For many travelers visiting from North America, Sauvignon Blanc from the region of Marlborough is synonymous with the finest of New Zealand wines. The famous white from the top of the South Island is easily the country’s most well-known varietal, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 70 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mary d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic tour...absolutely brilliant! The wineries we visited were excellent, the olive oil tasting was quite enjoyable, and the lunch was good as well. Our tour guide, David, was exceptional. He made the tour so much fun and he was extremely friendly and informative. We could not have had a better person leading our tour. Having the tour end at Mudbrick Winery, with those spectacular views...it just capped off the day and tour beautifully. We would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

jillmjackson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very nice tour, the Island is beautiful, and the wineries were fabulous!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Jeanette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Exceeded our expectations. Great day out, lovely boat trip across Auckland Harbour, Excellent lunch and wines. Our hosts at each winery were infirmative and entertaining. Comfortable coach and good driver to transport us around.
It would have been good to be informed that we had to go to the ticket office to collect our tickets and make your own way across to the island where you are met.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

pteach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour! Beautiful island. The tour guide and hosts at the wineries were very friendly and informative. Food, wine and beer was great.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend the food and wine tasting. It makes for a great day trip from Auckland. The ferry ride was scenic and fun. The wineries were superb as was the olive oil vineyard we sampled. The lunch and wine at Stoney Ridge was delicious. The view of Auckland from the hilltop at Mud Brick was incredible. We stayed on the island after the tour and had a late afternoon snack at The Oyster Inn enjoying the seaside view from the open veranda on the second floor while sampling some of the island wines. What a way to end the day. We then walked back from the town to the ferry following the island trails through the bush. Wonderful day!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Auckland put on perfect weather for our visit to Waiheke Island. It was a quick 45 minute ferry ride and we were met at the dock by Dave, a bright and enthusiastic driver/guide. We visited Stonyridge Vineyard where we tasted two reds and enjoyed lunch under the olive trees. Lunch was a nice chicken quiche, salad and glass of wine. We visited Rangihoua, an award winning olive grower and then Wild on Waiheke where we tasted a red, a pale ale and a ginger beer. Our last stop was at the scenic Mudbrick Vineyards where we taste three wines. Walked up the hill to enjoy spectacular views. We were dropped back at the ferry just after 4pm. A great day and highly recommended.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Don M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A great day! The ferry ride allows you great views of Auckland, the lunch was very good, and the wineries were terrific.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Strenuous tour for those unbable to was up hills
Loved the island and wine taste was delightful

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Geoffrey A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour with a fantastic tour guide. Visited 4 wineries with good information before we got there
Would recommend this tour

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

PLMcG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent day on Waiheke Island with Allen, our tour guide. He lives on the island and knew everything about everybody. His creative and clever one-liners and comments were hysterical and complimented the short ride between winery visits. Lunch at Stonyridge was worth the price of the tour itself. MudBrick was also beautiful and I'm sure lunch there would have been equally good. Fantastic views, beautiful scenery and a delicious lunch we all devoured. I would not hesitate to take this tour again, and will definitely visit these two wineries again on our next visit.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Brooke S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Throughly enjoyed the two wineries. The honey stop was also terrific, great for gifts! The pottery wasn't a highlight, but was good to stretch the legs. The knowledge of our guide was wonderful and greatly appreciated. The chocolate shop was a real highlight, make sure you save room to enjoy some truly delicious treats.
The pick of the day was the sculpture park, lots of fresh-air and the diversity in the art was inspiring. Really something for everyone.

Doing what: Small-Group Matakana Coast Food and Wine Tour from Auckland

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a wonderful guide, wonderful day. Everything was on time and well chosen and organized. My only complaint has to do with the wineries themselves and not the tours: spend less time yapping and let guests have more time to taste and BUY. We ran out of time at a couple places because of overly-long sales pitches.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Andy1968

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This wine tasting tour was one of the best tours we did on our entire trip. The bus driver was a 20 yr native of the island and extremely well informed about every part of it. The 3 wineries we visited all greeted our bus when we arrived with glasses of wine ready to serve and a special presentation about the winery for our tour group. The lunch at Stonyridge was excellent and right on time. David, the tour driver and guide even arranged for us to stop at the Annual Oyster Festival as an extra bonus and still kept everything efficient and running on time! All was very well done and we highly recommend this for a fun day and beautiful sites to see on Waiheke.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

carowan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour! Thoroughly enjoyed the wine tasting, especially at Ransom Wines. Dave, my tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Highlights was the lunch at Brick Bay and the visit to see the Kauri tree.... Worth every penny!

Doing what: Small-Group Matakana Coast Food and Wine Tour from Auckland

Josie1054

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Perfect in every way! Very comfy coach, upbeat, hilarious, informative driver, outstanding wineries, delicious olive oil stop, scenery out of this world....just wasn't long enough!!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Alaina P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great! Our tour guide was amazing! The wine, food, and olive out was great! The lunch that we had was delicious!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

CHRISTINE L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Interesting and magnificiant landscapes, good wines ;) and an very original birthday cake :D

Doing what: Waiheke Island Wine Tasting Tour from Auckland

Peter N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Friendly, fun and informative bus driver and vineyard staff. Good selection of vineyards and excellent wine and beers. Great Experience,

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Nancy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour with knowledgeable guide and winery stops were excellent.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

R C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A great tour for 3 wineries and a bonus olive oil factory. It was classy to be served wine as we stepped out of the coach, and it was even classier to be taken on a tour through the vineyard, rather than just being plonked down to swill wine. Very personable staff at the wineries, and some good vintages.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

bankerbabe50

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a really great tour. All the wineries were fantastic. Our lunch was excellent. A very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Neil R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely stunning tour, scenery and service. Only disappointment was the lunch at one of the wineries. I think a better lunch could be provided for the money paid for the tour.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had an amazing time on this tour, our guide was David and he was great. His local knowledge of the island added to the enjoyment of the day, and all of the wineries (and the olive grove) were fantastic. Thanks so much!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Mandale S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was absolutely amazing! I loved the three wineries we visited and our tour guide was a delight. I would highly recommend this wine tour especially if they would be fortunate enough to have our tour guide. I appreciated that he had vast knowledge of all the wines, wineries and waiheke sights.
Thank you for putting together such an amazing tour

Regards
Mandi

Doing what: Waiheke Island Wine Tasting Tour from Auckland

Amanda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

One of the best wine tours I've been on in such a beautiful place. The only criticism I have would be that the last winery wasn't good for people with mobility issues. You'll definitely want to spend more time on Waiheke Island after the tour.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message