Borrowing many of its festive traditions from its German neighbors, Austria is now known for its atmospheric Christmas markets, where travelers can indulge in seasonal treats such as Orgelwaffel (roasted chestnuts) and spiced Glühwein (mulled ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 31 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sara G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A nice way to explore Vienna. It was nice to walk around this historical city with impressive buildings and cute christmas markets. Our guide Teresa was excelent and it was fun to use the polaroid camera.

Doing what: Christmas Vintage Winter Photo Tour With a Polaroid Camera in Vienna

Amanda D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Amazing! fantastic! Wonderful! Accommodation was a bit old and poky but other parts of the same hotel seemed more modern and up to date. The sleigh ride had no snow but we went off on wheeled carts and the views were spectacular. It was still worth going! Highly recommend this to people wanting a fairytale Christmas.

Doing what: 4-Night Christmas Package in Salzburg Including Mozarteum Concert and Horse-Drawn Sleigh Ride

Rick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Well planned out.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

Alison B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed this tour as we spent just the right amount of time in each market. Unfortunately the boat was a little delayed but the weather was not good so we didn't miss out too much on the final market. It was a shame that the area had not received any snow but the journey to the markets was still enjoyable especially seeing the Red Bull Offices. The small gifts we received were also nice souvenirs of the tour.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

Myrna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I enjoyed it very much...very refreshing experience...a different approach to a Christmas Markets trip...boat ride, time to explore each Christmas Market village, listen to Christmas Carols played by a brass band , even a small group...very Christmasy!!! Would love to do it again!

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

ramy_rafik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very very nice, but needs more time in each of the markets

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

Patricia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This tour was one of the highlights of my 12-night stay in Salzburg in December 2012. You visit three different villages, with a boat ride in between, and the entire day is magical.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

Terry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We loved this tour. We got to see the Christmas Markets and everything was so pretty. The boat ride was very enjoyable and the scenery on the lake was so beautiful.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

Bryan A Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Great tour and extremely well organised. It was nice to have a local person to assist us getting around the Christmas markets and taking us to the best ones. It was an excellent tour and well worth doing. Make sure you wear warm clothes.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

RICARDO A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent day tour from Salzburg.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

david e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

absolutely brilliant. we booked for another trip the next day with the same company. Excellent

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

Alettta L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Beautiful!! The spirit, meaning of light and colour at the different markets were amazing... if anybody have the opportunity to do this tour during christmas time.....drink a waldbeeren punsch or gluwein to keep warm, but do it!

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

Paul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Excellent trip! All 3 towns that you visit are lovely especially St Wolfgang. We really liked the boat ride on the lake. You are given a candle and a cup as a souvenir.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

Delysia M D B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

The firm running this tour, is a professional, friendly tour firm with excellent guides who speak a number of different languages. Although the day we did the Advent tour was cold, drizzly and slushy under foot and there was a full coach to deal with, the several different stops and botat trip which entailed gathering together of participants each time was done in an efficient manner and with humour in difficult circumstances. I also took another tour with this firm, to a salt mine, which again I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

Dawn D USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

This is an amazing tour. The guide was so friendly and knowledgeable and made the trip fun. I would have been willing to pay a little more for the trip if we could have left earlier in the morning and spent more time in each of the towns. It was just so beautiful and we wanted to take more time to see everything. We would definitely use take more tours with this company. Thanks for a great experience.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Brilliant trip, well worth it! It was nice to see the surrounding areas and markets. The guide was also friendly and very informative. The cruise was also really good.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

Stanley Adams W

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The concert was very good with a nice evening of music and it was close to our hotel for easy walking. We enjoyed the visit to the Alps although there was no snow so the sleigh ride turned into a wagon ride, but that's the chance one takes. It was still a joy to be in the grandeur of the mountains around you.

Doing what: 4-Night Christmas Package in Salzburg Including Mozarteum Concert and Horse-Drawn Sleigh Ride

Robert B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The trip was well organised. The only down point was that with so much included in one day, there is not a great amount of time at each market. On the plus, your left wanting more, not bored. :-

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

Pauline B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed the Christmas markets very much - just a shame to have a rather short time in two of them but, nevertheless it was well organised and we enjoyed the short boat trip across the lake

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

Fiona H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Great Xmas tour, tour guide was a laugh as well and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

Joel C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Enjoyable way to see the sights of Salzburg. Tour guide good.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

Andrew C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Great tour for those interested in the christmas markets and seeing a little bit of the outskirts of Salzburg. The boat ride to St Wolfgang is especially nice as you get panoramic views of the snow capped alps.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

Ellen D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Christmas markets tour was fabulous especially the ferry across Wolfgang lake. The trip to Salzburg lakes which we took as well, was the same trip as Christmas markets so don't duplicate it.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

ALAN P

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

wolfsberg market was wonderful. A grest atmosphere. The other markets were a little disappointing, however the trip as a whole was good and well organised with a very good guide.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

C A F United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

This was an excellent trip giving the opportunity to see the different styles of Christmas Markets, even though the stalls were very similar but the atmosphere was completely different. Well worth doing. Excellent tour guide too.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message