The largest town in Canada’s oldest national park, Banff is the ideal starting point from which to explore the rugged beauty of the Canadian Rockies. Situated along the Trans-Canada Highway roughly 80 miles (128.7 km) west of Calgary, the resort ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 89 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

rachellewrq

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I highly recommend this tour to people who may be afraid of driving in the snow or on slippery surfaces, and people who may have a hard time exploring Johnston Canyon on their own. My husband and I booked the 8:30 tour, and our tour guide picked us up behind the Mount Royal Hotel in DT Banff. We picked up 2 more groups of guests and hit the road to the canyon. On the way there, we spotted a white-tailed deer, a family of elks 7 of them, and an owl. Our tour guide stopped the engine and gave us time to take pictures. The ride was about 45-minutes to one hour. We were given snow cleats and hiking poles by the entrance. Our tour guide gave us detailed instructions length, time, physical demand, bathroom etc, and everyone was clear what to expect. Do note that the hike is very simple for physically active people, but not so for physically inactive ones. I run 7 miles a day, and the hike was a piece of cake. My husband is on the large side physically, and he doesnt exercise often. The hike was difficult for him, as he had to stop and take mini breaks here and there. The scenery was so beautiful, so I would still recommend everyone to join the tour and try it. There were two water falls, one small and one big in scale. It took about 45 minutes to hit the first water fall, and another 45 minutes to the second one. Everyone in my 11-person group made it. We embraced the amazing view and had hot chocolate by the second water fall. Really good experience. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Johnston Canyon Icewalk

rachellewrq

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Very knowledge tour guide and driver. We learned a lot of history of the national park and its wild life. Recommend to people who may enjoy learning the history and local wildlife. Not highly recommend for children the ride is semi-fun, as it went through a small area in circle. Good picture opp with the sleigh before and after the tour.

Doing what: Horse-Drawn Sleigh Ride in Banff

louise.maybury

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

We had guessed there was a smaller chance of seeing wildlife due to the tour being in winter, however this was not made known from the Tour company itself, rather a guess on our behalf.
We were shown photos / pictures of some of the animals which are often seen however some of these were nothing more than internet pictures rather than real photos which could have been taken by the tour guides or previous travellers.
I would not recommend that someone does this tour in winter after our experience.

Doing what: Winter Tour: Banff and its Wildlife

Linzi D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Although we did not see much wildlife, the tour guide was very knowledgeable about the area and it's history, as well as the wildlife and their habitats. I thoroughly enjoyed the time and came away feeling I had learned a great deal. I would definitely recommend this tour for anyone visiting Banff.

Doing what: Winter Tour: Banff and its Wildlife

peter h

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We were so fortunate to have the sleigh ride because there had been a big fall of snow that night to make it possible. we had the private sleigh ride for 2 Kate was our driver and Bart was the engine both were fantastic, Kate was knowledgeable if we asked a question otherwise respected our personal space. beautiful backdrop of the mountains and historical buildings on the property, just a wonderful experience offered by real genuine people.
On our deal you get choccies and champers, it was cold enough we probably would have preferred mulled wine hahahah!! Thanks for the experience folks

Doing what: Horse-Drawn Sleigh Ride in Banff

peter h

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Mick was our guide who is a geologist in his spare time, he was very informative and entertaining encouraging crowd participation. We were issued our crampons for our boots and of we went. frozen waterfalls walking through snow covered forest was enchanting, learning a bit of history along the way also. You turn a corner and again WOW! you just are presented such natural beauty. And before you return back to the bus a nice hot chocolate and bickkies to get you back. Thanks for the experience Mick

Doing what: Johnston Canyon Icewalk

Stephen H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Tour was very good. Saw a lot more than we would have done trying to do it by car. Guide was very informative and the glacier ride well organised.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Stephanie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful, amazing, with thoughtful and knowledgeable hosts! What a wonderful way to see the area, without the pressure of driving myself.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Domenic R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was on a smaller bus with about 17 individuals. The smaller group size meant less time was spent waiting for individuals to return to the bus after the various stops. The reservation and boarding process went without a hitch.

Our tour guide was Norm, he was very knowledgeable of the area and its wildlife and also very engaging.

The glacier is a long ride from Banff however the stops at several scenic locations made it enjoyable. The park is beautiful!

The walk on the glacier and ride to it in the Explorer vehicle was a unique experience in itself.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Penelope H S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Overall, a comprehensive tour that covers Jasper National Park, the Glacier, and the Glacier Skywalk. The fast pace of this tour makes it difficult with young children who might want to dawdle at a stop. If you can, bring your own snacks - the lunch at the Icefield Center is barely edible. The bus driver Talkative Tim demonstrates his 20 years of experience with constant, informative, commentary on the way to the Icefields quiet music on the way back, but he is also the White Rabbit - make sure you are not late getting back on the bus. Renate, the tour facilitator, deftly passed out snacks, water, and tickets and kept count. The Icefield Center didn't have much to do - there was a strange movie with only music. The pictures of the early history at the lower floor were interesting. The Glacier tour was fun - the driver made it adventurous and humorous. The Glacier Skywalk was interesting, but you don't have time to listen to the audio tour. The kids did enjoy the Park employees who had the skull of a Bighorn Sheep. Ignore the signs at the Brewster Transportation Center that says wait inside until your bus is called. You need to be at the gate before the bus arrives - it won't be called. This tour is best for adults - renting a car and driving this might have been the better option with kids so we could stop as needed.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Elise H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Loved the Icefields and Skywalk! The buffet lunch wasn't great.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Cheryl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a fabulous tour. It was so much fun going onto the ice fields! Very slippery so be warned, the skywalk was just awesome! Saw a black bear on the way back eating berries by the side of the road. Only complaint would be the food at the buffet, not very good, mostly Chinese style foods. Had the vegetable beef soup, not any type of vegetable beef soup you'd recognize! But other then the food a great day! Wear warm clothes and sturdy shoes.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

alisont61

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A must do. We had a great day. All the stops along the Icefield Parkway were well worth seeing. We have a very good lunch at the Discovery Centre before moving onto the glacier. You only get 15 minutes on there but still worth doing. Our driver was a really well read and informative guy. He made the trip.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

alisont61

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A must do. We had a great day. All the stops along the Icefield Parkway were well worth seeing. We have a very good lunch at the Discovery Centre before moving onto the glacier. You only get 15 minutes on there but still worth doing. Our driver was a really well read and informative guy. He made the trip.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

nian_gu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The driver has been helpful and friendly. He is kind to tell us about the area and the wildlife. He is kind enough to allow us to have a few moment in the vehicle to see the wildlife we met en route. It is clear about what would happen next and what we were expected to do. It was a day full of fun and beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Thomas W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed this trip. It was very relaxing on the bus and the extensive knowledge that our driver provided during the tour. Even though we have done a lot of mountaineering, it was enjoyable just to walk around on the icefield as a tourist. However, next time, we want to sign up for the guided tour of the icefield. Extremely beautiful along the entire trip. I highly recommend this trip and leave the driving, parking and information to the driver, so much easier finding parking than if we drove to each of the sites. The Chinese buffet that was included as part of the icefield tour was quite good as well.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Lucy United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic Tour. Our tour guide Ben was friendly and knowledgeable and even handed out bottles of water throughout the day. The glacier is a must see.
The lunch was delicious and fresh.
We really enjoyed our day.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

cdr4081

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

With the numbers of people at the glacier, was glad we chose to take a tour and leave the logistics to someone else.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Chandrahas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An excellent excursion, not to be missed.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Christina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour! Dave our guide was very knowledgeable about the area. We were even lucky enough to see a grizzly bear on our way back.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

kay1234 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding tour and fabulous scenery. The drive on the Columbia Icefield Parkway to the glacier will blow you away with snowcapped mountains and pristine blue lakes. Weather was overcast and cool for June and dashed through light showers. Couldn't curb our enthusiasm when those showers turned to SNOW at the glacier. Will never forget this trip. Even saw both grizzly and black bears on our return trip to Banff. Quite a finish to this long and highly enjoyable day.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

sheila.pollecutt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A wonderful trip. The whole day was so enjoyable - so much to see along the way. Obviously the glacier was the highlight of the day, but we also enjoyed our picnic in the warm sunshine in a field surrounded by snow clad mountains. Our driver was excellent.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Penny B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this tour! The bus driver and tour guide was wonderful! He told us so much about the area, the park, and the mountains! Robin, our hostess, kept wonderful track of all 39 of us. Going out on the glacier was awesome as was the skywalk!!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Jane O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Terrific tour with a terrific guide! Very knowledgeable! It was nice to be with a smaller group also rather than a large tour bus.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Lisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Rose our driver was excellent . She was very knowledgable and it was obvious she loves the area. It and #39;s nice to know what you and #39;re looking at and the history of the area. We packed in a lot of sightseeing into the day. Smaller Bus size was a plus.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message