Located about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of Barcelona is Montserrat - the 'Serrated Mountain'. The mountain gets its name from the rock formations which look like they've been sawed and sculpted, the result of thousands of years of wind and rain.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1184 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

judith m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It was cold and still dark but the early tour to Montserrat was better since there was no crowd in the cathedral and cafeteria. our female tour guide was awesome.explain things with pictures too. enjoyed our tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Sam United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Montserrat is one of the most beautiful places we have ever seen. Spiritual, peaceful, quiet. Must see when in Spain. We took the early morning tour to beat the crowd. Monastery is must visit, breathtaking views from the top. We also paid for funicular railway to Santa Cova then hiked for 20 mins to get to caves. It's highly recommended to visit this place, try to go during off peak times. Our tour guide Sasha was a sweetheart, very knowledgeable local guide but she was too overexcited to explain too much without realising it was freezing cold. We had a memorable tour and we'd like to thank Viator, Sasha, driver and Amigo Tours.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

tonysev

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The place itself is just breathtaking! Sascha our guide was a true professional. Knowledgable, accommodating, super energetic, personable and just a really nice person! The trip felt rushed, but certainly enough time to see the major aspects of Montserrat and left me wanting to return armed with the knowledge I gained from Sascha to explore further. Do it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Dennis L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Montserrat was outstanding and only surpassed by the castle/wine experience that was provided as a part of this tour. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine Tasting and Tapas

Elsie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Best tour ever! We got picked up at Plaça de Catalunya and were on a luxury bus for about an hour while the tour guide spoke about the history of Barcelona. Albert was the perfect tour guide -- so passionate and knowledgeable. He took us to Montserrat and explained everything thoroughly. After a brief tour and touching the Black Madonna, we got to have our own time to explore the gift shops, take the funicular, or hike 20 minutes up to the cross for pictures. It was a short hike and I highly recommend doing it. There's also a cafeteria and some local vendors outside selling honey and cheese. After that, we went to Oller del Mas for a delicious lunch with wine and amazing extra virgin olive oil. The wine tour was in depth and I learned so much about the vineyard and history of the family. We did a tasting with 3 red wines and had the option to purchase any of their wines and olive oil. We did so much during this full tour in 10 hours!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Ruby Rose Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour! Able to see much of Montserrat before the crowds arrived. Sasha our guide was great and even gave us parting gift. Only thing bad was the very cold and windy weather. Will recommend to all my friends.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Beth A P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Montserrat was an excellent trip. On the way to Montserrat, Mark, our guide, gave us lots of great information. It was lovely to see. The only downside was that Mark fell and broke his leg. I certainly hope he is doing well.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

susansung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We booked this tour and so happy that we did! Sasha was a wonderful, friendly and informative guide! She was there to greet us promptly in the morning, provided many interesting facts on the bus ride to Montserrat. She has a great sense of humor and was always upbeat! This was a mother and daughter trip, but next time, I will take my husband and kids!
The Early Access was the best! We were able to get in photos without tourists all over the background. An hour after we were there, did other buses start pulling in. If you love to photograph, this is the tour for photographers!
Loved it! Thank you so much, Sasha!
Susan and Mary-Brooklyn, NY

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

JANNINE R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

AMAZING!
This is definitely worth the price and experience.
First of all, we went in late November when it was low season which I think is the way to go.
More importantly though, we got a whole bus to ourselves there were literally only like 20 of us on a large company touring bus so everyone got their own row and then some, we were the first ones at Montserrat so all my photos look great with little or no people in them. Secondly our tour guide was phenomenal - she didn't rush us, was patient to explain all the history and was very knowledgeable regarding any questions.

Highly HIGHLY recommend. Do it, you won't be sorry!
Inside tip though, be prepared for the cold, it is on a mountain and super cold - 30 degrees with slight winds and a little drizzle

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Evelyn W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Our guide, Sasha, was phenomenal....very knowledgable about Montserrat and the Catalan Region. Her enthusiasm was contagious and she made this a fabulous excursion.. Well done, Sasha!!! The only thing I would change is add an extra hour, as we had no time to hike a bit on the beautiful trails atop Monserrat.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Amy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome tour! We got to Montserrat early and took a short tour with our guide before being given about three hours to explore on our own. This gave us plenty of time to take a funicular up to the top, each a picnic lunch with stunning views, and hike back down to the monastery. We then drove a short ways to a family-run winery where we took a tour of facilities and sampled 5 different cavas and wines. I wouldn't change a thing about this day - it's was perfect. Our tour guide, Julia, was fantastic - friendly, energetic, and knowledgeable. I'd highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

dehuggins1915

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide Sasha was wonderful. We got to Montserrat very early, leaving the meeting spot at 7:15.... which I highly recommend. And even though it was COLD and a bit uncomfortable we were the first visitors and were able to see everything in a non-rushed manner. She was a wonderful guide who was enthusiastic and obviously into the entire spectacular story of Montserrat. I would highly recommend this tour, Montserrat is not to be missed and this is a great way to see it. If you go early in the winter or probably early spring be sure to bundle up!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Alex D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was an excellent way to see Montserrat. You get in just as it opens, which is excellent as you miss most of the crowds. I thought the tour of the cathedral and monastery was just about right-enough information to get a good understanding, but not too much that you felt overwhelmed. It was neat the ride the funicular train, and the hike was awesome.

Our guides were good, friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

Courtney E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour, our tour guide Marc was very informative and fun. He gave us a brief tour or Montserrat's highlights and then allowed for about an hour and a half of free time. I suggest walking out to the cross to take some amazing pics of Montserrat. Next we ventured to the winery. The lunch provided had a ton of food 3-4 apps, main course and a dessert or coffee and was delicious, definitely recommend the sausage plate if that is an option. The wine tasting was fun and informative as well. Definitely recommend this day trip, a nice outdoor escape from the city.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Montserrat is a breathtakingly beautiful place - well worth a visit! Our guide Martha was helpful and informative and we also had plenty of time to do the fantastic walk out to the chapel which I recommend. The cog wheel to the very top was closed for maintenance which was disappointing but we saw the black Madonna and heard the choir sing which was special! And then we had the unexpectedly fun experience of a tour of the cava caves and a generous tasting! A highlight of our Barcelona trip!
Karen

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Linda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a great tour! This was my second visit to Montserrat, but first time to go up the mountain on the funicular. We had time to tour the cathedral, take the trip up the mountain, shop, taste some local cheeses, and even some local liquor. The trip to Oller del Mas was scenic and our guide was very knowledgeable about the area. Lunch was very nice, then on to the winery and tastings. The property, vineyard and castle were just so pretty! After a tour of the processing area, we were taken to a room in the castle for bread, cheese and wine. Perfect day!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Darby F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What i remember most is the spectacular view up the mountains and at the site. The basilica is beautiful. We enjoyed the tour very much.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Holly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. The was a great fog when we arrived at the top, so that we could not see more than 10 feet in front of us. This gave an interesting ambiance - the fog slowly lifted as the morning went on, revealing the mountain side and fantastic views of the basilica. We stood in line to touch the Madonna statue and the boys choir performed as we reached the area in front with the statue. We enjoyed walking around the area and the views on the ride back down the mountain. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Lucie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour! I highly recommend this tour to everyone who is interested in visiting Montserrat. Beautiful and comfortable bus to and from the place.. Beautiful views of the mountains.. Very calming and majestic place to visit..

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Valerie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a fantastic trip, mainly due to our guide, Fransesc. We were a diverse little group who all got along well, and having Fransesc along was like having a friend show you around. We had considered just going to Montserrat, but we are delighted we decided to include the lunch and wine tasting. Montserrat is well worth the visit we skipped the line, and Fransesc gave us a lot of details, but there were a couple of areas he wasn't allowed to go in, such as the chapel of the black virgin. After our tour of the monastery, we have some free time. The more adventurous everyone but us went up the funicular to the top of the mountain. They said the views were spectacular. We elected to walk down to a little chapel, but even that is a bit hair-raising, as you are on a path which clings to the side of a precipitous mountain. We did use the smaller funicular to get back up to the main level, and that was enough for us. After the monastery, we went to the winery. The lunch was excellent, and they were able to accommodate dietary concerns. There were a variety of appetizers, a main and dessert, and it was accompanied by wine. With all the food and wine, we could easily have had a nap, but Fransesc took us over to the vineyard and gave us an overview of the wine-making process. We then proceeded to the wine-tasting, which Fransesc led. The group voted to chip in an extra 5 euros to try another wine not included in the tasting, and we really enjoyed it. Then it was back on to the bus to go home. Fransesc came and sat with us and gave us suggestions for where to buy wine in Barcelona and what to ask for, and answered various questions. This trip was definitely one of the highlights of our two weeks in Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Timothy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent half-day trip! Montserrat is just an hour outside of Barcelona, and the approach to the mountains is beautiful. I recommend the afternoon trip because the late afternoon light is beautiful on the mountains. A must-see if you visit Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cogwheel Train Ride

Joan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We loved our tour of Montserrat and cava tasting. Gloria is an excellent, knowledgeable guide. She has a fun and lively personality! It was snowing the day of our tour. Montserrat looked magical. The cava tour was very informative and delicious! We absolutely recommend this all day tour!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

sfeldine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

If you ever have the chance to visit this area, Do Not miss this excursion ! This was one of the highlights in a 12 day visit to Europe. Montserrat can't be described enough as to its beauty and history, The Air was crisp and cool so dress warmly since the temperature change was about 6-8F lower from the city when the air chill is figured in . The wine tasting was very informative and the lunch was very good .

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Nancy M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Loved the destination. Hated the constant chatter that the guide on the bus felt she need to do the entire bus ride. I didn't rate this back when we went but still remember that she talked and talked and talked and sometimes it was hard to understand her so that made her little antidotes even more confusing. As for the actual sight... AMAZING. Enjoyed the time on our own while there. Great way to see Montserrat.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Daryaneh L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Yesterday, I took a tour to Montserrat through your company. I thought you should know that the guide, Sacha Diago, was professional, knowledgeable, and enthusiastic. She answered all the questions in-depth and dealt with each of us with care. Her enthusiasm was pleasant and her patience was appreciated. It was the first time that I have taken a tour, so I was glad to have Sacha as my first tour guide. Also, the driver of the bus was super careful, which was a good thing on those winding mountain roads. I would only add one more hour to the tour to allow more time climbing up the hill and going to the museum. Dara from Canada

Thank you for providing such a good service.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message