The small coastal town of Figueres, just north of Barcelona, is known for only one thing - Salvador Dalí. Though the artisit's fame brought him to more glamorous parts of Spain, near the end of his career, Dalí returned to his hometown to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 564 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

George M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour...well planned. Excellent local guide in Girona. Dali museum very worthwhile.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Courtney V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I booked this tour for the Dali Museum, not really knowing anything about Girona and Girona ended up making this day more memorable than I could have thought. We spent the morning in Girona learning about its history while walking around the beautiful streets. I was pleasantly surprised to learn that Game of Thrones filmed a lot of last season there and our guide was more than happy to show us some filming locations.
After a nice lunch in the town square we got back on the bus for the drive to Figueres. You get a ticket to the Dali Museum and the Dali Jewel museum. Make sure you hit the Jewel Museum, you wont see anything like it anywhere else. As for the Dali museum, it's what you would think it is knowing what kind of guy he was. The museum is beautifully strange. Take your time and make sure you see every side of every floor.
We had some free time after seeing both museums so we sat out in the nearby square and had a coffee in a prime people watching location. It's a long day but a must do if you have a day to spare in Barcelona!

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Alex T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a fantastic side tour of our free time in Barcelona. Very well organized, from the train station, to the museum and back. We were accompanied by a guide the entire time. If you are a Dali fan, do not miss this!

Doing what: Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona by High-Speed Train with Optional Girona Tour

rb1336

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This trip was long but certainly worth while. The tour guide was helpful, knowledgeable, friendly, well spoken and fun to be with. The museum was as amazing as Dali himself. The trip to the Dali home in Cadaques was wonderful and picturesque.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Victoria P

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

It was our last day of 2 weeks trip to Portugal and Spain. Must do! Unforgettable experience! Trip was very nice organised. Unfortunately, our guide Carlotta did not give us much information about Dali. Museum is amazing, it was not enough 2 hours to see an exhibit, so I will be back on my own to explore this beautiful museum. Recommend to visit shop in Portligat, they have a good variety of souvenirs to bring home. Our driver was smoking on the bus wile we were at the museum. That is why I gave four stars.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

KM

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Super cool museum and the option to visit Dali's house is also very neat! I highly recommend doing the tours that stop in the beach towns Cadaques only in the summer though, as nearly everything was closed and the time we had to explore was wasted.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Erick A

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Liked the highlights and overview of the tour, both cities Girona and Figueres are worthwhile for a visit. It is much easier to see these two cities on an organized tour, rather than trying to rent a car out of Barcelona and doing it on your own. The Dali Museum is especially unique, bring a euro coin to make the car in the front foyer rain. The other coin-operated exhibits were more ordinary.

The duration is planned to be 11 hours, with the itinerary return time of 19:30 at the Plaça de Catalunya.

The coach ride was smooth and comfortable, although if the person in front of you leans back, it becomes a tight squeeze.

There is a fair amount of up and downhill walking, and there can be a lot of stairs in Girona.

The walking Girona tour only includes seeing the outside of all the buildings and the cathedral. I was only able to rush to go inside the cathedral, and see the Tapestry of Creation, during my free time, and on my own admission fee. I would've probably traded some of my extra free time in the much quieter city of Figueres to spend in Girona, where there are far more sights not included on the tour.

My tour guide on the bus and in Figueres was somewhat bilingual, her English was fairly broken, and a majority of the bus tour was actually done in Spanish. The city tour guide in Girona did the tour in English only, but her microphone died quickly, so our fairly large group of 40-50 had to stay close to hear.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Rowe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Overall, this tour was excellent value. We went to Figueres and saw Dali's museum. I wish we had a longer time in the museum as there was a lot to see. Perhaps 2 hours in this leg of the trip would have been sufficient. Cadaques and Port Ligat were well worth the visit. The restaurants we were recommended to have our lunch were fantastic and Port Ligat was a nice relaxing way to finish the wonderful journey into Dali's home town and museum. Make sure you visit the Jewel museum in Figueres - well worth a visit.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Gaby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a fantastic time the visit to Dali Museum was amazing .
Also the visit to Girona was incredible and all the details about the movie that was film in the town was and extra treat.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Mary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A long trip out of Barcelona was worth it. Our guide was knowledgeable and I only wish she would have stayed with us in the museum to explain some of Dali's work. The trip his home was wonderful.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Bertha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We enjoyed our trip very much. It was worth both Girone, a lovely city and a pleasant surprise. Would like to return to it to stay at least two days. Dali Museum is a must. We loved it. Service and tours were excellent. Thank you,
Bertha and Daniel

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Mary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We were in Spain and France for 3 weeks and this was my favorite day. The trip was well planned and executed. Everything was timely. Of course I am a Salvador Dali fan but there is something for everyone on this day trip. Besides the museum, we explored Dali's house, dipped our toes in the Mediterranean, had tapas and cava on the beach, and saw the countryside from Barcelona to France.
The Dali museum is unique, exciting and mentally challenging. Take a photo of a nude and your shot turns out as President Lincoln! Ingenious! Take a photo of the car and look what happens.
By far worth every moment!

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Vanessa I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My father and I had a great time on this trip and learned so much. It was quite a journey taking the speed train and taxis to get where we had to go, but everything was very well-organized. There were about 17 people total on the tour, and Jessica was a great tour guide. She is very intelligent, speaks great English, and is a sweet woman. She guided us around the Dali museum, and then we took the train Girona, where she gave us a walking tour of the city. It was a beautiful town, and was definitely worth the visit.

Doing what: Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona by High-Speed Train with Optional Girona Tour

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely fabulous! Laura was a great tour guide and really made the trip come alive. We went with the full day option and are glad we did. I cannot imagine enjoying the museum without her wonderful descriptions and stories. Everything went so smoothly. The Barcelona Guide Bureau is an extremely organized tour host and we are so glad to have booked them through Viator.

Doing what: Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona by High-Speed Train with Optional Girona Tour

Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was the best tour I took on the few days I was in Barcelona. I think the tour guide was Mathias or Metheo I forget. He was super knowledgeable on what seems about everything! The two hour ride wasn't too bad. The only gripe I had was I didn't feel like there was enough time at the museum. Since it was such a busy place it took a while to get to see everything. However, Cadaques and Port Lligat were absolutely beautiful. Dali's house was great. Punctuality is a must on this tour since the Dali house tours are every 10 minutes and they reserved our time.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had the time of our lives. Rodrigo was a fantastic guide. He was knowledgable, funny and warm. Seeing the museum, Figueres, Cadaques and especially Dali's home in Port Ligat is something we will never forget. This day trip was a real highlight of our three week European vacation.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Anne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful tour and excellent guide. Full day of immersion into Surrealism. Great in-depth information and insight on the artist on the way to Figueres. The museum was amazing. The trip to Cadaques was very enjoyable, too and we had a choice of staying in this relaxing fishing town or taking a trip to the nearly Dali house. Don't skip the Dali house -- it was absolutely amazing.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Peter P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The museum was very interesting, but the crowds made it difficult to enjoy. However, the side trip to Cadaques was outstanding! It's a beautiful, little coastal town with charming restaurants on the water. As the town is very difficult to access by road one hour on a tiny mountain road it's unlikely that the average visitor would make the trip, yet it is a very unique experience.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Tracy W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

So glad to have gone to Figueres to the museum with a guide who loves Dali and could provide wonderful insights. Dali's home in Portlligat is so reflective of him and completely worth the trip. Cadaques is beautiful but there either needs to be more time there adding to a long day in order to have time to walk to the church or get out of the immediate tourist area, or skip it and spend more time in Figueres.

Doing what: Dalí Triangle: Figueres, Cadaqués and Portlligat Guided Day Tour from Barcelona

fgrunner

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We really enjoyed seeing the museum and Dali's home. The guide was well informed and made the day a pleasure. The bus was immaculate and comfortable. We really enjoyed the opportunity to eat lunch along the Mediterranean coast. Excellent! The only negative was there was more to see than there was time. Not Viator's fault by any means.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Nancy F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

If you are a true Dali fan, this trip is for you! However, the Dali Museum was very crowded and claustrophobic. A visit to his house is a must. Don't take the option of staying in the beach town. Our guide Gloria was very enthusiastic but needed to be a little bit more disciplined in getting the group to the bus on time.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Salster

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Good: We were fortunate to have a knowledgeable guide for the Dali leg of the tour and were able to hear everything she had to say. Love the Dali museum and would have preferred to have more time there.

Bad: Same can't be said for the Girona leg of the tour, the tour seemed to go forever. The guide didn't have great English and the communication system was terrible and crackly to the extent I stopped using it. The numbers on the tour were too large. I felt like I'd turned into a pensioner on this leg. Soul destroying. Fortunately Girona is known for its culinary delights and a great lunch fixed our moods

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

stellagibbs United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Both Girona and the Dali museum had terrific, knowledgeable guides.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Sherilyn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide, Anna, was awesome! She was knowledgeable, fun, and very accommodating. Our group of people on the tour was also really fun....we were lucky, I think! In addition to our fun group, the museum and house was amazing. We learned so much...it was a day that we will always remember!

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Howard A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Five stars. Wonderful day with our guide Laura through the Dali Museum and then touring the city of Girona. She was a very professional guide who knows her stuff. Although this was an expensive day, it was well worth it.

Doing what: Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona by High-Speed Train with Optional Girona Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message