Located about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of Barcelona is Montserrat - the 'Serrated Mountain'. The mountain gets its name from the rock formations which look like they've been sawed and sculpted, the result of thousands of years of wind and rain.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1167 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome tour! We got to Montserrat early and took a short tour with our guide before being given about three hours to explore on our own. This gave us plenty of time to take a funicular up to the top, each a picnic lunch with stunning views, and hike back down to the monastery. We then drove a short ways to a family-run winery where we took a tour of facilities and sampled 5 different cavas and wines. I wouldn't change a thing about this day - it's was perfect. Our tour guide, Julia, was fantastic - friendly, energetic, and knowledgeable. I'd highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

dehuggins1915

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide Sasha was wonderful. We got to Montserrat very early, leaving the meeting spot at 7:15.... which I highly recommend. And even though it was COLD and a bit uncomfortable we were the first visitors and were able to see everything in a non-rushed manner. She was a wonderful guide who was enthusiastic and obviously into the entire spectacular story of Montserrat. I would highly recommend this tour, Montserrat is not to be missed and this is a great way to see it. If you go early in the winter or probably early spring be sure to bundle up!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Alex D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was an excellent way to see Montserrat. You get in just as it opens, which is excellent as you miss most of the crowds. I thought the tour of the cathedral and monastery was just about right-enough information to get a good understanding, but not too much that you felt overwhelmed. It was neat the ride the funicular train, and the hike was awesome.

Our guides were good, friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

Courtney E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour, our tour guide Marc was very informative and fun. He gave us a brief tour or Montserrat's highlights and then allowed for about an hour and a half of free time. I suggest walking out to the cross to take some amazing pics of Montserrat. Next we ventured to the winery. The lunch provided had a ton of food 3-4 apps, main course and a dessert or coffee and was delicious, definitely recommend the sausage plate if that is an option. The wine tasting was fun and informative as well. Definitely recommend this day trip, a nice outdoor escape from the city.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Montserrat is a breathtakingly beautiful place - well worth a visit! Our guide Martha was helpful and informative and we also had plenty of time to do the fantastic walk out to the chapel which I recommend. The cog wheel to the very top was closed for maintenance which was disappointing but we saw the black Madonna and heard the choir sing which was special! And then we had the unexpectedly fun experience of a tour of the cava caves and a generous tasting! A highlight of our Barcelona trip!
Karen

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Linda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a great tour! This was my second visit to Montserrat, but first time to go up the mountain on the funicular. We had time to tour the cathedral, take the trip up the mountain, shop, taste some local cheeses, and even some local liquor. The trip to Oller del Mas was scenic and our guide was very knowledgeable about the area. Lunch was very nice, then on to the winery and tastings. The property, vineyard and castle were just so pretty! After a tour of the processing area, we were taken to a room in the castle for bread, cheese and wine. Perfect day!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Darby F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What i remember most is the spectacular view up the mountains and at the site. The basilica is beautiful. We enjoyed the tour very much.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Holly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. The was a great fog when we arrived at the top, so that we could not see more than 10 feet in front of us. This gave an interesting ambiance - the fog slowly lifted as the morning went on, revealing the mountain side and fantastic views of the basilica. We stood in line to touch the Madonna statue and the boys choir performed as we reached the area in front with the statue. We enjoyed walking around the area and the views on the ride back down the mountain. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Nancy M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Loved the destination. Hated the constant chatter that the guide on the bus felt she need to do the entire bus ride. I didn't rate this back when we went but still remember that she talked and talked and talked and sometimes it was hard to understand her so that made her little antidotes even more confusing. As for the actual sight... AMAZING. Enjoyed the time on our own while there. Great way to see Montserrat.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Daryaneh L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Yesterday, I took a tour to Montserrat through your company. I thought you should know that the guide, Sacha Diago, was professional, knowledgeable, and enthusiastic. She answered all the questions in-depth and dealt with each of us with care. Her enthusiasm was pleasant and her patience was appreciated. It was the first time that I have taken a tour, so I was glad to have Sacha as my first tour guide. Also, the driver of the bus was super careful, which was a good thing on those winding mountain roads. I would only add one more hour to the tour to allow more time climbing up the hill and going to the museum. Dara from Canada

Thank you for providing such a good service.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Michelle D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The tour was nice but we were unable to see the boys choir as they were not singing over the summer. Guides were very nice to us but the hike was strenuous. It took a long time to get back. The views from the top of the mountain were fantastic. The guides were knowledgeable.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

Natalie B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Dear Viator,

During our trip, we had two excursions scheduled by you. The first one was to Montserrat on January 02, 2017. The departure time in our documents was 6:45 am with the request to arrive at least fifteen minutes ahead of time. Being disciplined travelers, we were at the Catalunya Plaza by the Hard Rock Café at 6:30 am and there was no one there. No guide and no other travelers. It was dark, cold, and the streets were empty. We waited for fifteen minutes, and still there was no one in sight. We worried that something went wrong, that perhaps we did not receive an important email from you, or something of that nature. At 6:55, 10 minutes after our indicated departure time, we decided to take a taxi back to the hotel, and call you from there. We were about ready to leave when another traveler asked us if we were waiting for the Montserrat trip, and we said yes. His indicated time for departure was 7:15. All other travelers that arrived shortly had 7:15, and so did our charming guide Sasha. We were glad we had not left, and had a fine experience at Montserrat. Was it a tragedy that our indicated time was a half-an-hour wrong? No, not a tragedy. An inconvenience? Oh, yes, indeed.

Our Sagrada excursion went smoothly. The guide was knowledgeable and engaging.
Thank you.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Todor K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A very well organized tour with everything from the Montserrat visit to the winery experience lunchwine tasting.
We we not lucky with the weather rain, wind and fog... - however the tips from our guide Alex helped us to take the most from Montserrat. An that's why you always have to add the winery afterwards, as it compensates for everything that might have been wrong with the weather :

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

sreeram.shankar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A great trip to the amazing Montserrat, our guides Alex and Albert were great and always helping us, the wine tasting and the countryside was also amazing spots for great pictures, this tour is highly recommended.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Margaret J. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Would have been a beautiful site from Montserrat except that day was rainy and the fog was so thick we couldn't see beyond 10 feet in front of us. The monastery was beautiful and the boys choir was angelic to hear. The black Madonna was a nice feature to see. The second stop was to Cordorniu Cava vineyards for a tour and tasting. Beautiful facility and the tour was kinteresting and educational. Tastings were quite nice with opportunity to purchase additional Cava from the company store.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Randy P Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great day with nice combo of the monastery and the Cava vineyard. At Monserrat, we took the railcar to the top and walked the trail to top of the mountain to the hermit's cave. It was beautiful and few tourists went up there. The many kilometers of caves for the wine aging is very unique. They've been making champagne for 400 years and I think they've got it down : Great tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

scenicwhirlpool

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Good to go early - when we are leaving crowds are coming in
Bring more warm clothing - it can be cold in the morning when you reach
Remember to buy breakfast the previous day, as shops / cafes are not opened yet when you board the bus from barcelona city centre meeting point
Will recommend to anyone to visit this half day tour of Montserrat!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Brittany M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The guide that I had was fantastic! Simon knew so much about the monastery and the vineyard, it was great. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone, Montserrat is a beautiful area.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Carl D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It did not take long to understand why Montserrat came so highly recommended by Spaniards on the plane... Montserrat is so close to Barcelona yet so far in experience. To travel through the serrated mountains, view the Abbey and then partake in a first-class meal and wine tasting tour was a memory only equalled by La Sagrada Familia. The tour was well priced, well timed and has our strongest recommendation.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Janet G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Not usually a fan of group tours, but this was very well organised, small group, plenty of free time to explore montserrat. Nice vineyard and wine tasting. Alex was a great guide.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

rlineweber

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an amazing tour, the winery was just great so old and so much history. Montserrat was well worth the visit. Hearing the boys sing was so much fun and so many people were in the church. A little rain for lunch but it was under cover and very good to visit with our tour partners.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

lexieberger

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This experience was WELL worth what you pay. Our guide was fun, knowledgeable, and super friendly. Montserrat is so beautiful, a sight that really shouldn't be missed. We also loved going to the winery with our group and just sitting down to have a chat with people who have come from so many different places. Plus the wine was delicious. All in all it was one of our favorite days of our trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine Tasting and Tapas

danielle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing Trip. WE went for Montserrat which was FABULOUS! But what we really loved was Joseph and the pleasant surprise of the Cava Cave tour! Joseph made it personal and fun. And the Cava Caves tour was by far the finest wine tour i've ever been on with a gorgeous facility, full sized samples and not one, but 2 train rides :

A gorgeous day in a gorgeous location with a skilled guide. We recommend for all!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

paulaleet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour! All of this built in the side of a mountain!! The monastery was beautiful and the views were breathtaking! Our lunch at the winery was so good. and we enjoyed drinking all the different wines they offered. What a great day! Our tour guide was so cute and she was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Julie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I recommend this tour for a unique and beautiful experience. It is a great way to see Montserrat! Our 11 and 13 year old boys enjoyed the hiking portion the best. We went on a Saturday so there the choir wasn't performing which just made for a longer hike! : This tour also gets you to the monastery before the massive crowds so we were able to see the Madonna and baby Jesus without waiting in a huge line!

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message