Barcelona ATTRACTIONS See all

La Boqueria Market

Barcelona’s busiest market and arguably one of Europe’s most popular food markets, La Boqueria Market, or Mercat de La Boqueria, is a vibrant hub of Barcelonian culture. The market boasts a long history, with the spot being used as a meat market as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 213 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

kporter9876 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was one of my two favorite tours for my time in Barcelona. Paloma was fantastic and fun, and it was a really great experience. We saw lots of cool places and ate lots of good food. I did it on my first night in the city so I'd have a handle on the food scene for the rest of the week. Was so glad I did! And met some really nice people. My only issue, which is extremely minor, is that the tour said it ends by a second market Santa Caterina Market. From the description, I'd planned on visiting this market when we were finished but it was closed, and I never got to go back. But really, everything was great. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Leslie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was the best thing we did! Don't miss the tour of the market! I felt that the people who only did the cooking class really missed out. Our darling chef/guide was great, we learned a lot!

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

vicky anello

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We just returned from an amazing family vacation in Barcelona and one of the top highlights for our family, even for our teenage daughter and son, was the Tour of the Boqueria Market and Cooking Class. I cannot say enough positive things about this experience. The class is conducted in an amazing apartment overlooking the Placa Real in Barcelona. The room is very tastefully décorated and the view from the apartment onto the Placa is very picturesque. You get a real flavor for the activity in the town from this vantage point. Before we began to cook, Janella, Chef Alfredos assistant, gave us a tour of the Boqueria Market. This was very helpful, as the market can be a little overwhelming. As she guided us through the market, Janella taught us about some of the local food that Spain is known for such as the jambon, cheese, and turron. After the market tour, we returned to the apartment and began our class with Chef Alfredo. The participants consisted of our family and a lovely Canadian couple. Chef Alfredo was extremely friendly, funny and professional. He is a talented chef and taught us so much about the local cuisine and culture. We tasted delicious tapas first and then made paella, tortilla de papas, and a Catalan Crème for dessert. During the class we received hands on experience cooking the various dishes along with Chef. Janella served as a wonderful interpreter for Chef. After preparing the meal, we ate together in the dining room. It was an unbelievably fun experience that I would highly recommend.

Doing what: La Boqueria Market and Cooking Class in Barcelona

Patricia Fryer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was my first cooking class while traveling. I choose the evening dinner but it was full so opted for the lunch with market tour. Glad I did. Loved going to La Bouqueria to shop for fresh ingredients for our lunch. It was a hands on class with all 14 of us prepping and cooking and drinking wine. We had ham and sourdough bread with tomatoes and olive oil to nibble on while we cooked. For lunch we had gazpacho, bread with roasted vegetables and salt cod confit, paella and egg custard for dessert. Everything was prepared from scratch. Well worth the cost and such fun.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Sherry V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an amazing experience! My boyfriend and I met wonderful people who were also there to learn about the culture, food markets and cooking Spain style. The Chief who led the group was great! I would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

ap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour for your first night in Barcelona. Included a stroll through the areas surrounding La Rambla, including the market, candy stores where we received free samples!, historical landmarks and other points of interest. Our tour included one stop where we tasted several tapas and enjoyed a glass of wine. The guide was very knowledgeable and welcoming. To end the night, we enjoyed an amazing flamenco performance at Palau Dalmases. The dancers and musicians were incredible. It was the highlight of the tour for sure. We highly recommend the upgraded tour with the flamenco show.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Allen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We are so glad that we chose this tour! We spent several hours walking around Barcelona, learning many historical/cultural facts, and stopping for food and drink along the way. Our guide was Paula, and she was wonderful - very knowledgeable and engaging. Also, she was very considerate of our group's desires and limitations. She began the tour by asking what we were most interested in seeing and learning about, and tailored the tour to our personal preferences. Also, our family includes a couple of people who can't walk very quickly, and she regularly checked on them to be sure no one was being pushed to walk too far or too fast. We started with a discussion and snacks at the tour group's office, then visited the market, a sweets shop, a tapas bar, and a pinxos bar. All of the food was incredible, and, even as repeat Barcelona visitors and foodies, we learned so much. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Kris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Superlative - my friend and I really loved the whole market and cooking experience!! The meals and company were amazing and our chef fabulous and informative. Thank you!!

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

William A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Mario was Amazing. Very informative trip to the market, which would definitely recommend adding this to the experience. He explained everything and really showed us a new way to look at the market. My 14 year old son wanted to do this and he had the time of his life. The cooking and prepping were very hands on and lots of tips and tricks were shared. Mario made my son feel like he was a 5 star chef! When we get back to Barcelona we hope to take another of his classes....it was that good!

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Ellen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great class! Thank you Rosa, the food was amazing, and the market tour was very informative. I appreciated your great organization and teaching skills. I promise to send a photo of my next paella!

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

George G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic!! Learned so much. Wonderful visit to market with so much information. Got to visit so many interesting places. Food was great. Our tour guide Paula was absolutely wonderful!!!!

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Dnewton555

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic cooking class today at Cook and Taste in Barcelona. After a great tour of La Boqueria, Maria, our chef, guided us through creating beet and watermelon gazpacho roasted vegetable and salted cod salad tomato bread seafood paella and creama de Catalon! She shared tips on cooking, regional specialties, Catalonia customs, and historical insights. Absolutely delicioso!

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

amanda r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I cannot recommend this tour highly enough! Our tour guide Paula was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and professional. The quality of the wine and tapas was first class, especially the pintxos in the last restaurant. We met some lovely people on the tour and thoroughly enjoyed the trip to the Boqueria food market. We now feel confident and well informed enough to order many different types of tapas. We also know where is best to wander. Paula also gave us interesting information about Spanish culture and some of the historical buildings, tiny squares and churches in the area. A great 'first night' trip out to help you maximise your time whilst visiting Barcelona. Very good value for money. Thankyou.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

ksanders4horses

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Lovely night in Barcelona going to markets and tapas bars while touring different areas of town.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Wendy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour and an Gabi is an excellent guide. This is a good intro to the types of tapas and the area around the market - la Bocaria. This was our favorite part and we went back days laterR and shopped for a picnic lunch. Even in the pouring rain we enjoyed ourselves.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Mario I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great day at Market and then cooking with the wonderful Maria.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Jody A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Maria was a great guide. Very informative during the market tour. Very professional. The food was extremely fresh, Maria had a sense of humor and the wine was plentiful. The recipes were ready to take home at the end of class. We enjoyed taking the class with people from many other destinations.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Mary Ann C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Best tour in Spain! Beautiful young lady was our tour guide. The places we visited for tapas were the very best! Great shops in the Gothic area! We visited Boqueria Market which is a delight anytime. If visiting Barcelona, this is the tour to take! Flamenco show is a must see!

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Cherie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour began with a glass of wine and cold cuts at the office.. We met our group, our tour guides, Nico and Felipe, and received a plan for the tour. We were taken to the market, had Tapas at two different places and toured the wonderful market. The whole tour was filled with information about the places we walked to and where we ate. We also visited a Sweet shop and tasted some delicious candies. The Tapas were delicious. The whole experience was fun and interesting and the guides were personable and very attentive. My whole group thought it was well-priced and a great experience.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

kevinkaneohe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great drinks and food and the group we were with was a lot of fun! Paula did a fantasic job bringing Barcelona, it's food, people, culture and place to life. Great walking tour with her and loved the different resturants and markets - learned alot and had to go back to explore further.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Sheila H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We shared this trip with 2 Australians and 2 Americans and we as 2 Brits made it a very interesting international affair! Our host Sebastian was wonderful and the information he gave us was both interesting and well delivered. He also had a very good knowledge of English and a sense of humour! We visited the fantastic market off the Ramblas and a number of tapas bars where we were given lots of lovely food and drink. Thoroughly enjoyed the evening and was suitably filled by the tapas to not need dinner that night

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Jill S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our Market Tour do this option! and Cooking Class. It was a true highlight of our stay in Spain. Our instructor, Maria, was fun, knowledgeable, opinionated, highly proficient and a patient teacher and demonstrator. She taught us many things I didn't know and I think myself a decent cook but also was great with the more beginners in the class. A fun way to see an aspect of Barcelona though food culture.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Erin E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A fantastic tour with a very knowledgable guide Nicko. Thank you for showing us the amazing market, shops and food. And the flamenco show just topped it off. I and #39;m so glad I booked this tour was well worth it

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A must do! Knowledgeable guide escorted us through the lovely streets of Barcelona. Began with a tasting at our meeting point and proceeded to several other stops, including a candy store, market, restaurant which served the most delicious tapas and wine!, then on to a flamenco show. Terrific evening!

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Gregor A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was our third visit to Barcelona but the first time we took this tour. We had a small group with our guide Rahel? starting off the tastings in the cooking centre then off we went to the market and several other tasting spots. Rahel not only explained about the food and wine we were tasting but explained about the foods in the different regions of Spain as well as taking us through the winding streets around the Catedral with lots of information about the history and the buildings. Even though the evening started off in the rain, it was definitely a very enjoyable evening and a good choice for your first visit to Barcelona.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message