A world-famous arts festival, an ever-thriving wine trade and a lively student population ensure Avignon isn’t just a showcase of medieval architecture, but a buzzing Provencal center as well.   Day 1: Pont and Palace  Start at the Palais ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 808 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sheri C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a wonderful trip Jeremy was a fantastic guide!!

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Mag

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour is great, we seized every minute in the lavender field, villages, markets....

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Dennis B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was wonderful! The guide was personable, knowledgeable and very friendly. The countryside and towns beautiful and the lavender museum unique!

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our wine tour. Julien our driver was both friendly and informative with a great sense of humour. We were picked up on time and given a lot of background information before arriving at our first tasting. Definately recomend.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Wing Lan Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

As our trip was on Tuesday, we visited one winery and Roman amphitheater in Orange.
Visit to the winery was interesting and we got to learn some basic knowledge of wine from the owner himself. I wish we would be able to spend more time at the winery though we were already behind schedule as we were too excited during the wine tasting part. The guide is knowledgable and friendly. Thank you for such a great half day !

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

Caroline E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I booked this trip as part of an Xmas present for my mum- it was well worth it! Frederic was a lovely guide and took us to some beautiful places, finishing in the lavender fields was the highlight of the day.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Annabel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I really enjoyed my day on this tour. It was relaxed and accommodating. Our guide was lovely, spoke great English and we visited the most beautiful villages. A great day out, was good value for money and a good use of time if you are only spending a short time in the area and have no car.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Nguyen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a stunning trip. I expect more time at the Senanque Abbey as 20 mins sounds not enough for phototaking and shopping. I highly recommend this trip to everyone. Our tourguide communicated very clearly and friendly

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

bronwencalcraft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved the knowledge of our friendly guide and the beautiful landscape and wines we were able to experience first-hand. An extra winery or broader wine selection would have been appreciated though.

Doing what: Provence Wine Tasting Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon

Eric D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was amazing. It was truly wonderful being able to see all the villages without having to rent a car. The guide was very informative and very courteous. I highly recommend any one staying in Aix-en-Provence to take this tour.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Irini N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We appreciate the professionalism and friendliness of our tour guide and the half day trip was fun and memorable!

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Wai Fung L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good trip, tour guide, tour agency - would definitely recommend to everyone travelling to Avignon

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Wai Fung L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good trip, tour guide, tour agency - would definitely recommend to everyone travelling to Avignon

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Elizabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had so much fun and saw gorgeous flowers! The trip was nice and small, and I was able to take some beautiful pictures!

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Cristina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Julien was very helpful, nice, funny and knowledgeable of the area. He took us to the best looking lavender fields, and even made a photo stop in Gordes even though it wasn't on his list. He was also very helpful in giving tips about other places to visit in Avignon and the tour was very agreeable.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Cynthia O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour .. learned lots, and our guide Remi was fabulous .. I would certainly recommend this trip !

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

Forrest S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had the good luck to have Phillippe Hendricks to be our tour guide. He knew the area well and provided historical information beyond our expectations. The area is beautiful and the Roman ruins were beyond our expectations.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Michael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a great tour of you want to take in winery, Roman ampitheatre and beautiful villages of Provence, all in one day. A long day, but very rewarding. Mark was an excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Michael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Palais des Papes, Pont D and #39;Avignon and an unexpectedly beautiful and interesting Lavender Field and Sault Village visit. Tops!

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Independent City Tour

Wai Kit Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was amazing! The lavender fields were beautiful!

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

allie2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Catherine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Roman ruins were stunning and we had the best guide I've ever had! She was most knowledgeable.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Ravishing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was exceptionally knowledgable and it and #39;s smart to skip the line. What made this trip were the stories about previous figures and landmarks and it and #39;s a terrific way to see Avignon (as it and #39;s quite small). Well worth it and there and #39;s not much walking to be honest!

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Thomas M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guide was excellent. Very informative. Trip was great. Exactly as advertised!

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

DCGUY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Probably not people's first choice for a tour from Avignon, but if you have the time, I highly recommend this fun day away from the crowds. See the amazing salt ponds and learn how they retrieve and process the salt for various culinary and industrial purposes. Then on to two small villages--the quaint medieval town of Aigues-Mortes and the seaside town of Saintes-Maries-De-La-Mer. It was delightful to have just three of us on the tour and our guide Amelie was wonderful. Arles was the last stop and a tease, because we could have used so much more time there, but it was a great way to glimpse some of its highlights before returning for a full day. I was prepared, but didn't need, repellent for mosquitos in the Camargue, and was unprepared for the pleasant visit with the while horses of the area. All in all, a really nice day.

Doing what: Small-Group Arles, Camargue and Aigues-Mortes Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message