Orange is a town in the Provence region of France with a mainly agricultural economy. The famous town is known because the Romans left their mark there; Orange is often cited as having the most impressive Roman architecture still standing in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 226 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joy Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My husband and I enjoyed this trip immensely. Our guide, Anna, was very knowledgeable and personable. Although this trip packs in a lot, it was everything we wanted to see and I never felt rushed. We had sufficient time at each stop. There really is nothing I would leave out. Had my husband and I tried to do this on our own, we never would have found all these places. Thank you, Viator! We will book with you again. - Joy Z.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

CSR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was great. We really enjoyed. Though it was a long day, our tour guide was very informative, friendly and accommodating. Given the short period of time we have, it was a great way to see Provence without having to drive ourselves.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

LISA W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great day with lots of sightseeing

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Glenn F United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We saw so much and our tour guide was great, but think it is too much for one day. You really get only a short time visiting the various villages in Provence. All were facinating in their own way. My suggestion is have a two day tour instead of onn. Glenn

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

ginareid2boys

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Very informative and gave you a great overview of the area, while a lot was packed in within a tight schedule there was still time to explore towns. Our only complaint was we went back to Avignon central to drop people off and picked up another couple. That seemed to be a lot of extra driving and ate up a lot of our time.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Lisa M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Whilst it was a long day and you got to see quite a bit of the countryside, the tour could have been so much more useful and enjoyable if there was some information provided on the towns we were visiting. It felt like we were just taken to a town, dropped,off to explode under own efforts before being shuffled onto the bus for the trip to the next town. Having said that, the driver was very pleasant and approachable.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

monikagrzegorzek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good! Great sights, enjoyed it all the way!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Florence M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a wonderful way to see a lot of the country. Our guide was very pleasant and accommodating and made the day a wonderful experience. The only downsize was trying to find the meeting place in the morning. We were on a ship and it was almost an hour's drive to the meeting point. Our taxi driver, who spoke VERY little English, only pointed us in the general direction. We were all anxious that we would miss our tour since the Viator representative I called prior to leaving said it would be a short 15 minute taxi ride.

Doing what: Full-day small group tour to Avignon, Pont du Gard, Orange and Chateauneuf du pape wine tour from Aix-en-Provence

fiona c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Marc was a great tour guide, very knowledgeable about wines in particular.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Graham K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

When in Provence you have to do Le Grand Tour! It's a lot of travelling in the bus which wasn't good for my arthritic hip and knee but these are places that have to be seen! Loved the tour, and tour guide Remi was very patient and very knowledgeable. Les Baux de Provence, Roussillion and Gordes were lovely but the old Roman amphitheatre in Oange and the Pont du Gard were particularly impressive

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

rob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

julian was our guide and he was great. never could have seen as much without this tour. highly recommend tour

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Sharon H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Provence Le Grand Tour was very well organized and very informative. A beautiful part of France that enhances the local wines, food and landmarks

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Pauline R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a very good trip. We enjoyed the visit to chateau neuf particularly. Our guide was knowledgeable and able to give lots of information about the area. There were plenty of photo opportunities.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a reasonably comprehensive tour to a number of locations. It is a long day but if you have limited time is it an excellent tour. The wine tasting class was excellent and I am sure everyone attending left knowing a lot more about wine and how to tell a quality wine than they previously did. I wish I had taken a map so I could have tracked our travel as we were doing it.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Angela L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was my first time to travel to the south of France. I have heard so much about the charm, beauty and magic of Provence and southern France. I went into this trip with lots of fantasies and images about this place. Needless to say, the Reality far exceeded my fantasies. From the moment our tour guide picked me up to the moment he dropped me off, the whole day was just mesmerizing. The town of Orange was a good starting point. I learned so much about wine from our visit to Chateauneuf du Pape, the hilltop villages were heartachingly beautiful and the Pont du Gard...I am lost for words. I was stunned into silence at my first sighting of it. Julienne our driver/tour guide was just perfect. His nice, friendly, easy going personality were a big positive factor for the tour. He was very informative and had lots of knowledge about the places and the whole region. We talked about wines, grapes, palaces, romans, rivers, mountains, french food, french people and culture, lavender, van gogh etc...All in all it was defintely a grand tour and I loved it and I was very happy that I booked it.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

dkmaf340

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonder tour seeing all the highlights of the region.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

gogu_lucian

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

It was terrible, the worst tour we've ever taken!! don't even bother to consider this tour. Actually they're doning it reversed: Orange_Chateauneuf-Pont du Gard-Avignon, and you will taste wines in the morning and literally run to see something in Avignon which is the best. there is no guidance. if you ask something, ok, you will get a minimum reference, otherwise it's just a young girl driving a car. I'm sorry for her but she has much to learn before giving a guidance at all. In any case please search a tour with maximum 3 cities since this one is too much for one day, and we are a young and pretty well phisically trained family : you won't understand anything at all from this one, which btw is an expensive one. Take Luberon villages tour instead for an unforgettable experience and a well guided tour

Doing what: Full-day small group tour to Avignon, Pont du Gard, Orange and Chateauneuf du pape wine tour from Aix-en-Provence

Irini N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We appreciate the professionalism and friendliness of our tour guide and the half day trip was fun and memorable!

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Forrest S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had the good luck to have Phillippe Hendricks to be our tour guide. He knew the area well and provided historical information beyond our expectations. The area is beautiful and the Roman ruins were beyond our expectations.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Michael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a great tour of you want to take in winery, Roman ampitheatre and beautiful villages of Provence, all in one day. A long day, but very rewarding. Mark was an excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Bisola W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour packed in a lot and was great fun. Théâtre antique d'Orange was a highlight, as was the visit to Chateauneuf du Pape The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. I would definitely recommend this tour as an excellent way of seeing the delights of Provence!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Bodhodoydeb M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great trip! Just the right mix of information fun and travel. The first half is a bit easy with the wine tasting, but the second half is packed with sites and travels through a lovely labdscape.
Good value for money and great variety !

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Reen W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We like it , the driver is pleasant and knowledgeble

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

KC United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This is a very comprehensive tour but includes a lot of driving around Provence. I found the return to Avignon to pick up different guests for the afternoon portion, denying us time for lunch, was contrary to the description on the website and added to the driving time.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Cynthia h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was an interesting day and we visited some fantastic French villages. The guide Marc was very knowledgeable, on time and really was a lot of fun

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message