It’s hard to believe, but there was a time not so long ago when visitors to Provence rarely ventured far from the Côte d’Azur. The inland was chiefly known as the center of France’s fragrance industry and apart from Avignon, was thought largely ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 381 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jenna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

amazing trip! Had such a wonderful time.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Fields Tour from Aix-en-Provence

louiseward

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is an excellent way to see the lavender fields. It's much easier than driving yourself as the guide knew exactly where to go to find the fields which were in flower at that time, meaning there were lots of photo opportunities. He was very knowledgeable, telling us all about the different types of lavender and the distillation process. It was also interesting to be able to visit the farm where they extract the lavender oil. The transport was comfortable and air conditioned and we were collected from right outside the hotel. The morning tour is a good choice to avoid the afternoon heat.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Ika P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was awesome, he knew very much about the history and agriculture in the area, which I liked very much.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

cathag13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was very nice. We have really enjoyed it.
The area, the villages the lavender fields are amazing

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Geraldine United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our comedic, dedicated, and highly knowledgeable guide, Greg, is both a French and American national who worked as an IT in California. Our tour with him is everything about the lavender of Provence plus more! He brought us to several lavender fields in Sault, the lavender capital of Provence! Our visit to a lavender distillery and lavender harvesting in action were very educational. We also went to Saignon and Monieux, two small lovely medieval villages. Overall, it was a great way to end our trip to Provence.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Fields Tour from Aix-en-Provence

dkmaf340

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is best taken the Lavender is in full bloom. I can only imagine the country side filled with the beautiful purple flowers. There was still plenty of Lavendin to be seen. You have to take the tour to learn the difference between Lavender and Lavendin. Watching the distilling process of the Lavender was fascinating and the smells throughout the region was soothing and relaxing. Our guide Anais was the consummate professional and since she was born in the area her knowledge was unsurpassed.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Even though it was very late in the season, our driver took us right to fields of still-blooming lavender. We learned a lot from our driver, not only about lavender, but about Provence In general. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Min C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Even this is at the end of the Lavender season, but we got to see the harvest, the distill process and especially smelled the nice fragrant in the field.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Olga R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Klidný voňavý výlet na levandulová pole, zastávka na farmě i na polích

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

a.tenal22

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time on this tour. The scenery in the Provence region is breathtaking, and our tour guide Anna was really knowledgeable about the area. The reason we gave this 4 stars instead on 5, was because we felt that there wasn't enough free time out of the van.
Also, to any one who experience motion sickness: make sure to take anti-nausea medication. The mountain roads were really twisty!

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Deisa Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide and driver Greg was very knowledgeable. He told us about the difference of the lavender and the lavandin which most of us, if not all, never knew. He brought us to the fields where the lavandins were still visible as it was almost the end of the season for these flowers. We took some beautiful photos with the lavandins and also with the sunflowers. He even allowed us to see how the tractor harvested these nice smelling plants. It was a fun tour group, very interactive. We also got to visit Loccitane and see its museum. This was a wonderful tour and would certainly recommend it but earlier maybe around June.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Fields Tour from Aix-en-Provence

Sugandhi

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Awesome trip.
but less time is given at the stops.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Kevin B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

This half day trip was booked for friday 22nd July 2016 my 54th birthday, and my first full day in the Provence countryside.
My wife and I had paid 102 for this ½ day and we were met by driver Marc as arranged at our hotel we shared this excursion with a couple from Quebec in Canada who like us had eager expectations of seeing some Lavender fields.
Driver Marc who coincidentally shared his birthday with me took us first to the Lavander Museum
in Cousetellet where he made arrangements for our small group to have a leisurely look there at the end of the trip. Little did we realise that the only Lavender we would get to photograph would be the displays in the fields right by the museum. It seemed that even by 22nd July the vast majority had been harvested and it was apparently not worth our while to drive to either Sault or the Abbey of Senanque.
Marc did a great job of highlighting the very pretty villages of Gordes and Roussillon, though it was slightly disappointing that there wasnt enough time to do the Ochre Sentier or footpath. In addition, we drove straight past a lavender field just outside Roussillon, and also enjoyed a fleeting glimpse of the sunflower fields sadly there was nowhere to stop for pictures.
We did thoroughly enjoy the bright vivid colours of Roussillon, but having paid 102 and expected to see fields of lavender our memories will always be tinged with disappointment discounts should be offered or the trip should be marketed differently once lavender has been harvested.

Doing what: Lavender and Villages in Provence Small Group Day Trip

Alexis S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

views were as promised, but tour was almost fully in a van at least 3.5 hours of just driving. thought we would have time to sit in the city and enjoy it for a bit, but only had 10 minutes. the museum wasn't really a museum, not sure what the ticket price went towards.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Sheri C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a wonderful trip Jeremy was a fantastic guide!!

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Mag

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour is great, we seized every minute in the lavender field, villages, markets....

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Dennis B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was wonderful! The guide was personable, knowledgeable and very friendly. The countryside and towns beautiful and the lavender museum unique!

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Jessica-Neumann

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing!
Beautiful sights, a great guide!

Doing what: Provence Lavender Fields Tour from Aix-en-Provence

Caroline E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I booked this trip as part of an Xmas present for my mum- it was well worth it! Frederic was a lovely guide and took us to some beautiful places, finishing in the lavender fields was the highlight of the day.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Nguyen Thanh Trang Vietnam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a stunning trip. I expect more time at the Senanque Abbey as 20 mins sounds not enough for phototaking and shopping. I highly recommend this trip to everyone. Our tourguide communicated very clearly and friendly

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Wai Fung L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good trip, tour guide, tour agency - would definitely recommend to everyone travelling to Avignon

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Wai Fung L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good trip, tour guide, tour agency - would definitely recommend to everyone travelling to Avignon

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message