Avignon ATTRACTIONS See all

Rhone Valley Region

The lands on either side of the Rhone River in western Provence have some of the most fertile terroir in France, giving rise to the prestige of the Rhone Valley Region of over 1,000 vineyards. If you're visiting France and want to explore a wine ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 92 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our wine tour. Julien our driver was both friendly and informative with a great sense of humour. We were picked up on time and given a lot of background information before arriving at our first tasting. Definately recomend.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

pambetz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great Guide and visits to small town and vineyards - and of course tastings! Even brought empty! Chateauneuf-du-Pape bottle designed by artist Pere Anselme home - which caused some raised eyebrows at airport security LOL!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Margaret G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was essentially transportation with information along the drive. Cedric was a great guide and we enjoyed his talks. We had enough time to explore and the winery was fantastic -and tasty

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

JP - Memphis, TN United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a 12 hour, fully packed day. Saw an amazing variety of great spots in Provence. Wonderful stop at Les Baux castle was the highlight. Excellent guide.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

surferjoe13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My wife and I enjoyed this tour immensely. Our guide, Adeline, was very knowledgeable about wine and the wine-making process. She also was a wealth of information about the history, geography, and meteorology of the surrounding region. The highlight of this tour was a wine tasting class at a winery in Ventoux where Adeline explained how to evaluate and taste wine. We were able to taste seven wines during this class. After lunch we went to a winery in Tavel where we tasted several rose wines which Tavel specializes in comparing wines made from grapes grown in different soils. We ended our day in Chateauneuf-du-Pape at a winery which discussed the specialized wine-making process in that region. We found Adeline to be utterly charming. Her English was impeccable.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

Ann G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a wonderful tour! Our guide was amazing--thoroughly knowledgeable and so helpful. We enjoyed both wineries very much! We were on a Viator tour in 2013 in Epernay which was also wonderful. We will highly recommend Viator to any travelers and look forward to our next Viator experience.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Diana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was wonderfully handled - my tour guide was exceptional.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Traian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We have enjoyed this trip very much. It is a half day excursion, just not too long and not too short.
The tour guide was very knowledgeable, new several languages and was a very nice person.
We recommend this tour if you happen to be in Avignon.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Baron Eyhorne United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very informative tour about the history of the area and of course wine tasting of top notch French wine was one for the ages

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

petered2001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a great day with our guide Renault. He gave us lots of information, we had enough time in each stop to enjoy ourselves and the scenery was fantastic. The wine testing was informative and tasty, even if the wine was a bit expensive to buy.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Mara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really great tour with a wonderful guide, Julian. Enjoyed all three wineries, and Julian's wonderful commentary about the wine making process, and the region. Julian did a fantastic job, and made everyone feel comfortable while on the tour. The only change I would make is for the tour company not to have others join the tour half way through the day. We had to backtrack to where we started in Avignon just to pick up two people. Wasted part of our tour day having to have Julian do that.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

Kev

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

If you only want to take one tour during your trip, this is the one. Our guide, Renaud, was just great. He kept a van full of 8 people engaged and laughing through a long, amazing day.
Avignon - a great walking tour and the 14th-century Popes' Palace is quite beautiful.
Pont du Gard a Roman aqueduct near Nimes, this UNESCO World Heritage site is quite impressive and inspiring. Pictures do not do it justice and you will want more time here.
Les Baux de Provence - a lovely medieval village. You will want good walking shoes for this one but it's a great stop.
The village of Châteauneuf-du-Pape - the wine tasting was informative and a lot of fun. Bring your euros because you will want to buy some wine while you're there.
The tour is an interesting mix of activities and was worth every minute. It's long ours was a 12-hour day, but we loved every minute. We are still talking about this day and Renaud helped make it perfect. Take this tour! Thank you!

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Eugenia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My best friend and I had an amazing trip with wonderful wine and food pairings. It was definitely worth it for the full day tour. Julien was a great driver, tour guide and teacher! He was charming and very knowledgeable about wines, food and Avignon. I would do it again!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

Mario S Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour! Tour guide/driver Gail was very professional and the places visited are not to be missed. Some really amazing sights.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

David F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour with an extremely knowledgeable and personable guide!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Lawson K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour director Gail was very good. She was friendly and very informative. The tour was very good too. Provence is beautiful and we saw some stunning parts of it. I would definitely take another Viator tour.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

JEB United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Every tour is about the guide. Julien was a superstar. He is a native of Avignon and could answer all our questions. Since we had just arrived the night before, he filled us in on the history as we drove to our first winery. It was just Julien and the 2 of us in the AM which was delightful. In the afternoon, our van was full...Julien 8. Still we had a wonderful time, and know it would not have been the same without Julien. He gets 5 stars. The wines were lovely...we were taught how to properly taste, and we learned a lot about the wonderful grapes and blends of the region. Do it!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

Elizabeth A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My daughter and I had a wonderful day! Interesting and we loved the shops as well!
Our tour bus was cool, clean and comfortable. The guide was great and the driver was as well!
Our guide looked like the pop singer Jewel and was very kind and informative and approachable.
A great memory!

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Cindy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was amazing. She is very funny and told us a lot about Provence while still driving, and she's a very good driver.
Highly recommend this trip to people who wanna spend a day to see neighboring cities of Marseille.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Frances S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Jeremy picked us up right on schedule and we toured the Rhone Valley on our way to Tavel and Chateauneuf du Pape. We had many questions and he answered them plus added local flavor about the area. We stopped for photos and even toured the town of Tavel since we were a bit early for the wine tasting. It was a very satisfying experience for all four of us! Thank you Jeremy and Viator.

Doing what: Private Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Roger M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Cedric was a great guide. Informative, fun, very concerned for our satisfaction. Above and beyond expectations for our tour. And each location was spectacular and we'll worth the visit. Great value!

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

candan t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

lovely tour, lovely guide julien, highly recommended - even to those who don't like tours, like me!

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Cary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were the lucky ones, we had the tour to ourselves. The guide / driver was very pleasant and knowledgeable. We were given time at each of our stops to look around and the only thing I would say is that if you really have an interest in the subject the time is too short, the museum at the Pont du Gard is really good and I could have spent at least one more hour just understanding how the canals/ aquaducts was built, same with the palace of the popes, but that said I enjoyed the trip as well as the variety of sightseeing for the day,
Would definitely recommend taking this tour.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message