Located about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of Barcelona is Montserrat - the 'Serrated Mountain'. The mountain gets its name from the rock formations which look like they've been sawed and sculpted, the result of thousands of years of wind and rain.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1087 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Erika K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great trip! You can zone out and get lost in the scenery on the ride up and back from the mountain. Amazing views going to/from the mountain and on top of the mountain. Great pace of the tour at the monastery. The vineyard is not open to the public! Great surprise for me. You have a private tasting of 3 red wines and really hearty tapas. Our guide was really sweet and had good enthusiasm. Excellent tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

Erika K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great trip! You can zone out and get lost in the scenery on the ride up and back from the mountain. Amazing views going to/from the mountain and on top of the mountain. Great pace of the tour at the monastery. The vineyard is not open to the public! Great surprise for me. You have a private tasting of 3 red wines and really hearty tapas. Our guide was really sweet and had good enthusiasm. Excellent tour. It's not a cheese tasting though FYI.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

Joseph C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A visit to this holy shrine Is a must which cannot be missed. The Basicilia building and interior decorations are simply beautiful. The mountain and views from it are breathtaking. All in all the visit was really worthy.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

M A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide Frances made this experience really wonderful. Montserrat is stunning tucked away in the serrated mountains that inspired Gaudi. I had a lovely time wandering at the top of the funicular. Lunch at Ollers del Mas was lovely, very nice food, free flowing wine and water and then the wine tasting and tour of the winery. A great day out. I returned to my hotel at the end of the day and fell into bed happy and relaxed.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Marion K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A wonderful tour, but should have more time in Montserrat. There was so much to do and we had to race around trying to fit everything I but couldn't. We didn't have time to eat or look at the market stalls and we rushed everything we did see.
The mountains are superb, and so much to do there. Definitely recommend taking the funicular to the top.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Cassandra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A very well-planned, timely and organized tour. The day started off with our amazing tour guide, Marc, showing us Montserrat and providing historical background on the area. Following, we had a decent amount of free time to do any additional sightseeing/shopping/etc we wanted. The lunch and wine tasting was good and also fun as we got to know the other people in our group. The castle at Oller del Mas also had quite an interesting history to it as well. Only downside was the lack of air conditioning at the restaurant on a very hot day. I highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Kathy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic tour all around, Feliciano was an excellent guide. Montserrat was spectacular, and Feliciano had perfect suggestions for timing our free time exploring the grounds. The cava tour was excellent as well, I can't recommend this tour more highly! Definitely need the longer amount of time to see Montserrat, you could easily spend a full day here!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Laura D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I highly recommend getting out of the city and seeing this breathtaking mountain view, well worth the short trip from Barcelona!
The winery was excellent also, we were well fed and drank as much as we wanted!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Warwickfamily

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well worth doing the early morning tour to beat the crowds and get access to the Madonna. The natural beauty of the place is amazing. We saw everything went up the finicular, walked to San Miquel Cross and enjoyed the liquor tasting, and the samples from the market vendors. Purchased the most fabulous Montserrat biscotti and almond biscuits. Thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Jennifer E S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of our best tours. Had a great guide for both places. Montserrat we were give a small tour with our guide and then left to free time, which was great. Local produce being sold there gave us the opportunity to have a picnic. Plenty of time to do what we needed. Unfortunately the boy choir were not there as they leave September every year.
The Cava tour was a surprise. This was really interesting. We were handed to the guide from the Cava House and he was knowledgeable and entertaining. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Daniela S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

GREAT, GREAT, GREAT Tour!
Must do when in Barcelona. Our tour guide was Samuel and he was amazing, very knowledgeable and friendly. We paid for a group tour and when arrived at the pick up location found out we were the only couple booked and were lucky enough to have a private tour. Montserrat is beyond beautiful, the view is gorgeous. The organic winery was amazing, great wine, great people, great buzz too. MUST DO!!!!

Doing what: Full Day Guided Tour to Montserrat and Organic Winery from Barcelona

dbsayers Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Early start but with the sun peaking through the clouds in the morning was very surreal. Shame that it was not long enough. Well worth the experience on the tram up to the top of the mountain the views are spectacular.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Bob S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Marc, our tour guide, was amazing. He combined Montserrat history with its' architecture, culture, and background of religious influences. The site is inspiring and beautiful.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Mark R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was very interesting and worth the time. Our guide was professional, helpful and very friendly. Montserrat is a must see near Bacelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

Samuel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Joaquin, took four of us to Montserrat, a stunning destination. He was quite pleasant and knows the monastery history and current life. Fortunately he also knew to start early in the day, because Montserrat is a popular site. Driving different directions to and from there gave us a chance to are more of the area outside Barcelona. We recommend this company.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

Sheryn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of our favourite days on our 3 week trip to Spain. Our tour guide, Xavier made the day so much more special. He had a great knowledge of both Montserrat and the Oller del Mas winery. A short bus trip to majestical Monserrat. We did the trip to the top on the cable car and got some great views. The lunch was delicious and was a lovely opportunity to meet others form all over the world. Unfortunately the wine quality left a lot to be desired - but that could be just my palate.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Barry United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A very nice outing from Barcelona, in a nice air-conditioned bus. The mountains are beautiful, from any of a number of vantage points. The abbey is not particularly special if you've been to abbeys, cathedrals, basilicas elsewhere, but still worth learning about. The mountain is what called to us, and the tour allowed plenty of time for the 30 minute hike to a wonderful vantage point that looked back across the abbey and the vast valley below. We took the train down from the summit, where the bus met us for our trip back to town.

I was disappointed that the funicular wasn't running to a higher elevation, because of a labor strike. The guide was knowledgable, but somewhat disorganized. She started talking immediately after she flagged the group to come together, so most people missed the start of what she was saying. She also tended to be in the middle of the group, rather than on the edge, which made it difficult to hear her when she wasn't aiming her comments in your direction.

All in all, a worthwhile trip. I would recommend it.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

garye

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic tour run by great people. Our guide Lorenzo was very good and very knowledgeable.

Montserrat is an interesting place to visit and adding in the fantastic lunch accompanied by the estates own wine was our highlight.

The estate could think more about those with disabilities. Add seating.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Miranda D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Xavier was a great tour guide. Very well-spoken and knowledgeable. There could have been less time spent during the lunch portion as that was slightly drawn out. Once the tour of Montserrat was complete a lot of time was spent before the Wine tasting portion and tour of the winery.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Linda L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We loved being able to sit back and enjoy the ride up the mountain to Monserrat. Our tour guide was excellent and we would recommend anyone who is in Barcelona to take this trip to Monserrat.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Helene S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The bus took us to the train, which took us to the top. Didn't really need the train part of tour. Montserrat is absolutely stunning, took heaps of photos. Loved the time we had on our own to walk around here. Spectacular views from the top. Well worth the visit.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

Lisa M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The Cava part of the trip was amazing.The guide at the winery was really funny.Montserrat was beautiful and peaceful with more than enough time to explore the area on your own.We got to hear the choir at 1pm.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Remy K

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Montserrat is an amazing place and this is the best way to access it. However, there was little if any value added by the tour aspect.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Carl K

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Loved the Montserrat part of the tour. Guide was great. What was totally unexpected was the outdoor lunch at the winery with smoking allowed. It was ugly. Winery is gorgeous but everyone was expected to traipse out to the fields, a very long walk out and about in blistering heat. When I returned I looked up the reviews of the trip and this was only mentioned once and on the third page of the reviews. Yes it was fun to cut grapes for some folks but folks who wanted to stay back should have been allowed to do so. We were crawling over fences and walking through dust up to our knees. Totally absurd! Seemed to be a time waster. I would have gladly forgone this and happily awaited the return of others-it was a bit of a forced march. Guide was super and fun and I wish I could have rated this higher.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Leslie S

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The guide was fantastic, knowledgeable, and friendly. The pacing of the tour was off though, and I would have appreciated more time to explore montserrat, and less time standing in a vineyard waiting to drink wines.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message