Located about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of Barcelona is Montserrat - the 'Serrated Mountain'. The mountain gets its name from the rock formations which look like they've been sawed and sculpted, the result of thousands of years of wind and rain.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1147 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

rlineweber

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an amazing tour, the winery was just great so old and so much history. Montserrat was well worth the visit. Hearing the boys sing was so much fun and so many people were in the church. A little rain for lunch but it was under cover and very good to visit with our tour partners.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

lexieberger

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This experience was WELL worth what you pay. Our guide was fun, knowledgeable, and super friendly. Montserrat is so beautiful, a sight that really shouldn't be missed. We also loved going to the winery with our group and just sitting down to have a chat with people who have come from so many different places. Plus the wine was delicious. All in all it was one of our favorite days of our trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

danielle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing Trip. WE went for Montserrat which was FABULOUS! But what we really loved was Joseph and the pleasant surprise of the Cava Cave tour! Joseph made it personal and fun. And the Cava Caves tour was by far the finest wine tour i've ever been on with a gorgeous facility, full sized samples and not one, but 2 train rides :

A gorgeous day in a gorgeous location with a skilled guide. We recommend for all!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

paulaleet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour! All of this built in the side of a mountain!! The monastery was beautiful and the views were breathtaking! Our lunch at the winery was so good. and we enjoyed drinking all the different wines they offered. What a great day! Our tour guide was so cute and she was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Julie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I recommend this tour for a unique and beautiful experience. It is a great way to see Montserrat! Our 11 and 13 year old boys enjoyed the hiking portion the best. We went on a Saturday so there the choir wasn't performing which just made for a longer hike! : This tour also gets you to the monastery before the massive crowds so we were able to see the Madonna and baby Jesus without waiting in a huge line!

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

lisasonrisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was wonderful! Our guide, Xavi, was so knowledgable and friendly, from giving us a brief history of Spain and Montserrat to his excellent presentation on wine tasting. My husband and I had a great time, and highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

Carol J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We loved this tour and would highly recommend it to everyone. Everything went like clockwork, the pickup at Catalunya Plaza was perfect. It was a cold, rainy, and cloudy day so we didn't get to see the sunrise, but it was still beautiful and wonderful to be there before the crowds. Make sure you go to the Audiovisual presentation. The boys choir and the adult soloists plus the pictures were spectacular. You can take pictures in the Basilica as long as there is not a religious service going on no flashes though. Be sure and get the free cookies if your ticket includes them as they are delicious. I didn't eat them til we got on the bus. I would recommend buying more as they are so good. If you go on the Early Access Tour, you will find street vendors have set up along the street by the time you leave. They have free samples and the cheese is so good. There's a wonderful feeling at Montserrat and we are so glad we went. Oh, there are hikes you can take which would really be fun, but it was rainy when we went. We would love to go again.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Maria Lisa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a great experience being in Montserrat before the crowd and having the place all to yourself for a moment at least. I thought the free time was just enough. We were able to take the tram up funicular, though it was kind of foggy upon reaching the top, it was still an awesome experience. I would do it again without a doubt.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

arabesque1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was the best, great value, Montserrat is a must see when in Barcelona.
Brian and Kerry

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Ramon C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excelent choice!!!! I fully enjoyed the trip to Montserrat, the views, the church and to learn about all the history about the place, specially about Loyola. Our tour guide was perfect, very kind and always willing to help. The wine tasting and the food ar Oller del Mas was really good too. I really recommend this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

g_racheva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing!. Montserrat in the morning is a quite spectacular view! The wine tasting was quite fun and the history behund the winery very impressive. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Anna R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This was a 1/2 tour. We travelled to the monastery by coach. On the way there, our tour guide gave us some info on the areas we drove by. He gave us some info on Montserrat Monastery once we arrived there. We didn't wear any headsets, so we missed info here and there. Our tour guide advised us on what we should see first during our independent visit of the site. Cogwheel train ride up the hill is a memorable experience.
This is a tour designed for travellers who have little time in Barcelona. We wish we had more time to visit the site itself 90 min. doesn't cut it. There are long queues of ppl who want to see the statue up close, there's a movie that gives you info on the place, there's liqueur tasting, a gift , and trails one could hike in addition to the basilica itself. If we had more time in Barcelona, we would have visited this place on our own.
About the liqueur tasting: no info whatsoever on the liqueur itself. A silent, overwhelmed clerk who doesn't smile serves the drink to visitors.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cogwheel Train Ride

Cap

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Montserrat was an amazing travel experience. The cable cars were not working due to a strike, but they magically opened up just as we started our free time. Views were spectacular. Shared a comfortable bus ride with several other variations on the tour including golf, but we enjoyed the lunch and wine tasting a lot. Got back just in time to do some shopping and dinner before our early departure the next morning.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Nita K United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The guides were amazing and the mountain is beyond belief. You will be sorry if you miss this experience.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Melinda W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour to get to know Montserrat

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cogwheel Train Ride

kowie55

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Like many monuments in Spain, it is better to book a guided tour in advance. For one thing there is so much history to learn and for another, entry tickets are rationed and you need to reach before the crowds to quietly enjoy the ambience. We are glad we booked this trip through Viator, in advance.
The Guide was an Italian-Spanish lady from Julia travels. She coordinated our crowd of different nationalities very well and ensured that everybody was attended to. I think her name was Joanna, but I must apologise if my memory is wrong. On the way she gave many interesting snippets about Barcelona's history and that was a bonus. Her explanations of Montserrat were crisp and good.
Montserrat is a phenomenal place, whichever way you look at it--- it has spiritual significance, blessed by natural beauty and also shows human creativity at its best. The trip is only for half a day, and I felt it was too short a time to fully appreciate the place. There are too many things to do: 1 Take a nature walk in the mountain path 2 Ride the mountain train up and down extra cost 3 Visit the Museum it has paintings by Dali and Monet 4 Visit the Basilica 5 Pray at the altar of the Black Madonna there is a huge queue and you need to budget some frustrating waiting time 6 Listen to the Boys Choir which performs for only 10 minutes exactly at 13:00 hours 7 Taste --- and perhaps buy --- the delicious liqueurs that are made here. We chose to do Items 4,5,6,7 only,because that reflected our priorities. Your choice could be different--- do read up and also take your guide's advice, and then make your choices. My feedback to the organisers would be to extend the trip by one hour, so that we could experience more of this beautiful place and not cut out on some experiences.
I understand that there is also an option to combine an evening trip to Sagrada Familia with the same operator. We went to Sagrada Familia on our own. On hindsight I feel taking the combo-tour would have been better--- for the same reasons I mentioned at the beginning of this review.
Do take some extra clothing especially if your traveling in winter: it can be cool in the mountain. Do take a bag, if your planning to buy liqueurs, because at the liqueur store they only give thin paper covers for the bottles.
I would recommend this trip to anyone visiting Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Melissa T

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Amazing! Our tour guide Vincent was fantastic, very friendly and helpful. Willing to share information about all of Barcelona, but was incredibly knowledgeable about Montserrat! Check it out, you will not be disappointed, the views and the train ride are even worth the trip.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cogwheel Train Ride

Jason W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The overall it was really really worth it. Montserrat is nice to visit but doesn and #39;t really have too much do. The guide was great and had personality. Lunch was a pretry local so I hope you are open to trying new things. Wine tour was relaxing and made fun from the guide. Very dry wine.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Karen M R

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Although this is an interesting mountain location, it is a church too far, did not need to see it, expected more of an attraction, thus tour did not go farther than the church. Cafeteria there was essentially out of food when we arrived late in the day.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cogwheel Train Ride

John B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

Unfortunately the weather did not cooperate, rain and fog around Montserrat. Tour of the church and cable car were nice. Our guide did not give us the option of walking down the mountain or talking the cable car back down. As the weather was foggy and rainy the walk down was slippery and due to the fog we couldn't see anything anyway. I thought he should have given us the option due to the weather. Just got the impression he was try to kill an hour.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

Mike

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

Montserrat is worth the visit. Unfortunately, this tour is with Julia Tours out of Barcelona. Viator is just the booking agent. The tour guide was not very good. She seem to have trouble working with a large group. A family was left at Montserrat when we left and the tour bus that was supposed to meet us at the Train stop did not show up for over an hour. As such, we were an hour late getting back to Barcelona. It was poorly organized but, again, Montserrat is worth the visit.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cogwheel Train Ride

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour was great. Guide was knowledgeable and personable throughout the day. Ample time at Montserrat and a nice lunch and wine tasting. Enjoyed it.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Alisha H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour is sensational!!

We departed from our central location at 8:45 sharp and made the journey to Montserrat. Alex our tour guide was absolutely amazing and one of the most knowledgable men I and #39;ve ever had the pleasure of meeting. He made our day!

The afternoon wine tasting was fab too.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Tracy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great day trip! Montserrat is not to be missed and be sure to get back from wandering to hear to boys choir. Voices from God. The winery is beautiful and interesting and the cava makes it worth the trip.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Erika E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wow.

There are no words to describe how beautiful Montserrat is that early in the morning. Thank you to Jose, our tour guide, for keeping us upbeat, giving us the time to enjoy the tour and provide us with options and suggestions, of what we wanted to do, once the tour ended and we had about an 1 - 1.5 hrs to sight see on our own.

This was my first time using Viator and Amigo tour, but it is definitely not my last.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message