A visit to Bangkok's Grand Palace is at the top of every visitors 'must-see' list. Built in 1782 by King Rama I who established Bangkok as Thailand's new capital, the Grand Palace became the Royal seat for 150 years. The striking buildings ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 116 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nicki S S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Floating along the canal was visually interesting, to say the least. The Bangkok Grand Palace was a nice place to visit.....very busy....actually craaaazy busy, but quite spectacular.

Doing what: Bangkok Grand Palace and River of Kings Canal Cruise Small-Group Tour

Charles D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Have taken the tours with Viator while in Italy and this one was as expected, great guide and pickup and dropoff was easy. It was nice to have a personal guide going through the Grand Palace. He stood in line to purchase both tickets to each venue and was very informative. The canal cruise was a nice added touch to arriving at each of the venues. I would definitely recommend this tour. For the Grand Palace, check to make sure that there is no holiday the day after your tour, because they close the palace where the Emerald Buddha is located and we missed seeing it,

Doing what: Bangkok Canals Cruise including Grand Palace and Wat Arun

jcdbrown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Grand Palace was my first stop in Bangkok, like most people. It is the great introduction to the city and to the culture of Thailand. This tour was an easy, convenient, and fun way to begin my time in the city. Transportation around the city is chaotic, and this tour allowed me to let someone else do the transport and just enjoy. The pick-up at my hotel made it especially easy. Our tour guide was professional, kind, and fun. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Donald P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour to see the Grand Palace Complex. We had time with the tour guide to learn about the palace, but also had time to explore on our own.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

C P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had not been to Bangkok before and this provided an excellent introduction not only to the many forms of transport but also to different aspects of life in this bustling city. Our guide, Toom, provided a personalised, insightful tour and a great recommendation for lunch at a family run restaurant. This tour includes the must see sights of which the Grand Palace is the top tourist attraction, whilst heaving with tourists, it would be remiss not to visit this awesome complex

Doing what: Bangkok in Motion: City Tour by Skytrain, Boat and Tuk Tuk

kweber

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We happened to go on a day that was exceedingly crowded and hot. That said, the Grand Palace and the grounds are exquisite, and I got plenty of great pictures the Canal cruise to the Reclining Buddha was skippable.

Doing what: Bangkok Grand Palace and River of Kings Canal Cruise Small-Group Tour

Roger C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The Grand Palace was an impressive place and the Emerald Buddha was also impressive. The tour guide was excellent and made sure we saw everything. However, be prepared for crushes as the whole of China appears to visit daily. Watch out for short Asian ladies with umbrellas!

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

YASUO-TOM

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The grand palace complex was huge and interesting. It required a lot of walking outside. The tour information should include a warning about the amount of walk.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

Carol B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was our first trip on our 4 day visit to Bangkok and we were very impressed by the lovely tour guide. She enjoyed telling us the history of the Grand Palace and we would definitely recommend doing the private tour as you get round at your own pace and without standing in long queues.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

christopher b

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

2 Americans in our tour wondered off and got lost so the rest of group were asked to wait in case they turned up, we waited for at least 40mins in different spots for these people and in the end we were returned to hotels. total time spent within the grand palace about 75 minutes including waiting. we were staying less than a 20 minute drive from the palace but it took 2 hrs to get back to the hotel and just before we were dropped off the guide located the 2 that were lost and rang the driver the driver handed us the mobile phone as the lost people said they left there jump in the van, we could not find their jumper and I showed the van driver my back pack said this is my jumper which he pulled out took a photo and sent it to who ever was on the phone. after my wife protested that this is my jumper and it has been in my backpack since we were picked up at the hotel the van driver handed back my jumper. no sorry sir and we got to see less than 1/2 of the palace building thanks to 2 lost americans that went off on their own tour.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Bugapardi

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

We were on our own on this tour. The guide was Alex and his English was good and we could mostly understand the accent. The fact it was just the two of us also made it easier. He was nice, knowledgable and very up to date with the cultural part especially in the Grand Palace and Wat Pau.. This tour is worth giving it a shot especially to understand how the transport system works.

Doing what: Bangkok in Motion: City Tour by Skytrain, Boat and Tuk Tuk

Klose

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The palace is indeed impressive but there are so many people, too crowd. I still think Grand Palace is a must have in Bangkok however.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Lovetotravel

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

I was in Bangkok in beginning January 2016. Grand palace is actually a nice place to go. I am giving it one star just because of the guide. We were only inside the Grand Palace for about an hour and in that hour, we took picturesthat is it. We received no relevant history about the palace from the guide. Then the worst part was that she made us spent more time in the jewelry shop. Some other Viator users have mentioned it tooI only wish I had read these reviews beforehand. I would highly recommend avoiding this tour. I noticed some other tour guides giving details about every single statue in the palace. I only wish I knew where people have hired those guides from. Do this tour by yourself. It will MUCH CHEAPER and more enjoyable!!

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Shawn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour is a must-do for the first-timer in Bangkok! We began with an early morning stroll through Lumphini Park where we saw locals engaged in a variety of activities from tai chi to paddle boats to traditional dance. From there my guide Noom and I traveled across Bangkok by means of bus, meter-taxi river boat, tuk-tuk, canal boat and sky train stopping for a detailed tour of The Grand Palace, Wat Pho and The Jim Thompson House. Nooms passion and pride for this city and the knowledge of its history and inner workings was self evident. I got a taste of Bangkok, picked up travel tips and gained the confidence to explore more aggressively on my own and navigate with ease. My expectations were far exceeded in this compliment to an amazing vacation.

Shawn
Naples, FL, US

Doing what: Bangkok in Motion: City Tour by Skytrain, Boat and Tuk Tuk

patrick l United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We enjoyed our time at the Bangkok Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew Tour, but to be quite honest it was way too crowded for our tastes. It didn't help that it was closed over the weekend due to the King's Birthday and Father's day. So that made Monday when it opened particularly busy. Our guide did the best he could to navigate us through the throng of crowds and was awesome about telling us everything we wanted to know. He showed us the best parts of the Palace and the Wat and I enjoyed myself immensely taking pictures of it, thought of course pictures don't do it justice. The place was just too huge and scenic to take in. There is also a stop off at a Jewelry Gallery after which we had already been to previous during a different tour. My suggestion to you folks who are looking to book a tour, ask about dates where its not quite as crowded or busy so that you can enjoy your time more.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Jonathan T United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Pah, rubbish! Not the Grand Palace or Wat Phra Kaew, but the value of the tour. Although the guide was well informed and well spoken, again we were not always accompanied into the buildings so we could ask questions once in there.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

Noel S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

The guide was late in picking us up in the hotel. I called the tour company's number about the status of our pick up and she can barely speak english. The tour guide might be knowledgeable but he can't convey in fluent english and not engaging at all. When we are in the Grand Palace the guide is in a hurry and it hard for us to take pictures. After the tour they dump us on a jewelry factory which is kind of scam. We don't want to buy anything from it. They are supposed to drop us off on Siam Center but instead drop us on MBK.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

pavel a

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

I took this private tour and I paid 87 instead of 50 listed on Viator site.
The guide he didnt introduce himself came 30 minutes late, after I called the operator and we faced the traffic in Bangkok for over 1 hour up to Grand Palace in this time he didnt address me a word.
He rushed me to take some photos around the buildings inside palace court and the only information he gave me was: this is Emerald Buddha, these are demons, this is half man half deer, this is golden.
As long as I was not blind nor stupid, all those I could see myself.
Visit at the palace was less than 2 hours, he wanted to leave at 14:50 then we stopped on the way to hotel at the jewelry factory where a woman insisted for half an hour to make me buy something, so I couldnt even take a look around because of her unpleasant persistence.
If I paid a taxi from hotel to Grand Palace and took an audio-guide it would have been probably cheaper and for sure much better than this lousy guided tour for which I wasted 87 and a day in my life.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

Graham V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour guide. Very clear with english, great understanding of history and linkage to Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew. Able to get us through the crowds quickly. As it was hot was also nice that it was in the morning and the tour guide moved quickly through the complex - keeping to shade where possible.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

ANGELA O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Brilliant! Very well organised from start to finish. Food was buffet style but excellent and so much choice. Views as you travelled along the river at night were lovely, the grand palace was amazing. Would recommend to all.

Doing what: Bangkok Dinner Cruise on the Chao Phraya River

Peter F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Despite booking online in Australia before leaving and receiving a change of pick up location by email and confirming the change of pickup location, we did not get picked up. The tour bus drove past and did not stop, they did not have our booking. Once we contacted the tour organiser and after a lengthy discussion of confirmation of booking and how we booked and whether or not we had pre-paid, we got bundled into a cab to try and catch the tour, we were expected to pay the cab fair at first and then they realised they should pay for us...... not the best start to the tour. The Grand Palace was amazing, the local tour group not so much.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

salawatiwong Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

4 things we love about this tour! 1 The guide - Our guide arrived promptly at meeting point and i asked if we could take a tuk tuk to the grand palace as my husband has never taken one and he was very kind in obliging. 2 The grand palace is gorgeously magnificent! i have been to Bangkok like over 5 times and never once thought something so beautiful was hiding in the midst of this city. 3 The reclining Buddha was huge and beautiful! 4 Loved the long-tail canal ride - it was so fun! The overall experience was just fantastic and well-worth the money.

Doing what: Bangkok Grand Palace and River of Kings Canal Cruise Small-Group Tour

Patrice J

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

It was a good tour but the grand Palace was very busy. I really was not interested in the jem factory.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Yelena G

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Love the grand palace. The only minus was a guide, he ran so fast we did not get a chance to enjoy the beauty.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

MAYBELLE S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Morning Buddhist Almsgiving happened at marble temple - many vendors approaching to sell fish and items. Local arrive to give the alms, happened at street level so was not a solemn experience that I expected.
Flower market - guide explained one side is local and another imported flowers. Showed sample flowers used in temple offerings. Overall ok experience - no beggars approached to ask money. Place was wet so best to use rubber or covered shoes to avoid getting muddied.
Grand palace tour - arrived early, hundred of Chinese tourists made the whole place and experience unpleasant. The actual structures are very interesting but I did not understand what the guide said or she could not give her orientation because the Chinese were shouting, shoving and crowding the structure or item being explained. IT WAS THE MOST HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE I have had in a spiritual site.
UPSET - our notice said pick up at 5:30am, tour guide arrive at 6am showed me her job order. We were both right and punctual but the person who gave us time references made the mistake. This is very unprofessional.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Morning Buddhist Almsgiving, Grand Palace and Flower Market Tour in Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message