Bangkok ATTRACTIONS See all

Chao Phraya River (Mae Nam Chao Phraya)

The Chao Phraya River (Mae Nam Chao Phraya) has always played a significant role within the city it flows through and remains the lifeblood of Bangkok to this very day, with passenger ferries, long-tail boats and slow barges laden with cargo making ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 436 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jessica_shaw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour guy Andy was informative. The buffet on the river cruise ride back was amazing. Overall a great vaule/

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

pola

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I truly enjoyed this tour. We had an exceptional tour guide, Mr. Paul, who's fluent in English and very knowledgeable about Thai history, with a sense of humor to boot. Our family of 4 was picked up from our hotel by a van and later boarded a big tour bus together with other tourists. Our first stop was the Bang Pa-In Palace which was the summer residence of the kings. The place was very nice and well maintained, full of trees, plants, flowers and a beautiful lake. It was breezy and cold during the tour, very suitable for walking and enjoying the sights. The next was the temple with the Buddha's head in the tree roots, which was the most photographed part. We also went to the large reclining Buddha which was similar to the one in Bangkok but this one was in the open with no roof over it. We had a lunch buffet cruise along the Chao Praya River on our way back to Bangkok, with the tour guides explaining the different temples and other notable buildings along the side of the river as we passed. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Elna Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I'm glad we joined this tour. We've learned so much history about Thailand, visited the ruins of old temples, and had a relaxing river cruise back to Bangkok city. Despite the size of the tour, we had ample time to check out the different locations that we visited and it was not rushed. Good job to the 3 guides who accompanied us for being knowledgeable and ensuring that all of the guests had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Lucy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great experience! Out guide for the day was the lovely Donna. Such a charming and knowledgeable guide! Everything about this tour was great, from the visit to the summer palace of King Rama IV to the ancient capital of Siam, the Reclining Buddha of Wat Chai Mongkol and the river cruise back to Bangkok along the Chao Phraya River with a delicious buffet lunch included.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Edith F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I met the guide at the Sky train station. The guides English was very good so I was able to clearly understand what she was saying. The drivers of the Tuk- Tuk were so very nice and funny. It was so much fun zipping around the city and stopping to see different sites and taste all different kinds of food. The guide was so knowledgeable and asked us questions, I learned so much on this one tour. I had amazing time and would do this trip again for sure.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Bharly24

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Had such a great tour. Went to a market, temples, ate authentic Thai food and ended the tour at the flower market where we had dessert. Really learned a lot. Guide and driver was great. Saw places we would never have seen if we had not gone on the tour. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

FRANCIS MARIANN J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was so all worth it. Mr Paul, the tourist guide speaks well English plus he is very informative. He made sure all guests were accounted for up to the last part of the tour which was the river cruise.

Everything I had wanted to see is all in this package.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

JOHN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Sensational. Wonderful. A great way to see the Summer Palace, the Temples at Ayutthaya and the life along the River while having a terrific buffet lunch aboard the River Cruise Boat. A terrific guide in Andy! Extremely helpful and knowledgeable. You won't be disappointed and the cost is very reasonable for the duration of the tour and the places visited.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Dave G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was an excellent trip visiting temples and a lovely relaxing river trip with a varied buffet

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Rick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tour was great and the guide was vibrant and excellent. He was very entertaining through out the evening and the food was good as well. We ad some great visits and the drivers were great as well as the guide.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

thirus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

the trip was amazing. well organised . The hotel pick up and drop was timely and with ease.
The tour guide donna was excellent and fun , humorous lady. gives great informations and also gives tips for purchases.

River cruise was excellent

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Stella A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was so much fun. Guide and tuktuk drivers were real enthusiastic people. I love to eat and taste new foods. Best pad thai ever! Too bad I will never remember how to get there on my own.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Lauren L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

There is a lot of driving time to get to the temples however the guide provides a lot of details regarding the history of the country so it remains entertaining. You get ample time at each temple to take pictures- dress accordingly so females and males must have knees and shoulders covered. The river cruise was very slow but plenty of food to eat. The best views are on top of the boat however you cannot hear anything unless inside so you dont really know what youre looking at.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Joanna victoria Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was great. Although we really hated the driver that fetched us from the hotel to the bus terminal. Expect a lot of companions with you because this is a group tour pooled by different agencies. Yes its crowded.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Joan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Paul was a fantastically well organized and entertaining guide who showed us the highlights that we expected. The summer palace was lovely and so wonderful to photograph, As expected, the lunch was a buffet and rather so-so except the sushi, but the river cruise was a good introduction to Bangkok.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Cindy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour with tour guide Net. Tuk tuk driver was excellent too, dropping us back at our hotel. Food supplied on tour was very good. Well worth booking this tour.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Mark T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The trip was very good. River Cruise excellent, buffet was very well prepared and plenty to go around. Our guide Donna was very enthusiastic and seemed to be the only one to laugh at her own jokes :-.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Marietoni E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our Ayutthaya tour with Donna, as our guide, went well. Pick up from our hotel was on time. The ride Ayutthaya was comfortable. We were given ample time in each stop. We didn't feel rushed. A lot of historical and practical information were provided by Donna. We took the river cruise going back to Bangkok. The boat ride was pleasant, the food excellent! All in all, It was a positive experience for me and my family!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Katalin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent! We were very happy this tour. Ayutthaya was beautiful and the food in the River cruise was delicious.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Mukunda Kumar C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a great experience. The pick up was at time. The environment was lively. The dinner had a lot of choices and prices for drinks were reasonable. The view to the both sides of river during the evening was amazing. Its a must to do thing for every visitors to Bangkok.

Doing what: Bangkok Dinner Cruise on the Chao Phraya River

Kathryn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour is amazing, our guide Nat was fantastic, very knowledgable and interesting. We had the opportunity to try street market food, visit a couple of temples, wat po and try pad Thai in the restaurant where it was created. We finished on the flower market. The meeting point is easy to find and our driver Mr Sombat dropped us back at the hotel at the end of the evening.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Kelli United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loved Net. She was a great guide. My tuk-tuk driver was amazing! It was so much fun to zoom around Bangkok in the back of a Tuk-tuk. The food was delicious. The smells, sights and sounds of Bangkok by night are not to be forgotten. The flower market and temples at night were simply incredible.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

JC U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wow, just stunned at the whole entire experience, the summer Palace was elegant and a great place to take pictures. The ride there was also comfy and our tour guide sorry forgot his name, middle aged gentleman with white hair was incredibly informative of the history of these wonders of the world. Ayutthaya was without a doubt the best part I took the time to meditate for 10 minutes the place was a swan song to the great Buddha and his teaching, swan song because the place was looted and destroyed by the Burmese Army! the ending was a glorious ride on the Chao Praya river back to Bangkok on a luxury watch, the food was amazing!!! and diverse with many different choices, a foodies delight. Felt like Anthony Bourdain while eating all the stuff they had. I was really surprised at the quality of everything involved yes, including the bus I will definitely encourage fellow travelers to take this tour it was the highlight of my trip to Thailand.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Alan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

my wife and accompanying children thoroughly enjoyed their tour especially the river cruise and excellent buffet lunch.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Jane United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My friend and I arranged several tours for our few days stay in Bangkok, including this one which we both felt was excellent. The guide Donna was fabulous, really kept every ones attention. Although theres not much time to wonder round your self, theres enough to get a feel for the places and see the main areas. But this is just how it is when on an organised tour and wanting to cram in as much as possible when your time is limited. At the end of tour is a river cruise back to the city, which includes a fabulous buffet / all you can eat meal which is laid out beautifully and with such an extensive choice. The service on the boat is excellent. Id pre ordered a veggie meal, which was served to me easily and at the same time as everyone was going up for the buffet. I was also able to use the buffet too. The cruise was very relaxing and easy with plenty of space on deck. Its a great way to see more of the city along the river while relaxing on deck. Theres temples, monument, houses and gardens along the way. Excellent tour, definitely recommend and worth the time and money for two of us it was 77 total - great value

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message