When you stand at the precipice of the precariously perched Gordes in Provence and look into the valley below, you'll see a road leading away towards Apt. See it? That road is thousands of years old, built by the Romans. So in case the town itself ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 67 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

germanm Argentina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Avignon is the ideal starting point for getting to know Provence. In addition to its jewels such as the Palace of the Popes and its famous Bridge and the ever-present wind, it is located in the center of Provence and through the beautiful villages of the Luberon: Les Baux, Gordes and Rousillon, passing from white calcareous to Ocher color, to finish in the incredible Pont du Gard

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

germanm Argentina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Avignon is the ideal starting point for getting to know Provence. In addition to its jewels such as the Palace of the Popes and its famous Bridge and the ever-present wind, it is located in the center of Provence and through the beautiful villages of the Luberon: Les Baux, Gordes and Rousillon, passing from white calcareous to Ocher color, to finish in the incredible Pont du Gard

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Graham K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

When in Provence you have to do Le Grand Tour! It's a lot of travelling in the bus which wasn't good for my arthritic hip and knee but these are places that have to be seen! Loved the tour, and tour guide Remi was very patient and very knowledgeable. Les Baux de Provence, Roussillion and Gordes were lovely but the old Roman amphitheatre in Oange and the Pont du Gard were particularly impressive

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Chananporn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The places where they brought me to were very beautiful. Although I was not informed before about re-planting lavender in some area, the young lavender was beautiful, it was still worth to go. They also brought me to a market in Gordes on Tuesday which was really great.

Doing what: Small-Group Lavender Tour to Gordes, Abbey of Senanque and Roussillon or Sault from Avignon

Cristina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Julien was very helpful, nice, funny and knowledgeable of the area. He took us to the best looking lavender fields, and even made a photo stop in Gordes even though it wasn't on his list. He was also very helpful in giving tips about other places to visit in Avignon and the tour was very agreeable.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

hebigs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really enjoyed our day with Maude. She was a great guide and knew so much about the area. It was nice to leave the driving and parking! into the several villages we visited to someone else! This way we could just focus on discovering. The only downside is that there was very little time in Gordes for lunch 45 minutes is not long enough and we probably would have preferred to skip Les Baux de Provence as it is very touristic.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Pamela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a fantastic tour! Emilie was a wonderful tour guide! She was extremely knowledgeable and was so nice! All sites were awesome and I loved the village visits - Les Baux, Gordes, and Roussillon. Top rate day. I want to go back to Provence! We picked a perfect tour.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Meredith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Erica did a great job of balancing time in the lavender fields and time in the village market in Gordes. The fields were beautiful and she provided thorough descriptions of the history of the region and of the lavender growing process. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Shu L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My tour was amazing and I highly recommend this tour to everyone looking to see the French countryside. I was travelling alone and did not want to rent a car so this small tour was a perfect way to see St Remy, Les Baux, Pont du Gard, the Lavender Museum, Roussillon, and Gordes. Bring a lunch with you if you do not want to buy lunch at one of the stops. Would recommend bringing a lunch and maybe picnic for a bit at the Pont du Gard.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Sohini M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A very comprehensive tour of wineries with knowledgeable guides and tasting of excellent wines. Including Pont du Gard, Les Baux and Gordes is a great idea. The tour guide was extremely pleasant and competent

Doing what: Provence Wine Tasting Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon

Wiiliam B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We did the Lavender tour that included a tour of the lavender museum and side trips to Gordes and Rousilon. Small coach and just eight of us made it great. Excellent tour guide who was right on time and very engaging. We did the Papal Palace on our own, which is a must see.

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Independent City Tour

GLORY N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was excellent and enjoyed it very much,we visited many beautiful small towns, Julien our tour guide and driver is very knowledgeable about the places we visited and even gave us tips about local food still waiting for his grandmother lamb recipe though :. I would have like to see the hospital near St. Remy were Van Gough was committed. than the visit to the lavender museum, one of the lady with us could not go in because she has allergic to perfumes, so she had to wait for us outside. My favourite are Roussillon and the dry-stone village of Gordes, our last stop was in Pont du Gard bridge which is just fantastic and in perfect time. We also visited and enjoyed a little shopping in the market. I highly recommend this tour. We also took the lavender tour with this company and was happy with their service.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Ronald C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I took this half-day tour with 8 others in a mini-bus. Our driver and guide, Marc was very informative about Provence and chatted about it on our way to three sites: Pont du Gard, and the delightful villages of Gordes and Les Baux de Provence. For me the highlight was Pont du Gard which I have wanted to see for a long time, built by the Romans as part of the aqueduct serving Nimes. The two villages contrast each other and were memorable. Sufficient time was allowed for us to explore each of the sites and Marc gave us good advice regarding what to see as we independently explored the sites. Our tour was on a Monday so it omitted the village of Rousillon, which was a pity, but I only had the Monday free in Avignon. There is around 1 hour driving between each of the sites but this time was used by Marc to impart knowledge of Provence and to answer questions. This was a good tour, considering the time limit of half a day. The tour left me feeling hungry to see more of Provence, and a full-day tour might have been better if I had had the time but at least I did get the flavour of the place and had a good time. Marc advised us that private tours can be taken and these can be tailored around the wishes of the clients - not a bad idea.
Visited June 2015

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Daniel J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The lavender tour was great! Our driver (Sarah) was very nice. Rousillon and Gordes were picturesque.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Hoi Kit L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really nice! Learned a lot of things at the museum.
Views at Gordes and Sault are absolutely gorgeous!
The guide Sarah was helpful and nice. She was a very responsible person as well. This trip is highly recommended!

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Saw many interesting sites, including the mental hospital near St. Remy were Van Gough was committed for a while and the actual areas and scenes where he painted many pictures, the hilltop cities of Gordes and Les Baux, and the Roman aqueduct called Pont du Gard.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Raymond H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our best day in Avignon was this tour of the small outlying villages. Be sure to include Rousillon in your itinerary--beautiful orange and yellow ochre stone, charming village, and lavender ice cream. Gordes is so picturesque you could spend a whole day there, though we just had an hour visit. Our favorite village was Les Baux with its medieval chateau, impressive bauxite rock formations, and caves. We went back after the tour to see the art and light show in the caves -- wonderful! Our guide was Nicolas, who was so friendly and informative and helpful!

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Jennifer T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Had an absolutely excellent day on this tour! I was travelling alone, and the group for the tour was 8 people and the tour guide Carol. As the forecast for the day was pouring rain for the afternoon, she rearranged the usual schedule for the day to accommodate this and I think this helped the experience of the day very much as we got to visit Roussillon and Gordes without it pouring down rain on us the whole time. We did catch a little bit of a rain, but no where near as much as we would have had she not changed the order of the day. Carol was knowledgeable and friendly, and approached some awkward situations within our small group regarding meeting times politely and with patience. As the Lavendar field photo stop would be viable since those fields have been closed, she allowed a quick photostop at a smaller Lavendar field and then also showed us another castle on the way to Pont Du Gard. It was certainly a very busy, jam-packed day but all the places we visited were interesting and the three towns were very beautiful. An excellent day trip, would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

glendajudge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Far exceeded my expectations. Marie our charming guide was a safe driver and full of information on the various locations we visited. Sunday Antique markets L'Isle sur le Sorgue. At Musee Lavande it was very interesting to learn about planting, harvest and production and lovely products to buy. Roussillon, Gordes and Les Baux all wonderful towns to explore. I would highly recommend this day tour.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Mary Jane D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I loved this tour! It was raining in the morning, but we still had a great time. Our tour guide was fun, upbeat and so knowledgeable! We even made an extra stop at an olive oil mill for tasting. The lavender museum as well as the beautiful towns of St Remy, Gordes, Roussillon, Les Baux and the Roman aqueduct, Pont du Gard, were all fascinating. It couldn't have been more perfect - just the right mixture of free time and guided tour!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

surfdiva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a very good time. Wish we had more time in Roussillon and Gordes...

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

ghunt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had an excellent time with this tour on 10 September 2013. Our guide, Julian (not sure about the exact spelling of his name), made it all worth while. He was prompt, informative, and accommodating in the schedule and the sites we visited in order to insure we got the most of our experience. We especially wanted to maximize out visit to Gordes in order to visit the market day there, and he helped us to do so. He helped us to learn all about the surrounding Avignon area and was especially good at pointing out the "sites" and providing background. We truly enjoyed this and would recommend any other customers to particularly request Julian. Thanks, Julian.

Doing what: Private Provence Tour: Luberon Villages and Lavender Day Trip from Avignon

George R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We were looking to see several hilltop villages in the Avignon area and decided on this tour. We took the tour that took us to Roussillion, Gordes, Les Baux de Provence and the Pont du Gard. As usual with these types of trips, there is never enough time at any one place. But, the great advantage is that one gets to see many places without trying to navigate back roads by yourself. We were able to see these 3 amazing villages and spectacular bridge in the space of one afternoon. These places are located to the east, south and west of Avignon but we did not feel that we were in the vehicle very long between stops and the tour was well paced. Our tour guide was fabulous as she identified a number of points of interest along our journey. Pick up and drop off were at locations close and convenient to our hotel. We certainly felt it was a good investment of our time. We also felt that the cost was very reasonable considering what it would have cost to rent a car for a day plus the added cost of petrol and mileage charges (let alone the driving and navigating). If you are interested in seeing a number of locations in a short period of time, we would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

diane d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A day that could have been a disaster turned out OK. I had booked an afternoon tour of Provence that started in Avignon. I knew if i took the 10h14 train from Montpellier,where i was spending the month of July, I'd arrive in plenty of time for the 13h pickup. Turned out there was a bit of malveillance (lit: malevolence) on the train route and the 10h14 train was cancelled. I called Viator just to let them know that I wouldn't be there and, as i expected, they said they couldn't refund my money as it was a same-day cancellation but suggested i find out if the railway was providing an alternate (e.g., bus) transport to Avignon.Ii went back to the train station where I found out the 12h14 train to Avignon was on the schedule but it wouldn't arrive until 20 minutes after the 13h00 pickup time for the tour. Another call to Viator and, after a short time on hold, they offered to re-book me on another tour with a 14h00 pickup time. a shorter tour, which undoubtedly cost less money, but i was very pleased with some pretty excellent customer service.Tthey didn't have to do that and I didn't even have to ask for it.

The later tour didn't stop in Roussillon or Gordes, but included les Baux and Pont du Gard. The guide was very well-informed and spoke excellent English. I would highly recommend either tour. (I've been on the earlier one in previous years.)

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Liz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

My husband and I loved this day trip!! Great way to see a lot of the surrounding Provence area and sights. Well planned and organized day... we saw all of our scheduled sights in leisure time. Our guide Ann was wonderful, punctual and knowledgeable. We really liked our small group setting of 8. The Orange antic Theatre and triumphal arch, Pont du Gard, Les Baux, Gordes and Roussillon were fantastic and definitely worth visiting! Loved touring and sampling at Chateauneuf du Pape winery (learned a lot too)! Fun and Special day...highly recommend Le Grand Tour!!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message