Like much of the Far East, Thailand is predominantly a Buddhist country, with around 95% of Thais practicing Buddhism. This has been the case for centuries, and if you are going to Bangkok you have to make sure that you get to see some of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1595 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

my wife and accompanying children thoroughly enjoyed their tour especially the river cruise and excellent buffet lunch.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Anthony W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Lovely trip with excellent guide

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples Including Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

barry m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

No complaints, it was excellent.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

ARTHUR C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

excellent private tour by a well informed tour guide as there were only myself and my wife on the tour we were not rushed and our tour guide answered all our questions highly reccommended

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples Including Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

JC U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wow, just stunned at the whole entire experience, the summer Palace was elegant and a great place to take pictures. The ride there was also comfy and our tour guide sorry forgot his name, middle aged gentleman with white hair was incredibly informative of the history of these wonders of the world. Ayutthaya was without a doubt the best part I took the time to meditate for 10 minutes the place was a swan song to the great Buddha and his teaching, swan song because the place was looted and destroyed by the Burmese Army! the ending was a glorious ride on the Chao Praya river back to Bangkok on a luxury watch, the food was amazing!!! and diverse with many different choices, a foodies delight. Felt like Anthony Bourdain while eating all the stuff they had. I was really surprised at the quality of everything involved yes, including the bus I will definitely encourage fellow travelers to take this tour it was the highlight of my trip to Thailand.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Alan C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

my wife and accompanying children thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples Including Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Llamaschool United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Ayutthaya is really something else I took this tour on my second day in Thailand, when I was still pretty timid about trying to get around on my own. Your small group will join quite a few others on a bus that is evidently chartered by the cruise-buffet company that will take you downriver and back into town at the end of the tour so you'll be with a lot of people, which you may consider good or bad. You'll be taken to 3 sites in Ayutthaya, 1 the historical ruins with the famous Buddha head in a tree 2 another set of stuppas dedicated to early kings and attached to a lovely wat and a souvenir market and 3 the 'summer palace', which was constructed by kings of Siam throughout the 19th and early 20th centuriesmostly in European architectural styles, along with one gaudy replica of a room from the Imperial Palace in Beijing I could really have done without the Summer Palace. The other sites, I now know, are pretty easily accessible by public bus from Bangkok and, given that the tour is extremely rushed, if I had it to do over I might have just gone out to Ayutthaya on my own. The guide was obviously very experienced, and obviously very interested in pushing his websites peddling Eastern medicine to Westerners. Fine if you're into that kind of thing. All in all, a decent enough intro to the historical sites of Ayutthaya, I hope to go back and spend a few days exploring them on my own whenI return to Thailand.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

churra

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

It was a good trip and souvenirs cheaper than other places

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Wayne R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This is a great way to spend a day while visiting Thailand. The tour is well organized and guide was very informative. The temples themselves were a bit more ruinous than I was expecting. The temples in Siem Reap Cambodia are much more elaborate and in better condition, for instance. The boat trip was excellent. Buffet lunch on the boat was very good as well.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Roberta B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable, got me through security quickly, and made sure to stop at a shop so I could have water before entering the complex. He allowed me to take pictures when and where I wanted, but also stopped at particular locations along the way to explain the significance of particular buildings. The only problem was that he walked ahead of me in and we got separated many times because of the huge crowds. At one point it took almost 10 minutes before we found each other. Afterwards, though, he stayed close by. A worthwhile trip and I came away knowing so much more than I did before.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

Carlo L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tour itself is great and our guide, Betty, was very informative. There were only four people on the tour that day so not much interaction between us and the guide but was great to have a small group. The palace is very beautiful but due to the sheer volume of people it can take away a lot from the experience. We did an afternoon tour and it was extremely warm that day so perhaps choose the morning session to avoid the heat.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Neil B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Really good trip, guide informative and temples fascinating. Trip ruined though by finishing at a gem factory where you are literally dumped and they take you back to your hotel not the tour operator, our driver didnt know where the hotel was and it took 2 hours to get back.

Doing what: Bangkok City and Temples Tour

churra

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The temples are beautiful, we had the same tour guide for the floating market and he doenst speak english he has only memorized some frases and repeats them over and over again... For this tour we tried calling a day before to move it to the afternoon option since our flight was delayed and he said he would do ig only if we paid extra and we did but he rushed us all the way

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples Including Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

philippa m

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

OK guide spoke too much, laughed inappropriately

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Janice R

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Very good, however very crowded, there were mixed messages as to what to wear or what not to wear. Some of us were told to change into something else while others with the same attire were not

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

yolanda.rivascelis

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

It was OK. It was supposed to be a and #34;guided tour and #34; but our guide barely explained to us what each place was and did not provide any explanation once we were there. The and #34;river cruise and #34; was ok but the food was terrible, barely edible. I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Beth P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Not completely as advertised! While we enjoyed the private tour and visit to the Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew, we would have preferred to spend more time there rather than to have rushed our way out and then been taken to a factory and jewelry store which we we had absolutely no interest in. This was not part of the tour description and we felt a bit scammed! We probably would have enjoyed this site more if done on our own and at our own pace - especially when our private tour guide sent us back to our hotel after the visit to the jewelry store alone with our driver while claiming that she had another tour coming up in an hour. Perhaps this was for the best though. While driving to the site, our guide told us of her divorce and how embarrassing it was for a woman in her country. Interesting - except that she showed particular interest in my husband and continued to tell us how western men of his age would be sought after by women in her country. Not what we expected!

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

Catherine C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Good: The palace is lovely and should definitely be a place to visit when you are in Bangkok. The guide was knowledgable and shared some tidbits. I had a small group, which was nice.

Bad: Tour guide could have shared more history and context. Our group had some whiny kids, so I feel like the tour guide rushed us through the second half so we'd finish up early for them - and they were middle school age, old enough to deal, not young children.

The Very Bad: The tour does not just conclude at the gems gallery as is buried in fine print. After you complete your entire tour of the palace, you are loaded back on the bus and driven to the gems gallery where you are forced to watch a video, walk through the gallery, and are treated like a pain in the rear if you don't want to shop and just want to leave. And, my tour guide kept trying to get me to be dropped off at a shopping center nearby instead of taking me back to my hotel, and only sent me back to the hotel after I insisted a few times. I complained to Viator and received a refund, but as they have not clarified this addition to the tour in the description, I'm still leaving a one star review. Go to the palace on your own or try to arrange for a different tour that doesn't include the gems gallery.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

DOROTHEA K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Our tour guide, Krit, was just recycling a basic paragraph about Thai culture in every single temple, talking as much as 10 minutes maximum each time and then letting us look around and take photos. You could basically read some stuff on the Wikipedia website and spare the money for this tour.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Sam W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour guide is very professional and know his subject. Just wish we have more time to take more photos.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Yun Kee C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It's a very good and informative tour. Tour guide was knowledgeable and sufficient time was given for each site visited. Quality of lunch on board the cruise ship back to Bangkok could be improve though. Just a point to note - please be on time and considerate to other passengers. We had to wait for more than 30 mins for a couple and their kid who decided to go for elephant riding at the time we were supposed to depart for another site.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Gloria S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was wonderful trip, just weather was very hot, cruise back to Bangkok is great.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Tory O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing tour going to Ayutthaya ruins, great history, scenery and culture. Our tour guide named Donna did a great job showing us sites, taking our pictures, she is a wealth of knowledge and loves what she does. The boat ride back to Bangkok includes an all you can eat buffet lunch featuring different Thai dishes. Loved the boat ride back, nice slow ride to relax in the sun or in the AC main decks. Lots of space.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message