It’s hard to believe, but there was a time not so long ago when visitors to Provence rarely ventured far from the Côte d’Azur. The inland was chiefly known as the center of France’s fragrance industry and apart from Avignon, was thought largely ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 394 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

pat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were in Provence at the very end of the lavender harvest so we missed the grand visual display but there were still lavender fields for us to stop and explore. We also made a stop at a farm to see the oil harvesting process in progress and had a chance to buy lavender oil direct from the producer which was much cheaper than it was in the Lavender museum which ended the tour. I could have done without the commercial Lavender museum ending. I didn't learn as much about the farming and processing of lavender as I did at the farm and I felt I was mostly there to be encouraged to spend money on overpriced items, yet I suppose that is a part of the economy of the region as well. Anyway, the majority of the tour was a delight and we were so glad we took it. Our guide was pleasant and informative as well.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Curtis H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Terrific tour, a bit of a whirlwind, maybe not quite enough time at some of the more interesting towns, but overall very well done, and we certainly covered a LOT of ground. Our tour guide was entertaining and highly informative. Price was reasonable, too!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

aiko furusho l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I really enjoyed this amazingly beautiful tour.
The knowledgeable and friendly tour conductor made the tour more enjoyable.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Joseph M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The driver was great and we hit all the spots in a timely manner. It was a good day.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Lori J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great day touring Provence with Nicholas and the other guests on our small tour. Nicholas, our guide was fantastic, very fun, full of energy and information about the locations and sites included in our tour.

In addition to the perfumery tour and wine tasting, we stopped at several little villages throughout the region and had time to shop, eat and enjoy the beautiful scenery.

The winery tour as a lot of fun gorgeous Chateau just outside of Nice with amazing views and lovely wines.

We would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see some of the wonderful towns and other beautiful scenery around Nice.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Grasse Perfumery and Nice Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Monaco

Peter T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We had a really good day and saw much that was interesting and delightful. Although our mini-van was rather cosy for 8 adults and the driver, that led to us getting to know our fellow-travellers during the trip and made the day even better. If half stars were available we'd give the trip four and a half stars out of five.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

John K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Tour guide excellent. Enjoyed the tour good variety of visits, unfortunately too late in season to see the lavender fields. Would recommend.

Doing what: Lavender and Villages in Provence Small Group Day Trip

Terry F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent knowledgeable tour guide. Can't ask for more!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

silvo Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great day trip. Matt our guide was excellent both with his knowledge and driving. Great way to see the amazing villages of Provence in one day. AMAZING well worth the cost.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Kathryn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful leisurely tour of the lavender fields with plenty of time to take pictures and enjoy the natural beauty and aromatherapy. Tour guide friendly and knowledgable

Doing what: Provence Lavender Fields Tour from Aix-en-Provence

Pauline R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This is a long day but covers a lot of stuff. We did everything on the itinerary. Our guide was knowledgable and able to give tips on many things in the area. There were plenty of photo opportunities and enough breaks off the bus to make sure we enjoyed a lovely sunny day. It's certainly a good introduction to the area.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Carol G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a very full day visiting beautiful villages around Provence. We loved the tour and the guide was friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

libbysmail3

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

It was a very long day as we suspected it would be. Our driver/guide, was very pleasant, and gave a brief description of what we were going to see during our various stops. However once there at an attraction, or village we were on our own. Having been on Insight coach tours, I missed the extended dialogue and commentary as to what we were seeing. Also, our driver had to return to our starting point in Avignon to pick up a passenger who was only taking a half-day tour, thus losing some time. I think in order to do justice to these wonderful provencial towns and villages, the tour should be offered over two days. For example: north and south Provence, or east and west. Then it wouldn't be so rushed at the attractions, and not so long in the van.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Jenna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

amazing trip! Had such a wonderful time.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Fields Tour from Aix-en-Provence

louiseward

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is an excellent way to see the lavender fields. It's much easier than driving yourself as the guide knew exactly where to go to find the fields which were in flower at that time, meaning there were lots of photo opportunities. He was very knowledgeable, telling us all about the different types of lavender and the distillation process. It was also interesting to be able to visit the farm where they extract the lavender oil. The transport was comfortable and air conditioned and we were collected from right outside the hotel. The morning tour is a good choice to avoid the afternoon heat.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Ika P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was awesome, he knew very much about the history and agriculture in the area, which I liked very much.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

cathag13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was very nice. We have really enjoyed it.
The area, the villages the lavender fields are amazing

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Geraldine United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our comedic, dedicated, and highly knowledgeable guide, Greg, is both a French and American national who worked as an IT in California. Our tour with him is everything about the lavender of Provence plus more! He brought us to several lavender fields in Sault, the lavender capital of Provence! Our visit to a lavender distillery and lavender harvesting in action were very educational. We also went to Saignon and Monieux, two small lovely medieval villages. Overall, it was a great way to end our trip to Provence.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Fields Tour from Aix-en-Provence

dkmaf340

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is best taken the Lavender is in full bloom. I can only imagine the country side filled with the beautiful purple flowers. There was still plenty of Lavendin to be seen. You have to take the tour to learn the difference between Lavender and Lavendin. Watching the distilling process of the Lavender was fascinating and the smells throughout the region was soothing and relaxing. Our guide Anais was the consummate professional and since she was born in the area her knowledge was unsurpassed.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Even though it was very late in the season, our driver took us right to fields of still-blooming lavender. We learned a lot from our driver, not only about lavender, but about Provence In general. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Min C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Even this is at the end of the Lavender season, but we got to see the harvest, the distill process and especially smelled the nice fragrant in the field.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Olga R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Klidný voňavý výlet na levandulová pole, zastávka na farmě i na polích

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

a.tenal22

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time on this tour. The scenery in the Provence region is breathtaking, and our tour guide Anna was really knowledgeable about the area. The reason we gave this 4 stars instead on 5, was because we felt that there wasn't enough free time out of the van.
Also, to any one who experience motion sickness: make sure to take anti-nausea medication. The mountain roads were really twisty!

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message