Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Bangkok ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of the Emerald Buddha (Wat Phra Kaew)

Wat Phra Kaew (or Temple of the Emerald Buddha) is one of the most important Buddhist temples in Thailand and is ornately decorated with intricate carvings and golden inlays. Despite the inevitable crowds that come with popularity, the temple ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 40 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great tour. Was picked up on time and taken to the dock for boat cruise. The cruise was interesting in the sense that it showed me the reality of the day-to-day lives that people in Bangkok live. My tour guide was nice and I saw the Temple of the Emerald Buddha as well as the most important rooms in the Grand Palace. Wat Arun was a little steep to climb especially for a person with size 13 shoes going up was fine, but coming down I had to slide down on my butt since that was the most effective way. The tour guide was great at relaying to me the history of Bangkok and the cultural significance of the Temple of the Emerald Buddha. Overall, not to be missed!

Doing what: Bangkok Canals Cruise including Grand Palace and Wat Arun

Charles D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Have taken the tours with Viator while in Italy and this one was as expected, great guide and pickup and dropoff was easy. It was nice to have a personal guide going through the Grand Palace. He stood in line to purchase both tickets to each venue and was very informative. The canal cruise was a nice added touch to arriving at each of the venues. I would definitely recommend this tour. For the Grand Palace, check to make sure that there is no holiday the day after your tour, because they close the palace where the Emerald Buddha is located and we missed seeing it,

Doing what: Bangkok Canals Cruise including Grand Palace and Wat Arun

Graham V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour guide. Very clear with english, great understanding of history and linkage to Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew. Able to get us through the crowds quickly. As it was hot was also nice that it was in the morning and the tour guide moved quickly through the complex - keeping to shade where possible.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

Jaime B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

our guide was knowledgable, funny, and his English was fluent. This tour gave us enough time to see everything without dragging on. I would definitely recommend taking a tour to see The Grand Palace and Emerald Buddha, because wihout one you wouldn't learn as much.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

harleyfxr Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

We were the only people on the afternoon tour, collection at the hotel was on time and our guide (Pam) was fantastic, she was full of interesting info re the Palace and the Emerald Buddha. Best to have the guide to explain everything and guide you around. Side trip to the Gem Gallery was a bonus.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

ANDY O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Magnificent structures in this complex. Sadly we couldn't get into the main temple to see the Emerald Buddha as there were simply too many people. It happened to be a holy day in Buddhism, so the massed ranks of tourists, worshippers, school children ... meant one would have to endure very lengthy and long queues to get in.
Our tour guide was very friendly and had a constant smile.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Chrisstine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Emerald Buddha Temple (Wat Phra Kaew) was just amazing. Take a camera. Architecture and decoration out of this world. Grand Palace was just as amazing. The gardens were wonderful and architecture superb. Not alowed inside because this is a residence of the King. Get your picture taken with a guard and be respectful, and you will have a wonderful experience. Guide was knowledgable and very willing to help with photographs and a very friendly person. Language was not a problem.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

SailorsHoneyBunny Japan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This tour was conducted by the same company as the Bangkok Temples Tour. As with that one, this one was wonderful! Very knowledgeable staff willing to answer all questions! I did not feel rushed in the least! The Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew were beautiful! Again, I would suggest this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Lyndsey F United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

A definate must of you have time in Bangkok. So much colour and beauty. Our guide was really good and very knowledgeable. We really enjoyed our trip. The palace complex is of course very touristy but does not take away from the experience. as not too impressed with the emerald buddha, very small and up high but it was nice to see it all the same.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Roger C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The Grand Palace was an impressive place and the Emerald Buddha was also impressive. The tour guide was excellent and made sure we saw everything. However, be prepared for crushes as the whole of China appears to visit daily. Watch out for short Asian ladies with umbrellas!

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

Arnab M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

But where was the emerald Buddha?

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

patrick l United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We enjoyed our time at the Bangkok Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew Tour, but to be quite honest it was way too crowded for our tastes. It didn't help that it was closed over the weekend due to the King's Birthday and Father's day. So that made Monday when it opened particularly busy. Our guide did the best he could to navigate us through the throng of crowds and was awesome about telling us everything we wanted to know. He showed us the best parts of the Palace and the Wat and I enjoyed myself immensely taking pictures of it, thought of course pictures don't do it justice. The place was just too huge and scenic to take in. There is also a stop off at a Jewelry Gallery after which we had already been to previous during a different tour. My suggestion to you folks who are looking to book a tour, ask about dates where its not quite as crowded or busy so that you can enjoy your time more.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Liesbet

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The palace complex is impressive. We didn't get to see any jewels or the inside of the palace. Wat Phra Kaew is beautiful.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Nick Templeton T

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Obviously the Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew are off the scale and a MUST. The Palace was incredibly busy as you'd expect. Our guide was ok.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

kevin m

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

a visit to the grand palace tour and wat phra kaew tour is a must while in bangkok, the palace is amazing and our guide told us many interesting facts , also a great chance to take photos off this amazing place

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Joyce S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We had worried about what to wear for this visit. We removed our shoes before entering the temple, and shoulders had to be covered as well as no shorts. No photos are allowed inside Wat Phra Kaew, but a photo of the Jade/Emerald Buddha can be taken from outside. After our visit to this complex, we were taken to a diamond/jewelry factory and store. Most of the items were expensive, but we saw people at work making the jewelry, which was interesting.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

CLAYTON F USA

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Tour was very good. Guide was very well versed in all of the buildings of the complex and gave us plenty of time to take pictures and wander around. the only down side was the the Emerald Budda was closed because the Royal family was visiting

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

KRISNA P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Once again the tour company almost forgot me. But after the mixup the tour went well. Highlight was the Wat Phra Kaew Tour. Guide was very knowledgable although she tried to bring us to a gem factory. We were not interested in that aspect so was happy when she agreed for us to spend more time in the Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Joanne A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

This was my second time to the Grand Palace, but the first time for my son, who loved the visit. We were collected on time in a nice car. Our Guide was very knowledgeable and it was very interesting learning about the history of the Palace. I've given this tour 4 stars as afterward, we were dropped off at a gem factory/store which I couldn't remember whether this was included in the trip as I'd looked at so many different tours. Note: Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew are in the same place. Definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

Mark B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

The Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew are great places to visit and well worth the effort. Our guide was very informative and friendly. The visit to the Gem factory after the tour was interesting, but is really just aimed at selling Jewelery.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Christine W United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2007

Be aware that the Wat Phra Kaew has high pressure jewelery sales. Unless that's what you want, opt to leave before you go in.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Jonathan T United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Pah, rubbish! Not the Grand Palace or Wat Phra Kaew, but the value of the tour. Although the guide was well informed and well spoken, again we were not always accompanied into the buildings so we could ask questions once in there.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

Rasha S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Waste of money, tour guide was knowledgable but he had a very bad accent I could barely understand him, half of the tour was spent at the emerald shop I would have preferred I spent most of the time at the actual temple. If you decide to still do the tour make sure the tour guide doesn't rush you.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Natalie S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The tour guide didn't really provide much information on the temples, giving us a time and place to meet back after looking around. location itself is amazing and a must see. After the tour was over we were taken to a jewellery store which was displeasing part of the tour. If I knew it was going to be like this I would have just taken a taxi there. Also we weren't allowed to take photos of the emerald buddha and its a must to wear clothes covering your shoulders and legs

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

David Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The private guide I had was ok. His English was just understandable but I had to try very hard to carefully listen, but missed a lot of what he was saying. He did show me a little of the Grand Palace and Wat Phra but didn't appear very interested in his job. I was disappointed that I was driven fairly soon afterwards to a gem outlet selling very expensive jewellery which was not part of this tour and which was quite embarrassing as I was not prepared to buy anything there. He left me quickly afterwards with a taxi driver to take me back to my hotel.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message