Wildlife runs rampant in the Canadian Rockies and few places offer better viewing opportunities than Banff National Park. Elk, moose, Mountain goats, Big Horn sheep, Grizzly and Black bears are often spotted along the park’s many roadways, while ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kiptoo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide knew tons of local history and dropped tons of knowledge about nature surrounding Banff. My only slight rant would be that we hardly saw much wildlife besides chipmunks, ground squirrels and a quickly disappearing deer nobody's fault really, our guide tried their best to stop and try find them. You'll probably find more wildlife the further away from the town/humans. Brilliant for the nature and history though, I would go if you have about 34 hours to see the major highlights of this pretty town.

Doing what: Summer Tour: Banff and its Wildlife

Gerald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was our first time in Banff and had just gotten to the hotel. The tour did everything we were hoping it would do. It showed us around the area, gave a little history and told us what we were seeing. Had great luck in seeing animals. Bear, elk, deer and long horn sheep. Was nice to be picked up from the hotel and not have to drive. Would recommend this tour if you are looking to see wildlife and get familiar with the area.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

Nancy Fischer R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great small group tour with our guide Rob, who was very knowledgeable about the area and wildlife. It was very well organized, and we very much enjoyed the experience, seeing and learning about orphaned grizzly, Boo.

Doing what: Discover Grizzly Bears from Banff

Simple Life United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A very enjoyable trip. We visited several scenic sites -- lakes, waterfalls, etc. The bus driver was very knowledgeable, and was willing to stop whenever we spotted wildlife. Lunch, fruit and water were all included. A memorable experience.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff

Tami T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I did the wildlife Safari in Banff National Park last week and it was amazing! I was traveling with a woman who has an intellectual disability as well as some physical restrictions and the guide was amazing, offering lots of information and paid individual attention to my friend. She had a wonderful time seeing and hearing about the animals in the park, she says it was her favorite part of our trip to Alberta! Thank you so much Sam!!

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

Brian F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Spectacular scenery, very good driving, sufficient time at each interesting stop. Excellent informative commentary and stopping when wildlife was spotted created a rewarding experience.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff

christopher s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

An excellent tour! Our guide Hugh was very knowledgable about this part of Canada and passionate about bears. We called at Lake Louise, the Takakkaw Falls and saw the Spiral Tunnels, which are part of the Canadian Pacific Railway. The highlight, after lunch at the highest restaurant in Canada, was definitely seeing Boo the Grizzly Bear in his refuge. He obligingly sat at the fence whilst one of his "keepers" told us all about him. He seemed very content in his twenty acre reserve which you have to reach by ski lift. The bus was not too big and the company seem to really care about the environment. I would recommend this trip to anyone interested in wildlife. A wild black bear obligingly crossed the road in front of the bus on the way down from visiting Boo. This trip was the highlight of our visit to Canada.

Doing what: Discover Grizzly Bears from Banff

Diane F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Well, we didn't see a bear or a moose, but our tour guide, Ben made sure we saw plenty of wildlife on this great tour, plus all the best places for photographs. A great experience and one to remember for a long time. All your tour guides are a credit to your company.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

Graham E Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

we had a great time on this tour. Our guide Marci picked us up from the hotel and we were the only ones so had a very personnel tour.Marci was very knowledgable and really loved her job.you could tell.She went out of her way to make us feel special and give us a wonderful experience.we saw lots of wildlife and wonderful scenary which would have been easily missed without the knowledge of a good guide.We had a really good time with Boo the bear who came and sat sooo close we could almost touch him.It was one of the best days of our time in Canada.Well done Marci and thank you for being so kind when my husband was sick. The Emmotts from Australia

Doing what: Discover Grizzly Bears from Banff

Anita S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

The French guy was great - fun and yet very informative. Just the right person as he had a flare for animals and nature. Ideal for wildlife safari's in case you do not get lucky with things to see!

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

Dawn F United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

A great little trip with a guide who clearly enjoyed sharing his knowledge of the local wildlife.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

Jane M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

A great small group tour with an informative guide who did her best to maximise wildlife spotting opportunities. A plus is the drive out to Lake Minnewanka, so you get great scenery as well as a different wildlife habitat. We finished up by visiting a lookout over Banff for a photo op.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

Patricia G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The guide was knowledgeable and easy to understand. He had lots of stories to tell, making it fun and informative at the same time. While we didn't see any wildlife, the guide was careful to point out signs of them that might not be apparent to the casual observer. The scenery was beautiful. The only reason it has four rather than five stars is because the tour started about 20 minutes late -- 20 minutes where we had to wait outside in the chilly air. I would recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Summer Tour: Banff and its Wildlife

Thomas W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A good basic tour if you want to get a feel for the Banff area and the wildlife that may show up at any time.

Doing what: Summer Tour: Banff and its Wildlife

John M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The evening wildlife safari was excellent. Norm the guide was very knowledgable and was able to answer all our questions. We were lucky enough to see several deer and some bird life.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

Lenore T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I was hoping to see more wildlife on the tour but we were at the mercy of the animals!! the guide was very informative and told us a lot about the animals in the area even if they did not decide to show themselves. We were able to see elk and several birds. Actually when you hear the number of animals actually living in Banff Park compared to its size, we were grateful to see any animals!! Very good guide and a peaceful dirve through the wilderness!

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

jjandpmstrickland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyed the tour but had hoped to see more wildlife.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

Lawrence L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We were promised a hotel pick-up and then not picked up. This delayed the start of the trip for everyone on board. Bus was very nice. Driver was great. Too little time at Lake Louise. By the time we picked up our sack lunches (very good food) and ate them, we had only 15 minutes to enjoy the Lake and do some shopping. I think we could have eliminated the spiral railway tunnel stop. No trains appeared, so there wasn't much to see. Beautiful scenery everywhere along the way. Unfortunately we saw no wildlife. We were glad we had taken this day trip.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff

stephx

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Saw lots of wildlife. Large adult male elk. Big groups of female elk and deer. A young black bear and some big horned sheep

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

Jeff D USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Even though the bus was small you should have had some seats upfront for handicapped people. Did see some rutting elks the wish we had seen other types of wildlife

Doing what: Summer Tour: Banff and its Wildlife

Micheal L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

DBT were excellent picked up on time agreed, very knowledeable of where wildlife might be found and went out of their way to ensure we saw as much as possible in the time alloted. Guide gave a vey good account of how Canada was looking after their parks.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

William W USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

We really enjoyed seeing wildlife in a natural environment on our tour.

Though there are no guarantees of seeing wildlife, our guide did a great job of finding Elk, Mule Deer, and Bears and where possible stopped to allow us to take photographs.

In addition to seeing wildlife, the tour also made stops at some beautiful locations such as the Bow River Falls and at several lakes.

Doing what: Summer Tour: Banff and its Wildlife

Sharon E United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

We saw male Elk rounding up the females then battling by locking horns. As it was mating season they were also buggling - the male elk that is. This is a good tour, but obviously hit and miss as to what wildlife you actually see.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

David P United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The guide was superb but the wildlife didn't put in an appearance. It was a lovely evening and the tour provided everything including umbrellas and binoculars.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

Daryl P

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Dark bus windows, carnt get out for photos and only saw elk, guide up to date with wildlife info and I know wildlife viewing is never a sure thing, a little sorry I went.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message