Bangkok ATTRACTIONS See all

Sampran Riverside

The Rose Garden is a worthwhile day trip from the capital. Not a botanical garden as the name suggests (although there are roses in a well-maintained and beautiful garden), it's a cultural center that provides a one-stop shop for learning and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 108 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

macook72

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great tour, lots of history which was very interesting. Floating markets was fun and crazy. A lot of driving involved for the day but we had an awesome time with our guide and driver.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Trip from Bangkok

Juliana J

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour was well paced and the tour guide was friendly and helpful. Enjoyed ourselves as we do not have any worries in terms of time and safety during the trip.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

o0bev0o

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was definitely worth it. To get out to the floating market was quite a drive, not sure how I would have ever found this place by myself even if I did speak Thai.

The floating market is quite an experience, and really fun! You can either walk around the market, or get in the paddle boat and go to each individual vendor, and it was fun to see how they reel us into their shops. So interesting as well to see how people sell their products on their boats.

The lunch buffet was great, so many choices again and everything I had was pretty good.

The cultural show at the Rose Garden was fun, and a cool way to see the various styles of Thai Dance.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

B v

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great Tour. Good food and service as well.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

Doni J

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tour was good as a day of relaxing with a short highlight in experiencing the floating markets. Peter, our guide was really good, providing lots of options without trying to sell. Also he spoke very clear and good English.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

Roger C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

When I book a private tour I expect a guide that is informative and makes the trip interesting. I do not expect one that sleeps between locations, leaves us to our own devices and spends the time sitting in cafes eating and drinking! The locations were as expected, but the tour guide was a waste of space!

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Trip from Bangkok

Melissa C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

The tour was lackluster. The tour guide was not good at explaining the history of the Rose Garden. Our tour guide was also pushing us to purchase other tickets for other events as well. We agreed to purchase 2 shows, a dinner/dance plus the ladyboy show at Calypso Carbet. She explained how it was 2 shows. We found out that is wasn't 2 shows, but a combination of dinner and show package. We paid for 2 shows, only to be lied to. We knew something was up when we saw her place the money we gave for the show in her pocket. This was a horrible experience.

Doing what: Sampran Riverside and Thai Village Half-Day Tour from Bangkok

Sara C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour ran very smoothly from start to finish. We had an excellent guide who answered out questions and gave excellent insight into Thai culture and way of life. An excellent day trip!

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

Klose

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

I like this tour and I find the experience of taking boat to the market is fun. There is a bit traffic on the river while entering the market so I got a lot tan under the sun.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

Iain T

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The cultural show was stunning, the elephants were lovely and well cared for but the rest was very average.

Doing what: Sampran Riverside and Thai Village Half-Day Tour from Bangkok

JACOB G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Very Good. Unfortunately it was a rainy day and we could not take full advantage of the tour. The rose garden lunch was excellent, but the show was mediocre.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

Divya Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is an excellent family friendly tour but has an early start! After breakfast, we 2 adults 1 baby were greeted at our hotel lobby by Ms Dana who is by the way a very warm, friendly and helpful tour guide. She speaks excellent English and bonded immediately with our little baby. We were escorted to a mini van and we were the only guests on this tour so it was like a private VIP tour. Our driver was very pleasant and quiet and followed Ms Dana's instructions in Thai. After leaving the hotel, we drove for an hour until we reached the Orchid Farm. It is more of a conservatory rather than a farm. There are quite a few shops and a food court. We spent half an hour here and had our photos taken and made on orchid plates. We then headed to the Elephant Farm. We were asked if we wanted to go on the Elephant Ride to the Jungle and back but as the prices were quite steep, we decided not to go ahead. We returned to the van and drove on. We were asked if we wanted to stop at the Handicraft market but decided not to as it was getting rather hot. We then drove on until we reached the Rose Garden. It takes about 2.5 hours to drive there from our hotel on the Chao Phraya River. The Rose Garden itself was a little bit of a disappointment as there were no roses in sight. However, the buffet lunch at the restaurant was scrumptious and Ms Dana had reserved a table overlooking the river. The lunch options are quite good however not many vegetarian options. We then went to the spa next door for a 30 minutes massage as we had some time to kill before the elephant show and cultural show. The massages were excellent and very relaxing. Ms Dana then came to meet us and escort us to the elephant show. Our little one loved the elephant show and was so excited. We then moved onto the cultural show in the theatre and again, our little one was delighted. The cultural show was authentic and traditional. After the shows, we were driven back to our hotel. It was a very safe and comfy trip. 5s

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

Stanford H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was not as helpful as other guides we have had. The floating markets and cultural center were very interesting.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Trip from Bangkok

Kevin F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It's a bit touristy but I would go again

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

Justine T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

This tour was about shopping, the culture show was a watered down representation of what it traditionally is and my guide was very rude. He pointed out street food and said I don't try because I'm "not used to" and kept referring to "my people" aka white people. Ok. I'll be at Mcdonalds where I belong.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

Donald L. C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Relaxing tour -- another couple had cancelled so we had a private tour. Love the elephants and great shops at the Rose Garden!

Doing what: Sampran Riverside and Thai Village Half-Day Tour from Bangkok

Marie Y

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Floating market is overrated and tourist trap, wished my tour guide told me not to buy stuff from this over priced place, I do not find haggling for the price to be entertaining. Enjoyed the rose garden tour and lunch

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

Cindy C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Tour guide did not describe or guide the tour really. Just led us to entrance and said "free time. Meet back here in xx minutes".

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

Halle B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

If you are going to advertise it as a floating market tour, then we shouldn't be charred extra to do the floating market when we get there. I paid 70 bucks for a tour guide who lied about the price of the floating market. There should be water provided on the bus since it's so hot.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

Sana A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The floating markets were really something else. This was my favorite tour in Bangkok

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

Joan T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Even though the heavens opened whilst on tour, we still enjoyed the shopping experience. Could have done without stopping on way at some sort of market selling coconut based items and showing process of using the coconuts. We would rather of spent the time to shop longer at floating market, instead it was a bit rushed
We then went to Sampran Riverside where we had a good lunch in a lovely setting, the rain had by then eased. Then on same site went over to another building where we sat and watched various farm animals, Elephants and dancers performing the life of Thai villagers. Finally went out to see a family of Elephants including a baby elephant called One Pin. Thankfully the rain had completely stopped and we're able to fully appreciate the show.... money well spent.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

philip c

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

My main observation for this tour was that the guide used every opportunity to make further money from us.
Rather disappointing how this does not include the gondola ride around the floating market which surprise surprise, comes as extra like so may other things offered by this trip.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

Laura A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Despite an early start, it is a worthwhile trip, it is about 1hr outside the city but such an action packed day it was so worth it.x

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message