Banff ATTRACTIONS See all

Columbia Icefield

A spectacular remnant from the ice age, the Columbia Icefield is the largest icefield in the Canadian Rockies. More than 30 glaciers make up the icefield, including one of the largest and most visited, the Athabasca Glacier. A highlight of a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 91 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cheryl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a fabulous tour. It was so much fun going onto the ice fields! Very slippery so be warned, the skywalk was just awesome! Saw a black bear on the way back eating berries by the side of the road. Only complaint would be the food at the buffet, not very good, mostly Chinese style foods. Had the vegetable beef soup, not any type of vegetable beef soup you'd recognize! But other then the food a great day! Wear warm clothes and sturdy shoes.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Friday O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Dustin was the best, lots of info with added humor. Nice to see the sites and not have to drive. Price very reasonable, will recommend this company

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Jasper

alisont61

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A must do. We had a great day. All the stops along the Icefield Parkway were well worth seeing. We have a very good lunch at the Discovery Centre before moving onto the glacier. You only get 15 minutes on there but still worth doing. Our driver was a really well read and informative guy. He made the trip.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

alisont61

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A must do. We had a great day. All the stops along the Icefield Parkway were well worth seeing. We have a very good lunch at the Discovery Centre before moving onto the glacier. You only get 15 minutes on there but still worth doing. Our driver was a really well read and informative guy. He made the trip.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

nian_gu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The driver has been helpful and friendly. He is kind to tell us about the area and the wildlife. He is kind enough to allow us to have a few moment in the vehicle to see the wildlife we met en route. It is clear about what would happen next and what we were expected to do. It was a day full of fun and beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Thomas W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed this trip. It was very relaxing on the bus and the extensive knowledge that our driver provided during the tour. Even though we have done a lot of mountaineering, it was enjoyable just to walk around on the icefield as a tourist. However, next time, we want to sign up for the guided tour of the icefield. Extremely beautiful along the entire trip. I highly recommend this trip and leave the driving, parking and information to the driver, so much easier finding parking than if we drove to each of the sites. The Chinese buffet that was included as part of the icefield tour was quite good as well.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Clara C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour, driver and tour guide.. thank you for such a great experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

cdr4081

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

With the numbers of people at the glacier, was glad we chose to take a tour and leave the logistics to someone else.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Nicole J M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This experience was one of the coolest I have done in my life. It was great to be part of the tour group due to the long waits for line during the time I was there. I was very pleased with the tour, long day of driving but well worth it.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Nicholas W

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Rather crowded at the Glacier/Icefield and delay in return trip due to Brewster 'scheduling' problems, did not help one's positive frame of mind. But the initial Brewster bus driver was excellent and everything was fine until the scheduling problem involving the return of a number of customers to Jasper in a different vehicle somewhat spoilt the day.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Jasper

Chandrahas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An excellent excursion, not to be missed.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Christina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour! Dave our guide was very knowledgeable about the area. We were even lucky enough to see a grizzly bear on our way back.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

kay1234 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding tour and fabulous scenery. The drive on the Columbia Icefield Parkway to the glacier will blow you away with snowcapped mountains and pristine blue lakes. Weather was overcast and cool for June and dashed through light showers. Couldn't curb our enthusiasm when those showers turned to SNOW at the glacier. Will never forget this trip. Even saw both grizzly and black bears on our return trip to Banff. Quite a finish to this long and highly enjoyable day.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Penny B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this tour! The bus driver and tour guide was wonderful! He told us so much about the area, the park, and the mountains! Robin, our hostess, kept wonderful track of all 39 of us. Going out on the glacier was awesome as was the skywalk!!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

When I first looked into booking this trip, I was taken back by the price. I then thought about it and thought it would bel worth the money. THIS WAS BY FAR THE BEST DECISION EVER! The whole trip left me speechless....it was AWESOME! WORTH EVERY PENNY! Bus driver very informative, lunch great....ice tour once in a lifetime experience. Loved it!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Francis D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Everything on the trip went extremely well. The best part of the tour was the extremely knowledgeable and professional driver.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Debra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were very fortunate to have good weather, great time.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Jasper

Martini

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fabulous day.. The Brewster team of Patrick O'Connell and Alberto were terrific. The trip was seamless and the information they provided excellent. We got to see it all the falls, the skywalk and the ice field in comfort, with sufficient time to enjoy everything. We even had a decent hot lunch. I rate it and them highly

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Jasper

ANIL VIJAISINH A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Driving through the Rocky mountains is an experience in itself thankfully the weather was great. The beauty of the mountains, numerous glaciers and lakes are captivating. Perhaps the most exquisite in its pristine glory is turquoise lake Lake Peyto which drew gasps from everyone as we approached. The color is simply unbelievably pure. The Ice field trip is a once in a life time - the detailing by the driver sorry about the name as we approached was very informative. The exhilarating experience as we take our first steps on A GLACIER ! and after all the photos, a drink of glacial water from the source and a little bit for home. The sky walk is great but the Mountains,Lakes and Ice field are greater. Organisation perfect, Driver and host sorry names forgotten tremendous - their detailing impressive !!! the lunch plentiful and varied - which is great on such long trips. On way back, a happy silence as we absorbed the experience,

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Juwon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was amazing trip XD Guide Tim was really nice, knowledgeable and humorous: Glaciers were also impressive : it was pretty cold when I got the glacier but it also has lots of fun and surprise there. Glacier guide eve was perfect and nice guide : I was so happy to face with this great nature with good people

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

John S

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The tour was great at the start. We were in a beautiful nice bus, the guide was awesome. After the icefields and the skywalk we were put into a not so nice bumpy van without a tour guide. The 90 minute ride back to the hotel in silence was not fun.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Jasper

Kamari B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was the highlight of my Banff trip for a couple of reasons. First, our driver Mike and host Renatta, where both so friendly, helpful and extremely knowledgeable, sharing exciting stories and history of Banff and Canada throughout the course of the day. Second, it was a reasonably small tour, only 7 of us, which gives us the ability to get to know each us and have flexible time at each stop. Third, the sites on the agenda that we did stop at were fantastic. Peyto Lake and the Icefield were certainly the highlights, but driving along the Icefield Parkway and through the Rockies was surreal. The mountains are breathtaking and well worth taking this tour to see them alone. It's also worth noting we got lucky because it snowed when we go to the Icefield, making the scene feel more magical. Finally, we got lucky with a couple of bear sightings! Mike was very well versed in where to spot them, so as we approached each location our eyes were glued outside to see if could find them. Luckily, a black bear jumped out on the road, so we were able to get a great view of him grazing. And then over the radio, they heard of a pair of grizzly siblings spotted at one our upcoming locations so we zipped there and saw them. And boy - they were stunning! I've done a few all-day tours with other companies in other countries, but can confidently say Brewster are by far is the best! This and Mountain Lakes/Waterfalls Day Trip truly made my short weekend in Banff very memorable and allowed me to see a lot of sights in a very short amount of time.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Kamari B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was the highlight of my Banff trip for a couple of reasons. First, our driver Mike and host Renatta, where both so friendly, helpful and extremely knowledgeable, sharing exciting stories and history of Banff and Canada throughout the course of the day. Second, it was a reasonably small tour, only 7 of us, which gives us the ability to get to know each us and have flexible time at each stop. Third, the sites on the agenda that we did stop at were fantastic. Peyto Lake and the Icefield were certainly the highlights, but driving along the Icefield Parkway and through the Rockies was surreal. The mountains are breathtaking and well worth taking this tour to see them alone. It's also worth noting we got lucky because it snowed when we go to the Icefield, making the scene feel more magical. Finally, we got lucky with a couple of bear sightings! Mike was very well versed in where to spot them, so as we approached each location our eyes were glued outside to see if could find them. Luckily, a black bear jumped out on the road, so we were able to get a great view of him grazing. And then over the radio, they heard of a pair of grizzly siblings spotted at one our upcoming locations so we zipped there and saw them. And boy - they were stunning! I've done a few all-day tours with other companies in other countries, but can confidently say Brewster are by far is the best! This and Mountain Lakes/Waterfalls Day Trip truly made my short weekend in Banff very memorable and allowed me to see a lot of sights in a very short amount of time.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message