Banff ATTRACTIONS See all

Icefields Parkway

The Icefields Parkway is a legendary stretch of Highway 93. Running for 230 km (142.5-mile), the route links Lake Louise in the south with Jasper in the north. The scenic route runs through both Banff and Jasper national parks, traversing the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 101 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cheryl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a fabulous tour. It was so much fun going onto the ice fields! Very slippery so be warned, the skywalk was just awesome! Saw a black bear on the way back eating berries by the side of the road. Only complaint would be the food at the buffet, not very good, mostly Chinese style foods. Had the vegetable beef soup, not any type of vegetable beef soup you'd recognize! But other then the food a great day! Wear warm clothes and sturdy shoes.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

alisont61

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A must do. We had a great day. All the stops along the Icefield Parkway were well worth seeing. We have a very good lunch at the Discovery Centre before moving onto the glacier. You only get 15 minutes on there but still worth doing. Our driver was a really well read and informative guy. He made the trip.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

alisont61

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A must do. We had a great day. All the stops along the Icefield Parkway were well worth seeing. We have a very good lunch at the Discovery Centre before moving onto the glacier. You only get 15 minutes on there but still worth doing. Our driver was a really well read and informative guy. He made the trip.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

nian_gu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The driver has been helpful and friendly. He is kind to tell us about the area and the wildlife. He is kind enough to allow us to have a few moment in the vehicle to see the wildlife we met en route. It is clear about what would happen next and what we were expected to do. It was a day full of fun and beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Thomas W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed this trip. It was very relaxing on the bus and the extensive knowledge that our driver provided during the tour. Even though we have done a lot of mountaineering, it was enjoyable just to walk around on the icefield as a tourist. However, next time, we want to sign up for the guided tour of the icefield. Extremely beautiful along the entire trip. I highly recommend this trip and leave the driving, parking and information to the driver, so much easier finding parking than if we drove to each of the sites. The Chinese buffet that was included as part of the icefield tour was quite good as well.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Lucy United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic Tour. Our tour guide Ben was friendly and knowledgeable and even handed out bottles of water throughout the day. The glacier is a must see.
The lunch was delicious and fresh.
We really enjoyed our day.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Clara C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour, driver and tour guide.. thank you for such a great experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

cdr4081

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

With the numbers of people at the glacier, was glad we chose to take a tour and leave the logistics to someone else.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Nicole J M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This experience was one of the coolest I have done in my life. It was great to be part of the tour group due to the long waits for line during the time I was there. I was very pleased with the tour, long day of driving but well worth it.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Chandrahas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An excellent excursion, not to be missed.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Christina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour! Dave our guide was very knowledgeable about the area. We were even lucky enough to see a grizzly bear on our way back.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

kay1234 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding tour and fabulous scenery. The drive on the Columbia Icefield Parkway to the glacier will blow you away with snowcapped mountains and pristine blue lakes. Weather was overcast and cool for June and dashed through light showers. Couldn't curb our enthusiasm when those showers turned to SNOW at the glacier. Will never forget this trip. Even saw both grizzly and black bears on our return trip to Banff. Quite a finish to this long and highly enjoyable day.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

sheila.pollecutt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A wonderful trip. The whole day was so enjoyable - so much to see along the way. Obviously the glacier was the highlight of the day, but we also enjoyed our picnic in the warm sunshine in a field surrounded by snow clad mountains. Our driver was excellent.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Penny B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this tour! The bus driver and tour guide was wonderful! He told us so much about the area, the park, and the mountains! Robin, our hostess, kept wonderful track of all 39 of us. Going out on the glacier was awesome as was the skywalk!!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Jane O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Terrific tour with a terrific guide! Very knowledgeable! It was nice to be with a smaller group also rather than a large tour bus.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Lisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Rose our driver was excellent . She was very knowledgable and it was obvious she loves the area. It and #39;s nice to know what you and #39;re looking at and the history of the area. We packed in a lot of sightseeing into the day. Smaller Bus size was a plus.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

When I first looked into booking this trip, I was taken back by the price. I then thought about it and thought it would bel worth the money. THIS WAS BY FAR THE BEST DECISION EVER! The whole trip left me speechless....it was AWESOME! WORTH EVERY PENNY! Bus driver very informative, lunch great....ice tour once in a lifetime experience. Loved it!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Francis D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Everything on the trip went extremely well. The best part of the tour was the extremely knowledgeable and professional driver.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

ANIL VIJAISINH A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Driving through the Rocky mountains is an experience in itself thankfully the weather was great. The beauty of the mountains, numerous glaciers and lakes are captivating. Perhaps the most exquisite in its pristine glory is turquoise lake Lake Peyto which drew gasps from everyone as we approached. The color is simply unbelievably pure. The Ice field trip is a once in a life time - the detailing by the driver sorry about the name as we approached was very informative. The exhilarating experience as we take our first steps on A GLACIER ! and after all the photos, a drink of glacial water from the source and a little bit for home. The sky walk is great but the Mountains,Lakes and Ice field are greater. Organisation perfect, Driver and host sorry names forgotten tremendous - their detailing impressive !!! the lunch plentiful and varied - which is great on such long trips. On way back, a happy silence as we absorbed the experience,

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Juwon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was amazing trip XD Guide Tim was really nice, knowledgeable and humorous: Glaciers were also impressive : it was pretty cold when I got the glacier but it also has lots of fun and surprise there. Glacier guide eve was perfect and nice guide : I was so happy to face with this great nature with good people

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Teresita I

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Joe

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The journey to/from the Athabasca Glacier takes several 2-3 hrs each way and is the best part due to our very experienced and knowledgeable tour guide, Graham McDonald. Saw deers and 3 black bears along the way.

The glacier experience itself was ok but not great. We were trucked from the base station up/down the glacier in a high volume operation. I wouldn't have known it was a glacier if weren't told. We were allowed to get out of the truck and walked around on the glacier in a relatively flat cordoned off area. Relatively safe but no ice shoes were provided and one could easily slip and fall on the ice. Time on the glacier was 30mins to an hr at most. There was some commentary provided by the operator at the glacier but not in much detail about the glacier, e.g. how it was formed, amount of snow in the area, whether it is advancing or retreating, etc.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

jasdoit92

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Felt very rushed. Not enough time during Lake Louise and Peyto Lake stop. Our guide Dale was very dismissive, not friendly except to select few passengers. He was indifferent for most of the tour. Even the Athbasca glacier stop felt too rushed. What a let down

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message