Avignon ATTRACTIONS See all

Baux de Provence

Les Baux-de-Provence is a charming town in the Provence region, and whose name refers to its location: in Provençal, a baou is a rocky spur. Baux-de-Provence has a fantastic position amidst the Alpilles mountains, and is considered to be one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 540 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Terry F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent knowledgeable tour guide. Can't ask for more!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

monikagrzegorzek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good! Great sights, enjoyed it all the way!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

silvo Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great day trip. Matt our guide was excellent both with his knowledge and driving. Great way to see the amazing villages of Provence in one day. AMAZING well worth the cost.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

fiona c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Marc was a great tour guide, very knowledgeable about wines in particular.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Graham K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

When in Provence you have to do Le Grand Tour! It's a lot of travelling in the bus which wasn't good for my arthritic hip and knee but these are places that have to be seen! Loved the tour, and tour guide Remi was very patient and very knowledgeable. Les Baux de Provence, Roussillion and Gordes were lovely but the old Roman amphitheatre in Oange and the Pont du Gard were particularly impressive

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great day visiting two villages and Arles. Cedric was a lovely driver and guide. Our only suggestion is to add 30 minutes to the Arles visit. Merci beaucoup. This was my second Viator tour and the day trips are wonderful.

Doing what: Provence Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence: On the Trail of Van Gogh

rob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

julian was our guide and he was great. never could have seen as much without this tour. highly recommend tour

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Sharon H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Provence Le Grand Tour was very well organized and very informative. A beautiful part of France that enhances the local wines, food and landmarks

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

nicolemwilson619 United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The towns we went to were amazing. Please be prepared to walk quite a bit, so wear comfortable shoes. I loved each place we went to on this tour! The guide was nice, but could have provided more information on the area. I was so glad that I was able to see areas I would not have been able to have seen on my own. I would suggest providing water on this tour.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Pauline R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This is a long day but covers a lot of stuff. We did everything on the itinerary. Our guide was knowledgable and able to give tips on many things in the area. There were plenty of photo opportunities and enough breaks off the bus to make sure we enjoyed a lovely sunny day. It's certainly a good introduction to the area.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Megan B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful sites, good sized group, friendly and informative guide.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Carol G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a very full day visiting beautiful villages around Provence. We loved the tour and the guide was friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

libbysmail3

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

It was a very long day as we suspected it would be. Our driver/guide, was very pleasant, and gave a brief description of what we were going to see during our various stops. However once there at an attraction, or village we were on our own. Having been on Insight coach tours, I missed the extended dialogue and commentary as to what we were seeing. Also, our driver had to return to our starting point in Avignon to pick up a passenger who was only taking a half-day tour, thus losing some time. I think in order to do justice to these wonderful provencial towns and villages, the tour should be offered over two days. For example: north and south Provence, or east and west. Then it wouldn't be so rushed at the attractions, and not so long in the van.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a reasonably comprehensive tour to a number of locations. It is a long day but if you have limited time is it an excellent tour. The wine tasting class was excellent and I am sure everyone attending left knowing a lot more about wine and how to tell a quality wine than they previously did. I wish I had taken a map so I could have tracked our travel as we were doing it.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Steve S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Violet, our tour guide made the trip fun. The selection of cities and locations was great for experiencing the south of France. Having the guide drop us off right in front of the old villages, while others had to park and walk from long distances was a great part of taking this tour.

Doing what: Provence Wine and Heritage Tour from Avignon: Les Baux de Provence, Nimes and Uzès

Geraldine United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Rémy, our very enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide for the day, brought us around the Les Alpilles to follow the trails of Van Gogh in Saint Rémy and Arles, and then to the beautiful village, Les Baux-de-Provence. It was an experience of a lifetime!

Doing what: Provence Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence: On the Trail of Van Gogh

Angela L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was my first time to travel to the south of France. I have heard so much about the charm, beauty and magic of Provence and southern France. I went into this trip with lots of fantasies and images about this place. Needless to say, the Reality far exceeded my fantasies. From the moment our tour guide picked me up to the moment he dropped me off, the whole day was just mesmerizing. The town of Orange was a good starting point. I learned so much about wine from our visit to Chateauneuf du Pape, the hilltop villages were heartachingly beautiful and the Pont du Gard...I am lost for words. I was stunned into silence at my first sighting of it. Julienne our driver/tour guide was just perfect. His nice, friendly, easy going personality were a big positive factor for the tour. He was very informative and had lots of knowledge about the places and the whole region. We talked about wines, grapes, palaces, romans, rivers, mountains, french food, french people and culture, lavender, van gogh etc...All in all it was defintely a grand tour and I loved it and I was very happy that I booked it.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

dkmaf340

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonder tour seeing all the highlights of the region.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

dkmaf340

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was wonderful. Our guide Emmanuel was very knowledgeable of the region and gave wonderful insights to all the sites we visited.

Doing what: Provence Wine and Heritage Tour from Avignon: Les Baux de Provence, Nimes and Uzès

Olga R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Příjemný výlet s velmi dobře připravenou průvodkyní, měli jsme dost prostoru na samostatné prohlídky na všech místech, kterými jsme projížděli

Doing what: Van Gogh in Provence Small-Group Day Trip

Deisa Philippines

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

This tour is worth the price as we visited so many places including the hospital where Van Gogh stayed in France and the restaurant featured in one of his paintings. Our tour guide was also very good. She was told us about the history of places and even how Napoleon Bonaparte had the trees planted for his soldiers to get a shade. We visited a busy market in Saint Remy. If you are craving for paella, you have to bring your own plastic fork as they only had a shell for you to use as utensil. There were soaps, fruits, vegetables, dried vegetables, ceramics and a lot more. We also visited this wonderful place Le Baux where we had our lunch. A spectacular show called the Carrieres de Lumieres CDL is really worth the price you pay. My suggestion though is to have lunch in Saint Remy so we would have more time to watch CDL. Due to the heat in France during our recent visit, we decided to sit in a coffee shop to relax after taking photos around another quaint town Arles.

Doing what: Provence Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence: On the Trail of Van Gogh

Lynn D

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Do not take the afternoon tour. It is badly organized when the Pont du Guard visit is the last stop around 5-5:30 PM. All the pictures that we took were against the sun, which caused the bridge to be dark. This is a shame because the Pont du Guard is the main feature of the tour and is a UNESCO site! Everyone ended up buying a postcard. I was disappointed that I could not take any good pictures. The entire tour was very long driving from one town to another. It should begin with Pond du Guard and the other towns last!

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Irini N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We appreciate the professionalism and friendliness of our tour guide and the half day trip was fun and memorable!

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Wai Fung L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good trip, tour guide, tour agency - would definitely recommend to everyone travelling to Avignon

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message