Bangkok’s most spectacular landmark, the dazzling Grand Palace is a must-see on any trip to the Thai capital. Built in 1782, this sprawling complex served as the royal seat for 150 years and continues to impress swathes of visitors with its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 223 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mark W

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Great to see Royal Palace and emerald Buddah but spent more time on the bus than at the place.
The last stop at the gem gallery was unnecessary and a bit of a waste of time unless you were super rich and liked ostentatious jewellery.
Tour guide was only average as his command of the English language was limited and if you asked questions he was only able to answer basic ones.
Lost one member of the group which was worrying as there were only 7 of us.
Tour served the purpose for us as sight would have been quite congested to navigate alone as it receives over 40,000 guests per day at the present time.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Carol O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a wonderful experience. Our guide, Sara, provided wonderful information and shared so many sights with us. She also went above and beyond in helping me purchase a cell phone to use while I was in Thailand. Because our tour occurred the second day the palace was open, following the death of the King, we were able to truly appreciate her sensitivity in helping us to honor those who were mourning his passing. This tour enables the visitor to experience public transportation in Bangkok, while traversing large parts of the city in a short period of time. The Jim Thompson house is amazing, as were some of the street markets. ...a nice overview of the city.

Doing what: Bangkok in Motion: City Tour by Skytrain, Boat and Tuk Tuk

Cindy T

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Tour was very good, spent a lot of time on our own however it helped us to get into the palace during the time of mourning of the lose of their king.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Madhusudan N

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The Grand palace and Wat Phra tour was a good experience. The guide was good and the places were rich in cultural heritage.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

TM193 United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

I would only recommend this tour in the morning as the afternoon traffic in Bangkok is absolutely horrendous. The only bad thing about this amazing country is the traffic!
We spent over 2 hours in the bus crawling to the Grand Palace. Once we arrived we ran 2 miles to the entrance of the palace as the very last group to get access for 30 mins! Needless to say the group of 15 people, all ran through the palace snapping pictures and finally begging to see the famous Emerald Buddha which was closed after 10 mins! Visit only in the morning and you will truly get to enjoy this bedazzled jewel.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

JERRY C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The palace are was beautiful, but we didn't really get to see as much as we wanted, which is understandable. The funeral ceremony for the late King is still ongoing, with the mourning period lasting all year. From what we saw, the grounds were immaculate and very awe inspiring. From there we went to a Gem Factory. Prices were outrageous, so buyer beware. We were there for about 45 min before the drive back to our hotel.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

S M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

The Palace should have been the high moment of the excursion . Unfortunately the guide took us through the large complex in a rush . He tried to give us information but we had NO time to enjoy . We entered maybe around 8.40, a lot of people, security ..and left the Palace maybe around 10. After we went to QSMT Sirikit museum , Thats it !!! We left the Palace and from the taxi we saw the Royal residence and then brought us to a shop /show of jewels. The guide left us there and we went back to the Hotel with another taxi . We were very disappointed ...The Palace needs much more time the rest was not important . Pity ...I will not do it again .

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great tour. Was picked up on time and taken to the dock for boat cruise. The cruise was interesting in the sense that it showed me the reality of the day-to-day lives that people in Bangkok live. My tour guide was nice and I saw the Temple of the Emerald Buddha as well as the most important rooms in the Grand Palace. Wat Arun was a little steep to climb especially for a person with size 13 shoes going up was fine, but coming down I had to slide down on my butt since that was the most effective way. The tour guide was great at relaying to me the history of Bangkok and the cultural significance of the Temple of the Emerald Buddha. Overall, not to be missed!

Doing what: Bangkok Canals Cruise including Grand Palace and Wat Arun

Bernard C. D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

My wife and I were picked-up at our hotel on schedule and rode through parts of Bangkok before going to the Grand Palace. Our guide told us much about the early history of Siam/Thailand and how Bangkok became the capital city. He took care of getting all tickets to enter the palace and led us through it providing many explanations of the various buildings, statues and other points of interest which we saw. Unfortunately, we were not able to see all the buildings intended because the King having died in October, his body was on view in the Funeral Hall and there were thousands of Thais lined-up to see his last remains.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

Liesl V

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We booked a private tour due to limited time in Bangkok. We were picked up by car at the hotel and battled traffic to the Grand Palace. Luckily we left early and missed the queues at the Palace. Due to the King's recent passing thousands of mourners are making their way to the Palace to pay respect to his body. Needless to say this impacted our ability to move around the grounds and see the buildings. Some parts of the Palace was also closed. Our guide shared some usefull information and stories which I found very interesting. He could have shared more detail as we are interested in history. We enjoyed the tour but felt that it was expensive given the fact that the actual visit to the Palace was less than 90 min and the rest of the time was traveling time by car. So in essence the tour is very short.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

JOHN M

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

The Palace was only partially open due to the recent passing of the King. However, it was certainly very interesting to see what was open to the public and it was a historic time to be at the Palace and in Bangkok and Thailand, in general. I would definitely recommend a visit while in Bangkok.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

Karen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What an amazing way to see Bangkok. Our guide Vicky was so lovely. She was very friendly and helpful. She gave us details and information on all the different parts of our tour. It was so special to be present at the grand palace and we felt privileged to be able to visit at such an emotional time for the Thai people. It went at our pace and it gave us confidence to tackle bangkoks transport on our own.

Doing what: Bangkok in Motion: City Tour by Skytrain, Boat and Tuk Tuk

Maree

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The size of the Grand Palace Complex is mind blowing - very impressive. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

ivirene_57

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Although we thought we would see more of the Grand Palace and not just look through gates the rest of the tour was very good. The tour guides seem to expect tips, so be prepared.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

Llamaschool United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I absolutely loved this tour. We were met at a hotel near the hostel enclave by our guide, Pam, who is energetic, enthusiastic, and a real sweetheart. She took us by public bus to the pier where we toured the klongs on a longtail boat and fed the fish in front of a local wat. She handled all the transactions bus, boat, and the TukTuk ride we later took from the front of the Grand Palace back to Wat Pho, and it was very useful to witness a local navigating the city's transportation options--I lost my fear of using the bus and TukTuks thanks to her, and could probably successfully lead a friend on a klong tour the next time I make it to Bangkok. She also introduced me to the owner of a food stand/restaurant right next to my hotel that she happened to know. The tour was great, and this particular guide enriched my trip to Bangkok 100. Many thanks!

Doing what: Bangkok Grand Palace and River of Kings Canal Cruise Small-Group Tour

Zubear M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This tour was one of the best and memorable. The best part was the palace with your guide. My guide was well knowledgeable, well mannered and most importantly gave us enough time to explore every bit of Bangkok local tour. I would highly recommend this trip

Doing what: Bangkok in Motion: City Tour by Skytrain, Boat and Tuk Tuk

Carlo L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tour itself is great and our guide, Betty, was very informative. There were only four people on the tour that day so not much interaction between us and the guide but was great to have a small group. The palace is very beautiful but due to the sheer volume of people it can take away a lot from the experience. We did an afternoon tour and it was extremely warm that day so perhaps choose the morning session to avoid the heat.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Beth P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Not completely as advertised! While we enjoyed the private tour and visit to the Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew, we would have preferred to spend more time there rather than to have rushed our way out and then been taken to a factory and jewelry store which we we had absolutely no interest in. This was not part of the tour description and we felt a bit scammed! We probably would have enjoyed this site more if done on our own and at our own pace - especially when our private tour guide sent us back to our hotel after the visit to the jewelry store alone with our driver while claiming that she had another tour coming up in an hour. Perhaps this was for the best though. While driving to the site, our guide told us of her divorce and how embarrassing it was for a woman in her country. Interesting - except that she showed particular interest in my husband and continued to tell us how western men of his age would be sought after by women in her country. Not what we expected!

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

Catherine C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Good: The palace is lovely and should definitely be a place to visit when you are in Bangkok. The guide was knowledgable and shared some tidbits. I had a small group, which was nice.

Bad: Tour guide could have shared more history and context. Our group had some whiny kids, so I feel like the tour guide rushed us through the second half so we'd finish up early for them - and they were middle school age, old enough to deal, not young children.

The Very Bad: The tour does not just conclude at the gems gallery as is buried in fine print. After you complete your entire tour of the palace, you are loaded back on the bus and driven to the gems gallery where you are forced to watch a video, walk through the gallery, and are treated like a pain in the rear if you don't want to shop and just want to leave. And, my tour guide kept trying to get me to be dropped off at a shopping center nearby instead of taking me back to my hotel, and only sent me back to the hotel after I insisted a few times. I complained to Viator and received a refund, but as they have not clarified this addition to the tour in the description, I'm still leaving a one star review. Go to the palace on your own or try to arrange for a different tour that doesn't include the gems gallery.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the most amazing sites on earth ! Pick up and ride back to the hotel were right on time. Andy our guide was excellent with good English. The last time I saw the palace was 17 years ago and I noticed a number of changes. Also, the large influx of tourist, mostly Chinese, have greatly swelled the crowds.

The beauty of this site makes in the number 1 thing to do when in BKK. Id do it again in a heartbeat even though this was my 3rd time through. This tour was faultless.

Doing what: Grand Palace Bangkok

Scylla C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed this trip. We were picked up on time and our guide was very knowledgeable. The palace was stunning - a must do for everyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

Nicki S S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Floating along the canal was visually interesting, to say the least. The Bangkok Grand Palace was a nice place to visit.....very busy....actually craaaazy busy, but quite spectacular.

Doing what: Bangkok Grand Palace and River of Kings Canal Cruise Small-Group Tour

Ken P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was fantastic the canal trip was great our guide was very knowledgeable, about
bangkok and the palace. A must if it is your first time in Bangkok

Doing what: Bangkok Canals Cruise including Grand Palace and Wat Arun

Charles D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Have taken the tours with Viator while in Italy and this one was as expected, great guide and pickup and dropoff was easy. It was nice to have a personal guide going through the Grand Palace. He stood in line to purchase both tickets to each venue and was very informative. The canal cruise was a nice added touch to arriving at each of the venues. I would definitely recommend this tour. For the Grand Palace, check to make sure that there is no holiday the day after your tour, because they close the palace where the Emerald Buddha is located and we missed seeing it,

Doing what: Bangkok Canals Cruise including Grand Palace and Wat Arun

jcdbrown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Grand Palace was my first stop in Bangkok, like most people. It is the great introduction to the city and to the culture of Thailand. This tour was an easy, convenient, and fun way to begin my time in the city. Transportation around the city is chaotic, and this tour allowed me to let someone else do the transport and just enjoy. The pick-up at my hotel made it especially easy. Our tour guide was professional, kind, and fun. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message