Avignon ATTRACTIONS See all

Palace of the Popes (Palais des Papes)

The Palais des Papes (Palace of the Popes) is one of the largest Gothic buildings in all of Europe and was classified as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1995. Avignon became the residence of the Popes in 1309 during the period of the Avignon ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 85 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ashraf M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour. Marc is very personable and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Yuli S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A good tour to take if you only have a short time in Provence! Our guide Cedric was fantastic!

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Lucia United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Brilliant tour which covers a lot of amazing places in one day. Good for those of you who have limited time in Marseille and want to see the best highlights of Provence. The guide was informative and allowed us sufficient time to explore on our own. Some oth the sights were breathtakingly beautiful. Good to finish the day with a little wine tasting :

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Suzana G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Overall fantastic experience. The tour guide was very knowledgeable of the area and impressively spoke 3 different languages fluently! Very punctual and accommodating as well. I would definitely plan other tours with this great company. They know what they are doing it!

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Featle

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Our guide, Florence, was really great, very knowledgeable and delightful. The tour has 4 very different themes and some may not suit some travelers. The themes are ancient Roman engineering with aquaduct, ancient castle on a mountain, popes palace, and wine tasting. We loved the 1st 2 themes, but the others did not suit us but they would suit others. The tour is best suited for those with wide interests.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

libbysmail3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was awesome! Our guide Mark, was very informative. He gave us a very concise overview of the history of what we were seeing, and really made the tour come to life. Mark made sure the group was altogether, and very caring of walkways that were narrow and stairs which were steep. I highly recommend this tour. The free glass of wine at the end made for a very good lasting impression.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Lots of fun. Informative. Great your guide

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

nicolemwilson619 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was great. This tour was definitely worth booking. Our tour guide was great and informative. Avignon is not a large town, so the amount of walking is easy. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

rob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great tour to get to know about the history of the popes place and avignon

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

There were only two of us on this tour so we had a very personal service. The guide provided a lot of information about the historical aspects of Avignon and the Palace. We were given time to look at the things we were interested in. At the end of the tour we went to a courtyard in a museum for a drink. The Pope's Palace is a must do if you are visiting Avignon and having the guide helped to make sense of what we were seeing.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Ravishing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was exceptionally knowledgable and it and #39;s smart to skip the line. What made this trip were the stories about previous figures and landmarks and it and #39;s a terrific way to see Avignon (as it and #39;s quite small). Well worth it and there and #39;s not much walking to be honest!

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

KC United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Coverd the highlights and very informative

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

GAIL E United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

My family and I 6 adults, have enjoyed several Viator tours in Italy, Spain, and France. This tour was good, though not my favorite, as it focused almost entirely on the Pope's Palce, and really did not involve the rest of the city, apart from aspects which could be viewed from the great heights above it. The views, however ARE beautiful, and the history of the palace very interesting. Our guide, Victorienne, was knowledgeable and helpful. We would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Dean G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The tour guide, Matt was just an ok guide. There was too much time scheduled in Avignon, not enough time in Baux or Pont du Gard...and the visit to the vineyard was an extreme disappointment.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Cynthia h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everyone should take this tour because it's a really great behind the scenes in-depth look at an amazing monument. Again the guide Marc, was really helpful, knowledgeable and nice!

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Cynthia h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everyone should take this tour because it's a really great behind the scenes in-depth look at an amazing monument. Again the guide Marc, was really helpful, knowledgeable and nice!

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Tony N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Have done many tours recently and this was by far the best one. Our guide Adeline was very polite and friendly and had an extensive knowledge of the history of Avignon and the Papal Palace. It was a most enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Katherine O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

For sure you have to take this walking tour if you go to Avignon. You will understand the city so much better and there are overlooks you will not find without the tour. Our Guide Adeline very clearly explained the importance of this river town in the history of the south of France. The papal palace was dazzling and we learned so much about the past of Avignon and about the festival that takes place every July

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Elliott H

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Seeing Avignon on foot was good, but our guide was terrible. At one point, she even claimed that during World War II no Nazis came to Avignon, which of course is not correct.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

James C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great guide and great tour to learn about the area,

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Peter O

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Knowledgeable guide to show us all the important parts for people who are interested in this particular history - otherwise this may not be for you.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Sunshine P United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely recommended if you want a day to get just a taste of the South of France. From Paris, to the train station, to Avignon, the guides were knowledgeable and helpful. We would have liked to spent more of the sites the walled city of Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Pont du Gard but we expected to be on a tight schedule since it was only a day. But even just the experience of riding the high speed TGV was also a highlight for us - less than a three hour ride to such beautiful sites. Only means we will visit again for a longer trip because there is just so much to see an experience.

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV Train

Margaret G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was essentially transportation with information along the drive. Cedric was a great guide and we enjoyed his talks. We had enough time to explore and the winery was fantastic -and tasty

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Lindsay S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Perfect. Informative interesting fun and violette our guide was keen for us to enjoy the tour. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message