The Pont du Gard is a 50 kilometer (31 miles) aqueduct that stretches between Uzès and Nîmes. It is located in Vers-Pont-du-Gard commune in the South of France, and UNESCO made the aqueduct a World Heritage Site in 1985. The famous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 551 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Catherine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A whirlwind of info and activity and road tripping. I want to say I had an hilarious time because of our guide. I admired his skill in herding us from place to place with patience and good will. I learned so much about the area. Do it!

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Lorenzina F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Beautiful area of France! Missed seeing the purple lavender in bloom and it was quite windy. Another spectacular tour and the guide was very kind and accommodating.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Melissa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour guide! She explained everything, place really well. Spoke English very well!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Kerry B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

If you do not wish to go through the hassle of renting a car, this tour is absolutely essential. Our tour guide Anne was very well-versed in the entire region and gave us a wonderful picture of what we were seeing on our way to the sites. The Colosseum in Nimes is amazing, although I wish we would have had a bit more time to see the Temple. Our next stops Uzes was well worth the visit and Anne explained its importance as a major Bishopric. At our last stop at Pont du Gard we were afforded enough time to walk around the massive aqueduct and and appreciate what the Romans had done 2000 years ago to bring fresh water to their communities. A wonderful trip.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Margaret M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

If you are traveling without your own car this is an excellent way to visit these wonderful sights

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Roger M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This was a wonderful experience. Our guide was informative and very interesting and the entire day was planned quite well...a stop at a lavender factory, then a trip to Rousillon where we had time to leisurely see the town, then she drove us to Gordes and gave us many tips on what to do and see...we had time for lunch here. We stopped in St. Remy to see the Roman ruins and then we drove to Pont du Gard where we had enough time for coffee and a leisurely walk up to the bridge to explore. It was a good day.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Jill R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide Melanie was very pleasant and knowledgeable! As soon as we began our road trip she began telling us about the region and it and #39;s importance. We had adequate time at each stop and Melanie told us what sites to see, so that we wouldn and #39;t miss an important one.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Margaret B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon. Our guide, Marc, was very knowledgeable about the land and the history of each town as well as the places in between.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

pat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Roman Amphitheater at Nimes was amazing but the Pont du Gard aqueduct was the hightlight of the trip. Don't miss it!

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Frederick F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour - small group, short and informative. The driver was wonderful and very friendly and provided great information. The actual time in each location was short but was enough time to get a feel for each location. There is a great bit of driving but the route is scenic and not too bad. All the locations would be difficult to travel to by public transportation so this a great way to visit these locations without renting a vehicle. For me I don't like taking long all-day tours and this fit unto my schedule perfectly. The meeting place in Avignon is the Tourist Office and it's easy to find.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Joy Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My husband and I enjoyed this trip immensely. Our guide, Anna, was very knowledgeable and personable. Although this trip packs in a lot, it was everything we wanted to see and I never felt rushed. We had sufficient time at each stop. There really is nothing I would leave out. Had my husband and I tried to do this on our own, we never would have found all these places. Thank you, Viator! We will book with you again. - Joy Z.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

germanm Argentina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Avignon is the ideal starting point for getting to know Provence. In addition to its jewels such as the Palace of the Popes and its famous Bridge and the ever-present wind, it is located in the center of Provence and through the beautiful villages of the Luberon: Les Baux, Gordes and Rousillon, passing from white calcareous to Ocher color, to finish in the incredible Pont du Gard

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

germanm Argentina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Avignon is the ideal starting point for getting to know Provence. In addition to its jewels such as the Palace of the Popes and its famous Bridge and the ever-present wind, it is located in the center of Provence and through the beautiful villages of the Luberon: Les Baux, Gordes and Rousillon, passing from white calcareous to Ocher color, to finish in the incredible Pont du Gard

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Curtis H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Terrific tour, a bit of a whirlwind, maybe not quite enough time at some of the more interesting towns, but overall very well done, and we certainly covered a LOT of ground. Our tour guide was entertaining and highly informative. Price was reasonable, too!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Yuli S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A good tour to take if you only have a short time in Provence! Our guide Cedric was fantastic!

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Joseph M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The driver was great and we hit all the spots in a timely manner. It was a good day.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Kenneth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was great and Melonie was a wonderful driver and guide. The highlight was the Pont du Gard. Well worth it

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Lucia United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Brilliant tour which covers a lot of amazing places in one day. Good for those of you who have limited time in Marseille and want to see the best highlights of Provence. The guide was informative and allowed us sufficient time to explore on our own. Some oth the sights were breathtakingly beautiful. Good to finish the day with a little wine tasting :

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

CSR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was great. We really enjoyed. Though it was a long day, our tour guide was very informative, friendly and accommodating. Given the short period of time we have, it was a great way to see Provence without having to drive ourselves.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Suzana G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Overall fantastic experience. The tour guide was very knowledgeable of the area and impressively spoke 3 different languages fluently! Very punctual and accommodating as well. I would definitely plan other tours with this great company. They know what they are doing it!

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Peter T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We had a really good day and saw much that was interesting and delightful. Although our mini-van was rather cosy for 8 adults and the driver, that led to us getting to know our fellow-travellers during the trip and made the day even better. If half stars were available we'd give the trip four and a half stars out of five.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

LISA W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great day with lots of sightseeing

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Featle

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Our guide, Florence, was really great, very knowledgeable and delightful. The tour has 4 very different themes and some may not suit some travelers. The themes are ancient Roman engineering with aquaduct, ancient castle on a mountain, popes palace, and wine tasting. We loved the 1st 2 themes, but the others did not suit us but they would suit others. The tour is best suited for those with wide interests.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Glenn F United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We saw so much and our tour guide was great, but think it is too much for one day. You really get only a short time visiting the various villages in Provence. All were facinating in their own way. My suggestion is have a two day tour instead of onn. Glenn

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message