A world-famous arts festival, an ever-thriving wine trade and a lively student population ensure Avignon isn’t just a showcase of medieval architecture, but a buzzing Provencal center as well.   Day 1: Pont and Palace  Start at the Palais ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 852 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

gogu_lucian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

the best experience we've had in Provence by far! Nathalie is the best guide I've ever met, everything was perfect. Thank you!

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Terry F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent knowledgeable tour guide. Can't ask for more!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

libbysmail3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was awesome! Our guide Mark, was very informative. He gave us a very concise overview of the history of what we were seeing, and really made the tour come to life. Mark made sure the group was altogether, and very caring of walkways that were narrow and stairs which were steep. I highly recommend this tour. The free glass of wine at the end made for a very good lasting impression.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

monikagrzegorzek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good! Great sights, enjoyed it all the way!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

silvo Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great day trip. Matt our guide was excellent both with his knowledge and driving. Great way to see the amazing villages of Provence in one day. AMAZING well worth the cost.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Pamela A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Guide was very knowledgeable and spoke perfect English, met us exactly on time and the day went very well indeed. This is a good day out and left nothing to be desired. Some absolutely stunning views and photo opportunities were many. The day was very hot and this was a bit tough at times but then... we are in our eighties so can expect to have to work hard to enjoy ourselves. Thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

fiona c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Marc was a great tour guide, very knowledgeable about wines in particular.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Lots of fun. Informative. Great your guide

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

nicolemwilson619 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was great. This tour was definitely worth booking. Our tour guide was great and informative. Avignon is not a large town, so the amount of walking is easy. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Graham K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

When in Provence you have to do Le Grand Tour! It's a lot of travelling in the bus which wasn't good for my arthritic hip and knee but these are places that have to be seen! Loved the tour, and tour guide Remi was very patient and very knowledgeable. Les Baux de Provence, Roussillion and Gordes were lovely but the old Roman amphitheatre in Oange and the Pont du Gard were particularly impressive

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Amy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing! I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Avignon!! It was so amazing seeing all of the villages of the Luberon area. This tour is a must!

Doing what: Small-Group Luberon Day Trip from Avignon Including Roussillon Ochre Trail Hiking and Provençal Wine Tasting

Stephanie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was very good and we learned a lot! Our tour guide was so nice and very interesting.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Sharon H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Provence Le Grand Tour was very well organized and very informative. A beautiful part of France that enhances the local wines, food and landmarks

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Pauline R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This is a long day but covers a lot of stuff. We did everything on the itinerary. Our guide was knowledgable and able to give tips on many things in the area. There were plenty of photo opportunities and enough breaks off the bus to make sure we enjoyed a lovely sunny day. It's certainly a good introduction to the area.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Pauline R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a very good trip. We enjoyed the visit to chateau neuf particularly. Our guide was knowledgeable and able to give lots of information about the area. There were plenty of photo opportunities.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

Carol G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a very full day visiting beautiful villages around Provence. We loved the tour and the guide was friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

libbysmail3

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

It was a very long day as we suspected it would be. Our driver/guide, was very pleasant, and gave a brief description of what we were going to see during our various stops. However once there at an attraction, or village we were on our own. Having been on Insight coach tours, I missed the extended dialogue and commentary as to what we were seeing. Also, our driver had to return to our starting point in Avignon to pick up a passenger who was only taking a half-day tour, thus losing some time. I think in order to do justice to these wonderful provencial towns and villages, the tour should be offered over two days. For example: north and south Provence, or east and west. Then it wouldn't be so rushed at the attractions, and not so long in the van.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

libbysmail3

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Our guide Remy, was very pleasant and tried to explain the history of these two wineries. In Tavel, there was a wine tasting rather than a tour, and a showroom of wines which you could purchase. It was a very pretty drive to Chateauneuf-du-Pape, and we stopped for pictures along the way. Upon arrival at the winery, Remy introduced us to Vincent, who would actually be taking us on the tour with our group and one other. It was very interesting, and we had another opportunity to purchase wines at the end. When I initially read about this tour it included a stop in the town of Orange. I was disappointed that it wasn't included as it has a fantastic Roman ampitheatre still in use. We did drive through the town to our destination, but I would have liked to visit it.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a reasonably comprehensive tour to a number of locations. It is a long day but if you have limited time is it an excellent tour. The wine tasting class was excellent and I am sure everyone attending left knowing a lot more about wine and how to tell a quality wine than they previously did. I wish I had taken a map so I could have tracked our travel as we were doing it.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

There were only two of us on this tour so we had a very personal service. The guide provided a lot of information about the historical aspects of Avignon and the Palace. We were given time to look at the things we were interested in. At the end of the tour we went to a courtyard in a museum for a drink. The Pope's Palace is a must do if you are visiting Avignon and having the guide helped to make sense of what we were seeing.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

louiseward

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is an excellent way to see the lavender fields. It's much easier than driving yourself as the guide knew exactly where to go to find the fields which were in flower at that time, meaning there were lots of photo opportunities. He was very knowledgeable, telling us all about the different types of lavender and the distillation process. It was also interesting to be able to visit the farm where they extract the lavender oil. The transport was comfortable and air conditioned and we were collected from right outside the hotel. The morning tour is a good choice to avoid the afternoon heat.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Steve S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Violet, our tour guide made the trip fun. The selection of cities and locations was great for experiencing the south of France. Having the guide drop us off right in front of the old villages, while others had to park and walk from long distances was a great part of taking this tour.

Doing what: Provence Wine and Heritage Tour from Avignon: Les Baux de Provence, Nimes and Uzès

Ika P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was awesome, he knew very much about the history and agriculture in the area, which I liked very much.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message