Ayers Rock ATTRACTIONS See all

Ayers Rock (Uluru)

Uluru - or Ayers Rock - is Australia's proud symbol, and site of spiritual significance for the Anangu people. Like an iceberg, it's believed that only a third of the big red rock lies above ground. What we can see measures 3.6 km (2.5 miles) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 223 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kathy Kris Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was great tour. It was well organized and professional. The staff were good at making it safe, but an entertaining experience. We had a bit over an hour riding, including spectacular sunset views of Uluru and Kata Tjuta. Finished back at camel HQ, with drinks and snacks. Thank you!

Doing what: Uluru Camel Express, Sunrise or Sunset Tours

pml1971

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Prepare yourself as this is going to be a long day.
You leave Alice at 6am and will not arrive back at your hotel until 12am....but it really is worth it.
It was a brilliant day taking in some absolutely incredible sights. The Olgas and Uluru are just amazing....they really do have to be seen to be believed.
At the end of the day you get taken to the observatory area where we enjoyed a nice barbecue before watching the sunset and witness the changing of colours on Uluru.
Tip !!! If you choose to spend the entire journey there on your smartphone and social media then you will really miss so much. TURN IT OFF !

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

bluey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An excellent outback experience as promised, and all round. The whole experience, not just Uluru, KataTjuuta and Kings Canyon, was beyond expectations. Just returned from last trip of the year before the temperatures really hit tops, and although it was already hot, Joe, our guide made sure the walks were done before the heat cranked up. Wonderful walking, great long drives in the 4wd, wonderful bird life, and the camping experience was truly outback. Our group was mixed in age range but Joe made sure walking and climbing abilities matched the options. A great guide.
I was hoping for down to earth outback everything, and that's what Wayoutback delivered. Great praise from me and I'd certainly recommend this 4 day trip. Kings Canyon and its walks was especially fascinating, perhaps more so than Uluru, and the final day was
heaven swimming in the gorges and just gradually coming back down to earth.
This is a truly magical experience on a number of levels. Fully recommended. Didn't want to leave the Red Desert. It has a way of getting into you. I'd just like more time to absorb it all.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

bluey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An excellent outback experience as promised, and all round. The whole experience, not just Uluru, KataTjuuta and Kings Canyon, was beyond expectations. Just returned from last trip of the year before the temperatures really hit tops, and although it was already hot, Joe, our guide made sure the walks were done before the heat cranked up. Wonderful walking, great long drives in the 4wd, wonderful bird life, and the camping experience was truly outback. Our group was mixed in age range but Joe made sure walking and climbing abilities matched the options. A great guide.
I was hoping for down to earth outback everything, and that's what Wayoutback delivered. Great praise from me and I'd certainly recommend this 4 day trip. Kings Canyon and its walks was especially fascinating, perhaps more so than Uluru, and the final day was
heaven swimming in the gorges and just gradually coming back down to earth.
This is a truly magical experience on a number of levels. Fully recommended. Didn't want to leave the Red Desert. It has a way of getting into you. I'd just like more time to absorb it all.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Hotel pick-up was extremely convenient and all the staff were very friendly. Definitely a great way to take in Uluru and Kata Tjuta from an amazing vantage point. Would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Tour by Helicopter from Ayers Rock

blessmyhome7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I didn't know much about the camels of Australia until I did the Uluru Camel Express tour. It was a blast, educational and fun. The beauty of the desert and Ayers Rock at sunset is awesome, and because their professional photographer takes pictures of your journey it makes for a fantastic souvenir. Bonus was the free local beer at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Uluru Camel Express, Sunrise or Sunset Tours

astaorthman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The trip was one of a kind! Wonderful way to see the outback and the famous Uluru and the Olga and #39;s on a tight schedule. The tour guide knew a lot about the local culture and customsee and shared the knowledge with the group.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

jeanievan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a GREAT trip! If you are visiting Australia dont miss going to the Red Centre! It was an out of this world experience.

There are many highlights on this trip the hikes in the areas of Uluru, Kata Tjuta, and Kings Canyon are spectacular. A moderate to good level of fitness will be beneficial for the hikes, but there are many opportunities for less strenuous hikes that . Most days we would hike for three to five hours, have a nice lunch, drive in 4WD style to the next camp site. The drive was enjoyable while we listened to Outback history and stories, looked for animals in the wild horses, camels, dingos, kangaroos, birds, etc. and stopped to forage for firewood. The guide Nat Marshall was outstanding and made Aborigine history and culture, geographical highlights, and Australia history come to life.

One of the best parts of the trip for me was camping out in a swag an Australian bedroll under the bedazzling stars. That experience has a way of putting everything in perspective no matter who you are. I also loved the Dutch Oven dinners and eating by the camp fire. You will meet some great people on this tour as well! I hope to have visitors to the USA from Australia, Germany, The Netherlands, and England soon!

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Jairo V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Although it was an intense 3 days tour, we certainly enjoyed all the activities included. The AATKings operators were good, excellent drivers and tour guides, very knowledgable and fun. Not being from Australia, we learned a lot about the culture, history and beauty of every place we visited and the aboriginal people, in a very short 5 days visit from Alice Springs to Uluru, Kings Canyon and the Olgas. Highly recommended .

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

Debbie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely loved it. The only comment made by a few at the bbq was Uluru was not lit up in any way. It was hard to believe this beautiful rock was right near our bbq.
This date was my husband's first anniversary of his passing and it really made my day very very special.
Thank You

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) Outback Barbecue Dinner and Star Tour

Nicholas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Everything you need @ Uluru!

We got to see Uluru and Kata Tjuta during the tours. Both were impressive to see up close, Uluru is massive, and Kata-Tjuta had a lot of different terrain to climb/hike through and see. Tour Guide Annabelle was very knowledgeable about the history, geology, flora/fauna, with a number of great stories. Food was good, nothing special but you're camping. Tents were solid along with the cots or you could sleep outside in a SWAG!. Sunrise/sunset views are contingent on weather but you're in the best spot to see them. All around ticks the boxes!

Doing what: Overnight Uluru (Ayers Rock) Small-Group Camping Tour

Matthew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time. We felt like we learned a lot about the culture surrounding Uluru. Got to walk around a lot, watch the sunset and sunrise. We also enjoyed sleeping in the swags and enjoying the stars. Food was great, bathroom facilities were great as well. Tour guides were very knowledgeable and friendly. Would definitely recommend to others. We only wish we could have stayed longer and done the longer tour.

Doing what: Overnight Uluru (Ayers Rock) Small-Group Camping Tour

Karen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Sunset.tour: Tour guide was Monica. She gave a very detailed talk before getting to Uluru about the aboriginal culture and the history of the National Park. Did 2 walks at the base of Uluru. Wear good walking shoes and bring water.Unfortunately it was cloudy at sunset so the rock did not glow. But the sparkling wine flowed and the dukkah was as good as the company.

Sunrise tour: Was done by Hannah. Again clouds didn't allow for the best viewing. Did a longer walk in a windy gorge after breakfast.. Wear good shoes.

Doing what: Best of Ayers Rock: Sunset Uluru and Sunrise Kata Tjuta Small Group Tours

Helen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was absolutely fantastic - I really only booked for Uluru but Kata Tjuta and the Kings Canyon trip also included were just spectacular! As a single person I felt completely safe all the time and the drivers and guides were so friendly and informative - Thankyou especially to Tanya my driver for making this trip such a laugh. Great value for money and I totally recommend this to anyone wanting the full Uluru experience.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

KAREN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a truly memorable day thanks to our very well informed guide. Her name Sylvia, has thoroughly researched and studied to teach us about Uluru and the significance of all we saw on this very special long walk. A nice breakfast was provided. My husband and I agree that this was the highlight of our trip to Ayres Rock Resort and by far the best tour guide we have ever had anywhere in all our travels.

Doing what: Full Uluru Base Walk at Sunrise including breakfast

Denise T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was fantastic. Learnt so much about the spiritual aspect of Uluru. Loved the walk. Not difficult at all. Breakfast as we sat and looked at Uluru was great. I would recommend this walk to all.

Doing what: Full Uluru Base Walk at Sunrise including breakfast

Katherine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We did the sunset tour and I couldn't give a higher recommendation for anyone visiting Uluru. The cameleers were fantastic, very informative and friendly and not to mention the comedy. After our ride, they provided some damper with locally sourced ingredients and added caramelized bush tomato balsamic with wild dukkah from the surrounding bush, all topped off with a cold bevi. It was a great experience and a must do for any traveller staying here in Yulara.

Doing what: Uluru Camel Express, Sunrise or Sunset Tours

Deborah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had such a lovely night meeting good people and enjoying the generous food and wine. Watching the sun set on Uluru was magical and I kept pinching myself. Dining in the shadow of the marvellous rock was a real privilege.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) Outback Barbecue Dinner and Star Tour

STEWART O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were hosted by Tony and Gavin from Emu Run. The tour to ULURU and The Olgas Tour was NOTHING LESS than awesome....and we credit Tony and Gavin for this memorable tour from start to finish. They were very knowledgeable with all the places of interest, top notch professionals with handling of the tour and were very attentive to our comfort and needs. Uluru and the National Park are wonders and should not be missed!

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

Superior Genes Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

An amazing day that went extremely quick with guides David and Andrew. Their cultural knowledge was excellent and kept everyone engaged throughout the day. A tip for future travellers would be to ensure that you take at least 100 AU to pay for local paintings and artworks at Uluru and Cultural Centres. We only brought 50 with us and didn't allow for much options in terms of purchases.
It was disappointing to see travellers ignore the requests of the indigenous to not climb Uluru so please bare that in mind that it is extremely disrespectful to climb when requested not to despite the fact that it is still allowed.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

Catherine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We enjoyed a great day to Uluru and The Olgas on Wednesday. It was a long day, but very well paced and Dave and Andrew kept excellent control of timings all day so we had plenty of time to see everything without being rushed. Highly recommend. Thank you

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

kedwards01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

An extraordinary tour. It started very early in the morning and included an interesting commentary from the two drivers as we drove from Alice Springs to Uluru and spent the entire day and half the night. There was not a dull moment on this interesting and exciting tour. They really should have warned us though about the flies!

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

Ann-Marie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic sunrise walk around Uluru with a lovely informative female guide. Delicious breakfast and snacks provided including hot and cold drinks.

Doing what: Full Uluru Base Walk at Sunrise including breakfast

Jay G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Seeing both Uluru and Kata Tjuta from the air just as the sun was rising was magical. The pilot was friendly and very knowledgeable about the area, and pointed out items of interest. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Tour by Helicopter from Ayers Rock

carol.crossland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Having very limited time we weren't sure if just an overnight stay in Ayres Rock would give us sufficient time to see both a sunset and sunrise. This tour was amazing and we are so glad we did it. The tour company couriers were knowledgeable and very efficient giving us an experience we will never forget. Shortly after our arrival in Ayers Rock we were collected by the tour bus and taken to Uluru where we were given a detailed history and then taken to a viewing platform to watch the sunset. Early the next morning we were collected and taken to Kata Tjuta where we witnessed a spectacular sunrise. We then caught our flight back to Sydney. Despite our reservations this tour really worked for us and made our whistle stop trip to Ayers Rock one we are so glad we did.

Doing what: Best of Ayers Rock: Sunset Uluru and Sunrise Kata Tjuta Small Group Tours

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message