Located about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of Barcelona is Montserrat - the 'Serrated Mountain'. The mountain gets its name from the rock formations which look like they've been sawed and sculpted, the result of thousands of years of wind and rain.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1031 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joseph S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Well worth getting up early to be the only tour group at Montserrat!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Meghan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The perfect amount of time to travel up to the mountains, stroll around, then back. The tour guide was wonderful, and we had a great time tasting the liquors. We really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Mark Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A very nice trip. The guide drove us from central Barcelona to Montserrat in a good condition van. He was very knowledgeable of the history and natural features of the area. He helped one part of the group down the trail and returned to our members who wanted to hike a more technical portion. A highly recommended trip.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

Amar J S A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A highlight of our trip to Barcelona. It's off the beaten track and a must see. The monastery is a beautiful and serene place. There's a lot more to Montserrat than it looks on the photos, so for me 2 hours was a little short but for you it might be just right. Our guide was very interactive and provided a lot of interesting information about the history of not just Montserrat, but of Barcelona, Catalunya and Spain as a whole. We very much recommend even if your trip is very short!

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

Maritza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was an extraordinary experience to see Montserrat Monastery early in the morning when there is no other tourists around. A beautiful place and a most see while in Barcelona!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

agneschg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A good way to see Montserrat if you don and #39;t have much time. The guide was knowledgeable. We got just enough time to see the black Madonna and listen to the boy choir - which was heavenly. Will definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I and #39;ve taken two Viator tours now (other was Malaga to Gibraltar) and loved both. We left on time, guide was great, and the trip to Montserrat was fantastic. The views there are wonderful! The wine tour was also very informative and interesting. Overall a great trip and good value.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Risa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was great! Guide was very knowledgeable but kept things light and fun. 2 hours of free time in Montserrat was just enough to explore. Lunch was great (ton of food) and the wines we tasted were delicious (all reds, FYI). First viator tour and would definitely go again

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Gilles L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wow, what a fantastic day! Our guide Francesco was great! We went up to the top of the mountain with the cog railway, takes about 10 minutes and walked down the south side of the mountain. It took about 45 minutes and the path was paved and easy to walk even though some places are a bit steep. It is well worth it because the views are incredible at the top and on the way down there are lots of photo opps!The visit to the winery was wonderful. We had a fantastic lunch outside at the winery and had tons of great food and the wine was delicious! The views of Montserrat where dramatic from the winery. The wine tasting was fun and very delicious! A great day!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Steven M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour run by Explore Catalunya near Palau de la Musica Catalana. A little hard to find from Metro so leave early.
Bus held 18 people.
Plenty of time on mountain: took funicular up, hiked down, heard boys choir, ate in cafeteria.
Codornui cava tour was great. Took a tram to see the grounds, then another tram down in the wine caves. Tasted two glasses of cava. You can buy a variety of their cava there at the winery, and I've seen two of theirs at Total Wine in California. Codornui guide was excellent: humorous and informative.
Explore Catalunya tour guide was new and not as informative as I had hoped, but she had a friend on the trip and he was very knowledgeable about sites and Barcelona in general.
I gave a tip afterwards, but not many others did.
I enjoyed this day trip and glad I booked it.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Erika H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour of Montserrat is definitely a must do while in Barcelona. Plenty of time to explore, shop, and take the cable cars to the top. Lunch at the winery was leisurely and the food and wine just did not stop. I think we spent about 2 hours eating, talking, and relaxing. The food itself was great!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Kathy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Nice ride through the countryside and up the winding mountain road to the great Montserrat. Truly lovely.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

popo63

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour! Montserrat is simply spectacular, must see! Well organized tour at the mountain with lots of free time. Wine tour was also fantastic, Parés Balta is an and #34;organic and #34; winery, great guide Maria gave us great overview and sampling of the wines.Most amazing part was our tour guide Julia! Merce

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Lisa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Rosa was our trip leader. She was very knowledgeable , passionate about history, tour. Rosa made everyone feel welcomed and comfortable.

You do not have time do do everything however gives you the sense spirit of this beautiful mountain so loved by the Catalonian people.

We will go back. Tx

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

I-shyh O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was so helpful and enthusiastic about the tour. The funicular workers was on strike so we hike up the mountain. The tour ended up to last 7 hours total and we hike for 4 hours to the top of Montserrat and down. The view was amazing from the top of the mountain. We took some amazing pictures. It was my son's favorite tour.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

cfryan1970

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Gloria was friendly and knowledgable! Great trip and fun combination of Montserrat with the winery tour. Even my teen kids loved it!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Tim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guide was very knowledgeable. The tour was well paced and had enough free time. Montserrat is a unique experience .

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

Sue Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great. Montserrat was amazing and so worth going out to

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

patricia g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very beautiful trip! Guide informative and helpful. We had just enough time to explore the beautiful scenery for the Montserrat part, then on to the Cava winery tour. There were plenty of dining options at Montserrat.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Jo Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Beautiful setting, spectacular views, gorgeous church, interesting history. Guide friendly and knowledgeable. Definitely book this early tour. When we arrived it was very peaceful and no lines to see the dark Madonna. There are short trials on the mountain up the funicular but no time to take them.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Johan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was absolutely wonderful but try to not use Laura's travel agency as our guide could hardly speak English and there bus broke down and we were stuck on the mountain for longer than 2 hours and missed our afternoon appointments.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Aviva R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the best trips we've ever taken! Julia, the tour guide, was awesome. Beyond creating a fun, welcoming experience, she shared just a load of local information. We learned so much! Montserrat was just beautiful, we were able to take a walking trail up the mountain. The Cava Trail portion of the trip was even better. We visited Cordoniu, one of the oldest cava makers in Spain I think. It was both interesting and moderately intoxicating :. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Keshet B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was excellent! We had great guides that like hiking and mountain climbing. We had a wonderful 2.5 hours hike with outstanding views. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

Stanley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved the drive through the countryside. Tour director very good at pointing out things along the way, and also getting us from Point A to the end at Montserrat- loved the train ride up the mountain, the views, and the buildings

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

Jackie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had to wake up really early to make the bus pick up, but it was totally worth it when we got there ahead of the wave of fellow tourists.
Our tour guide was knowledgeable of Montserrat and took everyone's need into consideration.
We also love the small group.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message