Ayers Rock – a pinnacle rock formation 280 miles southwest of the nearest town, in otherwise starkly desolate landscape - rises a sharp 348 meters (1141 feet) above the earth. At 3.6km (just over 2 miles) long, it’s an impressive expanse that no ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 374 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

bluey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An excellent outback experience as promised, and all round. The whole experience, not just Uluru, KataTjuuta and Kings Canyon, was beyond expectations. Just returned from last trip of the year before the temperatures really hit tops, and although it was already hot, Joe, our guide made sure the walks were done before the heat cranked up. Wonderful walking, great long drives in the 4wd, wonderful bird life, and the camping experience was truly outback. Our group was mixed in age range but Joe made sure walking and climbing abilities matched the options. A great guide.
I was hoping for down to earth outback everything, and that's what Wayoutback delivered. Great praise from me and I'd certainly recommend this 4 day trip. Kings Canyon and its walks was especially fascinating, perhaps more so than Uluru, and the final day was
heaven swimming in the gorges and just gradually coming back down to earth.
This is a truly magical experience on a number of levels. Fully recommended. Didn't want to leave the Red Desert. It has a way of getting into you. I'd just like more time to absorb it all.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

bluey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An excellent outback experience as promised, and all round. The whole experience, not just Uluru, KataTjuuta and Kings Canyon, was beyond expectations. Just returned from last trip of the year before the temperatures really hit tops, and although it was already hot, Joe, our guide made sure the walks were done before the heat cranked up. Wonderful walking, great long drives in the 4wd, wonderful bird life, and the camping experience was truly outback. Our group was mixed in age range but Joe made sure walking and climbing abilities matched the options. A great guide.
I was hoping for down to earth outback everything, and that's what Wayoutback delivered. Great praise from me and I'd certainly recommend this 4 day trip. Kings Canyon and its walks was especially fascinating, perhaps more so than Uluru, and the final day was
heaven swimming in the gorges and just gradually coming back down to earth.
This is a truly magical experience on a number of levels. Fully recommended. Didn't want to leave the Red Desert. It has a way of getting into you. I'd just like more time to absorb it all.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Sejil M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

this was an amazing tour and the scenery was awe inspiring. the Tour guide Stasia was awesome and well informed about the landscape and kept us on time!!

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Hotel pick-up was extremely convenient and all the staff were very friendly. Definitely a great way to take in Uluru and Kata Tjuta from an amazing vantage point. Would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Tour by Helicopter from Ayers Rock

acady6

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was the highlight of our Australian vacation despite it being a long trip by bus around 3.5 hours one way and a very early start 4:15 am!. The AAT Kings coach had comfortable seats and even had USB ports to charge phones/tablets. Our guide Alwyn was really great. We were determined to do the Rim Walk as we heard the views were incredible. We went on a day that was overcast and rained lightly at times which was probably better than on a day in the blazing sun. Note: If you are planning to do the Rim Walk, you are required by the national park service to have 3 liters per person. I'd suggest buying it ahead of time as the rest stop will charge you 6 for a 1.5 liter bottle! We knew the first 500 steps up would be challenging. It wasn't as bad as we imagined and our guide did it at a reasonable pace. We had some folks 60 with us and they managed fine. The Rim Walk is a 6 km walk/hike and you do need a good level of fitness to do it. The views are totally worth it.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

Jenine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Kings Canyon is incredibly beautiful and really worth the very early start. The colours, are amazing. The information provided by the guides about the local aboriginal people and their practices and customs is great. Please be aware that from October - April if you are planning on doing the rim walk you must have 3 litres of water with you, so make sure you are able to carry that amount or you can't do it.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

Juile O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome experience, tour guides were very experienced and the early morning sun rise and walks were all very organised. A very special place to visit, thank you.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

Leonardo R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very nice tour, particularly since this is pretty much the only option to join an organized tour from Yulara/Uluru to King's Canyon.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

jeanievan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a GREAT trip! If you are visiting Australia dont miss going to the Red Centre! It was an out of this world experience.

There are many highlights on this trip the hikes in the areas of Uluru, Kata Tjuta, and Kings Canyon are spectacular. A moderate to good level of fitness will be beneficial for the hikes, but there are many opportunities for less strenuous hikes that . Most days we would hike for three to five hours, have a nice lunch, drive in 4WD style to the next camp site. The drive was enjoyable while we listened to Outback history and stories, looked for animals in the wild horses, camels, dingos, kangaroos, birds, etc. and stopped to forage for firewood. The guide Nat Marshall was outstanding and made Aborigine history and culture, geographical highlights, and Australia history come to life.

One of the best parts of the trip for me was camping out in a swag an Australian bedroll under the bedazzling stars. That experience has a way of putting everything in perspective no matter who you are. I also loved the Dutch Oven dinners and eating by the camp fire. You will meet some great people on this tour as well! I hope to have visitors to the USA from Australia, Germany, The Netherlands, and England soon!

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Jan Dunlap United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

So much fun sleeping in a swag, under the stars, in the Australian outback!

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Debbie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely loved it. The only comment made by a few at the bbq was Uluru was not lit up in any way. It was hard to believe this beautiful rock was right near our bbq.
This date was my husband's first anniversary of his passing and it really made my day very very special.
Thank You

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) Outback Barbecue Dinner and Star Tour

guy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic day trip Well worth the climb to the ridge The landscape is like another planet and our guide Michael was funny, knowledgeable and entertaining throughout the day

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

Paul W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide Elsa was magnificent, very friendly , extremely knowledgeable. The tour was very relaxed a good walk but not too strenuous. I would really recommend this tour, sprectacular

Doing what: Full Uluru Base Walk at Sunrise including breakfast

Moshe Yoseph A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really friendly, personal service from our guide on our tour. Excellent organisation and a memorable day on the station then walking King's Canyon before going to Alice Springs. Best way to get from Uluru to Alice.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

Ziyan Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Before booking the tour I have done a lot of research, and I read all the available reviews online. I knew the first 500 steps would be hard. I knew someone with young kids did the rim walk successfully. But I still was frightened by the Statement I was given to sign on the bus. My poor husband who has zero knowledge prefilled almost want to give up. My 8yo who is too young to be afraid was the only one keen to sign the paper. haha
But, thank to all the previous reviewer, I really appreciate those useful information help me get enough courage to force the family join the rim walk. Otherwise, we won't be able to enjoy that beautiful view and had this once a lifetime experience. All my family rank this tour the best of all our red centre adventures.
Our tour guide Alicia and driver Trys were very friendly and funny. They told us a lot of stories and informations that hard to get elsewhere. Great thanks here.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

Catherine L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tris and Thomas were very personable, knowledgeable and fun. Day was long but fantastic! So glad I did the rim walk.Australia is beautiful. Learnt lots too about the outback. A must do.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

Jeffrey D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Challenging start with 500 steps - great views and scenery on the rim-walk. Good guide provided plenty of info. Coach trip was relaxing, stops for coffee and great breakfast.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

Murray W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous. This would be the best scenic flight we have ever taken. The pilot was amazing and the wole experience one that should not be missed. If you do nothing else - do this!

Doing what: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Tour by Helicopter from Ayers Rock

Glen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Long day but an enjoyable one. The six kilometre walk around the rim was great and highly recommended. With a great breakfast and lunch. Tour guides were pleasant and very informative. We took the AAT coach to Alice Springs which made it a longer day but enjoyed the journey.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

Glen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Long day but an enjoyable one. The six kilometre walk around the rim was great and highly recommended. With a great breakfast and lunch. Tour guides were pleasant and very informative. We took the AAT coach to Alice Springs which made it a longer day but enjoyed the journey.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

Herman L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was an amazing experience to take part of this tour! A must see when you visit Australia. We have seen so many beautiful landschapes. It was like walking trough a postcard. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

KAREN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a truly memorable day thanks to our very well informed guide. Her name Sylvia, has thoroughly researched and studied to teach us about Uluru and the significance of all we saw on this very special long walk. A nice breakfast was provided. My husband and I agree that this was the highlight of our trip to Ayres Rock Resort and by far the best tour guide we have ever had anywhere in all our travels.

Doing what: Full Uluru Base Walk at Sunrise including breakfast

KAREN R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Such a great trip to do. The rim walk is not for those who can and #39;t handle a good work out and climbing over rocks! It is an adventure with beautiful scenery and wildlife to surprise you every step of the way. Such an early start but the reward is to see a beautiful sunrise. You have to do it!

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message