A world-famous arts festival, an ever-thriving wine trade and a lively student population ensure Avignon isn’t just a showcase of medieval architecture, but a buzzing Provencal center as well.   Day 1: Pont and Palace  Start at the Palais ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 876 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Melissa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour guide! She explained everything, place really well. Spoke English very well!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Roger M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This was a wonderful experience. Our guide was informative and very interesting and the entire day was planned quite well...a stop at a lavender factory, then a trip to Rousillon where we had time to leisurely see the town, then she drove us to Gordes and gave us many tips on what to do and see...we had time for lunch here. We stopped in St. Remy to see the Roman ruins and then we drove to Pont du Gard where we had enough time for coffee and a leisurely walk up to the bridge to explore. It was a good day.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

pat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Roman Amphitheater at Nimes was amazing but the Pont du Gard aqueduct was the hightlight of the trip. Don't miss it!

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

pat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were in Provence at the very end of the lavender harvest so we missed the grand visual display but there were still lavender fields for us to stop and explore. We also made a stop at a farm to see the oil harvesting process in progress and had a chance to buy lavender oil direct from the producer which was much cheaper than it was in the Lavender museum which ended the tour. I could have done without the commercial Lavender museum ending. I didn't learn as much about the farming and processing of lavender as I did at the farm and I felt I was mostly there to be encouraged to spend money on overpriced items, yet I suppose that is a part of the economy of the region as well. Anyway, the majority of the tour was a delight and we were so glad we took it. Our guide was pleasant and informative as well.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Joy Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My husband and I enjoyed this trip immensely. Our guide, Anna, was very knowledgeable and personable. Although this trip packs in a lot, it was everything we wanted to see and I never felt rushed. We had sufficient time at each stop. There really is nothing I would leave out. Had my husband and I tried to do this on our own, we never would have found all these places. Thank you, Viator! We will book with you again. - Joy Z.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Nada P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A wonderful day out with a small group of friendly people, and a beautiful and very knowledgeable driver/guide.The real stars of the show were the Villages themselves, the first few had their markets on that day, but even those which we didn't reach during market-time were wonderful - beautiful, peaceful, welcoming, with delicious food.. I never wanted to leave.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Curtis H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Terrific tour, a bit of a whirlwind, maybe not quite enough time at some of the more interesting towns, but overall very well done, and we certainly covered a LOT of ground. Our tour guide was entertaining and highly informative. Price was reasonable, too!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

pat

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

This was not quite the tour we were expecting. My granddaughter was very disappointed that we did not get to see Van Gogh's hospital room which was included in the description of the tour. We would have liked to have gone to the bridge near Arles where one or some of the earliest Starry Night paintings were painted. Instead of focusing on Van Gogh the tour included some Roman ruins which were interesting but had nothing to do with Van Gogh.

Doing what: Van Gogh in Provence Small-Group Day Trip

Donald D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was exceptionally well paced. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and personable. We loved the wines and learned a lot about the wine making process.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Ashraf M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour. Marc is very personable and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

aiko furusho l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I really enjoyed this amazingly beautiful tour.
The knowledgeable and friendly tour conductor made the tour more enjoyable.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

paulakim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

JUST GO!!!

Our guide Nathalie was very informative and friendly with a great sense of humour she jokingly named me Mrs Crowe throughout the day since I love the movie filmed here 'A Good Year' starring Russell Crowe!!

As three ladies travelling together we took the trip on the 9th September and it was hot, although the minibus which only carried 8 passengers which is great was fully air conditioned and comfortable. We had a lovely group of people that we shared our day with, although plenty of time to just go off and explore the villages on our own. The villages are just so beautiful and the scenic drive superb.

GO GO GO - you won't be disappointed.

Thanks Nathalie, you made our day!!
Paula AKA Mrs Crowe!!

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Joseph M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The driver was great and we hit all the spots in a timely manner. It was a good day.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Featle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was the highlight of our stay in Aix en Provence.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Mary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fabulous tour guide - knew his stuff, was from the region, spoke English well. Kept us moving but didn't rush us.
Stops at Tavel, Chateauneuf du Pape, both great. Fun tastings.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

CSR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was great. We really enjoyed. Though it was a long day, our tour guide was very informative, friendly and accommodating. Given the short period of time we have, it was a great way to see Provence without having to drive ourselves.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Peter T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We had a really good day and saw much that was interesting and delightful. Although our mini-van was rather cosy for 8 adults and the driver, that led to us getting to know our fellow-travellers during the trip and made the day even better. If half stars were available we'd give the trip four and a half stars out of five.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

LISA W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great day with lots of sightseeing

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Glenn F United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We saw so much and our tour guide was great, but think it is too much for one day. You really get only a short time visiting the various villages in Provence. All were facinating in their own way. My suggestion is have a two day tour instead of onn. Glenn

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

ginareid2boys

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Very informative and gave you a great overview of the area, while a lot was packed in within a tight schedule there was still time to explore towns. Our only complaint was we went back to Avignon central to drop people off and picked up another couple. That seemed to be a lot of extra driving and ate up a lot of our time.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Lisa M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Whilst it was a long day and you got to see quite a bit of the countryside, the tour could have been so much more useful and enjoyable if there was some information provided on the towns we were visiting. It felt like we were just taken to a town, dropped,off to explode under own efforts before being shuffled onto the bus for the trip to the next town. Having said that, the driver was very pleasant and approachable.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

gogu_lucian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

the best experience we've had in Provence by far! Nathalie is the best guide I've ever met, everything was perfect. Thank you!

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Terry F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent knowledgeable tour guide. Can't ask for more!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

libbysmail3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was awesome! Our guide Mark, was very informative. He gave us a very concise overview of the history of what we were seeing, and really made the tour come to life. Mark made sure the group was altogether, and very caring of walkways that were narrow and stairs which were steep. I highly recommend this tour. The free glass of wine at the end made for a very good lasting impression.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message