A world-famous arts festival, an ever-thriving wine trade and a lively student population ensure Avignon isn’t just a showcase of medieval architecture, but a buzzing Provencal center as well.   Day 1: Pont and Palace  Start at the Palais ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 833 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a reasonably comprehensive tour to a number of locations. It is a long day but if you have limited time is it an excellent tour. The wine tasting class was excellent and I am sure everyone attending left knowing a lot more about wine and how to tell a quality wine than they previously did. I wish I had taken a map so I could have tracked our travel as we were doing it.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

There were only two of us on this tour so we had a very personal service. The guide provided a lot of information about the historical aspects of Avignon and the Palace. We were given time to look at the things we were interested in. At the end of the tour we went to a courtyard in a museum for a drink. The Pope's Palace is a must do if you are visiting Avignon and having the guide helped to make sense of what we were seeing.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

louiseward

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is an excellent way to see the lavender fields. It's much easier than driving yourself as the guide knew exactly where to go to find the fields which were in flower at that time, meaning there were lots of photo opportunities. He was very knowledgeable, telling us all about the different types of lavender and the distillation process. It was also interesting to be able to visit the farm where they extract the lavender oil. The transport was comfortable and air conditioned and we were collected from right outside the hotel. The morning tour is a good choice to avoid the afternoon heat.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Steve S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Violet, our tour guide made the trip fun. The selection of cities and locations was great for experiencing the south of France. Having the guide drop us off right in front of the old villages, while others had to park and walk from long distances was a great part of taking this tour.

Doing what: Provence Wine and Heritage Tour from Avignon: Les Baux de Provence, Nimes and Uzès

Ika P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was awesome, he knew very much about the history and agriculture in the area, which I liked very much.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

cathag13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was very nice. We have really enjoyed it.
The area, the villages the lavender fields are amazing

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

cathag13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It s very interesting.
You learn a lot about french wines and you can taste different kinds

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

dkmaf340

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is best taken the Lavender is in full bloom. I can only imagine the country side filled with the beautiful purple flowers. There was still plenty of Lavendin to be seen. You have to take the tour to learn the difference between Lavender and Lavendin. Watching the distilling process of the Lavender was fascinating and the smells throughout the region was soothing and relaxing. Our guide Anais was the consummate professional and since she was born in the area her knowledge was unsurpassed.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Angela L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was my first time to travel to the south of France. I have heard so much about the charm, beauty and magic of Provence and southern France. I went into this trip with lots of fantasies and images about this place. Needless to say, the Reality far exceeded my fantasies. From the moment our tour guide picked me up to the moment he dropped me off, the whole day was just mesmerizing. The town of Orange was a good starting point. I learned so much about wine from our visit to Chateauneuf du Pape, the hilltop villages were heartachingly beautiful and the Pont du Gard...I am lost for words. I was stunned into silence at my first sighting of it. Julienne our driver/tour guide was just perfect. His nice, friendly, easy going personality were a big positive factor for the tour. He was very informative and had lots of knowledge about the places and the whole region. We talked about wines, grapes, palaces, romans, rivers, mountains, french food, french people and culture, lavender, van gogh etc...All in all it was defintely a grand tour and I loved it and I was very happy that I booked it.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Even though it was very late in the season, our driver took us right to fields of still-blooming lavender. We learned a lot from our driver, not only about lavender, but about Provence In general. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Min C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Even this is at the end of the Lavender season, but we got to see the harvest, the distill process and especially smelled the nice fragrant in the field.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

dkmaf340

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonder tour seeing all the highlights of the region.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

dkmaf340

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was wonderful. Our guide Emmanuel was very knowledgeable of the region and gave wonderful insights to all the sites we visited.

Doing what: Provence Wine and Heritage Tour from Avignon: Les Baux de Provence, Nimes and Uzès

Olga R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Příjemný výlet s velmi dobře připravenou průvodkyní, měli jsme dost prostoru na samostatné prohlídky na všech místech, kterými jsme projížděli

Doing what: Van Gogh in Provence Small-Group Day Trip

Olga R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Klidný voňavý výlet na levandulová pole, zastávka na farmě i na polích

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

a.tenal22

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time on this tour. The scenery in the Provence region is breathtaking, and our tour guide Anna was really knowledgeable about the area. The reason we gave this 4 stars instead on 5, was because we felt that there wasn't enough free time out of the van.
Also, to any one who experience motion sickness: make sure to take anti-nausea medication. The mountain roads were really twisty!

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Sugandhi

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Awesome trip.
but less time is given at the stops.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Alexis S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

views were as promised, but tour was almost fully in a van at least 3.5 hours of just driving. thought we would have time to sit in the city and enjoy it for a bit, but only had 10 minutes. the museum wasn't really a museum, not sure what the ticket price went towards.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Sheri C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a wonderful trip Jeremy was a fantastic guide!!

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Mag

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour is great, we seized every minute in the lavender field, villages, markets....

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Dennis B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was wonderful! The guide was personable, knowledgeable and very friendly. The countryside and towns beautiful and the lavender museum unique!

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our wine tour. Julien our driver was both friendly and informative with a great sense of humour. We were picked up on time and given a lot of background information before arriving at our first tasting. Definately recomend.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Wing Lan Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

As our trip was on Tuesday, we visited one winery and Roman amphitheater in Orange.
Visit to the winery was interesting and we got to learn some basic knowledge of wine from the owner himself. I wish we would be able to spend more time at the winery though we were already behind schedule as we were too excited during the wine tasting part. The guide is knowledgable and friendly. Thank you for such a great half day !

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

Caroline E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I booked this trip as part of an Xmas present for my mum- it was well worth it! Frederic was a lovely guide and took us to some beautiful places, finishing in the lavender fields was the highlight of the day.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message