Banff ATTRACTIONS See all

Icefields Parkway

The Icefields Parkway is a legendary stretch of Highway 93. Running for 230 km (142.5-mile), the route links Lake Louise in the south with Jasper in the north. The scenic route runs through both Banff and Jasper national parks, traversing the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 91 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Chandrahas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An excellent excursion, not to be missed.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Christina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour! Dave our guide was very knowledgeable about the area. We were even lucky enough to see a grizzly bear on our way back.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

kay1234 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding tour and fabulous scenery. The drive on the Columbia Icefield Parkway to the glacier will blow you away with snowcapped mountains and pristine blue lakes. Weather was overcast and cool for June and dashed through light showers. Couldn't curb our enthusiasm when those showers turned to SNOW at the glacier. Will never forget this trip. Even saw both grizzly and black bears on our return trip to Banff. Quite a finish to this long and highly enjoyable day.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

sheila.pollecutt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A wonderful trip. The whole day was so enjoyable - so much to see along the way. Obviously the glacier was the highlight of the day, but we also enjoyed our picnic in the warm sunshine in a field surrounded by snow clad mountains. Our driver was excellent.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Penny B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this tour! The bus driver and tour guide was wonderful! He told us so much about the area, the park, and the mountains! Robin, our hostess, kept wonderful track of all 39 of us. Going out on the glacier was awesome as was the skywalk!!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Jane O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Terrific tour with a terrific guide! Very knowledgeable! It was nice to be with a smaller group also rather than a large tour bus.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Lisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Rose our driver was excellent . She was very knowledgable and it was obvious she loves the area. It and #39;s nice to know what you and #39;re looking at and the history of the area. We packed in a lot of sightseeing into the day. Smaller Bus size was a plus.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

When I first looked into booking this trip, I was taken back by the price. I then thought about it and thought it would bel worth the money. THIS WAS BY FAR THE BEST DECISION EVER! The whole trip left me speechless....it was AWESOME! WORTH EVERY PENNY! Bus driver very informative, lunch great....ice tour once in a lifetime experience. Loved it!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Francis D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Everything on the trip went extremely well. The best part of the tour was the extremely knowledgeable and professional driver.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

ANIL VIJAISINH A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Driving through the Rocky mountains is an experience in itself thankfully the weather was great. The beauty of the mountains, numerous glaciers and lakes are captivating. Perhaps the most exquisite in its pristine glory is turquoise lake Lake Peyto which drew gasps from everyone as we approached. The color is simply unbelievably pure. The Ice field trip is a once in a life time - the detailing by the driver sorry about the name as we approached was very informative. The exhilarating experience as we take our first steps on A GLACIER ! and after all the photos, a drink of glacial water from the source and a little bit for home. The sky walk is great but the Mountains,Lakes and Ice field are greater. Organisation perfect, Driver and host sorry names forgotten tremendous - their detailing impressive !!! the lunch plentiful and varied - which is great on such long trips. On way back, a happy silence as we absorbed the experience,

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Teresita I

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Joe

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The journey to/from the Athabasca Glacier takes several 2-3 hrs each way and is the best part due to our very experienced and knowledgeable tour guide, Graham McDonald. Saw deers and 3 black bears along the way.

The glacier experience itself was ok but not great. We were trucked from the base station up/down the glacier in a high volume operation. I wouldn't have known it was a glacier if weren't told. We were allowed to get out of the truck and walked around on the glacier in a relatively flat cordoned off area. Relatively safe but no ice shoes were provided and one could easily slip and fall on the ice. Time on the glacier was 30mins to an hr at most. There was some commentary provided by the operator at the glacier but not in much detail about the glacier, e.g. how it was formed, amount of snow in the area, whether it is advancing or retreating, etc.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

jasdoit92

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Felt very rushed. Not enough time during Lake Louise and Peyto Lake stop. Our guide Dale was very dismissive, not friendly except to select few passengers. He was indifferent for most of the tour. Even the Athbasca glacier stop felt too rushed. What a let down

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

metonyc

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

We took the full day Athabasca Glacier tour with Discover Banff Tours booked through Viator. The tour itself has some wonderful sites and the Columbia icefield was definitely worth seeing. However, our tour guide Terry was horrible. We were told to stand outside of our hotel for pickup. He did not bother to look for us and went straight to our concierge and then left without even calling out our name. We had to call the tour company to get him to come back. He was rushing through the whole tour and even skipped a stop that was on the itinerary. If anyone was 1 minute late he would berate them on the bus microphone. He also yelled at little kids for bringing on ice cream on the bus there was no sign or any mentioning of food not allowed . He made fun of a lady because she wants to make a restroom stop and told the couple in front of us that seat changes are not allowed. Even though there was no assigned seats. He also yelled at them for talking while he was talking. All this was done over the bus speaker in front of the whole group. He treated us like we are in kindergarten. I would do this tour again but not while Terry is a tour guide.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Kamari B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was the highlight of my Banff trip for a couple of reasons. First, our driver Mike and host Renatta, where both so friendly, helpful and extremely knowledgeable, sharing exciting stories and history of Banff and Canada throughout the course of the day. Second, it was a reasonably small tour, only 7 of us, which gives us the ability to get to know each us and have flexible time at each stop. Third, the sites on the agenda that we did stop at were fantastic. Peyto Lake and the Icefield were certainly the highlights, but driving along the Icefield Parkway and through the Rockies was surreal. The mountains are breathtaking and well worth taking this tour to see them alone. It's also worth noting we got lucky because it snowed when we go to the Icefield, making the scene feel more magical. Finally, we got lucky with a couple of bear sightings! Mike was very well versed in where to spot them, so as we approached each location our eyes were glued outside to see if could find them. Luckily, a black bear jumped out on the road, so we were able to get a great view of him grazing. And then over the radio, they heard of a pair of grizzly siblings spotted at one our upcoming locations so we zipped there and saw them. And boy - they were stunning! I've done a few all-day tours with other companies in other countries, but can confidently say Brewster are by far is the best! This and Mountain Lakes/Waterfalls Day Trip truly made my short weekend in Banff very memorable and allowed me to see a lot of sights in a very short amount of time.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Kamari B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was the highlight of my Banff trip for a couple of reasons. First, our driver Mike and host Renatta, where both so friendly, helpful and extremely knowledgeable, sharing exciting stories and history of Banff and Canada throughout the course of the day. Second, it was a reasonably small tour, only 7 of us, which gives us the ability to get to know each us and have flexible time at each stop. Third, the sites on the agenda that we did stop at were fantastic. Peyto Lake and the Icefield were certainly the highlights, but driving along the Icefield Parkway and through the Rockies was surreal. The mountains are breathtaking and well worth taking this tour to see them alone. It's also worth noting we got lucky because it snowed when we go to the Icefield, making the scene feel more magical. Finally, we got lucky with a couple of bear sightings! Mike was very well versed in where to spot them, so as we approached each location our eyes were glued outside to see if could find them. Luckily, a black bear jumped out on the road, so we were able to get a great view of him grazing. And then over the radio, they heard of a pair of grizzly siblings spotted at one our upcoming locations so we zipped there and saw them. And boy - they were stunning! I've done a few all-day tours with other companies in other countries, but can confidently say Brewster are by far is the best! This and Mountain Lakes/Waterfalls Day Trip truly made my short weekend in Banff very memorable and allowed me to see a lot of sights in a very short amount of time.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Kamari B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was the highlight of my Banff trip for a couple of reasons. First, our driver Mike and host Renatta, where both so friendly, helpful and extremely knowledgeable, sharing exciting stories and history of Banff and Canada throughout the course of the day. Second, it was a reasonably small tour, only 7 of us, which gives us the ability to get to know each us and have flexible time at each stop. Third, the sites on the agenda that we did stop at were fantastic. Peyto Lake and the Icefield were certainly the highlights, but driving along the Icefield Parkway and through the Rockies was surreal. The mountains are breathtaking and well worth taking this tour to see them alone. It's also worth noting we got lucky because it snowed when we go to the Icefield, making the scene feel more magical. Finally, we got lucky with a couple of bear sightings! Mike was very well versed in where to spot them, so as we approached each location our eyes were glued outside to see if could find them. Luckily, a black bear jumped out on the road, so we were able to get a great view of him grazing. And then over the radio, they heard of a pair of grizzly siblings spotted at one our upcoming locations so we zipped there and saw them. And boy - they were stunning! I've done a few all-day tours with other companies in other countries, but can confidently say Brewster are by far is the best! This and Mountain Lakes/Waterfalls Day Trip truly made my short weekend in Banff very memorable and allowed me to see a lot of sights in a very short amount of time.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Jerry C C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A wonderful experience - Well worth taking

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Jenna T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I took this tour on 31 May 2016, and it was incredible! There is a lot packed into the day which itself is long - around 6am to 9pm if you're travelling from Calgary, like I was, but it really was sensational and worth every penny. I was in Calgary for a conference, and so decided to book this tour because I didn't have much time for sightseeing, and wanted to fit in as much of the Rockies as possible.
The day certainly didn't disappoint, and, as well as all the sights listed on the itinerary, we were also treated to the site of two grizzly bears, and one brown bear with her two cubs!
The whole day was very well-organized from start to finish, and I will definitely be back to Canada for more adventures in the future. Special thank you to Frank our driver and Rebecca our Brewster rep, who did a brilliant job. Frank was a fountain of knowledge!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Parichat W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Love the trip. Our guide tour was excellent and knowledgeable! We had so much fun ! This was a trip to remember. It was worth it. All the staff were very helpful and informative as well. Both Viator and Discovery staff did a good job. We encountered rain, sunshine, and snow all in one day but Athabasca Glacier trip was a unique experience that we'd never forget. We love Western Canada.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Charlotte F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Anick our guide was awesome. Tour was great and we got to see a grizzly bear and two brown bears.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Bob P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tim our bus drive guide took good care of us. We can't remember the young woman name but she was excellent too. They worked to make out day great! The weather that day was outstanding which also made the tour that much better. All we can say is it was GREAT! Our first trip to that area and so happy we signed up for this tour!!!!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Lucien D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Outstanding experience despite the cold and snowy weather. Breathtaking scenery, an amazing glacier walk and even two bears thrown in for added effect! Do be prepared for a very long day - a 6 a.m. start and return to Calgary at 9 p.m.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message