The Pont du Gard is a 50 kilometer (31 miles) aqueduct that stretches between Uzès and Nîmes. It is located in Vers-Pont-du-Gard commune in the South of France, and UNESCO made the aqueduct a World Heritage Site in 1985. The famous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 522 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Terry F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent knowledgeable tour guide. Can't ask for more!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

monikagrzegorzek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good! Great sights, enjoyed it all the way!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

silvo Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great day trip. Matt our guide was excellent both with his knowledge and driving. Great way to see the amazing villages of Provence in one day. AMAZING well worth the cost.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

fiona c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Marc was a great tour guide, very knowledgeable about wines in particular.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

RAFAEL SOUZA C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing: very interesting and enjoyable, definitely not only because the sight views but Gordana, our guide, really know and like what is doing. She told us the history behind the sigh views and also take us to a real winery, where we could taste and understand the poetry behind the wine and its complexity. Definetly Gordana is an excelente guide and the tour itself is already very interesting.

Doing what: Small Group Half-Day Pont du Gard and Roman Theater Tour with Wine Tasting from Avignon

Graham K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

When in Provence you have to do Le Grand Tour! It's a lot of travelling in the bus which wasn't good for my arthritic hip and knee but these are places that have to be seen! Loved the tour, and tour guide Remi was very patient and very knowledgeable. Les Baux de Provence, Roussillion and Gordes were lovely but the old Roman amphitheatre in Oange and the Pont du Gard were particularly impressive

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Sharon H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Provence Le Grand Tour was very well organized and very informative. A beautiful part of France that enhances the local wines, food and landmarks

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

nicolemwilson619 United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The towns we went to were amazing. Please be prepared to walk quite a bit, so wear comfortable shoes. I loved each place we went to on this tour! The guide was nice, but could have provided more information on the area. I was so glad that I was able to see areas I would not have been able to have seen on my own. I would suggest providing water on this tour.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Pauline R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This is a long day but covers a lot of stuff. We did everything on the itinerary. Our guide was knowledgable and able to give tips on many things in the area. There were plenty of photo opportunities and enough breaks off the bus to make sure we enjoyed a lovely sunny day. It's certainly a good introduction to the area.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Megan B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful sites, good sized group, friendly and informative guide.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Carol G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a very full day visiting beautiful villages around Provence. We loved the tour and the guide was friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

libbysmail3

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

It was a very long day as we suspected it would be. Our driver/guide, was very pleasant, and gave a brief description of what we were going to see during our various stops. However once there at an attraction, or village we were on our own. Having been on Insight coach tours, I missed the extended dialogue and commentary as to what we were seeing. Also, our driver had to return to our starting point in Avignon to pick up a passenger who was only taking a half-day tour, thus losing some time. I think in order to do justice to these wonderful provencial towns and villages, the tour should be offered over two days. For example: north and south Provence, or east and west. Then it wouldn't be so rushed at the attractions, and not so long in the van.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a reasonably comprehensive tour to a number of locations. It is a long day but if you have limited time is it an excellent tour. The wine tasting class was excellent and I am sure everyone attending left knowing a lot more about wine and how to tell a quality wine than they previously did. I wish I had taken a map so I could have tracked our travel as we were doing it.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Angela L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was my first time to travel to the south of France. I have heard so much about the charm, beauty and magic of Provence and southern France. I went into this trip with lots of fantasies and images about this place. Needless to say, the Reality far exceeded my fantasies. From the moment our tour guide picked me up to the moment he dropped me off, the whole day was just mesmerizing. The town of Orange was a good starting point. I learned so much about wine from our visit to Chateauneuf du Pape, the hilltop villages were heartachingly beautiful and the Pont du Gard...I am lost for words. I was stunned into silence at my first sighting of it. Julienne our driver/tour guide was just perfect. His nice, friendly, easy going personality were a big positive factor for the tour. He was very informative and had lots of knowledge about the places and the whole region. We talked about wines, grapes, palaces, romans, rivers, mountains, french food, french people and culture, lavender, van gogh etc...All in all it was defintely a grand tour and I loved it and I was very happy that I booked it.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

dkmaf340

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonder tour seeing all the highlights of the region.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Lynn D

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Do not take the afternoon tour. It is badly organized when the Pont du Guard visit is the last stop around 5-5:30 PM. All the pictures that we took were against the sun, which caused the bridge to be dark. This is a shame because the Pont du Guard is the main feature of the tour and is a UNESCO site! Everyone ended up buying a postcard. I was disappointed that I could not take any good pictures. The entire tour was very long driving from one town to another. It should begin with Pond du Guard and the other towns last!

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Wai Fung L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good trip, tour guide, tour agency - would definitely recommend to everyone travelling to Avignon

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Hazel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Although only a half day, this tour on our first day of a two-week holiday in Provence was a perfect introduction to the region. Mark was a great tour guide! The tour included a visit and tasting at a fascinating wine museum in Chateauneuf du Pape, a visit to the Roman Theater in Orange we were there for 30 minutes of rehearsal of Madame Butterfly! and ended with a visit to the incomparable Pont du Gard. A perfect introduction to Provence!

Doing what: Half-Day Tour to Orange and Chateauneuf du Pape Including Pont du Gard from Avignon

Forrest S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had the good luck to have Phillippe Hendricks to be our tour guide. He knew the area well and provided historical information beyond our expectations. The area is beautiful and the Roman ruins were beyond our expectations.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Michael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a great tour of you want to take in winery, Roman ampitheatre and beautiful villages of Provence, all in one day. A long day, but very rewarding. Mark was an excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Catherine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Roman ruins were stunning and we had the best guide I've ever had! She was most knowledgeable.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

DCGUY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

There are a lot of tours from Avignon to the Provence region and it is hard to decide which combination of places to visit so they don't overlap with others. I found this to be a very good way to highlight many places in a single day. It was just enough time in each location so I didn't feel as if our time was wasted. The small van of 6 people was ideal and our guide Emilie was terrific. She was also the driver as well as the guide and yet she always was enthusiastic and interesting in her remarks, despite the hot day and extensive driving. There are a lot of scenic opportunities on this trip, so be sure to bring a good camera!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Bisola W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour packed in a lot and was great fun. Théâtre antique d'Orange was a highlight, as was the visit to Chateauneuf du Pape The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. I would definitely recommend this tour as an excellent way of seeing the delights of Provence!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Bodhodoydeb M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great trip! Just the right mix of information fun and travel. The first half is a bit easy with the wine tasting, but the second half is packed with sites and travels through a lovely labdscape.
Good value for money and great variety !

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message