Like much of the Far East, Thailand is predominantly a Buddhist country, with around 95% of Thais practicing Buddhism. This has been the case for centuries, and if you are going to Bangkok you have to make sure that you get to see some of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1576 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sam W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour guide is very professional and know his subject. Just wish we have more time to take more photos.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Yun Kee C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It's a very good and informative tour. Tour guide was knowledgeable and sufficient time was given for each site visited. Quality of lunch on board the cruise ship back to Bangkok could be improve though. Just a point to note - please be on time and considerate to other passengers. We had to wait for more than 30 mins for a couple and their kid who decided to go for elephant riding at the time we were supposed to depart for another site.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Gloria S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was wonderful trip, just weather was very hot, cruise back to Bangkok is great.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Tory O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing tour going to Ayutthaya ruins, great history, scenery and culture. Our tour guide named Donna did a great job showing us sites, taking our pictures, she is a wealth of knowledge and loves what she does. The boat ride back to Bangkok includes an all you can eat buffet lunch featuring different Thai dishes. Loved the boat ride back, nice slow ride to relax in the sun or in the AC main decks. Lots of space.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Jane United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My friend and I arranged several tours for our few days stay in Bangkok, including this one which we both felt was excellent. The guide Donna was fabulous, really kept every ones attention. Although theres not much time to wonder round your self, theres enough to get a feel for the places and see the main areas. But this is just how it is when on an organised tour and wanting to cram in as much as possible when your time is limited. At the end of tour is a river cruise back to the city, which includes a fabulous buffet / all you can eat meal which is laid out beautifully and with such an extensive choice. The service on the boat is excellent. Id pre ordered a veggie meal, which was served to me easily and at the same time as everyone was going up for the buffet. I was also able to use the buffet too. The cruise was very relaxing and easy with plenty of space on deck. Its a great way to see more of the city along the river while relaxing on deck. Theres temples, monument, houses and gardens along the way. Excellent tour, definitely recommend and worth the time and money for two of us it was 77 total - great value

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Jane United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My friend and I booked this tour and Bangkok Temples Including Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho, one for the morning and one for the afternoon of the same day. At the time of booking we asked if they could be combined so the tours ran into one another instead of having the 'lunch time' back at the hotel. The reply said no, they are best kept separate so we went with the recommendation even though other reviews had also suggested combining. When the guide picked us up, he asked if we'd be ok to combine these tours as logistically it would be better to go from one to the other. This may have been because of our hotel location in comparison, but even so, once we were shown the places on the map and already having experience of the nightmare traffic jams in Bangkok, it definitely made sense to combine the trips. This meant we were back at the hotel after both tours much earlier than we would have been other wise. Both these tours worked out very well, and allowed us to more easily find our way into and round the temple complex's having our own private guide. These are both well worth the visit

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

Jane United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My friend and I booked this tour and Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew, one for the morning and one for the afternoon of the same day. At the time of booking we asked if they could be combined so the tours ran into one another instead of having the 'lunch time' back at the hotel. The reply said no, they are best kept separate so we went with the recommendation even though other reviews had also suggested combining. When the guide picked us up, he asked if we'd be ok to combine these tours as logistically it would be better to go from one to the other. This may have been because of our hotel location in comparison, but even so, once we were shown the places on the map and already having experience of the nightmare traffic jams in Bangkok, it definitely made sense to combine the trips. This meant we were back at the hotel after both tours much earlier than we would have been other wise. Both these tours worked out very well, and allowed us to more easily find our way into and round the temple complex's having our own private guide. These are both well worth the visit

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples Including Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Dianne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Lovely day! Everything went well. It was my only group tour of the whole two week trip. While I don't like group tours, this worked well. We were first on the bus from van pick-up, so we got to sit up front. The guide is well-educated and told us a lot about where we were going.

I enjoyed seeing the ancient ruins and we had plenty of time to wander and take photos. After a long day in the sun the boat cruise was a great way to relax. The food was better then expected and it was nice to just sit by the way our buffet was quickly out of desserts but there was a second table upstairs which I found later that still had desserts - so wander!.

Well worth it.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Dianne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very good guide. Very knowledgable and he knew how to get us in to the complex ahead of hordes and hordes of Chinese tourists. We would not have enjoyed the tour anywhere as much without him.

He did suggest the shopping trip after the tour but we just said we were tired and wanted to go back to the hotel and we went right back.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

Grant Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We were met by our tour guide and taken on our exceptional tour of the major temples of Bangkok, very informative and fantastic photo opportunities as a group of three we are very happy with our guide and private car, and entry to temples was smooth, with our knowledgeable and attentive guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples Including Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Govind S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great tour and would definitely recommend the excursion to others.
Pickup and drop off times great - and punctual - however a tad too early considering we were on holiday
The trip itself was great - enough time given to explore
Great guide who provided us with interesting information at all times
Cruise was lovely
Variety of food for lunch was not that good - Reference was made to the food being a seafood buffet when in fact there was only sweet and sour fish I would have preferred for there to have been some prawns or crab meat available given that I was unable to eat the chicken as it was halal and the lunch did not cater for non-halal people.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Jam

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Trip was great overall! The attractions were really nice and historic. The food served in the cruise was also nice but not exactly special. I recommend this trip especially if you have 1 whole day to spare.

For improvement/Tip - The person that picked me up in the morning didn't have any name signs or anything with him that told me he was the driver picking me up. I waited for around 15 minutes or so not knowing the guy beside me was actually the driver! He hardly spoke any english so it was receptionist that asked me if I was expecting any tour pickups.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Diana G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

it was pleasant great way to get out of Bangkok. The sight was impressive. the cruse back was a nice finishing touch

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

stevepollmann

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great trip and wonderful sites at a reasonable price. Sometimes, it was hard to understand the tour guides English over a microphone.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Jennifer F

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

If you are pushed for time on your Thailand trip then this is a good highlights tour. It was very quick, only stopping at the most popular spots crowded and for a short time. Combined with the boat trip back to Bangkok it ticks lots of boxes in one day.
Our guide Khun Pisahn ? was all kinds of boring... I'm sure there may have been some interesting facts in what he was droning on about but they were well and truly lost in the thousands of unnecessary words flooding out his mouth, it was a shame considering the limited time on site at the stops.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Julie G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

The tour and our tour guide was great and very informative HOWEVER at the end she told us we WOULD be going on a Jewel Factory Tour, we didn't know about this and didn't want to go but we got dropped off there and another bus picked us up. They followed us around the Factory and if you didn't buy anything, they made it clear they were not happy! VIATOR should ensure these thrown on tours do not happen, people do no like the pressure selling when they are on holiday!

Doing what: Bangkok Temples Tour Including Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

tomkas

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Don't waste your time in your stay at Bangkok.
My meeting time was 6:45, I left hotel at 6:30. I came back to the hotel at 17:00.
In this 10.5 hour, I visited one palace 1 hour and two temples one for half hour, the other for 1 hour. Then, two hours of river cruise back to Bangkok. Total 4.5 hour of activity.
So the rest of time, 6 hours? You just sit on the bus, waiting to get to the next destination.
Don't waste your time on this!!


What's worse, the guide is very very ineffective. He gives nothing about historical background of the site we were visiting, but only his interest, meditation and philosophy. Maybe he was guiding Buddhist Meditation Tour or something.
Traffic in Bangkok is awful. Maybe bus tour is not for Bangkok...

But the river cruise was actually pretty good, for this reason, I add one star. I suggest taking a tour only for river cruise.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Red.mack

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

The day was well organized but quite rushed as guided tours tend to be. We only had the one day spare to visit Ayutthaya from our base in Bangkok and this tour ticked that box.
The lunch onboard the boat back to Bangkok was very average with most dishes being luke warm at best and the crew were really pushing the drinks. The buffet was packed up after a half hour and felt very rushed even though we still had more than an hour onboard before arriving in Bangkok.
I would recommend this tour company for it's efficiency but perhaps not this tour.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Catherine C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Good: The summer palace was my favorite, lovely grounds and a nice breeze, you could really see why it was a nice getaway from the city. And saw a bunch of Asian water monitors large lizards - look like small alligators and birds. Tip: Rent the golf cart 400 baht, it's a little annoying all the parking and getting out during the walk, but at the end you can drive a bit more around and then zip all the way back to the entrance. The first temple we saw at Ayutthaya actually ruins was interesting and lots of great places for pictures. The boat ride had some interesting views of houses, temples, and other buildings along the way.

Not Good: By the time we got to the third stop for the 2nd and 3rd temples, our guide just showed us where they were but didn't give us a tour, so we didn't get the context or history. The guide's accent made him hard to understand at times so I think I missed a lot of context. The food on the boat was not good and the boat ride was too long and thus ended up boring. Even with traffic I think it would have been faster to drive and I'd rather have gotten back to the city sooner, and the bus had more comfortable seating and AC. I'm concerned about the animal welfare issues of the elephants in Thailand, so I didn't like seeing the elephant rides.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message