Barcelona ATTRACTIONS See all

La Sagrada Família

Sagrada Família is undoubtedly the most iconic structure in Barcelona, with its distinct, multicolored towers piercing the sky. The church, located in the district of L'Eixample, has been a fixture in the city since construction commenced in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1127 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Herb M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

tour was everything advertised and much more. what a wonderful experience. tickets ready when we arrived excellent guide, no waiting in line like thousands of others. and the sagrada familia is an amazing place to see. thx

Doing what: Priority Access: Barcelona Sagrada Familia Tour

Martha H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide wish I had taken his name was VERY knowledgable about the Sagrada Familia and the history behind it. He was very pleasant and handled an awkward customer in our group who was complaining about things out of our guide's control, with great poise. Of course the Sagrada Familia was sensational!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Sagrada Familia with Optional Tower Access

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. The story of Sagrada Familia and the representations of Christianity events in the structure are amazing. This is our 2nd tour of Sagrada Familia with a Viator guide, and we've always been very pleased with the tours. There is so much you could miss without a tour guide to point out the details. It has been interesting to see the progression of the construction.

Doing what: Priority Access: Barcelona Sagrada Familia Tour

L Har United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Best way to see the Sagrada. I would have missed so many details if I would have gone by myself! This is a must in Barcelona!

Doing what: Priority Access: Barcelona Sagrada Familia Tour

Donald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

La Sagrada Familia is amazing! We met our guide at Julia Travel and after a short walk we passed the long line-up at the entrance. Our guide was very knowledgeable and she thoroughly explained all the sculptures on the facades that I am sure we would have missed had we toured on our own. Antonio Gaudi was truly a genius as the attention to detail he has shown throughout the church shows. The life-like sculptures, columns made to look like trees, the colours of the stained glass, the natural light, the alter - truly amazing. Our tour included the tower where the views of Barcelona are wonderful. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Priority Access: Barcelona Sagrada Familia Tour Including Tower Entry

paulaleet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Words can't explain the beauty and history behind the Sagrada Familia. Our guide gave us so much information and it was amazing to learn the stories behind the meaning of each aspect of the church. I would do this all over again!

Doing what: Priority Access: Barcelona Sagrada Familia Tour Including Tower Entry

S.A. H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Early in the day is the best time to see Sagrada Familia ---not so crowded. Do NOT miss this attraction!!! Our guide was informative and efficient. We enjoyed having more time to view on our own after the guided experience.

Doing what: Priority Access: Barcelona Sagrada Familia Tour

nancy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Barcelona is a fascinating city. We loved every moment of the 3 days we were there. The Artistic Barcelona tour including Gaudi's La Sagrada and Park Guell is a must. They are the two most popular things to see. The tour director for La Sagrada Familia was very well informed. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Artistic Barcelona Including Gaudi’s La Sagrada Familia and Skip-the-Line Entry to Park Güell

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

You don't want to wait in the line and you can't miss seeing the Sagrada Familia when in Barcelona. Well worth it.

Doing what: Priority Access: Barcelona Sagrada Familia Tour

Judith D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Sagrada Familia was the main reason for visiting Barcelona. We were so pleased to have booked the and #34; Private, early access and #34; as the crowds were waiting to get in. The tour guide was excellent.. The Sagrada is spectacular and he told us the history and about Antoni Gaudi. Superb!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Sagrada Familia with Optional Tower Access

Ronald P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Have been to Sagrada Familia before but never on a guided tour. Our tour guide made it all come to life for us. What a beautiful, totally unique cathedral!

Doing what: Priority Access: Barcelona Sagrada Familia Tour

Thomas M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour. Guide was very informative. Sagrada Familia is a beautiful building! We were very pleased with the tour!

Doing what: Priority Access: Barcelona Sagrada Familia Tour

Karen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Completely recommend this tour. We appreciated the free time while in Sagrada. Our guide Judit was excellent and we loved the fact that at the end of the tour she took the time to point out and explain some dining options for lunch - we had some fantastic pintxos and cava!

Doing what: Priority Access: Best of Barcelona Tour Including Sagrada Familia

Jacqueline A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My husband and I were very happy with our tour, Early Access to Sagrada Familia. Guide was interesting and we enjoyed her insight. This was our third visit to Barcelona, and the last two we were never able to make it in the church because of long lines. This time booking the tour was the way to go.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Sagrada Familia with Optional Tower Access

Michelle M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This tour was good. We were able to get into the Sagrada fairly quickly with minimum waiting. Finding the location of the meeting place was a bit challenging and the people working inside were not very nice. Our guide was great! He had a sense of humor and kept us entertained while at the same time educating us on the history and architecture of Sagrada.

Doing what: Priority Access: Barcelona Sagrada Familia Tour

Stephen W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

THE GOOD: 1 Guia, our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the Basilica, and also very friendly with the tourists. She also answered all questions professionally and politely, which also proved her thorough knowledge of the Sagrada Familia. 2 Worked very hard to keep the group together despite the large crowds and noise levels. 3 All guests were provided a receiver and headset, which allowed each person to clearly hear what the guide was saying, even when not in close proximity. 4 Early access was great moved us into the Sagrada ahead of the massive mobs. 5 Tower access well worth the effort great view of the city, and climbing down the 380 steps Yes, we had a child in front of us counting each step. Ugh. also provided another aspect of the interior.

AREAS FOR IMPROVEMENT: 1 Tour operator needs to provide a second person for the first 30 minutes to help get the group checked in, obtain tickets, and return non-functioning headsets. We did lose time while our tour guide was dealing with all of the issues. She did her best, but there was too much to do for one person. Every minute spent dealing with these issues slowed our group down, and another few hundred people entered ahead of our group. TOUR OPERATOR: if youre reading this, please take action. Get the guides some help to get things moving more efficiently. 2 The group size was a bit large I would testify in court, but I think we had 20 in our group. Not really a big issue the since the headsets that were provided allowed each participant to hear clearly regardless of nearby proximity. Biggest problem in handling the group size came during the getting organized and started phase see number 1 above.

RATING: We would rate this tour 4- out of 5-stars. Worth the extra dollars not the cheapest tour available, but the early entry and tower access are worth paying a bit more. If the tour operator addressed the early organizing phase, the tour would rate a 5-star evaluation. We would take this tour again, and we would also recommend this tour to fellow travellers.

ADVICE: 1 You must PLAN AHEAD. Tickets are limited for entry, and do not count on getting tickets for day-of-admission. We were on a cruise, and we saw a couple from our cruise who did not have tickets for this tour extremely distraught because they thought they could just walk up to the window and get tickets for that day. All of the tickets had been issued in advance, so nothing was available for the day we were in port. 2 Our cruise ship docked at 8:00 a.m., and the tour met at 8:50. Determine your risk tolerance before booking this tour if you are on a ship. Luckily our ship was ahead of schedule and cleared entry into the port very quickly. We were the second couple off the ship that morning, shared a cab downtown cost was 28.00 total, so 14.00 each couple and we made it in about 20 minutes, arriving at the Sagrada Familia at about 8:25. We were lucky the ship was on time, and the traffic into the city wasnt too bad at that hour. We did return to the port via the subway there is a stop across the street from the Basilica, but you may have to take a taxi back to the port from the subway station, depending upon which dock your ship uses.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Sagrada Familia with Optional Tower Access

g_racheva

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

You have to get inside Sagrada Familia if you are in Barcelona, it is spectacular, but I understand that there are other tours offering access to the towers also. this one did not.

Doing what: Priority Access: Barcelona Sagrada Familia Tour

Karen M R

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

After a long walk from the hotel to the departure point, in the dark morning, along unmarked streets, I finally found the place. Then after a no-information, unfriendly check-in, the group walked about twenty blocks to get on the bus! At this point, we could have just walked to Sagrada! Too much time at Sagrada....does not take over two hours to view the church! Less time here would have been better. More time viewing Gaudi buildings would have been appreciated. Atboeadtbtherecwas a decent amount of time and good location in the Gothic area for lunch this time!

Doing what: Priority Access: Best of Barcelona Tour Including Sagrada Familia

heatherrevell

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Sagrada Familia was amazing for the family to see. The tour guide was a nice guy who new lots of information. We did think the tour was very expensive and thought that we could have got most of the information if we had just purchased the audio tour with the entrance fee. 155 for 1.5 hours for a family of 5 was too expensive 2 adults and 3 kids. Tour had at least 20 people on it which we thought was a large group. Headphones did help us hear the guide well.

Doing what: Priority Access: Barcelona Sagrada Familia Tour

Richard United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

I had toured the Sagrada Familia three years ago on a mono-language version this same tour, however the tower was not yet open. I enjoyed my first tour so I signed up to see the construction progress and visit the tower. The completion progress was significant. Unfortunately the tower was closed because of early morning rain, which seemed unreasonable and was a big disappointment. This bi-lingual tour was difficult to follow and the amount of information was limited. This was a disappointing experience.

Doing what: Priority Access: Barcelona Sagrada Familia Tour Including Tower Entry

VICKI K

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The Sagrada Familia is amazing. Unfortunately the audio system used by the guide was very poor. In the end I simply turned it off as it was too distracting.

Doing what: Priority Access: Barcelona Sagrada Familia Tour Including Tower Entry

thechameleon67

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

I thought the cathedral was lovely although not my thing I am only interested in the architecture.
I wouldn't buy tickets through Viator again though because the Amigo person who was our guide was shabby and messed about getting the tickets and completely ignored that we had paid for the so called early entry access instead we got in 20 minutes after everyone else so a complete waste of money.
I would advise you book through the official website for the Sagrada and save yourself money just book for entry and audio you do not need the guide at all and you will experience it far more and not be rushed around in bundles like we were.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Sagrada Familia with Optional Tower Access

Eileen M K

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Good but not great tour of an extraordinary church. This site requires an explanation of the history and architecture of both the outside - a mish-mash of styles, and the inside - a Mon Dieu experience, that should go beyond what one might read in Wickipedia. This tour did not meet that requirement. It was too long on small details and too short on in-depth art history. The tour guide needed better English skills and a priority agenda that would have let us get done in 90 minutes exhilarated instead of exhausted.

The tour started at the Juliet office across the park from the Sagrada Familia church, which was very hard to find using the directions provided in the confirmation email. That should also be improved.

Doing what: Priority Access: Barcelona Sagrada Familia Tour

adina.lipsitz

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

Our booking indicated an 8:15 meeting time and 8:30 departure time. Our hotel staff indicated it would be a 10- or 15-minute walk from our hotel we left at 8:00 AM. We were a group of six my father is 80 years old and moves slower than he used to, but we were confident we could make it before departure time. Unfortunately, what was not clear on the tour description was that the meeting point and departure point were two different places, and at least a 10-minute walk apart. We arrived at 8:25 AM thinking we had made it in time, only to be informed very rudely by the woman in the tour company office that we were late and that we had to RUN in order to make it to the van, which apparently could not make it down the street where the tour office was. Had we known, we would have gone directly to the van, which we nearly passed on our way to the tourist office.

My poor dad was having trouble breathing at this point and we thought he might have a heart attack. He had thought he was in the clear at this point i.e., could finally sit down in the van only to find out we had to keep racing on to the next point AND have this woman make us feel like we had inconvenienced HER day. Along our walk to the van, she engaged in a rude back-and-forth with my sister-in-law, complaining that if my dad moves slowly, we should not have booked the tour. We explained that 1 our understanding was this was a mix of bus and walking tour, and 2 he is more than capable of walking, he just can't walk at a fast clip all around an unfamiliar city for 8 hours straight. The instructions on the booking did not mention that the meeting point and departure point were two different places. Her attitude was, Well, I don't know what to tell you. This was not remotely helpful or professional.

We get to the van and head on our way. The tour guide, a different woman, was more or less fine, but a bit brusque in her delivery and demeanor. After our tour of Sagrada Familia we had some free time and she informed us what time we all had to meet back she made a comment that and as you know, we don't wait for anyone and shot a look at my sister-in-law. Sagrada Familia was not our first stop of the day and we had not been late for anything other than the initial arrival to the van, so we did not appreciate this unnecessary reproach.

If your tours are designed so that you can't accommodate a range of abilities, then they are not well-planned. Do not for a moment make customers who paid 150 a person feel like it is THEY who are the problem. This wasnt about a hiking trip in the Scottish Highlands or a two-day camel ride in Morocco. This was a simple tour of a major European city nothing in the description made any warnings about activity level or health status required.

I can only hope that these two women are shown much more compassion when they are old and frail than they showed my father and our group.

Doing what: Priority Access: Best of Barcelona Tour Including Sagrada Familia

rkjkey

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Our guide was the worst we had in Spain. He was so bad that I ended up with negative feelings on the Sagrada Familia, which was truly sad. We had only two Spanish speaking people in the tour group of 18, so it was a real slow down to have to listen to both English and Spanish. However, it didn't make much difference, because I could not tell if he was speaking English or Spanish! He was rude and indifferent, instead of the usual enthusiasm that the other guides in Spain showed. Very disappointed! An excellent guide would have made all the difference in our experience.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Sagrada Familia with Optional Tower Access

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message