appealing restaurants. Known to the owners of each venue, Mimi's familiarity with the offerings provided a delicious cross-section through the city'd variety of foods and wines. We started with perfectly fresh oysters at the harbourside, and finished several stops later at a trendy and expertly avant-garde Indian eatery called Cassia. Our favourite we returned a week later, changing our itinerary just to enjoy lunch there. And throughout the tour, Mimi pointed out spots of interest and revealed the fast-changing history of Auckland's dining scene.
This was a great experience in itself, and an irreplaceable introduction to the offerings of the city's CBD. Knowledgable and sunny, Mimi was the ideal guide. If you enjoy dining out, don't hesitate to book her tour.

Doing what: Gourmet Wine and Food Downtown Walking Tour in Auckland

Arvid O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Mimi took us to the most interesting restaurants and bars in Auckland. She is very knowledgable about the food, wine and history of New Zealand. It was a six star experience.

Doing what: Gourmet Wine and Food Downtown Walking Tour in Auckland

Miriam V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Love this tour! Nice and funny bus driver, no rush, good organised, delicious lunch under olive trees and very good wines at each of the three vineyards. I would do this tour again!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Sylvia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a very fun and fully packed adventure! Lots of good wine was consumed. The views from the wineries were spectacular! Only wish we could have spent a little more time at each winery.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

tayoc2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent tour with beautiful scenery. Tour director, Glenn, very informative and good humour. Wines very good, Mudbrick Wines being the most informative. A very pleasant day.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Wine Tasting Tour from Auckland

Rose M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent way to tour Waiheke and learn about local food and wine. Top marks.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Jann P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a fabulous tour - we may even take it again tomorrow, as Mimi has a number of restaurants she deals with, so she doesn't use the same ones every day. What really stood out was that each restaurant was expecting us, and was ready to share a special wine or two, as well as a signature dish or two. The timing of Mimi's tour at 3:30-3:45 is perfect, as the restaurants are not packed at that time, so a manager or owner will generally greet you and fill you in about what you are eating and drinking, as well as a bit of history of the establishment. The choice of restaurants was very well curated, so that each one was a totally different experience. We wish we had time to return to each of them. One of the restaurants is the hottest place in town at the moment, but a visitor would never find it on his own, as it is in a basement on a street that looks like an alley, and the sign is very tiny. Last, but not least, Mimi is a lovely, lively lady,who will fill you in on some very interesting local history, as well as great restaurant recommendations. Take this tour as soon as you arrive in Auckland, and you will eat well the rest of your stay!

Doing what: Gourmet Wine and Food Downtown Walking Tour in Auckland

Leona C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was so much fun! Our guide, Jocelyn, was amazing! The 3 vineyards were interesting although you should know that there is a very steep climb at Mudbrick you can stay below but then you miss out on tasting the second wine. Lunch at Stoney Ridge was a nice quiche and allowed some time to get to know some of our fellow tour members. One thing to note before you go - at the ferry get in line where there is a flag for tour groups rather than the general boarding line.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Robert K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had such a wonderful day on Waiheke Island. Our guide was exceptional, the island is lovely, the wine tasting so much fun and delicious. This is a must do when you are in Auckland..

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Chelsea B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The beautiful scenery of Waiheke island was definitely a highlight!! The tour was run very well, with an informative local guide/bus driver. The wineries that we stopped at had stunning surroundings and great wine. The ease of not having to research where to go or having to select a designated driver makes the tour well worth it!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Julie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

What at wonderful trip. Scenery amazing, wineries and lunch beautiful, and bus driver fantastic. A good time was had by all and I would say this is a not to be missed trip when visiting Auckland and surrounds. This trip was certainly the highlight of our time in the North Island of New Zealand.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

SYLVIA G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed, had a wonderful day, the tour itself was enough, some stayed longer to visit the township but alot caught ferry back after last winery. A great day.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Tess H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The wine tasting was fantastic! We had Evelyn as tour guide for the day and she was adorable. The wines and the olive oil from the four places we went to were great, regretted now buying more!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Pbaileyhb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a fabulous time on this tour. Mudbrick Vineyard was amazing. This is one of the most beautiful vineyards I've ever seen. Prepare to hick to the top of the property for an amazing view of the whole island. Oh, and the wine was good too! We also went to a winery called Stonyridge. That's where we had lunch. It was delicious! One of our stops was to an olive tasting. It was so good that we had to bring some home. What really helped make this a wonderful trip was tour guide. She was fabulous!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Mimi was an excellent tour guide showing us the out of the way places in downtown Auckland. We like taking these tours the first day after arrival to find where the locals eat and avoid the tourist focused restaurants where you pay more and get less. We sampled food and wine during the walk at five local restaurants: Italian, Jewish, French, Artisan, and German. They were all excellent, we stayed at the last in the tour for dinner and returned to two of the other ones ran out of time to return to the other two!. She shared her thoughts on the local culture and foods. Suggest this as a first tour if you are staying in Auckland for any time.

Doing what: Gourmet Wine and Food Downtown Walking Tour in Auckland

Katherine B K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour! Loved all the vineyards that we stopped at as well as the olive grove. The lunch was very good, and the views from one of the wineries were fantastic! Josselyn, our guide/bus driver was terrific and we thoroughly enjoyed this day!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Robert A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very good overview City tour of Auckland in the morning. Great opportunity to tour the City Center, the Harbor area and several of the adjacent neighborhoods. The afternoon wine tour with three stops was outstanding. The staff at each was quite knowledgeable about their wines and food pairings. The highlight of the afternoon was a stop at the cliffs on the west shore to see the gannet and tern colonies starting their annual egg hatchings. Great introduction to Auckland for newcomers to NZ

Doing what: Auckland City Tour and Kumeu Wine Country

diane-crow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Each of the wineries as well as the olive oil facility were fabulous. The wines were delicious I just wish I could get them in Texas. The staff were generous and accommodating and we had a great time.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Kelly D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great wine, beer, and olive oil and the views are spectacular!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

mary d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic tour...absolutely brilliant! The wineries we visited were excellent, the olive oil tasting was quite enjoyable, and the lunch was good as well. Our tour guide, David, was exceptional. He made the tour so much fun and he was extremely friendly and informative. We could not have had a better person leading our tour. Having the tour end at Mudbrick Winery, with those spectacular views...it just capped off the day and tour beautifully. We would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

jillmjackson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very nice tour, the Island is beautiful, and the wineries were fabulous!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Jeanette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Exceeded our expectations. Great day out, lovely boat trip across Auckland Harbour, Excellent lunch and wines. Our hosts at each winery were infirmative and entertaining. Comfortable coach and good driver to transport us around.
It would have been good to be informed that we had to go to the ticket office to collect our tickets and make your own way across to the island where you are met.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

pteach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour! Beautiful island. The tour guide and hosts at the wineries were very friendly and informative. Food, wine and beer was great.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend the food and wine tasting. It makes for a great day trip from Auckland. The ferry ride was scenic and fun. The wineries were superb as was the olive oil vineyard we sampled. The lunch and wine at Stoney Ridge was delicious. The view of Auckland from the hilltop at Mud Brick was incredible. We stayed on the island after the tour and had a late afternoon snack at The Oyster Inn enjoying the seaside view from the open veranda on the second floor while sampling some of the island wines. What a way to end the day. We then walked back from the town to the ferry following the island trails through the bush. Wonderful day!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Auckland put on perfect weather for our visit to Waiheke Island. It was a quick 45 minute ferry ride and we were met at the dock by Dave, a bright and enthusiastic driver/guide. We visited Stonyridge Vineyard where we tasted two reds and enjoyed lunch under the olive trees. Lunch was a nice chicken quiche, salad and glass of wine. We visited Rangihoua, an award winning olive grower and then Wild on Waiheke where we tasted a red, a pale ale and a ginger beer. Our last stop was at the scenic Mudbrick Vineyards where we taste three wines. Walked up the hill to enjoy spectacular views. We were dropped back at the ferry just after 4pm. A great day and highly recommended.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message