Bangkok ATTRACTIONS See all

Damnoen Saduak Floating Market

Having now been replaced by supermarkets and shopping malls, Thailand's remaining floating markets are an enduring symbol of what life was like in days gone by. The popular floating market in Ratchaburi, known as Damnoen Saduak Floating Market, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 276 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Roberta B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My favorite excursion of my month long trip! After a few brief driver inspired stops he was aware of when we wanted to leave each location and was very respectful of that, we arrived at the canal that would lead us to the markets. The whole experience was amazing, but, for me, the only way to truly appreciate the markets is to take the additional boat ride. The first boat leads you to aisles of souvenirs and such that are set up in a permanent area, like a small flea market. I wanted to be going through the narrow passageways and experience what it was like from the water side of things. The price for the extra ride may vary mine was 600 Baht for a private boat, but quite worth it. Sellers rowed up to me and were offering a variety of items there were also permanent stands set up on the sides and I could be rowed over to them to examine their items more closely. That trip lasted between 20-30 minutes. I wanted to go back even before I left and would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Jamela G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very well organized, picked up from the hotel. Guide was very informative and the market it definitely a unique market experience!

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

stevepollmann

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a wonderful trip and would highly recommended this trip. The floating market was very interesting and we enjoyed seeing the cultural events at the Sampran. The buffet luncheon was excellent. Our guide, Neco, was very helpful and was instrumental in getting to locations with plenty of time ahead of the crowds.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

Lily C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Although we had a few unexpected accidents in the beginning, the trip turned out to be amazing. Our guy Kong was really nice and trying to make us happy in every way. The floating market was a bit touristic but still worth a visit. Our kids particularly enjoyed the elephant ride and visiting a real family in the coconut farm. It was such a wonderful experience that you got to see the real house and workshop of a normal farmer in Thailand.

Doing what: Authentic Floating Market and Elephant Ride Tour from Bangkok

Geoff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a Great experience and tour, to travel on a long tail speedboat and experience shopping, haggling on prices and trying fresh cooked thai sample dishes and fruits on the floating market we tried the mango sticky rice, fried bananas, and mango tees. Our tour guide Pu Yee was excellent!!! Very knowledgeable with Thai culture and the floating market. Both both her and the driver arrived on time to pick us up and Pu Yee provide a lot of details of Bangkok, the Thai culture, and the floating markets. She and the driver were very accommodating which we discussed or asked for recommendation on elephant tour that would be short, that they took us to one on the way to the river, this added an additional 30-40 mins overall to tour. My wife, son and I really enjoyed this tour. We visited and got to shop the floating and land shopping market for 1hr. This tour does start early, pick up was 7:15am at our hotel, and took approx 1hr to get to the river. We got to visit a coconut factory that extract and make coconut oil and soap. The floating market closes at 11am, Thai buffet lunch is included on a docked A/C boat along the river, and we were back to our hotel by 1pm. Overall a great tour!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

ukjohn56

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It is a great trip for first timers. You get to experience a variety of culture including the floating markets outside of town. Also a great value for those that don't want to rent a car. Loved it.

Doing what: Authentic Floating Market and Elephant Ride Tour from Bangkok

Jane United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I definitely recommend visiting the floating market. Its very vibrant and a fantastic experience being on the river and surrounded by so many other boats all trying to get through. At one point we were in the middle of a traffic jam with much shouting or so it seemed in thai by the boat owners trying to get their boat and passengers through the water ways. Great fun. It probably is a tourist trap but you go there knowing that, and what that brings with it, the fact prices may be higher than you'd pay in a market in the city centre. However, you can still bargain and 'sail' away if the price isnt what you want to pay. We did quiet a bit of shopping at the floating market, some of the items we saw back in the city markets later, but others we didnt so if we hadnt bought them at the floating market we wouldnt have come across them again. Its fun and very different 'shopping' from a boat.
We paid 98 total for 2 people, which I think was probably expensive for what was included, which was really a 'private' car with a guide and driver to take us to the floating market then back to the hotel. While at the market, you have to pay more if you want to go in one of the boats for a 30 min I think ride round the rivers. I dont think it was very much money, but felt that should have been included in the price of tour. On the way to the floating market we had an unexpected stopped at a tourist place, where they were showing how coconuts are used to make oil and other different things as well as quiet a big shop with some very nice stuff like bags, necklaces, nic nacs etc and an orchid nursery.
In short, definitely visit the floating markets and shop but check out the price and whats included

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

o0bev0o

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was definitely worth it. To get out to the floating market was quite a drive, not sure how I would have ever found this place by myself even if I did speak Thai.

The floating market is quite an experience, and really fun! You can either walk around the market, or get in the paddle boat and go to each individual vendor, and it was fun to see how they reel us into their shops. So interesting as well to see how people sell their products on their boats.

The lunch buffet was great, so many choices again and everything I had was pretty good.

The cultural show at the Rose Garden was fun, and a cool way to see the various styles of Thai Dance.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

Juhi M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I know others say it's a tourist trap, perhaps more expensive goods, but we had a wonderful time and had fun bargaining with the locals. If you don't like bargaining then perhaps this isn't the place for you to buy things. Overall we did the private tour and it was great! We told them we had a reservation elsewhere at 2 and they got us back to our hotel by 1pm, which was great. Picked up in sedan with good tour guide. We only stopped once briefly at an orchid farm which was pretty, only 10 min stop and then moved on the floating market. Long boat tour is included and we really enjoyed this part, but tour around the market in a private boat was I think 600 Baht extra. It's worth it. There is no pressure to buy and all the vendors were nice and just let us look at their goods. I really liked the experience overall and since the tour ends with you back in Bangkok by 1 we had a good time. Private tour is preferred since you can adjust the plans for the day as you want and do as many or as little stops.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

peggypanterarar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The private tour of the floating market was so much fun. We had the option to pick and choose our itinerary and so the day was ours. Great guide, comfortable, large and well air conditioned car. Lots of cold water! Tried sticky rice and mango for the 1st time. Loved it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

cendy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really had an amazing time! thanks to our friendly tour guide. Damoen saduak floating market is love❤️

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Charlotte M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

fab - our guide was really good - markets excellent and enjoyed the elephant trek too

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Bryan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour. Leaves very early in morning, but well-worth it. Market is unique experience unlike anything else I and #39;ve seen or done before. Great shopping and food. Bus and market had restroom which was a plus. Highly recommend! Don and #39;t leave Bangkok without taking this tour!

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Daniel U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wish we could have stayed at the market longer! Had a blast riding the long-tail boat then hiring our own small boat to go through the market.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Guide and driver were both excellent. Very patient and accomodating. The floating markets are simply not to be missed when visiting Thailand. This tour included an Elephant ride but does not do the longboat ride. Others do the longboat ride, but not the elephants. The elephants were pretty cool!

Doing what: Authentic Floating Market and Elephant Ride Tour from Bangkok

olga_sgr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Despite people complaining that the floating market is not authentic enough, I found this to be an overall lovely tour. We had a quick stop at the coconut plantation nearby first, and then a sweet ride on a small wooden boat up the river to the market, where we had ample time to walk around and explore. Our guide Mrs. Pearl was very efficient, knowledgeable, and good company. Generally, I had a great time and would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

GT

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is a must do' on your trip to Bangkok, Thailand. The floating market is an experience. I highly recommend taking a the James Bond boat into the market then take the manual paddle boat, to go through the actual market. Two things that I highly recommend you try, the coconut ice cream and the sticky rice and manago. It was delicious!

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

stephen s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a great time. It was a perfect combination of the high-speed longtail boat ride and the slow paddled boat through the market. We had plenty of time to spend at each location of the guide was very good and shared a great deal of information with us

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Jason R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

On our last day in Bangkok we wanted to do something different. This sounded exactly what we wanted. We were picked up from our hotel in the company minibus and we were the only two clients for the day. We were greeted by Panya and Chinn who would be our guides for the day.

The whole day was fantastic and we couldn't have hoped for better guides. They were always making sure that we were happy. The electric bikes made the bike riding really easy and I hardly pedalled at all.

The floating market and all the temples were fantastic and the food stops were amazing.

I have travelled around the world and I'm always keen to take bike trips wherever possible. This was the best trip that I have ever had and I highly recommend using this firm for all your excursion needs.

Thanks guys for a wonderful day.

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour of the Floating Markets

Divya Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is an excellent family friendly tour but has an early start! After breakfast, we 2 adults 1 baby were greeted at our hotel lobby by Ms Dana who is by the way a very warm, friendly and helpful tour guide. She speaks excellent English and bonded immediately with our little baby. We were escorted to a mini van and we were the only guests on this tour so it was like a private VIP tour. Our driver was very pleasant and quiet and followed Ms Dana's instructions in Thai. After leaving the hotel, we drove for an hour until we reached the Orchid Farm. It is more of a conservatory rather than a farm. There are quite a few shops and a food court. We spent half an hour here and had our photos taken and made on orchid plates. We then headed to the Elephant Farm. We were asked if we wanted to go on the Elephant Ride to the Jungle and back but as the prices were quite steep, we decided not to go ahead. We returned to the van and drove on. We were asked if we wanted to stop at the Handicraft market but decided not to as it was getting rather hot. We then drove on until we reached the Rose Garden. It takes about 2.5 hours to drive there from our hotel on the Chao Phraya River. The Rose Garden itself was a little bit of a disappointment as there were no roses in sight. However, the buffet lunch at the restaurant was scrumptious and Ms Dana had reserved a table overlooking the river. The lunch options are quite good however not many vegetarian options. We then went to the spa next door for a 30 minutes massage as we had some time to kill before the elephant show and cultural show. The massages were excellent and very relaxing. Ms Dana then came to meet us and escort us to the elephant show. Our little one loved the elephant show and was so excited. We then moved onto the cultural show in the theatre and again, our little one was delighted. The cultural show was authentic and traditional. After the shows, we were driven back to our hotel. It was a very safe and comfy trip. 5s

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

catie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The markets were fantastic! A really unique experience. There was a lot of travel for a relatively short time there but it was worth it

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Gary C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was friendly and informative. We thoroughly enjoyed the elephant ride and the amount of time allowed for the market visit was ample. A very good tour.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Justin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide and driver were great. The guide had lots of infomation along the way and the floating market is an amazing sight to see. The market is used to tons of tourists so be ready to bargain hard or you'll pay 2 to 4 times what you need to. If you pay asking price you might as well shop at the airport to get better prices. If you don't mind going back and forth you'll seen an amazing selection and can get some good values. We bought an amazing local painting and it's costing us more to frame it than it cost to buy it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Sedat K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is the tour my wife and I enjoyed the most when we where in Bangkok. We were picked up from the hotel on time. Our tour guide was very formative and he did an excellent job in introducing the floating market. He warned us about the local sellers so that we could buy a lot of souvenirs almost 1/5th of the price offered. It is a different experience and we highly recommend it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

carol w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great tour with a super charged guide. We got more than expected. Stopped at coconut place this was really good and the orchids that was enroute then the floating markets better than expected., After to see your choice of elephant tour or monkeys. It was a fun and exciting tour with plenty of picture opportunities and I rate it at the top. Thank you for your help in providing the possibility

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message