Forget Champagne, the celebratory tipple of choice in Spain is Cava and the sparkling wine is sipped at everything from weddings and birthday bashes to an evening meal with friends and family. First produced in 1872 at the Codorniu Winery, Cava was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1090 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lisa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic Small intimate tour that takes you to some great wineries.

Doing what: Small-Group Torres, Codorníu and Jean Leon Wineries Day Trip from Barcelona with Tastings and Brunch

danielle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing Trip. WE went for Montserrat which was FABULOUS! But what we really loved was Joseph and the pleasant surprise of the Cava Cave tour! Joseph made it personal and fun. And the Cava Caves tour was by far the finest wine tour i've ever been on with a gorgeous facility, full sized samples and not one, but 2 train rides :

A gorgeous day in a gorgeous location with a skilled guide. We recommend for all!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Laraine Bob B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was well worth it. Our group of 8 thoroughly enjoyed it. We walked through the gothic quarter and El Born with three tapas restaurants. We had two or three tapas and bottles of wine at each place which were excellent and the best tapas we've ever had. The Pedron peppers were one of our favorites as was the tomato bread. Our guide Michel was very informative and friendly. I highly recommend this tour. It was a worthwhile 3 1/2 hour experience.
Driver was waiting at baggage claim with an electronic sign with our name clearly visible. He was neatly dressed in a white shirt with black pants which is what all all Books taxi drivers wear. Was very couterous and took with our luggage to the taxi. Would highly recommend using this service. 64 for private taxi for two was well worth it.

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Small-Group Walking Tour

Ann E Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide Josep was fantastic! He was not only full of knowledge but he was full of positive energy. Josep has the best personality to be a tour guide as he spoke about just about everything with such passion and enthusiasm.

This tour is something really worth doing. You and #39;ll love it!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

gkhisatake

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Tapas Tour was probably my 30 year old son's favorite tour. Our tour guide, Alejandro was excellent, and the tapas restaurants that we visited were top notch. We got a real flavor for local food and local establishments, plus a nice introduction to the Born and Gotic areas of Barcelona. As a result of this tour we revisited these 2 neighborhoods for further exploration and shopping, and we ate at one of our favorite Tapas Bars that Alejandra introduced us to.

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Small-Group Walking Tour

Christopher S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fabulous tour - great wines and cava.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Honestly, my wife and I have taken a variety of tours bicycling, walking, arichitectural, etc. We've enjoyed almost all, but the tours that we have consistently enjoyed the most are the wine and food sampling tours. This tour was no exception. Alejandro took 7 tourists from around the world Amsterdam, Singapore and the States through the back alleys of Barcelona's Gothic district. We stopped at some fun tapas bars that Alejandro knows and visited some out-of-the-way sites that no tourist is likely to find on his/her own. These aren't necessarily the big tourist sites - they are smaller, more obscure locations with little stories. Great wine. Great food. A fun group. And a genuinely nice guide who we really enjoyed spending time with.

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Small-Group Walking Tour

Chuck

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour! We met our guide, saw a few Tapas bars and tried lots of Tapas. The walking tour helped us get familiar with the area. We would be in Barcelona for a few more days so this was very usefull

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Small-Group Walking Tour

Ronald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The itenerary was perfect, well planned, and really provided us we a true taste of Barcelona! The guide was very informative and paced our travels well. Well worth the cost.

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Small-Group Walking Tour

Elena I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour, a lot of wine and interesting information. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Amelia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really terrific small group tour. We had 6 people on our tour and visited both large and small cava producers and wine makers. Every winery was fantastic, the lunch spot we visited was great and because we were a small group I didn't feel hearded from one location to the next. We really got to experience the region. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Cava and Wine Day Trip from Barcelona

Tracy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great day trip! Montserrat is not to be missed and be sure to get back from wandering to hear to boys choir. Voices from God. The winery is beautiful and interesting and the cava makes it worth the trip.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

mhmyrah Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

OUr guide Alejandro was wonderful. He gave us the right balance of history and current information about the places we went. The wines chosen were enjoyed by whole tour group. It also went a little bit off the beaten path to a part of the old city that I likely wouldn't have gone to.

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Small-Group Walking Tour

Diane D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was wonderful highly recommended. The views and experience at Mountserrat are truly memorable. The wine tour was interesting and the tasting was nice but the mountain experience was our key takeaway.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Scott D L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Olga was superb hostess. Bars seemed strategically cued from least inviting to most inviting, but very good value: plenty to eat and drink, plus a little cultural/historical lesson.

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Small-Group Walking Tour

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide, Julia, was excellent! She was able to give us great information about both Montserrat and the winery, while knowing when to let us have some time to rest in between sites.Montserrat was beautiful and it was nice having spare time to wander by ourselves. We enjoyed the winery tour also.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Setyo B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide, Rodrigo is really an expert. He explained everything for us, specially on Monserrat. Meet a lot of nice people there from US, Hongkong and China. Definitely worth it

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Allan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very good! Very knowledgeable tour guide. Very creative in explaining about the process of the wine making. Delicious tapas! Time well spent and worth investment. Have to say we learned much about history of Barcelona and Spain. We truly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

fgrunner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a fascinating trip that includes mountains, a monastery, and a winery. The tour's early morning start allowed us to see all we could ever want to see. David, our talented and personable guide, was dedicated to making sure we were always informed on the terrain, the museums, the food/shopping options, etc. Suggest that participants come well prepared with comfortable walking shoes.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was nice to visit Pub's that were off the tourist path. We ate samples different local appetizers from each of the 4 places we stopped at as well as wine. We also got to meet the owners of the establishments and some other wonderful people from the area that were regulars. Great food, great wine ,great guide. It was so fun, We had a great time!!!

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Small-Group Walking Tour

Ann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the small group tour to Montserrat. Almost not enough time to complete desired activities, but a good introduction and clearly a must see, must return. Really enjoyed the Cava wine tour and tasting. While our guide/driver offered to take us to another winery, not all participants were interested...UNFORTUNATELY

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

dfsalinas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Montserrat was a great visit! After a quick tour around, our guide gave us the majority of time to explore. There were 8 of us in the tour and the drive out of the city was a little long, so we were glad we did the full day tour and not spend all that time traveling just for a half day.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Jenny K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour of the wineries/cellars was very well planned, organized and executed. Each of the cellar visits was very informative, entertaining and fun, and each was very different from each of the others ..... there was nothing repetitive. The tour leader, Lila, was sweet and did an excellent job of making things run smoothly. Five stars all the way around. :

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Tracie g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Highly recommend this cava, desert, and history tour/lesson. Our guide was knowledgeable, informative and fun to listen to. Truly enjoyed it and we will take her wine tasting tour on our next visit!

Doing what: Sommelier's Cava Tasting in Barcelona's Gothic Quarter

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message