Banff ATTRACTIONS See all

Rocky Mountains

Alberta’s stunning Rocky Mountains are perhaps its biggest attraction. Protected by the Banff and Jasper national parks, the spectacular mountains run along the border of British Columbia and Alberta. All up, the mountain chain runs south ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 271 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Natan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It is probably the BEST option if you have few days in Banff. I had only 2 days, and this tour gave me the chance to see the most important and beautiful places the national park has to offer. Guides are great, funny and very well informed. You get around 1 hour to wander at each place. Food was good. Highly recommended, the most beautiful views I've seen in my whole life, a UNIQUE place.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff

Martyn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

After slight confusion regarding our hotel pick up the tour was fabulous. The pilot and his assistant were very informative regarding the sights and points of interest . I would definitely recommend this trip for a birds eye view of the mountains .

Doing what: Helicopter Tour over the Canadian Rockies

Jeannine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

From the moment of walking in to the registration office, we were treated as special guests.
It amazed me to be assisted on an off the heli! The pilot gave us great information and explained so many extras that made it seem richer than we expected. Of course the Rockies are majestic, but up close and from the top was beyond words. Definitely an experience of a lifetime. Thanks to the whole team. Every piece of the experience was so wonderfully handled!!!

Doing what: Helicopter Tour over the Canadian Rockies

Karen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Customer service - excellent
Norm- excellent

Doing what: Banff National Park Guided Hike with Lunch

Michele H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was amazing! It was my first time whitewater rafting. Caleb did a fantastic job of 'captain' and together he and Jerome made it so much fun. We even saw a black bear cub on the shore!

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on Jasper's Fraser River

Michael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great Tour! We never would have seen half these places if we were on our own. No driving. No trying to find a parking spot. Just get off the bus and enjoy. There was plenty of time at each spot.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff

Stephanie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful, amazing, with thoughtful and knowledgeable hosts! What a wonderful way to see the area, without the pressure of driving myself.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Peter D C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely gorgeous scenery. Hope you can get a sunny day like we did. We got beautiful pictures and wonderful memories. We'll be back to Banff.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff

hboggon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Good tour guide and driver. We saw so much in this trip, so many beautiful and interesting places. Lovely bbq lunch.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff

Diane N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide, Nicole, and bus driver also guide, Genesis, were fabulous. They are very knowledgeable, friendly and welcoming. The tour delivered much more than I expected in terms of the number of sights. I enjoyed being on the bus and not have to try and park in what were some very congested spots. Beautiful scenery. I had a marvelous day.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff

Domenic R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was on a smaller bus with about 17 individuals. The smaller group size meant less time was spent waiting for individuals to return to the bus after the various stops. The reservation and boarding process went without a hitch.

Our tour guide was Norm, he was very knowledgeable of the area and its wildlife and also very engaging.

The glacier is a long ride from Banff however the stops at several scenic locations made it enjoyable. The park is beautiful!

The walk on the glacier and ride to it in the Explorer vehicle was a unique experience in itself.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Domenic R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We took this tour with the optional Gondola ride and Boat ride. They were both well worth it.
In addition to the sites visited the tour gives a good perspective of the Banff area that was very helpful later in our trip. We took this tour on day one.

The guides were helpful and knowledgeable. The views from the gondola and the viewing platform were incredible. The boat ride on an incredibly blue lake was beautiful and relaxing.

Doing what: Banff City Sightseeing Tour

morecorbett

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was wonderful from start to finish! It was one of the most well-organized trip that we have ever done. We were picked up/dropped off at our hotel by a taxi and taken to the main location where the tours leave from. The tour was run by Brewster Tour Company, which has a huge presence in the area.
The coach was very comfortable. Our bus driver, Linda and her assistant tour host, Rebecca could not have been more accommodating!
Linda was a very safe driver and so knowledgable. There were water bottles available and a snack mid morning. Lunch was included as part of the tour orders were taken in advance so the meals would be ready when we arrived. There were 3 choices: hamburger, chicken or a veggie burger, with accompaniments, and it was a delicious lunch. More than enough time was allotted for each stop on the tour.
We were taken to places that we would not have been able to get to on our own, either because we would not have known about them or because getting there and parking would have been an issue. This tour was one of the highlights of our trip to Banff and we would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff

Phil J

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Excellent trip. Really knowledgeable and friendly guides. Recommend

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff

Penelope H S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Overall, a comprehensive tour that covers Jasper National Park, the Glacier, and the Glacier Skywalk. The fast pace of this tour makes it difficult with young children who might want to dawdle at a stop. If you can, bring your own snacks - the lunch at the Icefield Center is barely edible. The bus driver Talkative Tim demonstrates his 20 years of experience with constant, informative, commentary on the way to the Icefields quiet music on the way back, but he is also the White Rabbit - make sure you are not late getting back on the bus. Renate, the tour facilitator, deftly passed out snacks, water, and tickets and kept count. The Icefield Center didn't have much to do - there was a strange movie with only music. The pictures of the early history at the lower floor were interesting. The Glacier tour was fun - the driver made it adventurous and humorous. The Glacier Skywalk was interesting, but you don't have time to listen to the audio tour. The kids did enjoy the Park employees who had the skull of a Bighorn Sheep. Ignore the signs at the Brewster Transportation Center that says wait inside until your bus is called. You need to be at the gate before the bus arrives - it won't be called. This tour is best for adults - renting a car and driving this might have been the better option with kids so we could stop as needed.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

E traveller K Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A great way to see some Banff highlights in one day. The views from the top of Sulphar Mountain are spectacular.

Doing what: Banff City Sightseeing Tour

Elise H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Loved the Icefields and Skywalk! The buffet lunch wasn't great.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Jeannette A

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The places we saw were very beautiful, but we were a bit disappointed that the tour was not as described. We did not travel on the Bow valley Parkway and when I mentioned it to the guide she said they never do that. We only had 40 mins at most stops and especially at Lake Louise this was not enough to take photos and use washrooms and get drinks. Other reviewers said they had an hour at each stop. We were 30 mins late starting because they forgot to pick up some people but we still finished 30 mins earlier than I was expecting so the trip was 8.5 hours not 9.5 you advertised.The tour guide said the fact that they started late would not mean we missed out on anything but I don't think that was correct.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff

Cheryl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a fabulous tour. It was so much fun going onto the ice fields! Very slippery so be warned, the skywalk was just awesome! Saw a black bear on the way back eating berries by the side of the road. Only complaint would be the food at the buffet, not very good, mostly Chinese style foods. Had the vegetable beef soup, not any type of vegetable beef soup you'd recognize! But other then the food a great day! Wear warm clothes and sturdy shoes.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Annmarie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

an excellent trip for my wife and i, loved it

Doing what: Helicopter Tour over the Canadian Rockies

Sharon P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely amazing and breathtaking views! Terrific narration and driving! Great Guide to show us around and help as needed. Very nice lunch at a beautiful Inn. One of the reasons we took the tour instead of driving our rental car was that we had heard that the parking areas were so crowded that people were having to park a mile or more away from the popular tourist areas. Since we were on the tour bus, we were able to be dropped off and picked up easily and quickly, with plenty of time to spend at each area. We even slowed down to see a grizzly bear eating berries along side the road.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff

Ryan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This hike was amazing and doing it through this tour company was a great move. Norm, our guide, drove us and about a half dozen other folks from Banff to Lake Louise. The ride was in a comfortable Mercedes Benz sprinter van. Norm talked with us the whole way up and was very knowledgable about nature and the Banff National Park area, and answered a bunch of our questions. When we arrived at Lake Louise, it was readily apparent that even if one weren't interested in having a guide on the hike, the fact that we did not ourselves have to navigate the sea of people and parking issues at the lake was worth it alone. During the hike, Norm continued to answer any questions we had about the route and things we saw. The views were spectacular and the lunch provided by the company was very good. I would highly recommend this hike to anyone looking to learn about Banff, and also anyone who wants a relatively stress free way to visit Lake Louise during the high tourism season. Norm also specifically made this outing one of our favorites during our entire 2 week vacation to Canada.

Doing what: Banff National Park Guided Hike with Lunch

alisont61

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A must do. We had a great day. All the stops along the Icefield Parkway were well worth seeing. We have a very good lunch at the Discovery Centre before moving onto the glacier. You only get 15 minutes on there but still worth doing. Our driver was a really well read and informative guy. He made the trip.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

alisont61

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A must do. We had a great day. All the stops along the Icefield Parkway were well worth seeing. We have a very good lunch at the Discovery Centre before moving onto the glacier. You only get 15 minutes on there but still worth doing. Our driver was a really well read and informative guy. He made the trip.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

nian_gu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The driver has been helpful and friendly. He is kind to tell us about the area and the wildlife. He is kind enough to allow us to have a few moment in the vehicle to see the wildlife we met en route. It is clear about what would happen next and what we were expected to do. It was a day full of fun and beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message