Barcelona ATTRACTIONS See all

Pyrenees Mountains

Between France and Spain lie the Pyrenees Mountains, a 305-mile (491 km) range stretching from the Bay of Biscay at Cap Higuer to the Mediterranean Sea at Cap de Creus, forming a natural border between the two countries. The Pyrenees are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 166 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience. The Pyrenees are beautiful. The stop in Vic I felt was a little long and unexciting, but I felt that the stop in Queralbs was worth it. The final stop is actually a ski resort at the top of the mountain. There were all kinds of activities to do and trails to climb. I did not feel like there was enough time there to hike but we had plenty of time to hike smaller trails. Definitely worth the trip.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Kathleen E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We started out on a bus ride with the Julia, the tour guide to the city of Vic. Julia is bright, interesting and very knowledgeable about the history and politics of Spain. We walked through Vic, had some time to wander on our own, and then headed to the Pyrenees. The ride to the top was exciting with beautiful scenery. Once at the top we were given a good historical overview of the area, told the three places where we could eat and how we could spend our free time. Julia's timelines for hiking were spot on! Unfortunately the food places were closed so several of us were very hungry by the end of long hikes. The top of the funicular is breath taking and I highly recommend it. The hiking was definitely worthwhile!! On the way back to Barcelona we stopped and walked into a small village with very interesting old history. Be prepared to walk! Wear comfortable shoes for uneven surfaces, hills, and mountains. Bring snacks and water!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Haryadi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Views of the Pyrenees is stunning and wonderful. Our guide was fabulous and the driver was excellent.

Doing what: Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra and Spain from Barcelona

T. Jane G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A wonderful day to enjoy the Pyrenees. Our guide was fabulous!

Doing what: Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra and Spain from Barcelona

Kathryn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was very well done. Julia, our guide was very passionate about Spain and in particular the Pyrenees and was extremely informative. As a consequence the tour was very relaxed and the mixed group were very interactive. This made the trip more enjoyable

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Deanna G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a wonderful time on the Pyrenees Mountains tour. Julia was a great tour guide! She was so friendly and sweet. She gave us a ton of information on Spain, Barcelona, Catalunya as well as the Pyrenees Mountains and nearby towns. She also recommended books and the best places to get great Tapas! We thoroughly enjoyed everything about our day!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Tiffany H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great trip to the Pyrenees and would highly recommend this activity to anyone considering it. Every part of this trip was wonderful - from the market in Vic to exploring the streets of Queralbs before heading to the Nuria Valley. We appreciated having time to venture out individually, and our guide was informed and went above and beyond to ensure the whole group had a great time.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

linda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is an excellent all day tour. In Vic, you go to the market where there is everything from fresh truffles to snails, clothes and wonderful fruits. You can buy your picnic for the Pyrenees. The Pyrenees is a great place to hike, hang out. Then you return and stop in a very old town.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Hannah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was amazing to see three countries in one day. France, Spain, and Andorra are all very beautiful. Our tour guide was Enrique. He did an amazing job of making the tour enjoyable. He was very knowledgeable about the history of the Catalonian area of Spain. The place we ate in France could not speak English, but we were able to communicate enough to enjoy a delicious meal. The service was great and the people were very nice. The views from the Pyrenees Mountains in Andorra were breathtaking as well. I highly recommend this tour! Will definitely take it again if I have another chance to go to Spain.

Doing what: Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra and Spain from Barcelona

Aviva R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyed this trip. Our guide, Isi, was a true mountain man and because our group was relatively small, he was able to lead us on a hike up the mountain. It was both fun and beautiful. There are a few additional stops to this tour, including in a town called Vic, as well as a tiny mountain village just outside the Pyrenees where every single moment is quite literally a photo op old, old buildings, in a still-lived-in city pretty cool.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

jva102

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was a fantastic way the beautiful Pyrenees and to step foot in two other countries. Our guide, Ecee, was very knowledgable and spoke English very well. I was more than comfortable with our driver, Antonio who handled the motor coach with ease as we wound our way through the mountains. Loved Mont-Louis, the small walled city and the two hours we had in Andorra. Highly recommended - so much so that we booked another tour with our guide for today.

Doing what: Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra and Spain from Barcelona

Alcia M G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Barcelona was great but we wanted to spend a day outside the city and this tour was excellent. How often do you get to visit 3 countries in one day! Baga was quaint, clean, the most beautiful Pyrenees village...almost like a movie set. There wasn't much in Mont-Louis but its historical value was very interesting and the setting allowed for stunning views of the valley. If you like to shop, Andorra is your stop, but most of it was like any other city so we made time to visit the old part of town. The small group size made the tour much more enjoyable. The van was clean and comfortable. Our guide Sam was excellent, the perfect mix of knowledge and humor...he shared a lot of info but was not an overbearing tour guide...he was great!!

Doing what: Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra and Spain from Barcelona

Peter A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The drive through the Pyrenees has some terrific scenery. The village on the Spanish side maintains some very medieval touches. The village on the French side also has some quaint touches. Andorra is a very modern place. Clean well maintained and compact. It is surrounded by mountains on 3 sides.
If you like Duty Free shopping, this is the best place in the world by far. A pleasant day out.

Doing what: Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra and Spain from Barcelona

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great guide with Veronica. It was a very rainy day and it was snowing in the Pyrenees so whilst we did not get to hike it was still a great experience - especially if you have never seen the mountains before.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Jacquelyn E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great day in the Pyrenees on this tour. The weather was clear and sunny although still chilly. We visited Vic on a day the market was in full swing. The rack railroad ride through the mountain pass to Vall de Nuria was gorgeous and IMO is on a par with the train ride to Machu Picchu. We did some light hiking and also took the tram to the mountaintop. A visit to another medieval town and then a drive through beautiful scenery back to Barcelona. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Chega United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The trip to Pyrenees is highly recommended. The Nuria valley is a splendid sight. The Queralb village seems to be forgotten by time. The only recommendation we have is to allow for more time especially at the Nuria valley.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Andrew A New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Carlota led this trip well. Which was lifted from a great day out to a magical trip by virtue of the substantial dusting of snow in the Pyrenees. The travelling and scenery were a large part of the fun as it is so varied. The villages were nice snap shots of mountain locations. Andorra was more pleasant than reviews led me to believe for a shopophobe like me. Make the most of the few hours there. Take a pack lunch, head to the river and park, admire the surrounding mountain scenery and wander through the historic part. Several interesting sculptures surprise around the town. If you forget to pack lunch there's a supermarket right by where the bus parks.

Doing what: Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra and Spain from Barcelona

Teresa J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

a beautiful time spent in the country side. Joseph was a wonderful guide with a witty personality. The old medieval towns still hold the same charm as in days of old! The Pyrenees are majestic!The best French croissants ever!

Doing what: Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra and Spain from Barcelona

Styliani L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very good guide! Good timing to visit the villages and the Pyrenees. You didn't get tired.Good bus conditions. Yes, you can join this tour and enjoy it!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

TomG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A nice visit to the Pyrenees. David was an outstanding guide. He explained what we were going to see and gave great descriptions and history about each place.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

John E F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very nice. It was an inexpensive and informative way to see new places. The little town of Baga and its history were most interesting. Lovely scenery. Mont Louis was equally as scenic and interesting with its rich history. The breakfast of croissants and hot chocolate was the absolute best. Outside of Andorra la Vella the view of the Pyrenees was breathtaking. The peaks already had a dusting of snow, and it was incredible from a single point to be able to look at the mountains from three different countries, France, Andorra, and Spain. Most memorable. The transportation was in a very comfortable and clean vehicle. It was nice to take a temporary break from the fast paced of a large city.

Doing what: Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra and Spain from Barcelona

pjm6invan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful trip! It was great to get out of the city for a day of hiking in the beautiful Pyrenees. If you take this tour on either a Wednesday or Saturday you will be able to experience the market at Vic - well worth it!
As for Filippo when booking. He absolutely made the trip for our group. He was incredibly well informed and could answer any of our questions about Catalunya's history, culture and language. He was also flexible and offered our group a couple of options about how to spend our time. I cannot recommend him highly enough - great guy!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Carissa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I was hesitant to do this tour due to it including about 8 hours on a bus, but I am so happy that I did it. I mostly just wanted to go to Andorra, but I'm really glad that I got to see Baga and Font Louis. The highlight of the trip was probably stopping at the lookout at the top of the Pyrenees and seeing the beautiful views and free-range horses. You are cheating yourself if you sleep during the ride. On the way up, you can see the ski towns, along with little villages. Then you get to see the Pyrenees, a huge lake, green valleys, the plains, and olive farms. This was one of my favorite parts of my trip, though I do wish we had more time in Andorra. It is worth the price.

Doing what: Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra and Spain from Barcelona

Myung K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Perfect weather, perfect time of year. Good way to see the Pyrenees if you have limited time or don't want to rent a car. Our guide was Mabel and driver Giuseppe, did a great job.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Chrystal S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Loved the mix of beautiful mountain vistas and historic town visits. David was an engaging guide who shared his knowledge and love of the area. We had a little less time to explore Vic than we had hoped due a rainstorm but the trip's plan was one that allowed us to see and experience a part of the Pyrenees that we would have not have pursued on our own. David offered information about Catalan history as well points of interest in and around Barcelona for future touring. This trip was worth the time and money.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message