Barcelona ATTRACTIONS See all

Mountain of the Jews (Montjuïc)

Montjuïc is the hill situated on the southwestern border of Barcelona. The name of the hill translates to "Mountain of the Jews," which refers to the Jewish cemetery and possible settlement there at one time. Home to Barcelona's World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 64 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anthony B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a full day of touring, Nick our tour guide was very engaging and accommodative providing us options with how we would like to spend the day. The morning was spent at Montserrat, while the afternoon was spent in Barcelona. Everyone had different favourites whether it was Montserrat, the view of Barcelona from Montjuic, Sagrada Familiar or Gaudi.
We found Nick very knowledgeable about history and the area, he proved to be a very good tour guide.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

sue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was the best tour my husband and I have been on! It was so much fun riding the bikes through the city and Montjuic Hill. You did not need the electric power of the bike in the city and down the hill. But having it as an extra for up the hills was fantastic! The guide Marc was excellent! He is a history teacher so he really added a lot of history while we were stopped to take pictures along the route. He also volunteered to get my husband and I and he would pose us to get the background perfectly for pictures both using our good camera and the iPhone to post on Facebook. The tour gave us a great views from the hillsides and the cable car. The boat ride was relaxing with breathtaking views. Marc modified the tour a little to suit all guests since we had already seen or about to see the Gaudi Basilica. We saw area much more faster than a walking/bus tour that we did the next day. This is a must tour for young adults, older kids, and adults who like biking or even those who will bike a little. We are in our 50s and the others on tour were older. It was fantastic for all!

Doing what: Barcelona Electric Bike Tour Including Montjuïc Cable Car and Boat Ride

Daniel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The best choice to visit the key places of Barcelona, Sagrada Familia is simply impressive, the old part of Barcelona has a lot of history and the other places like Montjuic and Park Guell are very nice. Transportation, Schedule and Tour Guide were really good.

Doing what: Priority Access: Best of Barcelona Tour Including Sagrada Familia

Jian H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We were picked up from the hotel just outside of the city center on time and dropped off to another hotel in city center after the tour. Great service! Montserrat was a little boring in my opinion. and I wish there would be a stop at Montjuic Hill instead of drive by as the view there was very nice. Our guide Gina is very friendly and caring.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Jaimee H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Felt this tour is a little bit rushed. It does not go to the top of the Monserrat so if you want to go to the top, don't book this one. For the city tour, most is done in the van. We only stopped outside of Sagrada Familia and shortly at Montjuic hill to take pictures. Also not enough time spent at Park Guell. The only good part is the hotel pick up and the stop is close to each attraction.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Janis O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly recommended tour. This was a long, busy day but a fantastic introduction to Barcelona. We saw great views from Montjuic Hill and our guide was very informative regarding the history of Barcelona. We skipped the lengthy queues to enter Sagrada Familia and had an hour inside to gaze at this spectacular cathedral. Also had a guided walk around the old Jewish quarter, visited Casa Mila and Guell Park. A wonderful day!

Doing what: Priority Access: Best of Barcelona Tour Including Sagrada Familia

Paulina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour consisted of two parts: in the morning we stroll around Barcelonas Barri Gòtic and saw Barcelona's Cathediral, the town hall and more. We also visited Pueblo Español and and finished the morning with a cable car ride to Montjuic Castle. Ann, our tour guide, was amazing and had an handful of stories and legends to tell us. We enjoyed her explanations very much. In the afternoon we changed guides and Mark took us to admire the exterior façade of La Sagrada Familia, explore Park Güell, and see Casa Batlló and La Pedrera. Mark was an excellent guide and again we enjoyed the visit very much and were able to learn about Gaudis distinctive architectural style. I highly recommend our tour guides Ann and Mark.

Doing what: Barcelona in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Brendan O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Superb tour. The e-bikes made the tour a doddle. I thought the cycling might be tiring but the e-bikes do 80 of the work. Our tour guide Pablo was brilliant. A real gent. Great variety in the half day tour - see Barcelona by bike, a cable car ride up Montjuic to the fort, cycle around the fort, back down to the bay for a 40-min boat ride, back on the e-bike for a tour of La Sagrada Familia then cycle to the shop. One piece of advice: The We Barcelona shop is hard to find. Its in a tiny lane at the back of the Cathedral de Barcelona. Give yourself extra time to find it.
A wonderful tour and fantastic value for money when you consider that the tickets for the cable car and the boat are included ... plus the e-bikes and the guide's time. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Barcelona Electric Bike Tour Including Montjuïc Cable Car and Boat Ride

Alice Y United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fantastic tour. We were picked up at Plaza Catalunya because our hotel was just a little down on the Ramblas. Our 15 people tour van showed up on time and our guide called us by name! We were the first to be picked up and we went to each groups hotels to pick our group up.

We were given a clear explanation of our schedule and were taken to Montserrat first. This was because our guide Dolsa wanted to beat the crowd of the long weekend. Dolsa is very warm and friendly. Her english is fluent and she gave us great information on our one hour drive to the mountain. We did not have time to explore every trail around Montserrat but it was a nice overview of the place.

In the afternoon, we went to a vantage point on Montjuic, walked around the outside of Sagrada Familia and then to Park Guell. Again, we did not see every corner of the park but had enough time to get a good idea of the place. We were then taken back to our pick-up point.

What made the tour so special was Dolsa. She knew when to let us doze off on the ride, when to give us the photo ops we want, gave great information, minimized how much we had to walk, and took great care of us all around. She actually sounded like she liked the places she took us to, which I cant say of other guides.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Luis P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour was fun especially the cable car ride from
Montjuic. The walking tour could have been a little slower paced. There were people struggling to keep up.

Doing what: Barcelona Sightseeing Tour: Gothic Quarter Walking Tour, Olympic Village and Montjuic Cable Car Ride

Eric C.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Good commentary by our guide for the first part of the tour Barcelona and Montjuic, however the guide for the second part to Montserrat was unable to properly explain things. Nevertheless, Montserrat is worth visiting on your own using public transit.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

4canonmail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Hotel pick up for this tour was extremely helpful. It's often stressful to be sure you find the departure point and arrive at the correct time for many tours, but the hotel pick up feature alleviated this stress.

We were picked up at the promised time by our skilled van driver and Elizabeth, our tour guide. the BMW van was extremely clean and comfortable The tour of the city began right away with items of interest in the commentary.

The visit to La Sangrada Familia was a walk around of the building. That was plenty for us, as we really didn't feel the need to enter the church, although we had heard it is quite beautiful. Gaudi was quite the whimsical architect and his creations are all so recognizable with the certain style he is famous for.

We then made our way to Park Guell pronounced Park Guay and saw the Gaudi created community. It was very interesting.

After that we headed to the countryside for the Montserrat portion of our tour. It was a pleasant van ride there some very curvy roads, however and once on top the air was so fresh and it was beautiful. We enjoyed a buffet lunch for 2 it was 31 euros but was tasty and included all you wanted and more. The complex/restaurant had the most amazing views. The entire complex is very clean and enjoyable. The visit to the Montserrat was well worth the trip.

Finally we drove back to Barcelona and viewed Montjuic by van and saw the site of the 1992 Olympics and gardens that thrive on this beautiful hill. We were all then delivered back to our hotels.

It was a wonderful, stress free day made especially great by Elizabeth whose knowledge of her home city of Barcelona was vast and made the trip very educational and pleasant. I would definitely recommend this tour for Barcelona first-timers as you feel you know the city quite well when it is complete.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

trappa

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a great experience and allowed us to get our bearings around Barcelona. The hill climb to Montjuic was certainly made easier using the e-bikes. Only minus was that we lost time due to one family on the tour that insisted on trying to bring their 8 year old son - not a good idea!

Doing what: Barcelona Electric Bike Tour Including Montjuïc Cable Car and Boat Ride

Paul L

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Montjuic tour was excellent. Our guide was very knowledgable. However Montserrat wasn't that good. The guide was knowledgable on our way up but once we were there, he really had nothing to do. He said ok we're here free time meet me by parking lot at 6:30pm. That was it. Beautiful place tho

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

Tracey D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Brilliant trip with a lovely guide with gorgeous red hair I am really sorry, but I can't remember her name - Jemma or Donna maybe?. Well anyway she was amazing. Her knowledge of Barcelona was incredible and she weaved us expertly around her city pointing out so many things of interest we would have totally missed if she were not with us. We booked the full day tour and I am so glad we did - we had an action packed day and saw the main sights and jumped the main queues especially at Sagrada Famila / Park Guell / Montjuic and Casa Mila. Would thoroughly recommend and encourage you book this tour for an amazing day. We saw so much - you just could not do that by yourself and get so much knowledge. Excellent trip. Will be booking up soon again with you somewhere else.

Doing what: Priority Access: Best of Barcelona Tour Including Sagrada Familia

Donnalit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Definitely worth every penny for this full day tour! Our guide for the day, Rodrigo, was superb. Very knowledgeable about the city and all the sites we visited, and spoke excellent English. Our mini bus was perfectly comfortable and well suited for a small group tour about 20 participants and the driver was skilled and able to get us where we needed to be on time, despite the traffic troubles we encountered. We had free time at each place we stopped and although there is much to try to fit into a 1 day tour, we felt we were able to experience the top sights in the city and get a good in depth overview with the mix of walking tour and driving to the best sights. We marveled at the architectural wonders of Antoni Gaudi with great commentary and detail from our guide, including the Sagrada Familia, Park Guell, and LePedrera, got to see the city from a view at Montjuic, had lunch on our own and time to explore the Gothic area a bit. GREAT JOB and thank you Rodrigo!!

Doing what: Priority Access: Best of Barcelona Tour Including Sagrada Familia

Nelly United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a nice tour. First part we went over to Montjuic where we rode the cable car and were able to see the city from up there. We were also taken around the city to see the major parts of the city. We returned back to the agency, had lunch and then had the second part of our tour. The guide for our second part to Montserrat was really nice, even though he had twisted his ankle that morning, he was still walking around and showing us what we needed. Montserrat was small but is really pretty surrounded by mountains. You do have time on your own to walk around and see things on your own.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

Peter A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A nice drive not the Spanish countryside just outside Barcelona. The train up to Montserrat is good giving some great views over the countryside. The cathedral is well maintained and in good order and worth a visit. The mountains in the area have a rather unique shape.
Montjuic on the edge of Barcelona gives you some good views over Barcelona. The Spanish Village didn't live up to its reputation for us, but others on the tour raved over it, so it's one of those either you like it or you don't places. Overall a good day.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

Ramya

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Barcelona highlights seemed unfinished without even the mention of sagrada familia, park Guell etc., I do understand the difficulty in covering everything in half a day. But we crossed sagrada just by a lane after, and we thought we might have as well went through it. Montjuic was ok. Montserrat was good.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

Helen R F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

The tour was bilingual and the guide's command of each language was less than stellar. We could barely understand the heavily accented English and my husband, who speaks French, said the French part wasn't much better. The tour itself was boring. The walking part at the end of the tour involved too much standing around while the same facts were explained in two languages and the Montjuic portion was too concentrated in the Spanish Village, which is really touristy and not too exciting. This one is definitely not worth the time or the money.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

Laura B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Highly recommend the sight seeing tour for an overview of this large city! make sure though you have another day to go back to the places you have seen during the sightseeing. Montjuic cable car was very quick- 5 minutes - would be better to continue on and go over the water however it only takes you one stop during the tour. Montserrat though is beautiful and once in a lifetime- amazing views- good amount of free time.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

sen.pradipta

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The Montjuic part was ordinary but Montserrat Tour is spectacular. The journey to Montserrat by the funiculor and the visit to Black Madonna is quite thrilling. The Montserrat part should be a tour in itself as that way one can spend more time in the museum.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely FABULOUS tour with Kwan- our family of 5 had him all to ourselves- we saw SO MUCH of the Montjuic side of town that we wouldn't have been able to see without this easy FUN tour. The bikes were so easy and comfortable to ride- we had a BLAST!! Best 30 euros spent touring!!!

Doing what: Barcelona Electric Bike Tour: Montjuic, Gaudi or Bohemian Neighborhoods Experience

kukdai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour with name itself is so inviting and tempting but it is hectic as well. It definitely includes the best of Barcelona. The Gothic quarter, mount montjuic, sagarda familia, park guell, la pedrera all in one day. Imagine, how hectic will it be and how much of walking it will be. First thing get the best walking shoes you have and try to learn a little more about all these places a little more, so you know what to ask your guide. Our guide was good but we ended in to a chaos, because we missed two of the members somewhere during the tour which pretty much messed up the tour. But still This is a long day you may want to divide in two days, to see more details but if you don't have time then this is it. I would have preferred to stay and spend more time in Sagrada Familia which is the best in Barcelona among gaudi's creation. So Take a look at your time before you book this tour.

Doing what: Priority Access: Best of Barcelona Tour Including Sagrada Familia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message