As well as lavender, the soil of Provence is of course the source of some outstanding wines. Grape cultivation was big business around here even before the Roman Empire came along, and today Provencal wines grace tables the world over. Set out ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 158 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing! I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Avignon!! It was so amazing seeing all of the villages of the Luberon area. This tour is a must!

Doing what: Small-Group Luberon Day Trip from Avignon Including Roussillon Ochre Trail Hiking and Provençal Wine Tasting

Stephanie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was very good and we learned a lot! Our tour guide was so nice and very interesting.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Pauline R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a very good trip. We enjoyed the visit to chateau neuf particularly. Our guide was knowledgeable and able to give lots of information about the area. There were plenty of photo opportunities.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

libbysmail3

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Our guide Remy, was very pleasant and tried to explain the history of these two wineries. In Tavel, there was a wine tasting rather than a tour, and a showroom of wines which you could purchase. It was a very pretty drive to Chateauneuf-du-Pape, and we stopped for pictures along the way. Upon arrival at the winery, Remy introduced us to Vincent, who would actually be taking us on the tour with our group and one other. It was very interesting, and we had another opportunity to purchase wines at the end. When I initially read about this tour it included a stop in the town of Orange. I was disappointed that it wasn't included as it has a fantastic Roman ampitheatre still in use. We did drive through the town to our destination, but I would have liked to visit it.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

cathag13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It s very interesting.
You learn a lot about french wines and you can taste different kinds

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our wine tour. Julien our driver was both friendly and informative with a great sense of humour. We were picked up on time and given a lot of background information before arriving at our first tasting. Definately recomend.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Wing Lan Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

As our trip was on Tuesday, we visited one winery and Roman amphitheater in Orange.
Visit to the winery was interesting and we got to learn some basic knowledge of wine from the owner himself. I wish we would be able to spend more time at the winery though we were already behind schedule as we were too excited during the wine tasting part. The guide is knowledgable and friendly. Thank you for such a great half day !

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

bronwencalcraft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved the knowledge of our friendly guide and the beautiful landscape and wines we were able to experience first-hand. An extra winery or broader wine selection would have been appreciated though.

Doing what: Provence Wine Tasting Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon

Cynthia O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour .. learned lots, and our guide Remi was fabulous .. I would certainly recommend this trip !

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

Teresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Natalie was absolutely wonderful and took time to show us things that enhanced our trip experience. She is very knowledgeable. Both morning and afternoon experiences were wonderful!

Doing what: Provence Wineries and Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Reen W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We like it , the driver is pleasant and knowledgeble

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

Julie D

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

I thought it was good and the chateauneuf du pape area was beautiful, but the one winery we visited there was just OK. Nothing to write home about....Tavel was also just OK. The guide was very nice and knowledgeable about the area.....I would do it again, but it would be nice to know the winery in advance.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Anne T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

It was an enjoyable tour of Oranges's Roman ruins and one winery. I really would've liked more wine! The tour of the winery was interesting and the wine we tasted was lovely but we only sampled three wines. In California, most wineries give you at least six!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

Dean G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The tour guide, Matt was just an ok guide. There was too much time scheduled in Avignon, not enough time in Baux or Pont du Gard...and the visit to the vineyard was an extreme disappointment.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour is the perfect way to capture the essence of this area of Provence in a day. I had been to the region several times previously, but finally got my wife to come over with me - so decided to give this tour a try. It did not disappoint! In fact, I learned a few things from our guide Remy that I did not know from my previous visits. It's a nice, intimate setting - there were just eight of us in a very comfortable coach. In fact we bonded so well that during the free time on our last stop we all just visited an outdoor cafe and shared drinks - now THAT is how to experience France :- It's a good balance of guided tour and free time - so if you have just the day available this is a great way to pack in a lot of what Provence has to offer.

Doing what: Provence Wineries and Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Pamela N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My guide, Julian was professional, knowledgeable and made the trip greatly enjoyable. All attractions of the area were explained in detail. I had all the time needed to experience the vinyards and olive oil production. He was flexible with some extra time we visited the weekly farmers market.

Doing what: Les Baux de Provence Tour from Avignon: Provencal Wine and Olive Oil

Reynir S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great half day tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

Elliott H

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Tour of the winery was terrible. Both our guide and the person at the winery seemed bored and eager to end the tour quickly. The trip to Orange to see the Roman ruins was worthwhile.
Our guide was terrible. She even refused to drop us off a few blocks from the center of town.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

Emma M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I had a wonderful time at chateaunerf du pape. Both my tour guide and the staff at the wineries but very knowledgable, friendly and good fun! It was a great start to the day. Also the wine is amazing!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

pambetz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great Guide and visits to small town and vineyards - and of course tastings! Even brought empty! Chateauneuf-du-Pape bottle designed by artist Pere Anselme home - which caused some raised eyebrows at airport security LOL!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Margaret G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was essentially transportation with information along the drive. Cedric was a great guide and we enjoyed his talks. We had enough time to explore and the winery was fantastic -and tasty

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was completely as advertised. We had the right amount of time in Orange and the wine tour was great for a first-time wine tasting. It was a relaxing afternoon but we also saw a great deal. Our guide was very knowledgeable both about the items on the tour and more generally in answering our questions about the Avignon area. She used perfect English and also was very patient in letting us practice our French.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

Sohini M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A very comprehensive tour of wineries with knowledgeable guides and tasting of excellent wines. Including Pont du Gard, Les Baux and Gordes is a great idea. The tour guide was extremely pleasant and competent

Doing what: Provence Wine Tasting Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon

Giovanna G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very good! Tour guide very pleasant and informative.

Doing what: Cotes de Provence Wine Tour from Aix-en-Provence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message