Banff ATTRACTIONS See all

Columbia Icefield

A spectacular remnant from the ice age, the Columbia Icefield is the largest icefield in the Canadian Rockies. More than 30 glaciers make up the icefield, including one of the largest and most visited, the Athabasca Glacier. A highlight of a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 96 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stephanie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful, amazing, with thoughtful and knowledgeable hosts! What a wonderful way to see the area, without the pressure of driving myself.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

patkadams

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really enjoyed the beautiful scenery

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Penelope H S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Overall, a comprehensive tour that covers Jasper National Park, the Glacier, and the Glacier Skywalk. The fast pace of this tour makes it difficult with young children who might want to dawdle at a stop. If you can, bring your own snacks - the lunch at the Icefield Center is barely edible. The bus driver Talkative Tim demonstrates his 20 years of experience with constant, informative, commentary on the way to the Icefields quiet music on the way back, but he is also the White Rabbit - make sure you are not late getting back on the bus. Renate, the tour facilitator, deftly passed out snacks, water, and tickets and kept count. The Icefield Center didn't have much to do - there was a strange movie with only music. The pictures of the early history at the lower floor were interesting. The Glacier tour was fun - the driver made it adventurous and humorous. The Glacier Skywalk was interesting, but you don't have time to listen to the audio tour. The kids did enjoy the Park employees who had the skull of a Bighorn Sheep. Ignore the signs at the Brewster Transportation Center that says wait inside until your bus is called. You need to be at the gate before the bus arrives - it won't be called. This tour is best for adults - renting a car and driving this might have been the better option with kids so we could stop as needed.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Elise H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Loved the Icefields and Skywalk! The buffet lunch wasn't great.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Keith H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

interesting journey out with a knowledgeable and helpful driver, good organisation at the icefields less pleased with uncomfortable ride back to Jasper in packed mini-coach.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Jasper

Cheryl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a fabulous tour. It was so much fun going onto the ice fields! Very slippery so be warned, the skywalk was just awesome! Saw a black bear on the way back eating berries by the side of the road. Only complaint would be the food at the buffet, not very good, mostly Chinese style foods. Had the vegetable beef soup, not any type of vegetable beef soup you'd recognize! But other then the food a great day! Wear warm clothes and sturdy shoes.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Friday O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Dustin was the best, lots of info with added humor. Nice to see the sites and not have to drive. Price very reasonable, will recommend this company

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Jasper

alisont61

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A must do. We had a great day. All the stops along the Icefield Parkway were well worth seeing. We have a very good lunch at the Discovery Centre before moving onto the glacier. You only get 15 minutes on there but still worth doing. Our driver was a really well read and informative guy. He made the trip.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

alisont61

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A must do. We had a great day. All the stops along the Icefield Parkway were well worth seeing. We have a very good lunch at the Discovery Centre before moving onto the glacier. You only get 15 minutes on there but still worth doing. Our driver was a really well read and informative guy. He made the trip.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

nian_gu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The driver has been helpful and friendly. He is kind to tell us about the area and the wildlife. He is kind enough to allow us to have a few moment in the vehicle to see the wildlife we met en route. It is clear about what would happen next and what we were expected to do. It was a day full of fun and beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Thomas W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed this trip. It was very relaxing on the bus and the extensive knowledge that our driver provided during the tour. Even though we have done a lot of mountaineering, it was enjoyable just to walk around on the icefield as a tourist. However, next time, we want to sign up for the guided tour of the icefield. Extremely beautiful along the entire trip. I highly recommend this trip and leave the driving, parking and information to the driver, so much easier finding parking than if we drove to each of the sites. The Chinese buffet that was included as part of the icefield tour was quite good as well.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Clara C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour, driver and tour guide.. thank you for such a great experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

cdr4081

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

With the numbers of people at the glacier, was glad we chose to take a tour and leave the logistics to someone else.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Nicole J M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This experience was one of the coolest I have done in my life. It was great to be part of the tour group due to the long waits for line during the time I was there. I was very pleased with the tour, long day of driving but well worth it.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Nicholas W

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Rather crowded at the Glacier/Icefield and delay in return trip due to Brewster 'scheduling' problems, did not help one's positive frame of mind. But the initial Brewster bus driver was excellent and everything was fine until the scheduling problem involving the return of a number of customers to Jasper in a different vehicle somewhat spoilt the day.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Jasper

Chandrahas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An excellent excursion, not to be missed.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Christina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour! Dave our guide was very knowledgeable about the area. We were even lucky enough to see a grizzly bear on our way back.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

kay1234 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding tour and fabulous scenery. The drive on the Columbia Icefield Parkway to the glacier will blow you away with snowcapped mountains and pristine blue lakes. Weather was overcast and cool for June and dashed through light showers. Couldn't curb our enthusiasm when those showers turned to SNOW at the glacier. Will never forget this trip. Even saw both grizzly and black bears on our return trip to Banff. Quite a finish to this long and highly enjoyable day.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Penny B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this tour! The bus driver and tour guide was wonderful! He told us so much about the area, the park, and the mountains! Robin, our hostess, kept wonderful track of all 39 of us. Going out on the glacier was awesome as was the skywalk!!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

When I first looked into booking this trip, I was taken back by the price. I then thought about it and thought it would bel worth the money. THIS WAS BY FAR THE BEST DECISION EVER! The whole trip left me speechless....it was AWESOME! WORTH EVERY PENNY! Bus driver very informative, lunch great....ice tour once in a lifetime experience. Loved it!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Francis D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Everything on the trip went extremely well. The best part of the tour was the extremely knowledgeable and professional driver.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Debra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were very fortunate to have good weather, great time.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Jasper

Martini

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fabulous day.. The Brewster team of Patrick O'Connell and Alberto were terrific. The trip was seamless and the information they provided excellent. We got to see it all the falls, the skywalk and the ice field in comfort, with sufficient time to enjoy everything. We even had a decent hot lunch. I rate it and them highly

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Jasper

ANIL VIJAISINH A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Driving through the Rocky mountains is an experience in itself thankfully the weather was great. The beauty of the mountains, numerous glaciers and lakes are captivating. Perhaps the most exquisite in its pristine glory is turquoise lake Lake Peyto which drew gasps from everyone as we approached. The color is simply unbelievably pure. The Ice field trip is a once in a life time - the detailing by the driver sorry about the name as we approached was very informative. The exhilarating experience as we take our first steps on A GLACIER ! and after all the photos, a drink of glacial water from the source and a little bit for home. The sky walk is great but the Mountains,Lakes and Ice field are greater. Organisation perfect, Driver and host sorry names forgotten tremendous - their detailing impressive !!! the lunch plentiful and varied - which is great on such long trips. On way back, a happy silence as we absorbed the experience,

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message