Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Bangkok ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of the Reclining Buddha (Wat Pho)

One of the oldest, largest and most revered temple complexes in Bangkok, the Temple of the Reclining Buddha (Wat Pho) is a must-see for all visitors to the Thai capital. As the name suggests, the site’s main feature is a large, gold leaf-covered ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Llamaschool United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I absolutely loved this tour. We were met at a hotel near the hostel enclave by our guide, Pam, who is energetic, enthusiastic, and a real sweetheart. She took us by public bus to the pier where we toured the klongs on a longtail boat and fed the fish in front of a local wat. She handled all the transactions bus, boat, and the TukTuk ride we later took from the front of the Grand Palace back to Wat Pho, and it was very useful to witness a local navigating the city's transportation options--I lost my fear of using the bus and TukTuks thanks to her, and could probably successfully lead a friend on a klong tour the next time I make it to Bangkok. She also introduced me to the owner of a food stand/restaurant right next to my hotel that she happened to know. The tour was great, and this particular guide enriched my trip to Bangkok 100. Many thanks!

Doing what: Bangkok Grand Palace and River of Kings Canal Cruise Small-Group Tour

o0bev0o

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I didn't know it was private, private...like just our group, which made it very nice actually. Wat Pho is really worth going to, it's so epic! The other temples were great too, but the highlight was def Wat Pho. And for a short tour day, it allowed plenty of time to do other things but still get the main Bangkok attractions out of the way.

We also went to this gem/jewel factory/store which was an optional suggestion, but you don't have to if you don't want to. This may just have been suggested by my tour guide, but it was okay. I didn't buy anything...still pretty pricey to me but I don't spend much on jewels.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples Including Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Juhi M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Natta was our guide and he was super friendly, calm, knowledgeable, and obliged us with taking pictures as we wanted them which was great. This is a great first day in Bangkok tour. We travelled by Tuk tuk, skytrain, 2 types of commuter boats which was an invaluable experience. Also this helps you learn the Skytrain which is a great way to get aro,und Bangkok. We did the early Lumpini park tour which I recommend as the park is really pretty. It was only my husband and I with Natta so it was basically a private tour. The only caveat I would point out is that in Wat Pho they are only scheduled to take you the laying Buddha. If you want to see more of Wat pho Which I did you really have to ask. Natta had no issues with us looking around more since I wanted to see more of the temples inside and buddha statues. Overall though I would definitely recommend this tour. You see Jim Thompson house, Royal palace grounds, and Wat Pho along with lumpini park. Tour ended around 4pm.

Doing what: Bangkok in Motion: City Tour by Skytrain, Boat and Tuk Tuk

Juhi M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Esso was our guide and he was fantastic. He was our favorite guide from the whole vacation. Great english, but also funny and informative. This tour takes you to some beautiful spots. Wat pho at night is beautiful, Giant swing, flower market, riverside, white buddhist stupa, and the best pad thai in the city! I would highly recommend this tour. You eat snacks, private tuk tuks by the company are fun, and dinner with sites and more. Excellent!!

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Jean A K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Sign up for this tour! We whizzed along the streets in tuk tuks to a night market where the locals shop for colored contact lenses and yellow t-shirts for the Kings' birthday. We tried come unusual looking fish and a couple other items. Then back to the tuk tuks for stops at a temple, the night flower and vegetable markets and a popular local restaurant with a line down the block. The highlight of the tour was the night visit to Wat Pho which was very quiet and mysterious under the night lights.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Margaret D USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour. I have recommended it highly to fellow travelers. Using the tuk-tuks saved a lot of walking. I was even given the option of getting back to my hotel after the tour by one, which I did. We sampled some street food and also restaurant food and saw Wat Pho by night--a great sight. It was a chance to see Bangkok at night.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Clive B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour.....great fun with lovely people and an excellent guide. We experienced Bangkok in a way that we would never have done on our own. The food was delicious and spending time at Wat Pho at night without hundreds of other tourists made the whole experience just perfect. The evening went much too quickly. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

gsdpublic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was so wonderful seeing Bangkok by night. We enjoyed being with our small group. The guides were very personable and spoke English very well. The food we had on the tour was excellent. It was wonderful going into Wat Pho without the crowds. We were very glad we took this tour.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Shawn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour is a must-do for the first-timer in Bangkok! We began with an early morning stroll through Lumphini Park where we saw locals engaged in a variety of activities from tai chi to paddle boats to traditional dance. From there my guide Noom and I traveled across Bangkok by means of bus, meter-taxi river boat, tuk-tuk, canal boat and sky train stopping for a detailed tour of The Grand Palace, Wat Pho and The Jim Thompson House. Nooms passion and pride for this city and the knowledge of its history and inner workings was self evident. I got a taste of Bangkok, picked up travel tips and gained the confidence to explore more aggressively on my own and navigate with ease. My expectations were far exceeded in this compliment to an amazing vacation.

Shawn
Naples, FL, US

Doing what: Bangkok in Motion: City Tour by Skytrain, Boat and Tuk Tuk

deborah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a fantastic tour! Easy meeting point, the tour guide, Nat, was on time and friendly. The tour takes you all over Bangkok, great food and seeing Wat Pho by night was an incredible experience. Nat is well versed in Bangkok History and culture. Don't eat before this trip- we were fed constantly! The Pad Thai is incredible! If I return to Bangkok I would do this tour again!

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Czarina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

For those who prefer a smaller group tour, this tour is a good option! There were about 8 of us and our tour guide was great! He gave us so much information about each temple we visited. The reclining Buddha at Wat Pho is definitely a sight to see!

Doing what: Bangkok Temples Tour Including Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Meera M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Both tours were great, I would recommend it to all my friends and family.
the tour guide to the Bankok temples Recling Buddha at Wat Pho was excellient .

Doing what: Bangkok Temples Tour Including Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Jackie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Joe was extremely knowledgeable about the Grand Palace and shared many insights that we hadn't gotten in previous tours. Also, having been a monk at Wat Pho for 5 years, he was intimately familiar with the temple complex and its workings. Fabulous and would highly recommend his tour!

Doing what: Bangkok Grand Palace and River of Kings Canal Cruise Small-Group Tour

Dearne M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

We found this was a great tour. We felt there was enough time spent at the Grand Palace and Wat Pho to have a good look around and it was also interesting to see how some live along the river. Being on the water was also a nice break from the heat slightly!. We also had an absolutely fantastic guide Joe who made it a great day. He was so friendly and informative. We were lucky enough to be the only ones on the tour that day and Joe gladly answered all of our questions. We would definitely go on another tour like this.

Doing what: Bangkok Grand Palace and River of Kings Canal Cruise Small-Group Tour

Victoria N

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very fun evening experience. Our favorite part was seeing the Wat Pho temples all lit up at night without the day-time crowds. The tuk-tuk drivers were friendly and knew how to navigate the streets. It's always fun to be part of a small group since you meet some interesting people. The food was tasty too!

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Kenneth C United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

So much fun riding in the Tuk-Tuk's at nite! Bangkok really comes alive after dark and you will get to see it all on this tour. Wat Pho was magical in the moonlight. A big thanks to Esso--so knowledgeable and kind!

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Michelle P

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A fantastic trip and a really good way to see Bangkok. Our favourite was the chance to see the Wat Pho at night, no other tourists except our little group, very special.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Rollande C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

It was OK, but could have been better.

Pros:
Traveling in a small group did allow for a unique and intimate experience
English-speaking local guide was great
Traveling the streets of Bangkok by our own personal Tuk Tuk was very convenient

Cons:
The tour did not include pickup. While we were the only one's who were booked for the day, we had to spend a portion of the morning traveling by cab to the pickup as that side of Bangkok was not completely accessible by public transportation.
The guide, while very polite, seemed to be in a slight rush. We almost missed the bulk of the flower market as she walked right by it.
The Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho the flower market at Dheves are must-sees, however, the Phra Sumera Fortress, Amulet Market and Thieves Market were good, but not great stops.
Another stop that we would've preferred visiting was the Carpenter's market where a lot of woodworking shops were located.

In summation, while we were happy we booked the tour, we do feel that:
1. You don't need a guide for all of this.
2. You can see most of these sites using normal transport.

If convenience is a factor, definitely book, however, if you're like me and like to explore, i may save my monies for an alternative excursion

Doing what: Bangkok Tuk Tuk Small Group Adventure Tour

Juhi T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Rushed, didn't explain history at all, and had trouble understanding/speaking english. We had to ask questions to get anything out of him, and his answers ended up being uninformed, misleading, or didn't even answer the question. I don't even remember everything, I just remember going back to the Wat Pho and reading some of their plaques and going 'wow, our guide had no idea what he was saying'.

I like guides since they explain history/culture/give you relevant information based on their knowledge of culture, etc. This one had no idea what he was saying especially when it wasn't directly related to the tour or something. Ex. We asked about the economy and he claimed tourism was the largest part of the Thai economy followed by agriculture. A simple google search proves this wrong.

It was a very, very disappointing waste of money. I do not recommend it at all, but since they did what they claimed take you to the 3 wats and just show you the buddha's I'm giving it 2 stars. If you don't care about actually learning anything and just want someone to take you around and point stuff out, this is the tour for you.

Doing what: Bangkok Temples Tour Including Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Fiam R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

The tour guide spoken a funny English so it was difficult understand his words even though it was very kind.

After they picked us up, we only went to three temples Wat Traimit, Wat Pho and Wat Benchamabophit, after which we were taken to a tailor factory store which was totally unexpected since they left us on the door with no explanation at all.

After we told the tailor salesperson that we had no intentions for buying anything, he kindly requested we leave the store embarrasing.

Once outside, we get in the car and the chauffer drove us to a jewelry factory store once again unexpected.

At the factory store we watched a short video about Thais gems, a very short tour actually it is a hallway with artisans working the gems and then we were taken to the factory jewelry store main purpose of the stop.

After these activities, we were driven back to our hotel.

As you may see, the tour was very very quick it appeared that the tour guide and the chauffer had a hurry and around 11:30am we were back in the hotel.

In my opinion, we had sufficient time to see at least two or three additional temples since Bangkok is full of them instead of going to a tailor or jewelry factory store which was not included in the tour description added by the fact that we received 1.5 hours less than what we paid tour was to end at 13hrs.

Hope this helps potential travelers.

Best

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples Including Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Krassimira I

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2011

This trip was a total disaster! The guide said that it will be a half day trip-well, we started at 8:30am and were done by 10:30h. The guide spoke very poor English; it was difficult to understand him; he rushed us through all the temples, saying "go, take picture, go". He didn't explain anything. When we visited the first temple with the Golden Buddha, he left the car without telling us what to do. We thought he went to pick up the tickets; 20 mins later, he came and asked us if we had entered the building...this is totally unacceptable.
I was so unsatisfied with the tour, that the next day, I went on my own to Wat Pho, where the Reclining Buddha is, bought myslef a ticket and hired a guide.

Doing what: Bangkok Temples Tour Including Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message