You've wandered the cavernous interior of La Sagrada Familia, dodged the hustle and bustle of Las Ramblas, and sampled local fare at La Boqueria market: Now it's time to venture beyond Barcelona for a proper day trip. Whether you seek beaches, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1644 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

KM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Super informative tour guide, he really knew his stuff and was passionate about the country and its history. Tarragona is a must see place!! highly recommend doing the tours that stop in the beach towns, Sitges, only in the summer though, as nearly everything was closed and the time we had to explore was wasted.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Frieda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Tarragona and Sitges tour tour was a wonderful experience for anyone with an interest in the Roman period. Beautiful views and Sitges was a complete complement from forest to beautiful town.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Alan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing trip--especially once you get to Costa Brava--mixing it with the rich and famous--make sure you take your bathers and a towel--beautiful spot--take time to find a cafe and have a meal and a beer and watch the world go buy

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

fatz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was an amazing tour to see Montserrat!!!

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

suemarieklas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Both of our tours that day were amazing. We lucked out with beautiful weather, knowledgeable and friendly guides, and manageable crowds. I highly recommend both Montserrat and the Gaudi tour. If you can handle a 9-10 hour day, do both on the same day. Otherwise, split them up. And don't miss the La Sagrada Familia inside tour!

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience. The Pyrenees are beautiful. The stop in Vic I felt was a little long and unexciting, but I felt that the stop in Queralbs was worth it. The final stop is actually a ski resort at the top of the mountain. There were all kinds of activities to do and trails to climb. I did not feel like there was enough time there to hike but we had plenty of time to hike smaller trails. Definitely worth the trip.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Julie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I recommend this tour for a unique and beautiful experience. It is a great way to see Montserrat! Our 11 and 13 year old boys enjoyed the hiking portion the best. We went on a Saturday so there the choir wasn't performing which just made for a longer hike! : This tour also gets you to the monastery before the massive crowds so we were able to see the Madonna and baby Jesus without waiting in a huge line!

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

Courtney V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I booked this tour for the Dali Museum, not really knowing anything about Girona and Girona ended up making this day more memorable than I could have thought. We spent the morning in Girona learning about its history while walking around the beautiful streets. I was pleasantly surprised to learn that Game of Thrones filmed a lot of last season there and our guide was more than happy to show us some filming locations.
After a nice lunch in the town square we got back on the bus for the drive to Figueres. You get a ticket to the Dali Museum and the Dali Jewel museum. Make sure you hit the Jewel Museum, you wont see anything like it anywhere else. As for the Dali museum, it's what you would think it is knowing what kind of guy he was. The museum is beautifully strange. Take your time and make sure you see every side of every floor.
We had some free time after seeing both museums so we sat out in the nearby square and had a coffee in a prime people watching location. It's a long day but a must do if you have a day to spare in Barcelona!

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

danielle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing Trip. WE went for Montserrat which was FABULOUS! But what we really loved was Joseph and the pleasant surprise of the Cava Cave tour! Joseph made it personal and fun. And the Cava Caves tour was by far the finest wine tour i've ever been on with a gorgeous facility, full sized samples and not one, but 2 train rides :

A gorgeous day in a gorgeous location with a skilled guide. We recommend for all!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

George M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour...well planned. Excellent local guide in Girona. Dali museum very worthwhile.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

comptos46

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great day experience. Colonia Guell was a real find and we had a good guide, walk around the town as well as the really interesting church. Montserrat was also a highlight including the tour of the school and the preferential entry to the cathedral and the Black Madonna. A must do day's experience.

Doing what: Barcelona Day Trip: Montserrat, Colonia Guell and Gaudi Crypt

brenta100

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Submitting this a little late, as we toured in late July 2016. However, because this was one of our most memorable excursions in the Mediterranean, we wanted to give a big shout out this outfit.

Our tour guide, Quim, picked us up in Barcelona. In a comfortable mini-van, we joined another family for the hour car ride to Montserrat. Quim excellent English was a great conversationalist and told us much about the Catalonian region.

Upon arrival, we visited the cathedral, where Quim told us the fascinating history of the Black Madonna, as well as the cathedrals fate during the Napoleonic wars. We then traveled on the funicular farther up the mountain where our hike started.

I cannot speak highly enough of what a great job Quim did. As we moseyed along, unbeknownst to us, we were slowly making an ascent up to the top-most peak. Quim would point out both easy and harder ways to climb, which really appealed to our 7-year-old daughter. He was a great storyteller about the features of the mountain, including the hermit caves, which we got to explore. When we arrived at the top, Quim jokingly confessed that he never tells people thats where they are headed, because it looks imposing, but it really is not. In huge part, this is due to Quims expertise as a climber, and his vast experience guiding groups on Montserrat. We always felt safe, and we were all in sandals! And what spectacular views of the region. So worth it!

The real litmus for this trip was our daughter, who thoroughly enjoyed herself. Quim understood how to keep her engaged and motivated to keep walking in the summer heat.

When returning to Barcelona, I would definitely return to this company for another excursion. Bravo!

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

Kathleen E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We started out on a bus ride with the Julia, the tour guide to the city of Vic. Julia is bright, interesting and very knowledgeable about the history and politics of Spain. We walked through Vic, had some time to wander on our own, and then headed to the Pyrenees. The ride to the top was exciting with beautiful scenery. Once at the top we were given a good historical overview of the area, told the three places where we could eat and how we could spend our free time. Julia's timelines for hiking were spot on! Unfortunately the food places were closed so several of us were very hungry by the end of long hikes. The top of the funicular is breath taking and I highly recommend it. The hiking was definitely worthwhile!! On the way back to Barcelona we stopped and walked into a small village with very interesting old history. Be prepared to walk! Wear comfortable shoes for uneven surfaces, hills, and mountains. Bring snacks and water!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

dfsalinas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Montserrat was a great visit! After a quick tour around, our guide gave us the majority of time to explore. There were 8 of us in the tour and the drive out of the city was a little long, so we were glad we did the full day tour and not spend all that time traveling just for a half day.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Sonya L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A must see for nature lovers, spiritual seekers and those who love architecture, all high in the mountains with spectacular views.

Our first time in a Cog-wheeled train. Riding it, we felt like kids. Our guide was cheerful and informative in spite of the pouring rain. You will feel like you are at one with nature. Even the air smells and tastes sweet, high up in the Montserrat Mountains. The views looking down into the valley below and the unimaginable rock formations formed over millions of years above, are breathtaking.

The silence leading up to the intimately self-contained sanctuary of The Black Madonna was sobering and spiritually uplifting as we walked past the Romanesque carving of Mary and Baby Jesus dating to the late 12th century. Your mind wanders to the pilgrims of past who flocked to see her over the centuries. You are left marveling at the devotion of those past craftsmen who built Montserrats monastery. A historical masterpiece celebrating a thousand years of its foundation as a monastery in 2025.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cogwheel Train Ride

R Silver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

After 10 days in Madrid and Barcelona, seeing all the sights, this was the best part of our trip. I'm in love with Pals. Quiet, beautiful, warm Mediterranean breeze, hospitable people. Costa Brava is not to be missed. Tour was great mix of tour and info and personal time to wander around. Can't recommend this tour enough!

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Ann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the small group tour to Montserrat. Almost not enough time to complete desired activities, but a good introduction and clearly a must see, must return. Really enjoyed the Cava wine tour and tasting. While our guide/driver offered to take us to another winery, not all participants were interested...UNFORTUNATELY

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Brenda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour! The tour also allowed us to see parts of Barcelona going and coming back from Montserrat. But the trip to Montserrat was spectacular and so fun. GO!!!

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cogwheel Train Ride

Gaby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a fantastic time the visit to Dali Museum was amazing .
Also the visit to Girona was incredible and all the details about the movie that was film in the town was and extra treat.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide, Julia, was excellent! She was able to give us great information about both Montserrat and the winery, while knowing when to let us have some time to rest in between sites.Montserrat was beautiful and it was nice having spare time to wander by ourselves. We enjoyed the winery tour also.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Scott D L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Terrific day trip, with plenty of time to do our own thing in both Tarragona and Sitges.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Tracy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great day trip! Montserrat is not to be missed and be sure to get back from wandering to hear to boys choir. Voices from God. The winery is beautiful and interesting and the cava makes it worth the trip.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Nicole L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Had a fantastic day and our guide David was well informed and made our day memorable with his vast knowledge. All the towns we visited were worth a visit alone, but Costa Brava was truly the Jewell on the crown. Stunning. Lunch and an afternoon swim in this picturesque place will be long remembered

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Samuel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Joaquin, took four of us to Montserrat, a stunning destination. He was quite pleasant and knows the monastery history and current life. Fortunately he also knew to start early in the day, because Montserrat is a popular site. Driving different directions to and from there gave us a chance to are more of the area outside Barcelona. We recommend this company.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

Kathryn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was very well done. Julia, our guide was very passionate about Spain and in particular the Pyrenees and was extremely informative. As a consequence the tour was very relaxed and the mixed group were very interactive. This made the trip more enjoyable

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message