Forget Champagne, the celebratory tipple of choice in Spain is Cava and the sparkling wine is sipped at everything from weddings and birthday bashes to an evening meal with friends and family. First produced in 1872 at the Codorniu Winery, Cava was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1013 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Steven M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour run by Explore Catalunya near Palau de la Musica Catalana. A little hard to find from Metro so leave early.
Bus held 18 people.
Plenty of time on mountain: took funicular up, hiked down, heard boys choir, ate in cafeteria.
Codornui cava tour was great. Took a tram to see the grounds, then another tram down in the wine caves. Tasted two glasses of cava. You can buy a variety of their cava there at the winery, and I've seen two of theirs at Total Wine in California. Codornui guide was excellent: humorous and informative.
Explore Catalunya tour guide was new and not as informative as I had hoped, but she had a friend on the trip and he was very knowledgeable about sites and Barcelona in general.
I gave a tip afterwards, but not many others did.
I enjoyed this day trip and glad I booked it.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

popo63

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour! Montserrat is simply spectacular, must see! Well organized tour at the mountain with lots of free time. Wine tour was also fantastic, Parés Balta is an and #34;organic and #34; winery, great guide Maria gave us great overview and sampling of the wines.Most amazing part was our tour guide Julia! Merce

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

cfryan1970

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Gloria was friendly and knowledgable! Great trip and fun combination of Montserrat with the winery tour. Even my teen kids loved it!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Michelle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fabulous! Dina was a fantastic guide with a lot of knowledge. The wineries were fantastic and tastings and accompanied snacks were perfect. The group size was just right. I totally recommend it to anyone who likes wine and cava and wants to do something a little different while on holiday.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

michelle t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was informative, our guide was entertaining, the vineyards were gorgeous and the wine was delicious and affordable to purchase. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

patricia g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very beautiful trip! Guide informative and helpful. We had just enough time to explore the beautiful scenery for the Montserrat part, then on to the Cava winery tour. There were plenty of dining options at Montserrat.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a wonderful experience, the tour group was small, the guide was knowledgeable, and both wineries that we visited were awesome. I definitely learned things I didn't know about wine tasting and cava production, along with eating some good cheese and tapas.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

spunkybunks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I chose this wine tour over others because it focused on 3 of the more well known wineries in the region. I wanted to be able to try wines from a popular winery that are more accessible at home USA than a smaller winery where I won't be able to find or order bottles from back home. I'm glad I did this tour, all 3 wineries were completely different in atmosphere and taste. It was nice and varied. While on the way, our fun tour guide showed us short videos which give you a quick overview of each winery before you arrive. They give you a LOT of wine to try :-, and you can purchase additional glasses of wines to try for a small fee at each winery. Awesome!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Aviva R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the best trips we've ever taken! Julia, the tour guide, was awesome. Beyond creating a fun, welcoming experience, she shared just a load of local information. We learned so much! Montserrat was just beautiful, we were able to take a walking trail up the mountain. The Cava Trail portion of the trip was even better. We visited Cordoniu, one of the oldest cava makers in Spain I think. It was both interesting and moderately intoxicating :. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Judy Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was great and really enjoyed the wine tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Victoria M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful setting, beautiful atmosphere. 1st stop on the tour was great - lovely tapas and cava sitting in the sunshine. 2nd stop at the castle I felt was a bit of a let down. Only able to try 2 wines , cheese to go with the wine was incredibly small portion for a large group of people.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

Tammy D

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

We did 6 tours with Viator while in Barcelona and this was our least favorite and would not recommend it. First wine tasting should be a more intimate experience and we were on a large tour bus with 40 people. Second it was long and got a bit boring in the end. The first winery is beautiful and I loved Jean Leon's story. The tasting of two wines basically 2 glasses of wine were good and we also tried two chardonnays. The second winery had an amazing tasting of 4 wines and 4 cheeses. The little train that drives you around is great also. The third stop is Caves Frexenet...I loved the cava and tapas at the end. But this tour is just too much...going down 70 meters is cool, but it was so hard to focus and concentrate on the overly extensive explanations in a group of 40 while struggling to hear. It would have been better to walk through and read on our own. I believe this could be so much better if the group was 15 or less and if it was cut down to a 5 hour tour easily done. I have traveled to about 20 different wine regions in the world.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

alan.rawlings

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

A very informative trip our guide was excellent but if your looking to enjoy a decent drink this is not the trip for you.we sampled 3 canvas and 3 wines but I doubt if they all amounted to a 125ml measure of each !!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

viator julie

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

A lesson in reading the description carefully. I thought this was a small group tour, and it was a bus tour. The day started fine, with Jean Leon Winery-an interesting small winery. Bodeques Torres was also interesting. However, the day ended at Freixenet, which we learned makes better cava than the cheap stuff we get in the US. However, we didn't get to taste their good wine- we tasted the Black Bottle Freixenet Negron, which is sold all over the world and is nothing special. Having paid a lot of money for a unique experience, this was a hugely disappointing end to the day.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

jmac United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Montserrat was fantastic. Don't miss the views from top of the mountain. We took the funicular. The visit to Pares Balta was outstanding. Great guide.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Logan Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved our trip! We were hesitant about it taking all day, but it was totally worth it! Montserrat was beautiful and had plenty to do in the time we were there and the winery tour and tasting was fun as well!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

krista.yoakam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Amazing sights in Montserrat, and the winery we visited was fabulous. We felt that there was a little too much time in Montserrat, and we would preferred maybe 45-60 minutes less there in order to get back to Barcelona earlier. Otherwise, we really enjoyed the tour!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Colleen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really enjoyed the winery tour! Although at first deceiving, since one is near an industrial area both wineries were beautiful to visit. We learned a lot about the making of the wine and cava and history of the area. We had a great group of people that all enjoyed each other's company. Lorenzo was a great tour guide!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

Lanette H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was fantastic! I would even do it again if I ever came here again. The trip out to Montserrat was wonderful. And the Cava tour was spectacular! My 17 year old daughter just loved it.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was the best winery tour we have taken on 3 continents. The vehicle was spacious and comfortable. Tour Guide, Dominic, was knowledgeable and friendly. The 3 vineyards differed in age, size and product, providing a cross section of the wines produced in Spains Catalonian region. The choice for lunch was perfect: off the beaten track, hearty country food with reasonable prices.

Doing what: Small-Group Cava and Wine Day Trip from Barcelona

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Montserrat was amazing and the visit to the winery a great way to end the day. Tour guide, Laura, was excellent!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message