Bangkok ATTRACTIONS See all

Chao Phraya River (Mae Nam Chao Phraya)

The Chao Phraya River (Mae Nam Chao Phraya) has always played a significant role within the city it flows through and remains the lifeblood of Bangkok to this very day, with passenger ferries, long-tail boats and slow barges laden with cargo making ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 390 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

JC U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wow, just stunned at the whole entire experience, the summer Palace was elegant and a great place to take pictures. The ride there was also comfy and our tour guide sorry forgot his name, middle aged gentleman with white hair was incredibly informative of the history of these wonders of the world. Ayutthaya was without a doubt the best part I took the time to meditate for 10 minutes the place was a swan song to the great Buddha and his teaching, swan song because the place was looted and destroyed by the Burmese Army! the ending was a glorious ride on the Chao Praya river back to Bangkok on a luxury watch, the food was amazing!!! and diverse with many different choices, a foodies delight. Felt like Anthony Bourdain while eating all the stuff they had. I was really surprised at the quality of everything involved yes, including the bus I will definitely encourage fellow travelers to take this tour it was the highlight of my trip to Thailand.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Alan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

my wife and accompanying children thoroughly enjoyed their tour especially the river cruise and excellent buffet lunch.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Jane United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My friend and I arranged several tours for our few days stay in Bangkok, including this one which we both felt was excellent. The guide Donna was fabulous, really kept every ones attention. Although theres not much time to wonder round your self, theres enough to get a feel for the places and see the main areas. But this is just how it is when on an organised tour and wanting to cram in as much as possible when your time is limited. At the end of tour is a river cruise back to the city, which includes a fabulous buffet / all you can eat meal which is laid out beautifully and with such an extensive choice. The service on the boat is excellent. Id pre ordered a veggie meal, which was served to me easily and at the same time as everyone was going up for the buffet. I was also able to use the buffet too. The cruise was very relaxing and easy with plenty of space on deck. Its a great way to see more of the city along the river while relaxing on deck. Theres temples, monument, houses and gardens along the way. Excellent tour, definitely recommend and worth the time and money for two of us it was 77 total - great value

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Jane United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was our first tour after arriving in Bangkok, and was absolutely fantastic. My friend and I were assigned one tuk tuk, while the other 2 people who had booked the same tour had another tuk tuk. The guide split her time riding in one or the other as we went around the city which worked very well. The tuk tuk first took us to a market where the guide bought samples of food from some of the stalls for us to try. The guide walked us through the marketing showing us various foods and stalls. The tuk tuk also took as to the river where we made a brief stop, and to a flower market for a walk through with the guide and to another market area where we went to small cafe to try a kind of soup which was delicious. The tuk tuk drives were fantastic and we were given a bottle of water each. The tuk tuk took us to where we were having dinner which from the ouot side looked like a street vendor but going into the restaurant just opened up at the back into a more layed ouot place to eat. The menu was limited, may be 5 dishes only one of which was veggie for me, but the meal was lovely, very tasty and included a soft drink. After the meal it was back in the tuk tuk to another cafe where we had desert sticky rice and mango, very popular dish, and very tasty. Before leaving we were each given a very pretty flower arrangement. The tour ended with another visit to the flower market where we tried our hand at one of the simpler flower arrangements which we were given too. We had the choice whether we want to pay a little more for the tuk tuk to take us back to the hotel, which we did, as riding in a tuk tuk is great fun, and really not that expensive.
A lot was included in this tour which we wouldnt have done or known about our selves particularly only having a few days in Bangkok. The tour was 40 each and I felt we worth while. It was an excellent tour with a fabulous guide, who didnt seem to rush us through anything. Definitely recommend

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Helen_102_

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We did this on our first night in Bangkok and it was a great introduction to the city. The Tuk Tuk and #39;s were really good fun, dinner was tasty and we loved the flower market. Our tour guide and drivers were fantastic and so excited to show us around. highly recommended.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Suzanne P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Besides the Ayutthaya sites, I was most impressed by the guide's control of time to each site, the logistics for pickup at the hotel although our hotel was not in the list of hotels, and at the boat dock. We enjoyed the land tour and the nice buffet lunch on the boat with a leisurely river cruise back to Bangkok.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

robertgeekee928

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an all day tour with pick up from our hotel at 7am. We then boarded a large tour bus from the shuttle van at a central location and embarked on our journey at 7:30am. The sights were amazing especially the ancient temple ruins and the Buddha head tree. The river cruise was relaxing.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Hesther

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Went to some of Thailand's most iconic temples and landmarks. Enjoyed the buffet lunch and relaxing river cruise as well. Good pick-up and drop-off at the hotel.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Jelena J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Victor was amazing guide. Tour is informative, easy to manage. Ayuthaya is site well worth a visit. River cruise is good too. Food was above expectations.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Ashley H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was beyond amazing. There was bad weather and horrible traffic in Bangkok on the day of our tour, so the guides were kind enough to wait for a couple people that were running late. It was so awesome seeing all the different temples and sights at night, it was such a nice experience. All the food we had was wonderful, and the tour guides and drivers were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Would recommend this tour to anyone traveling to Bangkok. Great job!

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

C P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well worth the trip. Fascinating to see the Ayutthaya temples and imagine them in their heyday trip to Bang-Pa Royal Summer Palace was also included which I enjoyed seeing although makes for a full-on morning itinerary. This is balanced by the leisurely afternoon river cruise back to Bangkok, with many different aspects of Thai life and architecture on view combined with a welcome buffet lunch.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

britt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Andy was the best tour guide ever! Extremely funny and knowledgable he made the tour so much fun. This was one of my favorite tours in Bangkok. The river cruise was such a delight and the buffet on the boat!!! So delicious! Thanks Viator!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Amanda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Friendly guide and drivers, great locations and interesting information!

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Juhi M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Esso was our guide and he was fantastic. He was our favorite guide from the whole vacation. Great english, but also funny and informative. This tour takes you to some beautiful spots. Wat pho at night is beautiful, Giant swing, flower market, riverside, white buddhist stupa, and the best pad thai in the city! I would highly recommend this tour. You eat snacks, private tuk tuks by the company are fun, and dinner with sites and more. Excellent!!

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Teresa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! I particularly enjoyed the River Cruise. I expected to see a bit more of the older temples, but overall it was very good.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

firizarry100 Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Would have liked more time at Ayutthaya and less at the summer palace. River cruise was good.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Matthew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyed seeing the Ancient city and the River Cruise.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Andrea J Costa Rica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely worth it!
The tour gave me more than what I expected.
Our English speaking guide was amazing and the river cruise and buffet are 5 stars. If you are going to BKK you can't miss this. The place is incredible.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Micki G Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What an amazing dinner cruise. We had a wonderful evening. The food was ok but the scenery was magnificent seeing Bangkok city from the river. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Bangkok Dinner Cruise on the Chao Phraya River

jed_rav

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had a great time on this tour with our tour guide Donna, who is awesome and passionate about her work. Shared us with the history and more during the almost whole day travel with her. Really enjoyed the river cruise tour after the temple tours, buffet food is enjoyable not as much Thai food as I have expected...more westernized.

Anyway, would have do it again when I come back with friends.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

dani

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

we had a great time we fed some river catfish, ate some delicious tropical fruit, drank refreshing mai tais and relaxed cruising the river.

Doing what: Bangkok Rice Barge Afternoon Cruise

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Was a great tour...well planned and structured. Tour guide I had a lady named Donna did a great job showing the tour around. River cruise was nice to finish off the tour going back to Bangkok. Hotel pickup was on time. Would definitely recommend this tour, great opportunity to explore some great ruins and more.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Nikolas K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This evening was the most fun I have had in a long time. Far better than listed or expected.
This is one of Viator's best values. Net our guide/hostess was a delight. The drivers even returned us to our hotel after the tour. We saw everything promised and were treated very well. From the very first stop to the end of the evening we were never rushed. No waiting in lines, we were ushered past lines of other waiting at a very popular restaurant. Our table was already set, the food and service was great. This is a great way to see a large and confusing city. For the price of a meal we had an
evening to remember. Not only would I suggest this to others, I would book it again if I return to Bangkok.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Uddy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely brilliant, a fun night and great way to see the main sights. The tuk tuk ride is really good fun and the driver kept us supplied with ice cold water which was really appreciated.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Chris C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour! Our van driver picked us up at the hotel exactly on time. We met the rest of the group on the big tour bus and got on the road right on schedule. The tour guide, Donna, was knowledgable and had a wonderful sense of humor. The lunch onboard the Grand Pearl was totally worth it. Just a great experience. Thanks for everything!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message