Known for its nude beaches and sporting one of the most vibrant gay communities in Europe, the Spanish beachside city of Sitges located South of Barcelona  is a Mediterranean haven waiting for any visitor looking to fill in a tan, or just get some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 245 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Margaret R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

David was a fantastic tour guide and driver.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Thelma W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a great day. Great guide, small group and we loved both Tarragona and Sitges.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

charityvp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Explore Catalunya was very professional . Our guides Feliciano and Marta really go out of their way to accommodate and make you feel comfortable especially in that Land Rover : The sights were breath taking. Thank you both for your professionalism and care. We will definitely be repeat customers and refer to our friends and family. Best wishes always!!! The Penas

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Philip K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

An interesting day out after 2 full days on the touristic buses seeing as much of Barcelona as we possibly could. Tarragona and Sitges were lovely places to visit full of history and our guide was full of information and nothing was too much trouble for him. In fact we ate at the same tapas bar in Sitges, which he had recommended and it was excellent. A nice break from Barcelona and only 80 km out of town.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Colin United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Arnold was very knowledgeable about the history of Spain, Sitges and Tarragona. He was very personable and was able to answer questions from the group (i.e., he was not just reading from a script).

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

spunkybunks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was a pleasant surprise. I didn't know anything about Tarragona before booking this tour, and the Roman ruins were top notch. Probably some of the best ones I've seen outside of Italy. The historical core is attractive, compact and easily walkable. It features a nice mixture of Roman and Spanish architecture. Sitges didn't disappoint either! Its a highly attractive beach resort that has a wonderful walking promenade along the beach with some great beach side restaurants. I loved it here, I did not want to leave. I even went back to Sitges for an extended weekend after this day tour. This tour is highly recommended, do it!

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

DCGUY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fun day with the six of us and our driver and guide, David, was terrific with lots of infectious energy and enthusiasm. If you book a tour with Explore Catalunya, see if you can select a tour that he will be guiding. There's lots to see in Tarragona and hopefully the weather will be better in Sitges than it was for us, because it was a fun beach resort.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

TomG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fun trip. Tarragona is interesting with the Roman ruins and the aqueduct is amazing and fun to climb up to. Sitges has a gorgeous beach and great restaurants. I had a lovely meal and walked along the beach. Our guide was excellent and made the trip informative and fun.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Tateanna J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Enrique my tour guide was phenomenal! He was very knowledgeable and humorous. There was also plenty of time to do your own thing. This was the most relaxing part of my trip to Barcelona. The beaches at Sitges were amazing and offered a variety of places to eat and drink.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Aviva R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Loved this trip. Jacob, our tour guide, was a totally upbeat guy who made the trip a lot of fun. Tarragona was fascinating--tons of Roman ruins that are still intact, and lots of history besides. The only downside was the speed of the trip. Because of the time we spent in Tarragona, we had much less time in Sitges. If you're there for the beach, I recommend eating in Tarragona instead of sight-seeing, and then just hitting the beach in Sitges, because all the restaurants in Sitges are packed, so it takes a long time before you have 'free time'. Took a winding mountain road back towards Barcelona - gorgeous views.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Jamie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

These cities are a must see! The aqueduct in Tarragona is breathtaking and getting to walk on it is really fun! Tarragona city was really nice and there are a few really neat things to see in the city while you're there. I highly recommend going and exploring the circus. We didn't go in the church because we didn't have time but the other couple that we were with really enjoyed it. Sitges was really one of my favorite cities visited in Spain. They have a ton of quaint little shops and restaurants and the beach is really beautiful! Bring your bathing suit, a towel, and some toilet paper trust me. Our tour guide Veronica I think was amazing. She did a really great job explaining everything and was very knowledgeable. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Sarah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Joseph was obviously a history buff who knows a lot about the sites we visited. He was awesome! When we went to Tarragona, we were lucky enough to catch the Xiquets on a good day and they showed us the studio where they practice! Sitges was lovely and we made it back home at a good hour. Thank you!!

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Gladys G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Sitges was a delight. Tarragon a is educational. I like that there was only 6 of us so it was very comfortable and easy

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Alessia V

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Tour was great! Our tour guide was very informative and a lovely host!!

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Roger L U

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Excellent day excursion. I highly recommend. Great for history buffs and those wanting to experience some of Catalonia's other cities and spaces.

Our guide was Arnau, a most knowledgeable and simpatico young man who made the trip pleasant and enjoyable! Thank you Arnau!

Tarragona has some of the best preserved remains from the Roman era and is charming in it's own right.

Sitges is Spain's Province Town with all that that implies, very popular with the LGBTQ community as well as other vacationers. Lots of casual restauraunts and a nice beach. We had plenty of time there to lunch, explore, swim.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Glenn J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very interesting tour, our guide was Joseph and he had a great personality for the job, very upbeat and excited to show us the area. Provided history information and was passionate about his home area. Only negative your site said the tour had a four hour stop in Stiges with a 7p return and it was three hours with a 6p return. Since Lunch in Spain is around 2-3p the time we arrived restaurants were busy and it took most of us well over an hour to eat, leaving little time to explore the area. That extra hour is needed.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Josie P

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Tour was.. Ok. Tour guide was new and did not have great command over English. As the day went on, I became disappointed that he couldn and #39;t convey information clearly. I think my experience with this tour company is not the norm based on positive reviews, but I won and #39;t be going on more trips with them

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

bennett312

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had a tremendous day. Six travellers and a very knowledgable, chatty and passionately Catalonian guide, Joseph. Taragona was an amazing place with historical sites well presented and Sitges was perfect as a lunch stop with loads of great eateries. If only it had been a little warmer! Great way to spend the day.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Irene S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The weather wasnt great so we probably did not see Sitges at its best but Tarragona is spectacular in any weather. Joseph was very passionate about the history of the area and the extent of the remaining 1st Century Roman remains. Cathedral in Stiges is also worth a visit. Very good value.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Bruce L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

excellent tour, our guide was just great, this is tour you don't want to miss

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Carole C T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This full day tour was very interesting. David, our guide, was interesting and amusing. The Roman ruins were amazing. The trip was ell balanced with touring and self explore time. Stiges and the little Gaudí cellar were great additions.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

spittingfire

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We were a group of 4. It was a nice day out. We had time to see the roman forum and amphitheater located by the sea. Had an opportunity to walk the roman aqueduct which was very special. Guide was very knowledgeable and accommodating.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Anthony S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Nice tour. Enjoyed seeing some outside towns around Barcelona. Unfortunately due to some major traffic we were unable to drive along the coast from tarragona to sitges

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Donald N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was an excellent tour because of our guide, Rodrigo. and because the group was small. Rodrigo was very friendly and informative. I very much enjoyed speaking with him throughout the day. Tarragona is a much brighter and livelier city than I had anticipated. The Roman ruins are very impressive. I particularly enjoyed walking on top of the aqueduct. Rodrigo also gave us plenty of free time to explore both Tarragona and Sitges on our own, which we much appreciated.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message