Forget Champagne, the celebratory tipple of choice in Spain is Cava and the sparkling wine is sipped at everything from weddings and birthday bashes to an evening meal with friends and family. First produced in 1872 at the Codorniu Winery, Cava was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1056 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Thomas H Kramer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Totally delightful day. Visited a small, low production vineyard, followed by a high volume vineyard and finished the day at a wonderful cava facility

The day was was well paced, the vins, cheeses and the cava were all so good. A perfect day!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Eric T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Anna is very knowledgeable, and a good driver! An extra bonus was that there were only seven tourists on this trip. Anna gave us detailed options to explore the basilica, farmers market, museum, hike the trails, where to eat and use the WC and when to get a seat for the boys choir concert. Also has a great sense of humor as did the guide at the winery Pep. Great wine tour as well.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Kathy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic tour all around, Feliciano was an excellent guide. Montserrat was spectacular, and Feliciano had perfect suggestions for timing our free time exploring the grounds. The cava tour was excellent as well, I can't recommend this tour more highly! Definitely need the longer amount of time to see Montserrat, you could easily spend a full day here!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Ryan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent adventure a little bit outside of Barcelona. Our guide was very friendly and informative, which continued with the three guides we met at each winery. The wine and cava were all delcious and only surpassed by the interesting histories and vinification processes of each location. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

rumakinternet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a great time and it was very informative. More eating and drinking than walking which was good as we were walked out that day. Good guide. Had us try things we never would have otherwise.

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Walking Tour in Barcelona

Nancy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Love this tour. This was our 3rd time taking this particular trip. Since we can not buy Jean Leon wine in the US, this is a special treat. Love tasting the grapes right off the vine.

Doing what: Small-Group Torres, Codorníu and Jean Leon Wineries Day Trip from Barcelona with Tastings and Brunch

Jennifer E S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of our best tours. Had a great guide for both places. Montserrat we were give a small tour with our guide and then left to free time, which was great. Local produce being sold there gave us the opportunity to have a picnic. Plenty of time to do what we needed. Unfortunately the boy choir were not there as they leave September every year.
The Cava tour was a surprise. This was really interesting. We were handed to the guide from the Cava House and he was knowledgeable and entertaining. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

monique s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

So much fun! Great wine, snacks, beautiful views, detailed information, and engaged winery guides.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

MS S R P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Well run trip with very friendly guide. Great wine tasting experience but unfortunately not as much tapas as we'd expected.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Lisa M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The Cava part of the trip was amazing.The guide at the winery was really funny.Montserrat was beautiful and peaceful with more than enough time to explore the area on your own.We got to hear the choir at 1pm.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

haysey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was great fun. Excellent guide and great group of people. Not only loved the tapas and wine, also loved the snippets of history and information re local culture.

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Walking Tour in Barcelona

Jorge B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was really intriguing. Our guide knew all the right houses and we enjoyed a wonderful day experiencing the Pennedes region!

Doing what: Small-Group Cava and Wine Day Trip from Barcelona

Melissa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing. Tour guide was very knowledgeable. Wines and Cavas were awesome as well as the tapas lunch. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

Steve M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip. Montserrat was beautiful and our guide Laura was very knowledgeable. We had no idea what to expect on the Cava tour and were very pleasantly surprised

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Lara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really enjoyed both places and would love to go back.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Chanda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Each location gets better and better. To learn about how the wine or cava is produce on-site is amazing. Really enjoyed all the guides they were very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

sandra g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a great time and money well spent. Lorenzo, was a great guide and made the time great with the right historical information. thank you again....

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

FERNANDA H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour was good but i think that it would be better if we had at least 15 minutes more in each winery.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Lyle M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Nice tour guide. Good amount of free time. Good historic context.
It was a nice balance between the monestary and the vineyard!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Lina E

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was a lovely trip, I enjoyed the scenery, the mountains and vineyards, the cava and wine tastings were great.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

Alexander C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A nice way to spend a day. We really enjoyed the lovely cable car trip up to the top of the mountain then a walk round the top and down the path back to the bus although there was a lot of wandering about first and we probably didn't see the black Madonna but were not too bothered!, and don't buy too much at the stalls, expensive and you will never eat it all, take a packed lunch to eat at the top of the mountain. The cava tour was great, we did Codorniu although I believe they do Freixenet as well.
All in all a nice day out.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Donald H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Tour guide added little or no value. I expected a guide around Montserrat. The description was for a smaller tour but still on largish bus. I left the tour half way through and caught the train back to Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Steven M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour run by Explore Catalunya near Palau de la Musica Catalana. A little hard to find from Metro so leave early.
Bus held 18 people.
Plenty of time on mountain: took funicular up, hiked down, heard boys choir, ate in cafeteria.
Codornui cava tour was great. Took a tram to see the grounds, then another tram down in the wine caves. Tasted two glasses of cava. You can buy a variety of their cava there at the winery, and I've seen two of theirs at Total Wine in California. Codornui guide was excellent: humorous and informative.
Explore Catalunya tour guide was new and not as informative as I had hoped, but she had a friend on the trip and he was very knowledgeable about sites and Barcelona in general.
I gave a tip afterwards, but not many others did.
I enjoyed this day trip and glad I booked it.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

popo63

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour! Montserrat is simply spectacular, must see! Well organized tour at the mountain with lots of free time. Wine tour was also fantastic, Parés Balta is an and #34;organic and #34; winery, great guide Maria gave us great overview and sampling of the wines.Most amazing part was our tour guide Julia! Merce

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message