Avignon makes the ideal base for exploring the South of France. Whether you head for lavender-laden landscapes, visit the architectural treasures of nearby towns or explore the stunning coast, Provence is your oyster. This region contains ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 520 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Margaret B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon. Our guide, Marc, was very knowledgeable about the land and the history of each town as well as the places in between.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

pat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were in Provence at the very end of the lavender harvest so we missed the grand visual display but there were still lavender fields for us to stop and explore. We also made a stop at a farm to see the oil harvesting process in progress and had a chance to buy lavender oil direct from the producer which was much cheaper than it was in the Lavender museum which ended the tour. I could have done without the commercial Lavender museum ending. I didn't learn as much about the farming and processing of lavender as I did at the farm and I felt I was mostly there to be encouraged to spend money on overpriced items, yet I suppose that is a part of the economy of the region as well. Anyway, the majority of the tour was a delight and we were so glad we took it. Our guide was pleasant and informative as well.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Frederick F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour - small group, short and informative. The driver was wonderful and very friendly and provided great information. The actual time in each location was short but was enough time to get a feel for each location. There is a great bit of driving but the route is scenic and not too bad. All the locations would be difficult to travel to by public transportation so this a great way to visit these locations without renting a vehicle. For me I don't like taking long all-day tours and this fit unto my schedule perfectly. The meeting place in Avignon is the Tourist Office and it's easy to find.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

germanm Argentina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Avignon is the ideal starting point for getting to know Provence. In addition to its jewels such as the Palace of the Popes and its famous Bridge and the ever-present wind, it is located in the center of Provence and through the beautiful villages of the Luberon: Les Baux, Gordes and Rousillon, passing from white calcareous to Ocher color, to finish in the incredible Pont du Gard

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

germanm Argentina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Avignon is the ideal starting point for getting to know Provence. In addition to its jewels such as the Palace of the Popes and its famous Bridge and the ever-present wind, it is located in the center of Provence and through the beautiful villages of the Luberon: Les Baux, Gordes and Rousillon, passing from white calcareous to Ocher color, to finish in the incredible Pont du Gard

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Curtis H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Terrific tour, a bit of a whirlwind, maybe not quite enough time at some of the more interesting towns, but overall very well done, and we certainly covered a LOT of ground. Our tour guide was entertaining and highly informative. Price was reasonable, too!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

aiko furusho l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I really enjoyed this amazingly beautiful tour.
The knowledgeable and friendly tour conductor made the tour more enjoyable.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Joseph M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The driver was great and we hit all the spots in a timely manner. It was a good day.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Kenneth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was great and Melonie was a wonderful driver and guide. The highlight was the Pont du Gard. Well worth it

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Peter T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We had a really good day and saw much that was interesting and delightful. Although our mini-van was rather cosy for 8 adults and the driver, that led to us getting to know our fellow-travellers during the trip and made the day even better. If half stars were available we'd give the trip four and a half stars out of five.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

John K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Tour guide excellent. Enjoyed the tour good variety of visits, unfortunately too late in season to see the lavender fields. Would recommend.

Doing what: Lavender and Villages in Provence Small Group Day Trip

Ilse J L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Missed it due the ship being four hours late, and your team could not help us out. :

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Terry F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent knowledgeable tour guide. Can't ask for more!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

silvo Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great day trip. Matt our guide was excellent both with his knowledge and driving. Great way to see the amazing villages of Provence in one day. AMAZING well worth the cost.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Amy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing! I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Avignon!! It was so amazing seeing all of the villages of the Luberon area. This tour is a must!

Doing what: Small-Group Luberon Day Trip from Avignon Including Roussillon Ochre Trail Hiking and Provençal Wine Tasting

nicolemwilson619 United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The towns we went to were amazing. Please be prepared to walk quite a bit, so wear comfortable shoes. I loved each place we went to on this tour! The guide was nice, but could have provided more information on the area. I was so glad that I was able to see areas I would not have been able to have seen on my own. I would suggest providing water on this tour.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Pauline R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This is a long day but covers a lot of stuff. We did everything on the itinerary. Our guide was knowledgable and able to give tips on many things in the area. There were plenty of photo opportunities and enough breaks off the bus to make sure we enjoyed a lovely sunny day. It's certainly a good introduction to the area.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Pauline R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a very good trip. We enjoyed the visit to chateau neuf particularly. Our guide was knowledgeable and able to give lots of information about the area. There were plenty of photo opportunities.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

Megan B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful sites, good sized group, friendly and informative guide.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Carol G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a very full day visiting beautiful villages around Provence. We loved the tour and the guide was friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

libbysmail3

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

It was a very long day as we suspected it would be. Our driver/guide, was very pleasant, and gave a brief description of what we were going to see during our various stops. However once there at an attraction, or village we were on our own. Having been on Insight coach tours, I missed the extended dialogue and commentary as to what we were seeing. Also, our driver had to return to our starting point in Avignon to pick up a passenger who was only taking a half-day tour, thus losing some time. I think in order to do justice to these wonderful provencial towns and villages, the tour should be offered over two days. For example: north and south Provence, or east and west. Then it wouldn't be so rushed at the attractions, and not so long in the van.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

louiseward

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is an excellent way to see the lavender fields. It's much easier than driving yourself as the guide knew exactly where to go to find the fields which were in flower at that time, meaning there were lots of photo opportunities. He was very knowledgeable, telling us all about the different types of lavender and the distillation process. It was also interesting to be able to visit the farm where they extract the lavender oil. The transport was comfortable and air conditioned and we were collected from right outside the hotel. The morning tour is a good choice to avoid the afternoon heat.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message