Bangkok ATTRACTIONS See all

Chao Phraya River (Mae Nam Chao Phraya)

The Chao Phraya River (Mae Nam Chao Phraya) has always played a significant role within the city it flows through and remains the lifeblood of Bangkok to this very day, with passenger ferries, long-tail boats and slow barges laden with cargo making ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 459 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

You know the whole experience has a chance of working our fine when the pick-up is prompt and on time....early mind you, 06.30hrs
Small group taken to the central hub @ River City where we joined a 52 seater coach.
Then about 1hrs drive out to Bang Pa....Old Summer Palace which is interesting a good photo opportunity
Then onto a selection of Ayutthaya Temples and the Buddha Head embedded in the tree roots and then the Reclining Buddha
We found the Tour paced about right. Have read some complaints that there was not enough time at each stop.
Don't agree, OK Paul our guide was a bit 'quick,bang wallop' but was good and humorous with it.
All rounded off with a cruise down the River back to Bangkok and buffet lunch on-board.
Can't fault the quantity, you could keep going back for more food until it ran out
Some dishes hotter than others and some more spicy but all in all good value

Would highly recommend this tour whilst in Bangkok

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Helen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This trip was by far the best of the 3 we organised for our stay in Bangkok. Excellent guide and the sights were spectacular. We particularly enjoyed the river and lunch part of the trip.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Isil K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour was well organized and our tour guide Simon was perfect. He was a very knowledgeable and very good English speaker.
I recommend this tour who would like to see the beauty of Ayutthaya temples, Bang-Pa In Palace and the lifesytle of along by the Chao Phraya River. River Cruise was very well and comfortable. The buffet lunch was not the best but it was OK. I would love to see Wat Yai Chai Mongkon as well but it was not included in the tour. But overall, the tour was very nice!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Rebecca R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Donna was a great guide! Informative and funny! I had a wonderful time! A great value for all it included. The river cruise back was so peaceful and a great buffet was provided. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

ifarinha63

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The guide was very active, she explained everything and was always available to answer our questions.
The tuk tuk drivers were very safe.
It was a very good experience to have a different view of the palaces and Bangkok by night.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Barbara P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

What a great experience for the price! The places we visited gave us a real sense of Thailand. The lunch was wonderful and river cruise a nice end to the day. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Yuexiu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My husband and I joined this Ayutthaya and river cruise tour in January. We were picked up from our hotel at 7:00am exactly on time they informed us by a van, then we joined the whole group at River city. We mainly toured the beautiful palace and the ancient city Ayutthaya, then a nice buffet lunch on the cruise boat on the way back. Our guide Paul is very knowledgeable and nice. Everything is good and just hoped we could have more time to visit more places. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Rae J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A lovely evening and trip up the river . Food/buffet was exceptional - both quality and quantity almost too much choice ! Entertainment also very good ! A great evening /couple of hours or so !

Doing what: Bangkok Dinner Cruise on the Chao Phraya River

Renee T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My Tour guide for the Ayutthaya Temple and River cruise was Donna. I would hands down say this lady is the best tour guide I have had in years. She will point out all of the best places for photo's answer questions happily and knows her subjects. She does all of this with a great sense of humour and truly loves her job. I would highly recommend you take this tour, value for money.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

JERRY C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

If you're luck enough to have Donna as your tour guide, then you're in for a great tour. She was very knowledgeable and kept our big group organized. Her favorite saying - Follow Donna! The Ayutthaya temples were amazing. We stopped at a few places, but the one portion that stood out was at the Bang-Pa Summer palace. Tons of photo ops and things to see there. Then we moved to another location with temple ruins and the Buddha head entagled in the Roots of a tree. The River cruise was about 2hrs long, but went by so fast. Saw various temples and landmarks along the way. The buffet lunch is on the lower deck and air conditioned. There's a small area in front of the boat, and a covered top deck for panoramic views.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Jacqueline D Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

So fun! Our tuk tuk driver was a wiz in the traffic in Bangkok at night.Our stops were so informative and full of fun and history! The street food was challenging, but we were brave and tried a bite of it all! Temples were gorgeous even in the rain and the flower market was great.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Daisy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a truly incredible day! It was an amazing trip! The ancient temples were fascinating and the buddha in the tree roots was great to see. The skies were also filled with cranes! It was a great change of scenery to the city! The river cruise and food was amazing too! Really enjoyed seeing the sights along the river and eating the great variety of food, although we did have to buy drinks.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Allen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We were a part of a small group and this tour felt very personal. You will eat, eat, and eat, so please be hungry. You will have numerous foods at numerous sites to try. Your guide will do all the ordering. Our tuk-tuk driver, seeing a couple temples at night, famous pad Thai place, 24 hour flower markets and the just our total experience was great. Our tour guide never sent us the tuk-tuk pictures - that was the only downside to this experience.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Allen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a fantastic guide named Donna who loved what she was doing. She took everyone's pictures at every temple and attraction, fed the stray dogs and was totally respectful and knowledgeable of Thai culture. Our river cruise was lovely. It was a big boat with outdoor as long as you can stand the heat, and indoor air conditioning with guided narration if you're interested. Our buffet style lunch was fantastic with many things to try - more than enough to eat. I would do this tour again.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

jessica_shaw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour guy Andy was informative. The buffet on the river cruise ride back was amazing. Overall a great vaule/

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

pola

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I truly enjoyed this tour. We had an exceptional tour guide, Mr. Paul, who's fluent in English and very knowledgeable about Thai history, with a sense of humor to boot. Our family of 4 was picked up from our hotel by a van and later boarded a big tour bus together with other tourists. Our first stop was the Bang Pa-In Palace which was the summer residence of the kings. The place was very nice and well maintained, full of trees, plants, flowers and a beautiful lake. It was breezy and cold during the tour, very suitable for walking and enjoying the sights. The next was the temple with the Buddha's head in the tree roots, which was the most photographed part. We also went to the large reclining Buddha which was similar to the one in Bangkok but this one was in the open with no roof over it. We had a lunch buffet cruise along the Chao Praya River on our way back to Bangkok, with the tour guides explaining the different temples and other notable buildings along the side of the river as we passed. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Elna Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I'm glad we joined this tour. We've learned so much history about Thailand, visited the ruins of old temples, and had a relaxing river cruise back to Bangkok city. Despite the size of the tour, we had ample time to check out the different locations that we visited and it was not rushed. Good job to the 3 guides who accompanied us for being knowledgeable and ensuring that all of the guests had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Lucy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great experience! Out guide for the day was the lovely Donna. Such a charming and knowledgeable guide! Everything about this tour was great, from the visit to the summer palace of King Rama IV to the ancient capital of Siam, the Reclining Buddha of Wat Chai Mongkol and the river cruise back to Bangkok along the Chao Phraya River with a delicious buffet lunch included.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Edith F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I met the guide at the Sky train station. The guides English was very good so I was able to clearly understand what she was saying. The drivers of the Tuk- Tuk were so very nice and funny. It was so much fun zipping around the city and stopping to see different sites and taste all different kinds of food. The guide was so knowledgeable and asked us questions, I learned so much on this one tour. I had amazing time and would do this trip again for sure.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Bharly24

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Had such a great tour. Went to a market, temples, ate authentic Thai food and ended the tour at the flower market where we had dessert. Really learned a lot. Guide and driver was great. Saw places we would never have seen if we had not gone on the tour. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

FRANCIS MARIANN J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was so all worth it. Mr Paul, the tourist guide speaks well English plus he is very informative. He made sure all guests were accounted for up to the last part of the tour which was the river cruise.

Everything I had wanted to see is all in this package.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

JOHN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Sensational. Wonderful. A great way to see the Summer Palace, the Temples at Ayutthaya and the life along the River while having a terrific buffet lunch aboard the River Cruise Boat. A terrific guide in Andy! Extremely helpful and knowledgeable. You won't be disappointed and the cost is very reasonable for the duration of the tour and the places visited.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Dave G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was an excellent trip visiting temples and a lovely relaxing river trip with a varied buffet

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Rick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tour was great and the guide was vibrant and excellent. He was very entertaining through out the evening and the food was good as well. We ad some great visits and the drivers were great as well as the guide.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

thirus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

the trip was amazing. well organised . The hotel pick up and drop was timely and with ease.
The tour guide donna was excellent and fun , humorous lady. gives great informations and also gives tips for purchases.

River cruise was excellent

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message