Banff ATTRACTIONS See all

Athabasca Glacier

Halfway along the Icefields Parkway, the Athabasca Glacier stretches down to the valley from the Columbia Icefield. A living remnant of the last ice age, Athabasca is one of the largest of around 30 glaciers in the Rockies’ largest icefield. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 66 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gerard C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a great day. The only negative was that it was a very long day. We did the return trip from Calgary it would have been better to do the trip from Lake Louise or Banff as it is not so far. It was wonderful to walk on a glacier!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Maria R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really beautiful landscapes, the ice walking was really nice, the tour guides were very nice, it was completely worth it !!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent and well worth it, the Driver was very knowledgeable and made the long trip seem shorter with his informational sessions about the area, and other tidbits of information.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Roly A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I enjoyed this trip, you'll get to see the scenic views of rocky mountains, emerald lakes and glacier.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Stephen H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Tour was very good. Saw a lot more than we would have done trying to do it by car. Guide was very informative and the glacier ride well organised.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

patkadams

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really enjoyed the beautiful scenery

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Domenic R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was on a smaller bus with about 17 individuals. The smaller group size meant less time was spent waiting for individuals to return to the bus after the various stops. The reservation and boarding process went without a hitch.

Our tour guide was Norm, he was very knowledgeable of the area and its wildlife and also very engaging.

The glacier is a long ride from Banff however the stops at several scenic locations made it enjoyable. The park is beautiful!

The walk on the glacier and ride to it in the Explorer vehicle was a unique experience in itself.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Lucy United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic Tour. Our tour guide Ben was friendly and knowledgeable and even handed out bottles of water throughout the day. The glacier is a must see.
The lunch was delicious and fresh.
We really enjoyed our day.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Clara C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour, driver and tour guide.. thank you for such a great experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Nicole J M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This experience was one of the coolest I have done in my life. It was great to be part of the tour group due to the long waits for line during the time I was there. I was very pleased with the tour, long day of driving but well worth it.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

sheila.pollecutt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A wonderful trip. The whole day was so enjoyable - so much to see along the way. Obviously the glacier was the highlight of the day, but we also enjoyed our picnic in the warm sunshine in a field surrounded by snow clad mountains. Our driver was excellent.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Jane O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Terrific tour with a terrific guide! Very knowledgeable! It was nice to be with a smaller group also rather than a large tour bus.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Lisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Rose our driver was excellent . She was very knowledgable and it was obvious she loves the area. It and #39;s nice to know what you and #39;re looking at and the history of the area. We packed in a lot of sightseeing into the day. Smaller Bus size was a plus.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

ANIL VIJAISINH A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Driving through the Rocky mountains is an experience in itself thankfully the weather was great. The beauty of the mountains, numerous glaciers and lakes are captivating. Perhaps the most exquisite in its pristine glory is turquoise lake Lake Peyto which drew gasps from everyone as we approached. The color is simply unbelievably pure. The Ice field trip is a once in a life time - the detailing by the driver sorry about the name as we approached was very informative. The exhilarating experience as we take our first steps on A GLACIER ! and after all the photos, a drink of glacial water from the source and a little bit for home. The sky walk is great but the Mountains,Lakes and Ice field are greater. Organisation perfect, Driver and host sorry names forgotten tremendous - their detailing impressive !!! the lunch plentiful and varied - which is great on such long trips. On way back, a happy silence as we absorbed the experience,

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Teresita I

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Joe

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The journey to/from the Athabasca Glacier takes several 2-3 hrs each way and is the best part due to our very experienced and knowledgeable tour guide, Graham McDonald. Saw deers and 3 black bears along the way.

The glacier experience itself was ok but not great. We were trucked from the base station up/down the glacier in a high volume operation. I wouldn't have known it was a glacier if weren't told. We were allowed to get out of the truck and walked around on the glacier in a relatively flat cordoned off area. Relatively safe but no ice shoes were provided and one could easily slip and fall on the ice. Time on the glacier was 30mins to an hr at most. There was some commentary provided by the operator at the glacier but not in much detail about the glacier, e.g. how it was formed, amount of snow in the area, whether it is advancing or retreating, etc.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

jasdoit92

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Felt very rushed. Not enough time during Lake Louise and Peyto Lake stop. Our guide Dale was very dismissive, not friendly except to select few passengers. He was indifferent for most of the tour. Even the Athbasca glacier stop felt too rushed. What a let down

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

metonyc

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

We took the full day Athabasca Glacier tour with Discover Banff Tours booked through Viator. The tour itself has some wonderful sites and the Columbia icefield was definitely worth seeing. However, our tour guide Terry was horrible. We were told to stand outside of our hotel for pickup. He did not bother to look for us and went straight to our concierge and then left without even calling out our name. We had to call the tour company to get him to come back. He was rushing through the whole tour and even skipped a stop that was on the itinerary. If anyone was 1 minute late he would berate them on the bus microphone. He also yelled at little kids for bringing on ice cream on the bus there was no sign or any mentioning of food not allowed . He made fun of a lady because she wants to make a restroom stop and told the couple in front of us that seat changes are not allowed. Even though there was no assigned seats. He also yelled at them for talking while he was talking. All this was done over the bus speaker in front of the whole group. He treated us like we are in kindergarten. I would do this tour again but not while Terry is a tour guide.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Jenna T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I took this tour on 31 May 2016, and it was incredible! There is a lot packed into the day which itself is long - around 6am to 9pm if you're travelling from Calgary, like I was, but it really was sensational and worth every penny. I was in Calgary for a conference, and so decided to book this tour because I didn't have much time for sightseeing, and wanted to fit in as much of the Rockies as possible.
The day certainly didn't disappoint, and, as well as all the sights listed on the itinerary, we were also treated to the site of two grizzly bears, and one brown bear with her two cubs!
The whole day was very well-organized from start to finish, and I will definitely be back to Canada for more adventures in the future. Special thank you to Frank our driver and Rebecca our Brewster rep, who did a brilliant job. Frank was a fountain of knowledge!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Parichat W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Love the trip. Our guide tour was excellent and knowledgeable! We had so much fun ! This was a trip to remember. It was worth it. All the staff were very helpful and informative as well. Both Viator and Discovery staff did a good job. We encountered rain, sunshine, and snow all in one day but Athabasca Glacier trip was a unique experience that we'd never forget. We love Western Canada.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Charlotte F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Anick our guide was awesome. Tour was great and we got to see a grizzly bear and two brown bears.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Lucien D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Outstanding experience despite the cold and snowy weather. Breathtaking scenery, an amazing glacier walk and even two bears thrown in for added effect! Do be prepared for a very long day - a 6 a.m. start and return to Calgary at 9 p.m.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Adrienne S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The trip was really a wonderful experience. What made it truly enjoyable was our guide, Hugh. He was extremely informative, which meant that we learned a lot about the history of the area, and he even let us stop on the way back to take some pictures of one of the only lakes that was not still frozen! We were also able to stop numerous places along the way to enjoy a variety of sites. Great experience for sure!

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Lori D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great scenery, great tour. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message