Avignon ATTRACTIONS See all

Baux de Provence

Les Baux-de-Provence is a charming town in the Provence region, and whose name refers to its location: in Provençal, a baou is a rocky spur. Baux-de-Provence has a fantastic position amidst the Alpilles mountains, and is considered to be one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 527 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a reasonably comprehensive tour to a number of locations. It is a long day but if you have limited time is it an excellent tour. The wine tasting class was excellent and I am sure everyone attending left knowing a lot more about wine and how to tell a quality wine than they previously did. I wish I had taken a map so I could have tracked our travel as we were doing it.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Steve S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Violet, our tour guide made the trip fun. The selection of cities and locations was great for experiencing the south of France. Having the guide drop us off right in front of the old villages, while others had to park and walk from long distances was a great part of taking this tour.

Doing what: Provence Wine and Heritage Tour from Avignon: Les Baux de Provence, Nimes and Uzès

Geraldine United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Rémy, our very enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide for the day, brought us around the Les Alpilles to follow the trails of Van Gogh in Saint Rémy and Arles, and then to the beautiful village, Les Baux-de-Provence. It was an experience of a lifetime!

Doing what: Provence Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence: On the Trail of Van Gogh

Angela L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was my first time to travel to the south of France. I have heard so much about the charm, beauty and magic of Provence and southern France. I went into this trip with lots of fantasies and images about this place. Needless to say, the Reality far exceeded my fantasies. From the moment our tour guide picked me up to the moment he dropped me off, the whole day was just mesmerizing. The town of Orange was a good starting point. I learned so much about wine from our visit to Chateauneuf du Pape, the hilltop villages were heartachingly beautiful and the Pont du Gard...I am lost for words. I was stunned into silence at my first sighting of it. Julienne our driver/tour guide was just perfect. His nice, friendly, easy going personality were a big positive factor for the tour. He was very informative and had lots of knowledge about the places and the whole region. We talked about wines, grapes, palaces, romans, rivers, mountains, french food, french people and culture, lavender, van gogh etc...All in all it was defintely a grand tour and I loved it and I was very happy that I booked it.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

dkmaf340

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonder tour seeing all the highlights of the region.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

dkmaf340

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was wonderful. Our guide Emmanuel was very knowledgeable of the region and gave wonderful insights to all the sites we visited.

Doing what: Provence Wine and Heritage Tour from Avignon: Les Baux de Provence, Nimes and Uzès

Olga R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Příjemný výlet s velmi dobře připravenou průvodkyní, měli jsme dost prostoru na samostatné prohlídky na všech místech, kterými jsme projížděli

Doing what: Van Gogh in Provence Small-Group Day Trip

Deisa Philippines

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

This tour is worth the price as we visited so many places including the hospital where Van Gogh stayed in France and the restaurant featured in one of his paintings. Our tour guide was also very good. She was told us about the history of places and even how Napoleon Bonaparte had the trees planted for his soldiers to get a shade. We visited a busy market in Saint Remy. If you are craving for paella, you have to bring your own plastic fork as they only had a shell for you to use as utensil. There were soaps, fruits, vegetables, dried vegetables, ceramics and a lot more. We also visited this wonderful place Le Baux where we had our lunch. A spectacular show called the Carrieres de Lumieres CDL is really worth the price you pay. My suggestion though is to have lunch in Saint Remy so we would have more time to watch CDL. Due to the heat in France during our recent visit, we decided to sit in a coffee shop to relax after taking photos around another quaint town Arles.

Doing what: Provence Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence: On the Trail of Van Gogh

Lynn D

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Do not take the afternoon tour. It is badly organized when the Pont du Guard visit is the last stop around 5-5:30 PM. All the pictures that we took were against the sun, which caused the bridge to be dark. This is a shame because the Pont du Guard is the main feature of the tour and is a UNESCO site! Everyone ended up buying a postcard. I was disappointed that I could not take any good pictures. The entire tour was very long driving from one town to another. It should begin with Pond du Guard and the other towns last!

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Irini N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We appreciate the professionalism and friendliness of our tour guide and the half day trip was fun and memorable!

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Wai Fung L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good trip, tour guide, tour agency - would definitely recommend to everyone travelling to Avignon

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Forrest S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had the good luck to have Phillippe Hendricks to be our tour guide. He knew the area well and provided historical information beyond our expectations. The area is beautiful and the Roman ruins were beyond our expectations.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Michael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a great tour of you want to take in winery, Roman ampitheatre and beautiful villages of Provence, all in one day. A long day, but very rewarding. Mark was an excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Michael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Palais des Papes, Pont D and #39;Avignon and an unexpectedly beautiful and interesting Lavender Field and Sault Village visit. Tops!

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Independent City Tour

DCGUY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

There are a lot of tours from Avignon to the Provence region and it is hard to decide which combination of places to visit so they don't overlap with others. I found this to be a very good way to highlight many places in a single day. It was just enough time in each location so I didn't feel as if our time was wasted. The small van of 6 people was ideal and our guide Emilie was terrific. She was also the driver as well as the guide and yet she always was enthusiastic and interesting in her remarks, despite the hot day and extensive driving. There are a lot of scenic opportunities on this trip, so be sure to bring a good camera!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Bisola W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour packed in a lot and was great fun. Théâtre antique d'Orange was a highlight, as was the visit to Chateauneuf du Pape The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. I would definitely recommend this tour as an excellent way of seeing the delights of Provence!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Bodhodoydeb M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great trip! Just the right mix of information fun and travel. The first half is a bit easy with the wine tasting, but the second half is packed with sites and travels through a lovely labdscape.
Good value for money and great variety !

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

KC United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This is a very comprehensive tour but includes a lot of driving around Provence. I found the return to Avignon to pick up different guests for the afternoon portion, denying us time for lunch, was contrary to the description on the website and added to the driving time.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Ravishing

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

A great way to see Provence if you have limited time! You don and #39;t get a lot of free time on this trip, so if you want to immerse yourself in and truly understand the area, the this trip won and #39;t help you. However, the guide was great, very knowledgable and helpful. Very professional for those in a hurry!

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Joon S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Good day trip! Pleasant guide and nice way to see other cities of the Provence area, while learning a little about Van Gogh's time there.

Doing what: Van Gogh in Provence Small-Group Day Trip

Jennifer M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Good to do but not organised well. Did not need to go back into Avignon to pick up another group for the afternoon. Day too long

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Thomas M USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The guide was very poor. She never spoke a word to us on our way to our first stop, Arles. When we arrived, she handed us a map and a departure time. She spoke a little on the way to Les Baux de Provrnce. Same scenario on arrival.....map and departure time. Then we proceeded to the Roman ruins and mental hospital outside of St Remy. She drove through the town, never stopping, as was advertised in the brochure. We returned 45 minutes early.

Doing what: Provence Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence: On the Trail of Van Gogh

Dean G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The tour guide, Matt was just an ok guide. There was too much time scheduled in Avignon, not enough time in Baux or Pont du Gard...and the visit to the vineyard was an extreme disappointment.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Roger C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great afternoon in Provence-all the villages were interesting and we had some free time in each one. The highlight was the Pont du Gard an amazing engineering feat! Our guide, Remy, was terrific and our small group of 8 meant we weren't waiting around for people at each stop

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message