Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Australia and New Zealand may be known for their wide open spaces, majestic mountains and interesting (and sometimes terrifying) wildlife, but don’t discount their softer sides. Whether you’re interested in scuba diving or fine art, jet boating or ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 673 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carol M. V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Knowledgeable guide about the damage of recent quakes near his home and in Christchurch, and also knowledgeable about the efforts to repair damage. Had lunch at Re-Start Mall - a quick rebuild by way of shipping containers made into cafes, shops, etc. We ate at one - what an interesting adventure!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Kymberly P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing tour, great sites, Antarctica center was fantastic, guide was very knowledgeable on sites in Christchurch.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Kymberly P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Got the full effect of Windy Wellington....tour was fantastic with great information from the guide. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Wellington Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tour

Kathryn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My husband and I had a great time on this tour. The guide was knowledge, friendly and accessible. No question went unanswered, although there was little need to ask additional questions. The Maori Village Whakawawerawa was amazing.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Lesley C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We arrived in Tauranga on a cruise ship and I had booked this independent of the cruise company so I was a little nervous of how it would work. But it was absolutely fine, no problems at all. We got off the ship and were met by the tour organisers who directed us to a minibus where we met our driver, Nick. He took us, along with 6 other cruise members and another family of 3, to a Maori village where we had a very interesting tour of the village with its thermal springs and geysers. Then we watched a traditional Maori performance before moving on to Rotorua and lunch. On the way back to Tauranga we stopped off at a kiwi farm and sampled some kiwi juice. Nick was very informative on the journey, the ride was very comfortable and he was very accommodating of his passengers needs. Excellent all round. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

stepres

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This trip is fantastic! We had been before and knew that our 11 year old grandson would love it. He did --- definitely his favorite excursion during our 17 day cruise. Christchurch was interesting more from the perspective of the damaging earthquake that it 6 years ago --- so much of the city has yet to be re-built. But the International Antarctic Research Center is the BEST part of the tour. From riding in the Hagglund, to the penguin exhibit they were molting, to donning a parka and standing in an Antarctic blizzard, to viewing the 4-D movie plan to sit in the front row---it's all terrific. Of all the excursions we have been on around the world this rates in the top 5. It's a MUST.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Loved this excursion. The ride to Christchurch from Akaroa is spectacular and the city tour of Christchurch was really interesting. There is still much construction going on and still more demolition needed. The reconstruction appears to be extremely well planned. The building and architecture are beautiful. We are just sorry that we didn't have several days to spend in this beautiful city. We equally enjoyed the Internstional Antarctic Center. We would highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a full day tour. The drive to and from Christchurch was worth it with spectacular views. The Antarctic Center was really amazing - do not miss it, and the ride on the Haggelund vehicle memorable. The tour of Christchurch was quite detailed. We are till talking about the memorial white chairs in the city, 1 for each person who died in the earth quake. We highly recommend this trip that was very enjoyable and quite informative.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

brendangregory

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Best Tour of the Trip to New Zealand......an absolute must do......Super flexible operator due to slow disembaration from the cruise operator.....but this tour operator went above and beyond to make sure that we had a wonderful day......very professional and would recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

andrew a Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Rotorua sights were great.. Village tour outstanding.
Reasonable cost and the tour was professionally organised.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Andrew L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Highly recommended! The trip from Akaroa which was a very pretty seaside village, worth investigating on its own to Christchurch was about an hour over the top of a volcanic rim and very pretty, while the Christchurch City Tour was very interesting and showed the determination and resourcefulness of the city in rebuilding after the massive earthquake almost six years ago. An absolute highlight was the International Antarctic Centre with a ride in a Haglund snow mobile and the 4D movie experience, together with the snow experience room and a close encounter with the penguins. Both the coach driver and the Antarctic Centre guide were very informative and a credit to the tourism industry on NZ. We loved it.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Sandy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a great time on this tour - the Antarctic Centre was one of the highlights of our entire trip, our kids loved it. We had a fantastic tour guide who was extremely informative - he gave a running commentary for the whole trip which was really interesting. We had a short tour around the earthquake affected areas of Christchurch, and then on to the Antarctic Centre. The reenactment of an Antarctic blizzard was very fun but very cold!!.

Just a word of warning - It's a 1.5 bus trip from Akaroa to Christchurch along very windy roads. If you suffer from motion sickness, you should definitely take medicine before the trip, make sure you sit towards the front and bring a sick bag in case you throw up on the trip as happened on our tour!.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Stephen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Well organised, had a great day on the Train to Taieri Gorge, thoroughly enjoyed it. Bus tour of city was also pretty darn good. Trip through the gorge was beautiful, lovely scenery. A must do tour if you a visitor to Dunedin.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Linda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Well worth doing - always the best way to start a visit to any city. Would have been helpful if we had been aware that the trip to Bondi only goes from Central Station - we did a complete loop of the city then had to do half of it again to get the Bondi bus. Best to do the Bondi trip once you get to Central Station then the rest of the city trip once you get back there.
Commentary really good, everyone very friendly.

Doing what: Sydney Shore Excursion: Sydney and Bondi Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

philip c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mum needed assistance with walking . Steve the driver already knew and was so helpful with an extra step into the bus and a wheelchair at the main visitor area . We had a fantastic day with options when others more mobile were able to go over rough or steep paths. Great views, stops , commentary with inside local knowledge. Comfortable informative and fun. Phil from Ballarat

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

philip c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We loved this tour and the commentary from Simon the driver. Local knowledge makes travelling and exploring so interesting. The beautiful rose garden and the info about the quakes and capital outstanding . Remarkable scenery and views. John from Victoria

Doing what: Wellington Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tour

john b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

if you have to one off your bucket list this is a must do .stunning scenery with rivers running through gorges ..old fashioned train carriages with toilets and buffet on board ...much needed as this tour is nearly 5 hours return trip ...leaves from dunedin station a must see also even if not doing trip

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Getbusytraveling United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My first Hop-on-Hop-Off bus experience. It was a great way to see the city

Doing what: Sydney Shore Excursion: Sydney and Bondi Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Teresa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really good tour, but a little bit more time in Christchurch would help.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

stitcherviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A good value tour for the visitor spending little time in the City and wishing to experience the highlights. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Wellington Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tour

michaelkinsley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide/driver was great! We started out by visiting a kiwi farm and admiring all the vines. Next, we went to a park with turbulent waterfalls and rushing rapids where students learned how to handle kayaks and rafts. We stopped for lunch at a waterside cafe, and then drove through a redwood grove where there were walkways between trees! The highlight of the tour was a visit to the Maori village. We had a resident tour guide there who walked us through the whole village and explained how the residents used all the geothermal pools for everything from cooking to bathing. The visit was wrapped up with a wonderful show of Maori singing and dancing. We ended the day with a great surprise: a kiwi tasting picnic by a lake filled with black swans. The gold kiwi fruit was delicious, as were the candies and biscuits/cookies. We felt totally spoiled! Then we drove back to the ship in Tauranga, with plenty of time to board for our departure.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a fantastic trip with our guide Stephen from Zealander Tours. He did extra bits including bringing different food from NZ. Also showed us water falls which coincided with rafters coming down. Very patient, caring and knowledgable man. Would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Denis M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An excellent tour. Bus driver was outstanding ... thanks Duncan. Friendly and helpful. Rotorua sights were great.. Village tour outstanding.
Reasonable cost and the tour was professionally organised. We had a great day.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Marilynne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

great way to see the city

Doing what: Auckland Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message