Avignon makes the ideal base for exploring the South of France. Whether you head for lavender-laden landscapes, visit the architectural treasures of nearby towns or explore the stunning coast, Provence is your oyster. This region contains ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 507 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Terry F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent knowledgeable tour guide. Can't ask for more!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

silvo Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great day trip. Matt our guide was excellent both with his knowledge and driving. Great way to see the amazing villages of Provence in one day. AMAZING well worth the cost.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Amy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing! I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Avignon!! It was so amazing seeing all of the villages of the Luberon area. This tour is a must!

Doing what: Small-Group Luberon Day Trip from Avignon Including Roussillon Ochre Trail Hiking and Provençal Wine Tasting

nicolemwilson619 United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The towns we went to were amazing. Please be prepared to walk quite a bit, so wear comfortable shoes. I loved each place we went to on this tour! The guide was nice, but could have provided more information on the area. I was so glad that I was able to see areas I would not have been able to have seen on my own. I would suggest providing water on this tour.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Pauline R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This is a long day but covers a lot of stuff. We did everything on the itinerary. Our guide was knowledgable and able to give tips on many things in the area. There were plenty of photo opportunities and enough breaks off the bus to make sure we enjoyed a lovely sunny day. It's certainly a good introduction to the area.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Pauline R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a very good trip. We enjoyed the visit to chateau neuf particularly. Our guide was knowledgeable and able to give lots of information about the area. There were plenty of photo opportunities.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

Megan B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful sites, good sized group, friendly and informative guide.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Carol G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a very full day visiting beautiful villages around Provence. We loved the tour and the guide was friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

libbysmail3

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

It was a very long day as we suspected it would be. Our driver/guide, was very pleasant, and gave a brief description of what we were going to see during our various stops. However once there at an attraction, or village we were on our own. Having been on Insight coach tours, I missed the extended dialogue and commentary as to what we were seeing. Also, our driver had to return to our starting point in Avignon to pick up a passenger who was only taking a half-day tour, thus losing some time. I think in order to do justice to these wonderful provencial towns and villages, the tour should be offered over two days. For example: north and south Provence, or east and west. Then it wouldn't be so rushed at the attractions, and not so long in the van.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

louiseward

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is an excellent way to see the lavender fields. It's much easier than driving yourself as the guide knew exactly where to go to find the fields which were in flower at that time, meaning there were lots of photo opportunities. He was very knowledgeable, telling us all about the different types of lavender and the distillation process. It was also interesting to be able to visit the farm where they extract the lavender oil. The transport was comfortable and air conditioned and we were collected from right outside the hotel. The morning tour is a good choice to avoid the afternoon heat.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Ika P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was awesome, he knew very much about the history and agriculture in the area, which I liked very much.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

cathag13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was very nice. We have really enjoyed it.
The area, the villages the lavender fields are amazing

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

dkmaf340

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is best taken the Lavender is in full bloom. I can only imagine the country side filled with the beautiful purple flowers. There was still plenty of Lavendin to be seen. You have to take the tour to learn the difference between Lavender and Lavendin. Watching the distilling process of the Lavender was fascinating and the smells throughout the region was soothing and relaxing. Our guide Anais was the consummate professional and since she was born in the area her knowledge was unsurpassed.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Even though it was very late in the season, our driver took us right to fields of still-blooming lavender. We learned a lot from our driver, not only about lavender, but about Provence In general. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Min C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Even this is at the end of the Lavender season, but we got to see the harvest, the distill process and especially smelled the nice fragrant in the field.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Olga R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Klidný voňavý výlet na levandulová pole, zastávka na farmě i na polích

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

a.tenal22

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time on this tour. The scenery in the Provence region is breathtaking, and our tour guide Anna was really knowledgeable about the area. The reason we gave this 4 stars instead on 5, was because we felt that there wasn't enough free time out of the van.
Also, to any one who experience motion sickness: make sure to take anti-nausea medication. The mountain roads were really twisty!

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Sugandhi

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Awesome trip.
but less time is given at the stops.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Lynn D

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Do not take the afternoon tour. It is badly organized when the Pont du Guard visit is the last stop around 5-5:30 PM. All the pictures that we took were against the sun, which caused the bridge to be dark. This is a shame because the Pont du Guard is the main feature of the tour and is a UNESCO site! Everyone ended up buying a postcard. I was disappointed that I could not take any good pictures. The entire tour was very long driving from one town to another. It should begin with Pond du Guard and the other towns last!

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Kevin B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

This half day trip was booked for friday 22nd July 2016 my 54th birthday, and my first full day in the Provence countryside.
My wife and I had paid 102 for this ½ day and we were met by driver Marc as arranged at our hotel we shared this excursion with a couple from Quebec in Canada who like us had eager expectations of seeing some Lavender fields.
Driver Marc who coincidentally shared his birthday with me took us first to the Lavander Museum
in Cousetellet where he made arrangements for our small group to have a leisurely look there at the end of the trip. Little did we realise that the only Lavender we would get to photograph would be the displays in the fields right by the museum. It seemed that even by 22nd July the vast majority had been harvested and it was apparently not worth our while to drive to either Sault or the Abbey of Senanque.
Marc did a great job of highlighting the very pretty villages of Gordes and Roussillon, though it was slightly disappointing that there wasnt enough time to do the Ochre Sentier or footpath. In addition, we drove straight past a lavender field just outside Roussillon, and also enjoyed a fleeting glimpse of the sunflower fields sadly there was nowhere to stop for pictures.
We did thoroughly enjoy the bright vivid colours of Roussillon, but having paid 102 and expected to see fields of lavender our memories will always be tinged with disappointment discounts should be offered or the trip should be marketed differently once lavender has been harvested.

Doing what: Lavender and Villages in Provence Small Group Day Trip

Alexis S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

views were as promised, but tour was almost fully in a van at least 3.5 hours of just driving. thought we would have time to sit in the city and enjoy it for a bit, but only had 10 minutes. the museum wasn't really a museum, not sure what the ticket price went towards.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Sheri C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a wonderful trip Jeremy was a fantastic guide!!

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Mag

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour is great, we seized every minute in the lavender field, villages, markets....

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message