Bangkok’s most spectacular landmark, the dazzling Grand Palace is a must-see on any trip to the Thai capital. Built in 1782, this sprawling complex served as the royal seat for 150 years and continues to impress swathes of visitors with its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 209 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Llamaschool United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I absolutely loved this tour. We were met at a hotel near the hostel enclave by our guide, Pam, who is energetic, enthusiastic, and a real sweetheart. She took us by public bus to the pier where we toured the klongs on a longtail boat and fed the fish in front of a local wat. She handled all the transactions bus, boat, and the TukTuk ride we later took from the front of the Grand Palace back to Wat Pho, and it was very useful to witness a local navigating the city's transportation options--I lost my fear of using the bus and TukTuks thanks to her, and could probably successfully lead a friend on a klong tour the next time I make it to Bangkok. She also introduced me to the owner of a food stand/restaurant right next to my hotel that she happened to know. The tour was great, and this particular guide enriched my trip to Bangkok 100. Many thanks!

Doing what: Bangkok Grand Palace and River of Kings Canal Cruise Small-Group Tour

Zubear M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This tour was one of the best and memorable. The best part was the palace with your guide. My guide was well knowledgeable, well mannered and most importantly gave us enough time to explore every bit of Bangkok local tour. I would highly recommend this trip

Doing what: Bangkok in Motion: City Tour by Skytrain, Boat and Tuk Tuk

Carlo L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tour itself is great and our guide, Betty, was very informative. There were only four people on the tour that day so not much interaction between us and the guide but was great to have a small group. The palace is very beautiful but due to the sheer volume of people it can take away a lot from the experience. We did an afternoon tour and it was extremely warm that day so perhaps choose the morning session to avoid the heat.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Beth P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Not completely as advertised! While we enjoyed the private tour and visit to the Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew, we would have preferred to spend more time there rather than to have rushed our way out and then been taken to a factory and jewelry store which we we had absolutely no interest in. This was not part of the tour description and we felt a bit scammed! We probably would have enjoyed this site more if done on our own and at our own pace - especially when our private tour guide sent us back to our hotel after the visit to the jewelry store alone with our driver while claiming that she had another tour coming up in an hour. Perhaps this was for the best though. While driving to the site, our guide told us of her divorce and how embarrassing it was for a woman in her country. Interesting - except that she showed particular interest in my husband and continued to tell us how western men of his age would be sought after by women in her country. Not what we expected!

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

Catherine C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Good: The palace is lovely and should definitely be a place to visit when you are in Bangkok. The guide was knowledgable and shared some tidbits. I had a small group, which was nice.

Bad: Tour guide could have shared more history and context. Our group had some whiny kids, so I feel like the tour guide rushed us through the second half so we'd finish up early for them - and they were middle school age, old enough to deal, not young children.

The Very Bad: The tour does not just conclude at the gems gallery as is buried in fine print. After you complete your entire tour of the palace, you are loaded back on the bus and driven to the gems gallery where you are forced to watch a video, walk through the gallery, and are treated like a pain in the rear if you don't want to shop and just want to leave. And, my tour guide kept trying to get me to be dropped off at a shopping center nearby instead of taking me back to my hotel, and only sent me back to the hotel after I insisted a few times. I complained to Viator and received a refund, but as they have not clarified this addition to the tour in the description, I'm still leaving a one star review. Go to the palace on your own or try to arrange for a different tour that doesn't include the gems gallery.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the most amazing sites on earth ! Pick up and ride back to the hotel were right on time. Andy our guide was excellent with good English. The last time I saw the palace was 17 years ago and I noticed a number of changes. Also, the large influx of tourist, mostly Chinese, have greatly swelled the crowds.

The beauty of this site makes in the number 1 thing to do when in BKK. Id do it again in a heartbeat even though this was my 3rd time through. This tour was faultless.

Doing what: Grand Palace Bangkok

Scylla C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed this trip. We were picked up on time and our guide was very knowledgeable. The palace was stunning - a must do for everyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

Nicki S S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Floating along the canal was visually interesting, to say the least. The Bangkok Grand Palace was a nice place to visit.....very busy....actually craaaazy busy, but quite spectacular.

Doing what: Bangkok Grand Palace and River of Kings Canal Cruise Small-Group Tour

Ken P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was fantastic the canal trip was great our guide was very knowledgeable, about
bangkok and the palace. A must if it is your first time in Bangkok

Doing what: Bangkok Canals Cruise including Grand Palace and Wat Arun

Charles D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Have taken the tours with Viator while in Italy and this one was as expected, great guide and pickup and dropoff was easy. It was nice to have a personal guide going through the Grand Palace. He stood in line to purchase both tickets to each venue and was very informative. The canal cruise was a nice added touch to arriving at each of the venues. I would definitely recommend this tour. For the Grand Palace, check to make sure that there is no holiday the day after your tour, because they close the palace where the Emerald Buddha is located and we missed seeing it,

Doing what: Bangkok Canals Cruise including Grand Palace and Wat Arun

jcdbrown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Grand Palace was my first stop in Bangkok, like most people. It is the great introduction to the city and to the culture of Thailand. This tour was an easy, convenient, and fun way to begin my time in the city. Transportation around the city is chaotic, and this tour allowed me to let someone else do the transport and just enjoy. The pick-up at my hotel made it especially easy. Our tour guide was professional, kind, and fun. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Donald P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour to see the Grand Palace Complex. We had time with the tour guide to learn about the palace, but also had time to explore on our own.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Juhi M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Natta was our guide and he was super friendly, calm, knowledgeable, and obliged us with taking pictures as we wanted them which was great. This is a great first day in Bangkok tour. We travelled by Tuk tuk, skytrain, 2 types of commuter boats which was an invaluable experience. Also this helps you learn the Skytrain which is a great way to get aro,und Bangkok. We did the early Lumpini park tour which I recommend as the park is really pretty. It was only my husband and I with Natta so it was basically a private tour. The only caveat I would point out is that in Wat Pho they are only scheduled to take you the laying Buddha. If you want to see more of Wat pho Which I did you really have to ask. Natta had no issues with us looking around more since I wanted to see more of the temples inside and buddha statues. Overall though I would definitely recommend this tour. You see Jim Thompson house, Royal palace grounds, and Wat Pho along with lumpini park. Tour ended around 4pm.

Doing what: Bangkok in Motion: City Tour by Skytrain, Boat and Tuk Tuk

Irina K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I took this tour during my second day in Bangkok and i am happy i did. My personal guide Sara was lovely. She picked me up at my hotel early in the morning and we headed over to the park, where the local population spends some quality time with family and friends. We took the sky train to the museum, visited the palace and stoped by many interesting destinations. My guide was very knowledgable, professional and pleasant. It felt like you have a family member showing you around and taking pictures together. I would highly reccommend this experience. If you are lucky enough to get a guide like Sara, your Bangkok experience will definitely be positive.

Doing what: Bangkok in Motion: City Tour by Skytrain, Boat and Tuk Tuk

Ashish P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour company was very accommodating. The tour guide was very helpful and gave us enough time to explore the palace facilities on our own while giving us enough details of the complex, culture and history

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

C P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had not been to Bangkok before and this provided an excellent introduction not only to the many forms of transport but also to different aspects of life in this bustling city. Our guide, Toom, provided a personalised, insightful tour and a great recommendation for lunch at a family run restaurant. This tour includes the must see sights of which the Grand Palace is the top tourist attraction, whilst heaving with tourists, it would be remiss not to visit this awesome complex

Doing what: Bangkok in Motion: City Tour by Skytrain, Boat and Tuk Tuk

kweber

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We happened to go on a day that was exceedingly crowded and hot. That said, the Grand Palace and the grounds are exquisite, and I got plenty of great pictures the Canal cruise to the Reclining Buddha was skippable.

Doing what: Bangkok Grand Palace and River of Kings Canal Cruise Small-Group Tour

Brendon Choke Vietnam

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The palace was so crowded with many tourist groups from a certain country that the peace we had expected to experience on palace grounds was not to be. The tourists shouted for each other and fought for places to take photos. We recommend visiting this magnificient palace on a quieter day.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Rositsa M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very nice trip with knowledgeable guide. The palace is amazing as well as the temple. Definitely worth seeing!

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

Roger C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The Grand Palace was an impressive place and the Emerald Buddha was also impressive. The tour guide was excellent and made sure we saw everything. However, be prepared for crushes as the whole of China appears to visit daily. Watch out for short Asian ladies with umbrellas!

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

YASUO-TOM

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The grand palace complex was huge and interesting. It required a lot of walking outside. The tour information should include a warning about the amount of walk.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

Arthur N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Being the first tour we did in Bangkok and also first impression with Viator, we were very disappointed. Please note Im not evaluating the place, which is great and definitely a must do when you are in Bangkok, but if you are still making your mind whether joining this tour or just going by yourself, definitely do it by yourself!
Our guide spoke very poor english and really didnt care if people were understanding or even if the whole group was together before starting the few explanations he gave.
Virtually no background about the place was given. Even the famous Emerald Buddha and its legend was skipped. The guide was in a rush and basically. Sometimes, we had such a difficult time just in following him and not getting lost in the complex that we were not able to really appreciate the beauty of the site. What he did was to present in very general lines some place and give the group about 25 min to wonder by themselves, take pictures and regroup. Very frustrating!
After all rush in the palace complex, the guide took was to an emerald factory which was not indicated in the site itinerary where we spend almost one hour between watching a video and being persuaded to buy something.
Bottom line, we were so disappointed and frustrated that when we found out the same tour operator would be organizing our next day tour to Damnoen Saduak floating markets, I cancelled instantly and found ourselves another tour company. Definitely an experience I would rather forget.
Worth mentioning: we had another tour in Viator with the same operator in Chiang Mai, not in Bangkok. This one was just fine and I would recommend it, so maybe its just the Bangkok branch of the operator which really delivers a very poor service.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Carol B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was our first trip on our 4 day visit to Bangkok and we were very impressed by the lovely tour guide. She enjoyed telling us the history of the Grand Palace and we would definitely recommend doing the private tour as you get round at your own pace and without standing in long queues.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

DAVID K

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The palace was great, but we had a real problem understanding our guide's English. The canal cruise part of the tour was OK, but nothing special.

Doing what: Bangkok Canals Cruise including Grand Palace and Wat Arun

KARTHIKEYAN J

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The guide made us all to wait for half an hour in the Palace before taking the entry tickets which he could have arranged earlier to avoid the waiting.

Doing what: Bangkok Canals Cruise including Grand Palace and Wat Arun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message