Ayers Rock ATTRACTIONS See all

The Olgas (Kata Tjuta)

The 36 domed red rocks known as the Olgas, or Kata Tjuta, dotting the desert are of huge cultural and spiritual significance to the Anangu people. Meaning 'many heads,' the huge rocks are separated by steep-sided gorges and valleys. Walking ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 78 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lorraine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

My brother and I did this trip in November and it was amazing. The Australian Outback was on my bucket list for the longest time and I finally got to do it. The trip itself was booked pretty last minute through Viator. On the morning of the trip departure from Alice Springs there was some confusion as to what tour bus we were to get on. Viator had not given us the name of the tour so we were left behind at the hotel until the tour guide came back for us. We had no idea we were joining Intrepid / Adventure Tours Australia. Thankfully my brother and I are pretty easy going so we never panicked. From the get go, our tour guide Joey was really great. He gave us the history and background to the highways and all we had to do was sit back and listen.
Our group was 22 people in total from Europe. The long drive to and around Uluru was broken up by frequent stops. Our campites and the food provided was at a high standard. They even cater for people with food allergies.
Uluru, Olgas and Kings Canyon are spectacular and have to be visited to be believed. I do recommend having a fly net as the bugs can be annoying. The mornings are early and they are so worth it for the sunrises.
I have amazing memories from this trip that will last a lifetime!!

Doing what: 3-Day Ayers Rock, Olgas and Kings Canyon Camping Safari

yva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was generally excellent. GrayLine and EMU combined to provide a service with EMU RUN, owing to lack of numbers.
They completely spoilt us from beginning to end, kept us both well nourished and hydrated throughout the day during the intense heat.
Bumped into people coming over with AAT King who seemed to have done nothing in comparison to us.
We covered Mount Connor, walked in the gorge at Kata Tjuta, visited the Aboriginal Centre, walked around strategic points of Uluru itself and had an abundance of bubbly, food, good company and amazing pictures.
Only minor criticism was that the guide taking us around Uluru did more talking than walking, which was frustrating to most people.
Definitely do this tour with EMU Run. They are the best of the 3.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

Terry A L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Olgas, Uluru, Kings Canyon - all fantastic. Lived here 36 years and always meant to visit. It was so much more than I expected. The country is stunning. The trip was great and packed a lot into three days. Our tour guide, Justin, is a young man full of enthusiasm for his job and really made the trip. I'd definitely recommend the trip.

Doing what: 3-Day Ayers Rock, Olgas and Kings Canyon Camping Safari

pml1971

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Prepare yourself as this is going to be a long day.
You leave Alice at 6am and will not arrive back at your hotel until 12am....but it really is worth it.
It was a brilliant day taking in some absolutely incredible sights. The Olgas and Uluru are just amazing....they really do have to be seen to be believed.
At the end of the day you get taken to the observatory area where we enjoyed a nice barbecue before watching the sunset and witness the changing of colours on Uluru.
Tip !!! If you choose to spend the entire journey there on your smartphone and social media then you will really miss so much. TURN IT OFF !

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

Bernard C. D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our small group tour to Kata Tjuta began on November 13 with our pick-up at the Desert Garden Hotel at 14:30 by SEIT Outback Australia. It took nearly 45 minutes to travel by small bus to Kata Tjuta where the group hiked into a mountainous area with explanations of some of the geology and flora provided on the way. It was not a strenuous walk but hot for which water was provided. There were also explanations of some of the Anunu beliefs involving the Kata Tjuta.

Doing what: Afternoon Kata Tjuta Small Group Tour

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Hotel pick-up was extremely convenient and all the staff were very friendly. Definitely a great way to take in Uluru and Kata Tjuta from an amazing vantage point. Would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Tour by Helicopter from Ayers Rock

Patricia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great guide Cardy who was very knowledgeable about Aboriginal sites, information and sensitivities. Great woman at the campsites cooked really good meals for us. Loved the tents. Got fantastic photos of the Olgas and Uluru.

Doing what: 3-Day Ayers Rock, Olgas and Kings Canyon Camping Safari

astaorthman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The trip was one of a kind! Wonderful way to see the outback and the famous Uluru and the Olga and #39;s on a tight schedule. The tour guide knew a lot about the local culture and customsee and shared the knowledge with the group.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

cristian c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The trekk was not conplicated at all, but very interesting specually because our guide Emily was so fun to hear when she told us the stories behind the magestic Kata Juta formations. The flies where really annoying, but despite that the entire was really interesting and fun.

Doing what: Kata Tjuta Small Group Tour including Sunrise and Breakfast

STEWART O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were hosted by Tony and Gavin from Emu Run. The tour to ULURU and The Olgas Tour was NOTHING LESS than awesome....and we credit Tony and Gavin for this memorable tour from start to finish. They were very knowledgeable with all the places of interest, top notch professionals with handling of the tour and were very attentive to our comfort and needs. Uluru and the National Park are wonders and should not be missed!

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

Catherine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We enjoyed a great day to Uluru and The Olgas on Wednesday. It was a long day, but very well paced and Dave and Andrew kept excellent control of timings all day so we had plenty of time to see everything without being rushed. Highly recommend. Thank you

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

Naoki M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very good tour. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Very good organization. I would highly recommend this tour to those who are interested in visiting Uluru and Kata Tujuta.

Doing what: 2-Day Uluru Sunset and Kata Tjuta Tour from Ayers Rock

Jay G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Seeing both Uluru and Kata Tjuta from the air just as the sun was rising was magical. The pilot was friendly and very knowledgeable about the area, and pointed out items of interest. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Tour by Helicopter from Ayers Rock

Brad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fantastic experience! Although it was a quick trip, everything was smooth as could be. Both the tour of Uluru and Kata Tjuta were amazing experiences. Uluru was majestic and one of the greatest things I have ever witnessed. It was a truly magical place for me as it was something I have always wanted to see since I was a small boy. The guides were very knowledgeable and were quick to answer any questions. The room accommodation was ok and had the basics you'd need for an overnight stay. The staff everywhere at the hotel were also very friendly and helpful, which to me also aided the experience that much more. I had a fantastic time and only wished my vacation was longer so I could have spent more time out there. Highly recommend it if you can find some time.

Doing what: 2-Day Uluru Sunset and Kata Tjuta Tour from Ayers Rock

neilt62

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour - collected at correct time, trip lasted a few minutes more than the 30 minutes identified and the pilot gace us good insights into the history of the Rock and the Olgas.

Doing what: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Tour by Helicopter from Ayers Rock

Philip P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was worth it to see the rock from all angles and also The Olgas. Tremendous experience

Doing what: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Tour by Helicopter from Ayers Rock

Ashley C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip into the Outback, with great tour guides and lots of stories. Awesome views of the Uluru and Kata Tjuta. Highly recommend taking this tour!

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

Wendy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was well worth doing. We were picked up from our resort on time and taken to the helicopter. The 30 minute flight was fabulous and gave a wonderful view of the landscape, Ayers Rock and the Olgas. I would highly recommend this if you visit this area. This was a birthday gift to my partner and he also loved every minute.

Doing what: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Tour by Helicopter from Ayers Rock

Joanna H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A wonderful experience albeit a long, hot day. Our tour guides were great, informative and friendly, very aware of the scorching heat they took this into account as to what the itinerary included. Uluru and the Olgas were beautiful and the bbq, although basic was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

Louise A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A thrilling aerial perspective of Uluru and Kata Tjuta. Well worth the price for the this unique experience of Australia's red centre.

Doing what: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Tour by Helicopter from Ayers Rock

Catherine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This trip set up our visit to Uluru so well. We did this on day 1 in Yulara. It provided us with a good understanding of the landscape, geography and the wonder of the Rock and Kata Tjuta. We had the lie of the land after this event. The pilot was great; professional, knowledgable and helpful. This is the best way to get your head around the area. I cannot recommend it enough.

Doing what: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Tour by Helicopter from Ayers Rock

Donald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great organization and informed guides! Be prepared for the weather and carry water (it was 106F when we walked the 2.5km return trip to Kata Tjuta waterhole). The sunset watching party was great with snacks and wine/soft drinks provided. There are free shuttles to/from the airport from the resort throughout the day - you are not constrained to the AAT shuttle bus. That will help in flight planning.

Doing what: 2-Day Uluru Sunset and Kata Tjuta Tour from Ayers Rock

Soren H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

That was a best thing we did in Ayers Rock area. The pilot Ben was very helpful, kind and knowledgeable! We had a wonderful afternoon view of the Uluru and Kata Tjuta, - very highly recommend!

Doing what: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Tour by Helicopter from Ayers Rock

Atul K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was convenient and Dan, our guide, did a great job. We had wonderful views of Uluru during the sunrise, had a nice breakfast of fruit toast and cereal, and then learned some of the local geography prior to taking a hike at Kata Tjuta. We saw a couple of kangaroos as well!

Doing what: Kata Tjuta Small Group Tour including Sunrise and Breakfast

Kevin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Nice trip and great way to view Uluru and Kata Tjuta.

Doing what: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Tour by Helicopter from Ayers Rock

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message