Forget Champagne, the celebratory tipple of choice in Spain is Cava and the sparkling wine is sipped at everything from weddings and birthday bashes to an evening meal with friends and family. First produced in 1872 at the Codorniu Winery, Cava was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1106 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1banshee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide and now friend Alejandro was amazing! Wasn and #39;t the perfect weather that evening, in fact it was cold and wet but we still enjoyed the 3 hour walking tour of the Gothic Quarter. It and #39;s well balanced with 4 stops in taverns/bars and restaurants with drinks and amazing food. It and #39;s a must!

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Small-Group Walking Tour

Amy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome tour! We got to Montserrat early and took a short tour with our guide before being given about three hours to explore on our own. This gave us plenty of time to take a funicular up to the top, each a picnic lunch with stunning views, and hike back down to the monastery. We then drove a short ways to a family-run winery where we took a tour of facilities and sampled 5 different cavas and wines. I wouldn't change a thing about this day - it's was perfect. Our tour guide, Julia, was fantastic - friendly, energetic, and knowledgeable. I'd highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Marla H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We went to three wineries. Our favorite was the smallest one Albet y Noya sp? we sat outside for our tasting and were not rushed. Our guide Ana was great and very personable. The restaurant she chose for lunch was amazing - Cal Xim - and only 29 euros per person, including wine.

Doing what: Small-Group Cava and Wine Day Trip from Barcelona

warren s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Cannot recommend this enough - Our Guide Miguel was great and very informative, took us off the beaten track and no touristy areas Gothic and El Born There is a lot more than Las Ramblas in Barcelona - the Tapas bars we went in were great and we went back to 2 over the next few days La Puntual - El Born our favourite - You would not give a second glance but you must try - Great spicy Hot Patas Bravas ...not the usual junk ..!

A must to do when in Barcelona and we finished the Evening taking Miguel to watch Leeds in a Bar !! ... Cheers Miguel we will be back .

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Small-Group Walking Tour

Robin J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was really great. Our guide was terrific and made the trip seem very personal.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Tom S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

i loved this tour. I guess I was really lucky that day, the weather was so nice and sunny, although it's still winter We had the wine tasting outside the vineyard and there were only 5 of us, which was good and personalized. Then we had lunch outdoor again, which really made the tour so relaxed and memorable. I totally enjoyed this.

Doing what: Small-Group Cava and Wine Day Trip from Barcelona

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Montserrat is a breathtakingly beautiful place - well worth a visit! Our guide Martha was helpful and informative and we also had plenty of time to do the fantastic walk out to the chapel which I recommend. The cog wheel to the very top was closed for maintenance which was disappointing but we saw the black Madonna and heard the choir sing which was special! And then we had the unexpectedly fun experience of a tour of the cava caves and a generous tasting! A highlight of our Barcelona trip!
Karen

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Marla H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The tour was fun we went to three wineries. The downside is that it was a bus tour in two languages, which made the visits rushed.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Keely H

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The location was pretty, but it felt a bit like a tourist trap, it was very crowded, long lines for everything, and only one cafeteria open, so no where to get a decent coffee or drink. Our van was trapped in by other tourists so we were stuck there for an extra hour waiting to be able to leave. The cava tasting was nice but also a big group event with about 40 people, not an intimate experience, and they gave us 2 full glasses at the end -- I would have preferred four smaller glasses so that we could do a real tasting and try different flavors. It was all very pretty, but kind of disappointing.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Lisa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic Small intimate tour that takes you to some great wineries.

Doing what: Small-Group Torres, Codorníu and Jean Leon Wineries Day Trip from Barcelona with Tastings and Brunch

Erica D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was excellent. It ended up being just my friend, myself and the guide scheduled to have had two more people. Our guide's knowledge of the city and history were great and he was very personable. The wine and food was excellent, we even went back to one of the wine bars on our own after the tour. The small size of the group really allows for a special experience. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Small-Group Walking Tour

Margaret J. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Would have been a beautiful site from Montserrat except that day was rainy and the fog was so thick we couldn't see beyond 10 feet in front of us. The monastery was beautiful and the boys choir was angelic to hear. The black Madonna was a nice feature to see. The second stop was to Cordorniu Cava vineyards for a tour and tasting. Beautiful facility and the tour was kinteresting and educational. Tastings were quite nice with opportunity to purchase additional Cava from the company store.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Randy P Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great day with nice combo of the monastery and the Cava vineyard. At Monserrat, we took the railcar to the top and walked the trail to top of the mountain to the hermit's cave. It was beautiful and few tourists went up there. The many kilometers of caves for the wine aging is very unique. They've been making champagne for 400 years and I think they've got it down : Great tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Dave C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We didn't quite know what to expect but the tour sounded intriguing so we took a chance and tried it. It far met our expectations. Alejandro, our guide was exceptional. I'm sure he has given this tour hundreds of times but he made us feel as though he was thoroughly enjoying the experience for the first time. What we enjoyed most about the tour was an inside view of how Barcelonians enjoy a night out on the town with wine and tapas. Walking though all the narrow streets outside of the main thoroughfare, Alejandro showed us historical sites along the way. We tasted a good variety wines and treats. When the tour was complete at about 10pm,, Alejandro helped us and others find our hotels along the walking route. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who can handle the walking and who wants something different from the usual touristy activities.

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Small-Group Walking Tour

Leah R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable. The tour was informative, wines yummy. Dress warmly if in the winter. Very icy

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

Luke G

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This is a great way to spend 6 hours! Very informative and absolutely stunning wineries with a drive past Montserrat which is just breathtaking. The Tapas were ample and tasty, but very basic. The cava was delicious but the red was not to my taste - It was very young wine and quite sweet, but nonetheless very enjoyable overall. You will be very well taken care of with very friendly and passionate guides - we had Alex and he was a superstar! For a great fun day, leaving you a little tipsy you cant go wrong with this. If you are after fine wine and food, then you will need to spend more money - but worth looking at this company for alternatives as they were fantastic!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

danielle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing Trip. WE went for Montserrat which was FABULOUS! But what we really loved was Joseph and the pleasant surprise of the Cava Cave tour! Joseph made it personal and fun. And the Cava Caves tour was by far the finest wine tour i've ever been on with a gorgeous facility, full sized samples and not one, but 2 train rides :

A gorgeous day in a gorgeous location with a skilled guide. We recommend for all!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Laraine Bob B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was well worth it. Our group of 8 thoroughly enjoyed it. We walked through the gothic quarter and El Born with three tapas restaurants. We had two or three tapas and bottles of wine at each place which were excellent and the best tapas we've ever had. The Pedron peppers were one of our favorites as was the tomato bread. Our guide Michel was very informative and friendly. I highly recommend this tour. It was a worthwhile 3 1/2 hour experience.
Driver was waiting at baggage claim with an electronic sign with our name clearly visible. He was neatly dressed in a white shirt with black pants which is what all all Books taxi drivers wear. Was very couterous and took with our luggage to the taxi. Would highly recommend using this service. 64 for private taxi for two was well worth it.

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Small-Group Walking Tour

Ann E Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide Josep was fantastic! He was not only full of knowledge but he was full of positive energy. Josep has the best personality to be a tour guide as he spoke about just about everything with such passion and enthusiasm.

This tour is something really worth doing. You and #39;ll love it!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

gkhisatake

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Tapas Tour was probably my 30 year old son's favorite tour. Our tour guide, Alejandro was excellent, and the tapas restaurants that we visited were top notch. We got a real flavor for local food and local establishments, plus a nice introduction to the Born and Gotic areas of Barcelona. As a result of this tour we revisited these 2 neighborhoods for further exploration and shopping, and we ate at one of our favorite Tapas Bars that Alejandra introduced us to.

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Small-Group Walking Tour

Christopher S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fabulous tour - great wines and cava.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Honestly, my wife and I have taken a variety of tours bicycling, walking, arichitectural, etc. We've enjoyed almost all, but the tours that we have consistently enjoyed the most are the wine and food sampling tours. This tour was no exception. Alejandro took 7 tourists from around the world Amsterdam, Singapore and the States through the back alleys of Barcelona's Gothic district. We stopped at some fun tapas bars that Alejandro knows and visited some out-of-the-way sites that no tourist is likely to find on his/her own. These aren't necessarily the big tourist sites - they are smaller, more obscure locations with little stories. Great wine. Great food. A fun group. And a genuinely nice guide who we really enjoyed spending time with.

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Small-Group Walking Tour

Chuck

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour! We met our guide, saw a few Tapas bars and tried lots of Tapas. The walking tour helped us get familiar with the area. We would be in Barcelona for a few more days so this was very usefull

Doing what: Tapas and Wine Experience Small-Group Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message