Located about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of Barcelona is Montserrat - the 'Serrated Mountain'. The mountain gets its name from the rock formations which look like they've been sawed and sculpted, the result of thousands of years of wind and rain.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1051 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stephanie G Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We started the tour with a visit to Monserrat which is such a peaceful and relaxing place. It took us about one hour to arrive from Barcelona centre. Our tour leader Oriol was very informative. When we arrived in Monserrat, we made our way to the monastery where we saw the 'Black Virgin' from distance because to go near the statue, you have to queue for long and we did not have enough time for that. We did not take the funicular up to the peaks but enjoyed a nice beer because it was very hot while enjoying the spectacular 'jagged mountain' and monastery.

We then had lunch at the Oller de Mas, a vineyard set in a castle, where we also tasted their wine. Overall, it was quite an astonishing experience. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Tiara F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour - one of the best, if not the best, excursion I have ever been on. Our tour guide, Simon, was super knowledgeable, funny and friendly. He taught us about the history and religion relating to our visit to Montserrat and then switched hats and taught us about the wine-making process and wine tasting at the vineyard. The lunch was surprisingly good - even my picky 11 and 12 year old had no problem partaking in the lunch. The wine tasting was a lot of fun - I have been to Napa, but this was more personal and Simon taught my husband and I things that we did not learn in California! I promise you, this tour will not disappoint. Wear comfortable shoes and remember that the Montserrat Mountain is cooler than the temps in Barcelona!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Joanne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour of Montserrat and wine tasting with our guide Simon. He was extremely knowledgable, courteous, and had a great sense of humor. Buses were clean and air conditioned. This is a not to be missed experience when visiting Barcelona - truly memorable!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

a.tenal22

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Montserrat is beautiful and definitely worth seeing. We liked that we had plenty of free time to explore on our own.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

Narelle Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was a highlight of our trip. Montserrat is an amazing place and having the early access and no crowds is worth every cent. My family moaned about the early start, but when we were leaving at lunchtime, having enjoyed Montserrat without the crowd, they were all thanking me! The choir was on holidays anyway, but keep in mind this tour leaves before they sing. Josef our tour guide was wonderful! He kept us all informed and entertained. Loved this tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

HELEN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a wonderful experience from magnificent monastery in the sculptural mountains to the green fertile valley of the wine growing area of Oller del Mas. A guide with great knowledge of the history of the area but also of the growing and tasting of the wines of the region. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

rcutajar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour and Fantastic Guide. The explanations given by the personal guide were exhaustive from the geology of the caves to the turbulent history of the catalans and their Montserrat Abbey. Would definitely recommend it to families with kids who want to experience something different.

Doing what: Montserrat Abbey and Caves Private Tour from Barcelona

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Montserrat is a must see! It was a wonderful trip, the tour guide and transportation were great.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Sara K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Lovely, small group tour where we hiked the mountain for beautiful views. The guides were very knowledgeable and fun!

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

Steve M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip. Montserrat was beautiful and our guide Laura was very knowledgeable. We had no idea what to expect on the Cava tour and were very pleasantly surprised

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Mary Ellen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip - getting there early and having the place to ourselves was so wonderful. The bus was on time and the English speaking guide was wonderful. Only issue was the tram up the mountain was not working as the staff were on strike. We walked the various paths and went to the museums and it was wonderful.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Lorna I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Trip was very, very enlightening. Time frame too short to absorb all that Montserrat has to offer. Missed our wine tasting opportunity, but would still recommend the trip. Loved the Basilica a lot.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Dadrie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My visit to Montserrat superseded my expectations. A place you have to experience for yourself to understand the breath taking views and serenity combined.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Sharleen D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was a very good tour of Montserrat. The drive was great and our guide Elena was very knowledgable. Our only issue was, her voice was to quiet to be heard much of the time. Speaking louder or use of devices like Quiet voxes would have helped this. We toured all through the church then had 2 hours of free time I recommend you take the funicular up. Not only are the views even more spectacular, there are lots of beautiful walking trails. Almost felt like being on a pilgrimage. After free time we took a bus Down to the winery where we had lunch. The lunch was quite good, and large! The new bus we were on down the mountain did not have working air conditioning 32 Celsius outside, but it wasn't too long. After that we toured the winery and had a tasting of 3 wines. Well done! Here's where the problem came in - after the winery we headed back to Barcelona - on the same bus with no air conditioning! They had over 4 hours the time it took for our lunch, winery tour and tasting where they could have changed out the bus. It was like driving back in a sauna! For that reason alone my review drops to 4 star. It did not end the day on a good note as we were quite affected by the overheating.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Hev Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great trip by air-conditoned bus to this inspiring monastery. A one hour bus ride and you go up a steep climb up the mountain and come down by a cog train. Inside this monastery is the Black Madonna, which you can visit inside the cathedral. You can also take the tracks to hidden caves if you have the time and the inclination. I am not a religious person but I found the experience a worthwhile trip but if you are religious, its a must see I think. Its a beautiful place. Well worth the visit and well worth the money.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

Debbiewing

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

I am so glad we took this journey up the mountain to visit the monastery. It is a very steep climb by bus and train right on the edge of the mountain but the views are fantastic. We stood in a short line to see the Black Madonna. The guides are not allowed to talk inside the monastery so we were on our own. There is actually a little city on the mountain. There is a tasting of four liquors included in the tour. We had trouble finding the location of the tasting but it is in the corner of the gift shop. We didn't have time to do the audio/visual tour. Another half hour or so would have been nice.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

Christopher T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

All good with only 2 small negatives- very nice tour guide, but couldn't hear or understand most of what she said. Between the sound system on the bus and her sweet accent, we missed most of the commentary. We really wish we could have had another hour at Montserrat. So much to see and do, but so little time. Otherwise everything was excellent and we would choose this company again in a heartbeat! It was a high point of our two weeks in Spain.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Ashley W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

When we got to the Montserrat there was some type of festival with dancers everywhere, which was really cool to watch. Our tour guide was very informative and could answer any question you had. We got to walk around the area on our own for a while until going to the next stop. If you don't mind walking a little I recommend walking to the site they found the Black Madonna. Next stop was to eat lunch at a Spanish restaurant to enjoy some tapas. The food was pretty good. Then we got to go to a winery and see the old cellars where they used to make the wine. Lastly, we got to taste some of the wines from this winery.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

LoveTravelling

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Fermin, our guide, was very kind and friendly! Montserrat Monastery is very beautiful if you go early in the morning where few travelers visit it and it worths a visit! Hiking up to the mountains was very good as well! The view was breathtaking from some points and Fermin gave us some interesting info about the history. The 3 stars, goes to the price. If you have the chance to find a bus and very early in the morning go up there, you save a lot of money!!!

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

Sally Q

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Our tour guide was a very sweet girl, but obviously was very new. She did not know the information on the area and when we got there, she did not have tickets for the train ride so we had to take the bus up the mountain. She read some info to us, but seemed confused.
It would be better if an experienced person went with a new person until they learn the material.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

Joseph S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Well worth getting up early to be the only tour group at Montserrat!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Meghan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The perfect amount of time to travel up to the mountains, stroll around, then back. The tour guide was wonderful, and we had a great time tasting the liquors. We really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Mark Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A very nice trip. The guide drove us from central Barcelona to Montserrat in a good condition van. He was very knowledgeable of the history and natural features of the area. He helped one part of the group down the trail and returned to our members who wanted to hike a more technical portion. A highly recommended trip.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

Amar J S A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A highlight of our trip to Barcelona. It's off the beaten track and a must see. The monastery is a beautiful and serene place. There's a lot more to Montserrat than it looks on the photos, so for me 2 hours was a little short but for you it might be just right. Our guide was very interactive and provided a lot of interesting information about the history of not just Montserrat, but of Barcelona, Catalunya and Spain as a whole. We very much recommend even if your trip is very short!

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

Maritza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was an extraordinary experience to see Montserrat Monastery early in the morning when there is no other tourists around. A beautiful place and a most see while in Barcelona!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message