Prior to Bangkok becoming Thailand’s capital, Ayutthaya was the center of the Siamese Kingdom, from 1351 to 1787. Known throughout the world for its riches and open attitude towards foreign traders, the kingdom prospered for over 400 years before ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 181 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

You know the whole experience has a chance of working our fine when the pick-up is prompt and on time....early mind you, 06.30hrs
Small group taken to the central hub @ River City where we joined a 52 seater coach.
Then about 1hrs drive out to Bang Pa....Old Summer Palace which is interesting a good photo opportunity
Then onto a selection of Ayutthaya Temples and the Buddha Head embedded in the tree roots and then the Reclining Buddha
We found the Tour paced about right. Have read some complaints that there was not enough time at each stop.
Don't agree, OK Paul our guide was a bit 'quick,bang wallop' but was good and humorous with it.
All rounded off with a cruise down the River back to Bangkok and buffet lunch on-board.
Can't fault the quantity, you could keep going back for more food until it ran out
Some dishes hotter than others and some more spicy but all in all good value

Would highly recommend this tour whilst in Bangkok

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

shalnark11

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide, Paul, is very knowledgeable! We enjoyed our Ayutthaya trip!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Isil K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour was well organized and our tour guide Simon was perfect. He was a very knowledgeable and very good English speaker.
I recommend this tour who would like to see the beauty of Ayutthaya temples, Bang-Pa In Palace and the lifesytle of along by the Chao Phraya River. River Cruise was very well and comfortable. The buffet lunch was not the best but it was OK. I would love to see Wat Yai Chai Mongkon as well but it was not included in the tour. But overall, the tour was very nice!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Yuexiu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My husband and I joined this Ayutthaya and river cruise tour in January. We were picked up from our hotel at 7:00am exactly on time they informed us by a van, then we joined the whole group at River city. We mainly toured the beautiful palace and the ancient city Ayutthaya, then a nice buffet lunch on the cruise boat on the way back. Our guide Paul is very knowledgeable and nice. Everything is good and just hoped we could have more time to visit more places. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Renee T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My Tour guide for the Ayutthaya Temple and River cruise was Donna. I would hands down say this lady is the best tour guide I have had in years. She will point out all of the best places for photo's answer questions happily and knows her subjects. She does all of this with a great sense of humour and truly loves her job. I would highly recommend you take this tour, value for money.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

JERRY C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

If you're luck enough to have Donna as your tour guide, then you're in for a great tour. She was very knowledgeable and kept our big group organized. Her favorite saying - Follow Donna! The Ayutthaya temples were amazing. We stopped at a few places, but the one portion that stood out was at the Bang-Pa Summer palace. Tons of photo ops and things to see there. Then we moved to another location with temple ruins and the Buddha head entagled in the Roots of a tree. The River cruise was about 2hrs long, but went by so fast. Saw various temples and landmarks along the way. The buffet lunch is on the lower deck and air conditioned. There's a small area in front of the boat, and a covered top deck for panoramic views.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

JOHN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Sensational. Wonderful. A great way to see the Summer Palace, the Temples at Ayutthaya and the life along the River while having a terrific buffet lunch aboard the River Cruise Boat. A terrific guide in Andy! Extremely helpful and knowledgeable. You won't be disappointed and the cost is very reasonable for the duration of the tour and the places visited.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great day trip from Bangkok! The Ayutthaya ruins are simply incredible and the Buddha in the tree was amazing to see. The tour guide was great and you can clearly see what an impressive community it must have been before it was sacked. I took the cruise back and it was fantastic with a great buffet lunch on board and sharing my experiences with other English speaking tourists was great.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Marietoni E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our Ayutthaya tour with Donna, as our guide, went well. Pick up from our hotel was on time. The ride Ayutthaya was comfortable. We were given ample time in each stop. We didn't feel rushed. A lot of historical and practical information were provided by Donna. We took the river cruise going back to Bangkok. The boat ride was pleasant, the food excellent! All in all, It was a positive experience for me and my family!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Katalin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent! We were very happy this tour. Ayutthaya was beautiful and the food in the River cruise was delicious.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

JC U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wow, just stunned at the whole entire experience, the summer Palace was elegant and a great place to take pictures. The ride there was also comfy and our tour guide sorry forgot his name, middle aged gentleman with white hair was incredibly informative of the history of these wonders of the world. Ayutthaya was without a doubt the best part I took the time to meditate for 10 minutes the place was a swan song to the great Buddha and his teaching, swan song because the place was looted and destroyed by the Burmese Army! the ending was a glorious ride on the Chao Praya river back to Bangkok on a luxury watch, the food was amazing!!! and diverse with many different choices, a foodies delight. Felt like Anthony Bourdain while eating all the stuff they had. I was really surprised at the quality of everything involved yes, including the bus I will definitely encourage fellow travelers to take this tour it was the highlight of my trip to Thailand.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Tory O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing tour going to Ayutthaya ruins, great history, scenery and culture. Our tour guide named Donna did a great job showing us sites, taking our pictures, she is a wealth of knowledge and loves what she does. The boat ride back to Bangkok includes an all you can eat buffet lunch featuring different Thai dishes. Loved the boat ride back, nice slow ride to relax in the sun or in the AC main decks. Lots of space.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Suzanne P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Besides the Ayutthaya sites, I was most impressed by the guide's control of time to each site, the logistics for pickup at the hotel although our hotel was not in the list of hotels, and at the boat dock. We enjoyed the land tour and the nice buffet lunch on the boat with a leisurely river cruise back to Bangkok.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

C P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well worth the trip. Fascinating to see the Ayutthaya temples and imagine them in their heyday trip to Bang-Pa Royal Summer Palace was also included which I enjoyed seeing although makes for a full-on morning itinerary. This is balanced by the leisurely afternoon river cruise back to Bangkok, with many different aspects of Thai life and architecture on view combined with a welcome buffet lunch.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

firizarry100 Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Would have liked more time at Ayutthaya and less at the summer palace. River cruise was good.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

lorenzo b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Raccomando questo tour che vi impegnerà circa dieci ore, dopo il pick-up dal vostro albergo verrete trasportati sul ritrovo dove si utilizzeranno i pullman per il giro di andata. Il primo luogo sarà la visita di Pang Pa, residenza estiva del Re, splendido luogo, silenzioso, dove vedrete curatissimi giardini, laghetti, pagode e bellissimi tempietti, il tour proseguirà verso la città antica di Ayutthaya, veramente splendida, luogo mistico da non perdere, poi si farà una breve tappa per vedere il Wat Lokaya Sutha: Buddha sdraiato, il tour prevede altre due tappe ma volevo indicare quelle che per me sono le attrattive migliori, il rientro è previsto con un battello, dove pranzerete e si navighera sul fiume Chao Phraya

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Deirdre L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fantastic tour. Very interesting, informative and fun. Our tour guide Donna was very knowledgeable and funny as well. The Ayutthaya ruins were breathtaking.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Enrique F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent guide who adhered to schedule, she explained Buddhist traditions, rituals and symbols. The cruise back was first class. Felt a little pressed by time at the temples in Ayutthaya.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I took this tour several months ago, but I do recall it was one of the best tours I've been on. I don't think it was very expensive and you get to see quite a lot in one day. I had not been to Ayutthaya before and it's always been on my list of places to visit. The tour guide was friendly and interesting--she knew so much about the history, architecture, etc. I think the tour bus was full but it was a good group of people--mostly adults. I like that although we were given quite a lot of information we had the free time to wander around and just enjoy the environment.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Enrique F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent guide, Donna, explained Buddhist rituals, symbols and customs. She adhered to schedule. Tour of Ayutthaya was good, a little pressed by time. The river cruise back to Bangkok was first class.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Shanann B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a lovely tour with Andy a couple of weeks ago, he was very knowledgeable. We toured Bang Pa, the Ayutthaya Temples and enjoyed the river cruise. This is a must do for anyone visiting Bangkok. I just wish we had more time to explore the temples in Ayutthaya, this portion of our felt rushed. Otherwise it was GREAT!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Tour was really great. Our tour guide was really talkative, and knew every single detail about Ayutthaya and Bangkok. Lunch on the cruise was really good. Highly recommended. Also, one of my friends had to cancel booking due to fever, and Viator staff was really nice in helping about resolving this and refunding his ticket. Thanks a lot

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

amalia s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

everything as expected , really intresting tour , tour guide fantastic never stopped talking and explaining Ayutthaya is a must see , food in the cruise was really good
recommend

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Jessie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a wonderful day at the Summer Palace, Ayutthaya Temples and the river cruise on the way back to Bangkok. Our guide Tawwi was very knowledgeable and very accommodating so much so that he always volunteered to take our group pictures. The cruise on the way back was very relaxing. Lunch was good. Definitely a must do when you are in Bangkok.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

CAROLYN E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Cannot speak highly enough of this tour -- well worth the money. Great, hassle-free organisation from hotel pick-up to return pick-up at River City pier. Excellent guide -- Khun Taweesak -- who gave us loads of interesting information on the bus journey and when taking us round Bang Pa-in and the temples at Ayutthaya. He was also kept very busy taking photos of everyone at each point of interest -- a job he did with a smile and great kindness. Weather perfect for wandering around the beautiful palace at Bang Pa-in and the awesome temples of Ayutthaya -- loved the Buddha head in the tree roots and the reclining Buddha, but almost impossible to single anything out, as everything so impressive. Gently cruising back down the river was a perfect end to the day. Very impressed by Wonderful Pearl -- an elegant boat with all mod cons. Good buffet , followed later by tea/coffee and biscuits, and impeccable service from staff. Many thanks to everyone who made this such a special day out!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message