Forget Champagne, the celebratory tipple of choice in Spain is Cava and the sparkling wine is sipped at everything from weddings and birthday bashes to an evening meal with friends and family. First produced in 1872 at the Codorniu Winery, Cava was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1112 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dany W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Gloria was an excellent guide! She made the tour something very special!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Laura A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Amazing time! This was a last minute booking for us, but ended up being my favorite part of Barcelona. Alejandro was a wonderful guide, very knowledgeable and fun to hang out with. Very good value for money.

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Small-Group Walking Tour

Mauricio H D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

One of the greatest cultural experiences I had while visiting Catalonia. It's a must-do.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

ye w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The places are amazing to visit, the tour is well organised and fun. We had good time.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Chelsea C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent tour! Our guide Alejandro made it a really special experience he knows a ton about the area and has a real knack for turning the group into old friends. The food was all delicious, and I got to try some things I never would have known to order. Highly recommend making room for this tour on your Barcelona trip.

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Small-Group Walking Tour

William A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Picturesque winery and wonderful Cava. Our guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

Patricia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Super lucky to have Feliciano as a guide again. This tour allowed ample time to hike and see the monastery. Take cash for the farmers market too!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

paulbrewer20

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Had a great time. Lovely wine, cava and excellent tapas. Lorenzo was our driver and guide, and he was very friendly and knowledgable.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

Hugh V United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Lots of fun on this wine tasting tour. We were in a group of eight fun people from the USA, Australia, and New Zealand. The Codorniu Cava tour was a favorite. A great way to spend a very hot day in June in Catalonia.

Doing what: Small-Group Torres, Codorníu and Jean Leon Wineries Day Trip from Barcelona with Tastings and Brunch

Jane B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Our group had a great time on this tour. We had a wide variety of tasty tapas. We had wine served at every stop and would have preferred a beer or 2! Guide was rich with knowledge and fun to hang out with. We would recommend this tour for sure.

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Small-Group Walking Tour

1banshee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide and now friend Alejandro was amazing! Wasn and #39;t the perfect weather that evening, in fact it was cold and wet but we still enjoyed the 3 hour walking tour of the Gothic Quarter. It and #39;s well balanced with 4 stops in taverns/bars and restaurants with drinks and amazing food. It and #39;s a must!

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Small-Group Walking Tour

Amy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome tour! We got to Montserrat early and took a short tour with our guide before being given about three hours to explore on our own. This gave us plenty of time to take a funicular up to the top, each a picnic lunch with stunning views, and hike back down to the monastery. We then drove a short ways to a family-run winery where we took a tour of facilities and sampled 5 different cavas and wines. I wouldn't change a thing about this day - it's was perfect. Our tour guide, Julia, was fantastic - friendly, energetic, and knowledgeable. I'd highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Marla H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We went to three wineries. Our favorite was the smallest one Albet y Noya sp? we sat outside for our tasting and were not rushed. Our guide Ana was great and very personable. The restaurant she chose for lunch was amazing - Cal Xim - and only 29 euros per person, including wine.

Doing what: Small-Group Cava and Wine Day Trip from Barcelona

warren s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Cannot recommend this enough - Our Guide Miguel was great and very informative, took us off the beaten track and no touristy areas Gothic and El Born There is a lot more than Las Ramblas in Barcelona - the Tapas bars we went in were great and we went back to 2 over the next few days La Puntual - El Born our favourite - You would not give a second glance but you must try - Great spicy Hot Patas Bravas ...not the usual junk ..!

A must to do when in Barcelona and we finished the Evening taking Miguel to watch Leeds in a Bar !! ... Cheers Miguel we will be back .

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Small-Group Walking Tour

Robin J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was really great. Our guide was terrific and made the trip seem very personal.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Tom S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

i loved this tour. I guess I was really lucky that day, the weather was so nice and sunny, although it's still winter We had the wine tasting outside the vineyard and there were only 5 of us, which was good and personalized. Then we had lunch outdoor again, which really made the tour so relaxed and memorable. I totally enjoyed this.

Doing what: Small-Group Cava and Wine Day Trip from Barcelona

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Montserrat is a breathtakingly beautiful place - well worth a visit! Our guide Martha was helpful and informative and we also had plenty of time to do the fantastic walk out to the chapel which I recommend. The cog wheel to the very top was closed for maintenance which was disappointing but we saw the black Madonna and heard the choir sing which was special! And then we had the unexpectedly fun experience of a tour of the cava caves and a generous tasting! A highlight of our Barcelona trip!
Karen

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Andrea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great day trip from Barcelona :

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Joan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We loved our tour of Montserrat and cava tasting. Gloria is an excellent, knowledgeable guide. She has a fun and lively personality! It was snowing the day of our tour. Montserrat looked magical. The cava tour was very informative and delicious! We absolutely recommend this all day tour!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Marla H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The tour was fun we went to three wineries. The downside is that it was a bus tour in two languages, which made the visits rushed.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Keely H

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The location was pretty, but it felt a bit like a tourist trap, it was very crowded, long lines for everything, and only one cafeteria open, so no where to get a decent coffee or drink. Our van was trapped in by other tourists so we were stuck there for an extra hour waiting to be able to leave. The cava tasting was nice but also a big group event with about 40 people, not an intimate experience, and they gave us 2 full glasses at the end -- I would have preferred four smaller glasses so that we could do a real tasting and try different flavors. It was all very pretty, but kind of disappointing.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Lisa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic Small intimate tour that takes you to some great wineries.

Doing what: Small-Group Torres, Codorníu and Jean Leon Wineries Day Trip from Barcelona with Tastings and Brunch

Erica D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was excellent. It ended up being just my friend, myself and the guide scheduled to have had two more people. Our guide's knowledge of the city and history were great and he was very personable. The wine and food was excellent, we even went back to one of the wine bars on our own after the tour. The small size of the group really allows for a special experience. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Small-Group Walking Tour

Margaret J. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Would have been a beautiful site from Montserrat except that day was rainy and the fog was so thick we couldn't see beyond 10 feet in front of us. The monastery was beautiful and the boys choir was angelic to hear. The black Madonna was a nice feature to see. The second stop was to Cordorniu Cava vineyards for a tour and tasting. Beautiful facility and the tour was kinteresting and educational. Tastings were quite nice with opportunity to purchase additional Cava from the company store.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message