Avignon ATTRACTIONS See all

Palace of the Popes (Palais des Papes)

The Palais des Papes (Palace of the Popes) is one of the largest Gothic buildings in all of Europe and was classified as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1995. Avignon became the residence of the Popes in 1309 during the period of the Avignon ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 75 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ravishing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was exceptionally knowledgable and it and #39;s smart to skip the line. What made this trip were the stories about previous figures and landmarks and it and #39;s a terrific way to see Avignon (as it and #39;s quite small). Well worth it and there and #39;s not much walking to be honest!

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

KC United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Coverd the highlights and very informative

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

GAIL E United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

My family and I 6 adults, have enjoyed several Viator tours in Italy, Spain, and France. This tour was good, though not my favorite, as it focused almost entirely on the Pope's Palce, and really did not involve the rest of the city, apart from aspects which could be viewed from the great heights above it. The views, however ARE beautiful, and the history of the palace very interesting. Our guide, Victorienne, was knowledgeable and helpful. We would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Dean G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The tour guide, Matt was just an ok guide. There was too much time scheduled in Avignon, not enough time in Baux or Pont du Gard...and the visit to the vineyard was an extreme disappointment.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Cynthia h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everyone should take this tour because it's a really great behind the scenes in-depth look at an amazing monument. Again the guide Marc, was really helpful, knowledgeable and nice!

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Cynthia h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everyone should take this tour because it's a really great behind the scenes in-depth look at an amazing monument. Again the guide Marc, was really helpful, knowledgeable and nice!

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Tony N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Have done many tours recently and this was by far the best one. Our guide Adeline was very polite and friendly and had an extensive knowledge of the history of Avignon and the Papal Palace. It was a most enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Katherine O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

For sure you have to take this walking tour if you go to Avignon. You will understand the city so much better and there are overlooks you will not find without the tour. Our Guide Adeline very clearly explained the importance of this river town in the history of the south of France. The papal palace was dazzling and we learned so much about the past of Avignon and about the festival that takes place every July

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Elliott H

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Seeing Avignon on foot was good, but our guide was terrible. At one point, she even claimed that during World War II no Nazis came to Avignon, which of course is not correct.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

James C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great guide and great tour to learn about the area,

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Peter O

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Knowledgeable guide to show us all the important parts for people who are interested in this particular history - otherwise this may not be for you.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Sunshine P United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely recommended if you want a day to get just a taste of the South of France. From Paris, to the train station, to Avignon, the guides were knowledgeable and helpful. We would have liked to spent more of the sites the walled city of Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Pont du Gard but we expected to be on a tight schedule since it was only a day. But even just the experience of riding the high speed TGV was also a highlight for us - less than a three hour ride to such beautiful sites. Only means we will visit again for a longer trip because there is just so much to see an experience.

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV Train

Margaret G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was essentially transportation with information along the drive. Cedric was a great guide and we enjoyed his talks. We had enough time to explore and the winery was fantastic -and tasty

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Lindsay S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Perfect. Informative interesting fun and violette our guide was keen for us to enjoy the tour. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Rolando T

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

quite a leisurely trip. since its a small group 6 pax, the guide gave us adequate time to explore the area on our own while we gave some history and background on the road to those interesting places. Must do if you're around Marseille.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Rolando T

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Quite a leisurely trip. Since we were a small group 6 pax the tour guide allowed us enough time to explore those interesting areas. Must do if you're around Marseille.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

JP - Memphis, TN United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a 12 hour, fully packed day. Saw an amazing variety of great spots in Provence. Wonderful stop at Les Baux castle was the highlight. Excellent guide.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Diana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was wonderfully handled - my tour guide was exceptional.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Bruce M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Good tour and well worth it. We got to see everything we wanted to see. Pick up was no problem and they picked up in another town. Very nice minivan. We enjoyed our trip!

Our 'tour guide' was more of a chauffeur than guide .... He took you locations and arranged pick up times but that was about it. He did have ample opportunity to narrate since he had a microphone in the front. However as he said this was his last tour of the season so.....

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Eric M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Overall, I would say that we were happy with this tour. Highlights for us were the Pont du Gard and the wine tasting at the winery in Chateauneuf-du-Pape which we would not have been able to reach on our own. Our guide was very friendly and informative while at the same time trying to navigate crazy Marseilles traffic. Unfortunately, we had poor weather cold and high winds which detracted from some activities and bad traffic which slightly shortened our day. Due to the shortened hours of sunlight and the considerable travel distances we felt the time spent at each location was quite short. The tour was adjusted for the season so we visited Les Baux de Provence first. Unfortunately, we did not have time to visit the castle and most shops were closed for the season. Our time at the Pont du Gard was also quite short - partly due to other people in the group's preference to spend more time in Avignon - but again we felt rushed and missed out on some components. We were very impressed with the bridge itself but were unable to visit the museum or watch the contextual video in the 45 mins allotted. At Avignon we followed the advice of other reviewers and did not go into the Pope's Palace but rather observed it from the exterior and wandered the old streets and had a relaxed lunch. While we liked Avignon, everyone in the group found there wasn't much to do in the off-season and everyone returned to the van early. Finally, the wine tasting was very good with excellent wines and a very funny, relaxed, yet informative tasting guide. By the time we left the winery it was dark and so we were unable to tour the vineyards or visit the very scenic village. Overall, while I think the guide did the best she could to provide the same tour in the off-season, I don't feel like we got the full experience and I would emphasise that you consider what are the key elements of this tour you are looking for and whether they can be met within the limits of the off-season.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

John B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It was lots of fun. We got to see Provence and a lot of the sights.

For some reason, they decided to move the tour 1 hour earlier. We got the message late the evening before. We made it to the earlier time, but the other guest didn't since he didn't get the message. Given an extra hour to waste, the guide took us up to the Notre Dame del la Gard so we got an extra chance to visit it. All-in-all, it wasn't a wasted hour even though I was a bit upset at the late notification that we needed to have an earlier start to our day.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Kev

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

If you only want to take one tour during your trip, this is the one. Our guide, Renaud, was just great. He kept a van full of 8 people engaged and laughing through a long, amazing day.
Avignon - a great walking tour and the 14th-century Popes' Palace is quite beautiful.
Pont du Gard a Roman aqueduct near Nimes, this UNESCO World Heritage site is quite impressive and inspiring. Pictures do not do it justice and you will want more time here.
Les Baux de Provence - a lovely medieval village. You will want good walking shoes for this one but it's a great stop.
The village of Châteauneuf-du-Pape - the wine tasting was informative and a lot of fun. Bring your euros because you will want to buy some wine while you're there.
The tour is an interesting mix of activities and was worth every minute. It's long ours was a 12-hour day, but we loved every minute. We are still talking about this day and Renaud helped make it perfect. Take this tour! Thank you!

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

petered2001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a great day with our guide Renault. He gave us lots of information, we had enough time in each stop to enjoy ourselves and the scenery was fantastic. The wine testing was informative and tasty, even if the wine was a bit expensive to buy.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message