You've wandered the cavernous interior of La Sagrada Familia, dodged the hustle and bustle of Las Ramblas, and sampled local fare at La Boqueria market: Now it's time to venture beyond Barcelona for a proper day trip. Whether you seek beaches, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1662 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lorenzina F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Montserrat was spectacular! Wish we had more time to explore. We missed seeing the choir and the Black Madonna.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

Meredith R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We are so glad that we booked this day trip to experience three medieval villages in Catalan! We were staying in Barcelona for five days and while we loved the city, it was great to see and learn about the surrounding area. Our guide Gloria was friendly, personable, knowledgeable, interesting, and accommodating--she was keen to the needs of the group and the individuals within it.

We were expecting to see the three villages on the tour, but we were delighted at the beauty of the Catalan countryside and spectacular views of the Pyrenees off in the distance. Gloria let us make some unplanned stops for photos of the landscape. She knew the history of the villages and of Catalan and we found her knowledge interesting and relevant to the tour. We would recommend this tour to anyone who visits Barcelona.

Tips: We took the tour in January and found that the villages were colder than Barcelona, so wear layers and expect a change in temperature. We also didn't reach our second destination for lunch until 1:30 or 2:00, so pack a snack to eat in case you get hungry between breakfast before the during and the lunch during the tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Medieval Villages Day Trip from Barcelona

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Montserrat is a breathtakingly beautiful place - well worth a visit! Our guide Martha was helpful and informative and we also had plenty of time to do the fantastic walk out to the chapel which I recommend. The cog wheel to the very top was closed for maintenance which was disappointing but we saw the black Madonna and heard the choir sing which was special! And then we had the unexpectedly fun experience of a tour of the cava caves and a generous tasting! A highlight of our Barcelona trip!
Karen

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

elshirkey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Beautiful hiking on the coast and you got to select your own restaurant for lunch. Recommended. We ate paella on the beach in Sitges.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Alex D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was an excellent way to see Montserrat. You get in just as it opens, which is excellent as you miss most of the crowds. I thought the tour of the cathedral and monastery was just about right-enough information to get a good understanding, but not too much that you felt overwhelmed. It was neat the ride the funicular train, and the hike was awesome.

Our guides were good, friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

Frederick W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour took us back in time. We got to see the antiquities of early Spain. The Roman wall and stone streets in Girona were alone worth the price. The Jewish Section was a wonderful experience. Our guide Joseph was an affable chap with a truly intrinsic knowledge of the area. The visits to the city of Pal and other stops along the beach gave us a flavor of life in Spain long ago plus a guide who talked to us about the intricacies of Spanish life today. Great tour...you will not be disappointed

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Amy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome tour! We got to Montserrat early and took a short tour with our guide before being given about three hours to explore on our own. This gave us plenty of time to take a funicular up to the top, each a picnic lunch with stunning views, and hike back down to the monastery. We then drove a short ways to a family-run winery where we took a tour of facilities and sampled 5 different cavas and wines. I wouldn't change a thing about this day - it's was perfect. Our tour guide, Julia, was fantastic - friendly, energetic, and knowledgeable. I'd highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Debbie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

There were 6 of us in this small group and it was very nice. Would have liked to have more time in Tarragonia and less in Sitges as there are more sites in tarragonia. Our guide Marta was awesome!

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Jack A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

One of the most meaningful side tours we have ever taken anywhere. Our guide was able to get the key to open the door of the Jewish Mikveh Ritual Bath in the town of Besalum that goes back to the 11th century. If you know the history of the Jews in Spain, this was extremely moving for my wife and I. Our guide made it that much more meaningful, by accompanying us and sharing the emotion of that place with us.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Saurabh S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very well planned tour. Loved each moment of it. Only problem was food for me being a veggie. People say Besalu has really good restaurants but we struggled to find one with good vegetarian option.

Doing what: Small-Group Medieval Villages Day Trip from Barcelona

Margaret J. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Would have been a beautiful site from Montserrat except that day was rainy and the fog was so thick we couldn't see beyond 10 feet in front of us. The monastery was beautiful and the boys choir was angelic to hear. The black Madonna was a nice feature to see. The second stop was to Cordorniu Cava vineyards for a tour and tasting. Beautiful facility and the tour was kinteresting and educational. Tastings were quite nice with opportunity to purchase additional Cava from the company store.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Margaret J. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful trip to Girona, Pals and Costa Brava on what would have been Thanksgiving Day in the US. Lovely medieval villages and beautiful country side seen on this trip. Last stop was a beautiful town on the Costa Brava where we had a leisurely late lunch looking at the Mediterranean with our terrific guide, Arnu. The coast was rocky and the sea was glistening in the sun. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

KM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Super informative tour guide, he really knew his stuff and was passionate about the country and its history. Tarragona is a must see place!! highly recommend doing the tours that stop in the beach towns, Sitges, only in the summer though, as nearly everything was closed and the time we had to explore was wasted.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Frieda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Tarragona and Sitges tour tour was a wonderful experience for anyone with an interest in the Roman period. Beautiful views and Sitges was a complete complement from forest to beautiful town.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Alan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing trip--especially once you get to Costa Brava--mixing it with the rich and famous--make sure you take your bathers and a towel--beautiful spot--take time to find a cafe and have a meal and a beer and watch the world go buy

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

fatz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was an amazing tour to see Montserrat!!!

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

suemarieklas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Both of our tours that day were amazing. We lucked out with beautiful weather, knowledgeable and friendly guides, and manageable crowds. I highly recommend both Montserrat and the Gaudi tour. If you can handle a 9-10 hour day, do both on the same day. Otherwise, split them up. And don't miss the La Sagrada Familia inside tour!

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience. The Pyrenees are beautiful. The stop in Vic I felt was a little long and unexciting, but I felt that the stop in Queralbs was worth it. The final stop is actually a ski resort at the top of the mountain. There were all kinds of activities to do and trails to climb. I did not feel like there was enough time there to hike but we had plenty of time to hike smaller trails. Definitely worth the trip.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Julie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I recommend this tour for a unique and beautiful experience. It is a great way to see Montserrat! Our 11 and 13 year old boys enjoyed the hiking portion the best. We went on a Saturday so there the choir wasn't performing which just made for a longer hike! : This tour also gets you to the monastery before the massive crowds so we were able to see the Madonna and baby Jesus without waiting in a huge line!

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

Courtney V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I booked this tour for the Dali Museum, not really knowing anything about Girona and Girona ended up making this day more memorable than I could have thought. We spent the morning in Girona learning about its history while walking around the beautiful streets. I was pleasantly surprised to learn that Game of Thrones filmed a lot of last season there and our guide was more than happy to show us some filming locations.
After a nice lunch in the town square we got back on the bus for the drive to Figueres. You get a ticket to the Dali Museum and the Dali Jewel museum. Make sure you hit the Jewel Museum, you wont see anything like it anywhere else. As for the Dali museum, it's what you would think it is knowing what kind of guy he was. The museum is beautifully strange. Take your time and make sure you see every side of every floor.
We had some free time after seeing both museums so we sat out in the nearby square and had a coffee in a prime people watching location. It's a long day but a must do if you have a day to spare in Barcelona!

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

danielle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing Trip. WE went for Montserrat which was FABULOUS! But what we really loved was Joseph and the pleasant surprise of the Cava Cave tour! Joseph made it personal and fun. And the Cava Caves tour was by far the finest wine tour i've ever been on with a gorgeous facility, full sized samples and not one, but 2 train rides :

A gorgeous day in a gorgeous location with a skilled guide. We recommend for all!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

George M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour...well planned. Excellent local guide in Girona. Dali museum very worthwhile.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

comptos46

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great day experience. Colonia Guell was a real find and we had a good guide, walk around the town as well as the really interesting church. Montserrat was also a highlight including the tour of the school and the preferential entry to the cathedral and the Black Madonna. A must do day's experience.

Doing what: Barcelona Day Trip: Montserrat, Colonia Guell, and Gaudi Crypt

brenta100

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Submitting this a little late, as we toured in late July 2016. However, because this was one of our most memorable excursions in the Mediterranean, we wanted to give a big shout out this outfit.

Our tour guide, Quim, picked us up in Barcelona. In a comfortable mini-van, we joined another family for the hour car ride to Montserrat. Quim excellent English was a great conversationalist and told us much about the Catalonian region.

Upon arrival, we visited the cathedral, where Quim told us the fascinating history of the Black Madonna, as well as the cathedrals fate during the Napoleonic wars. We then traveled on the funicular farther up the mountain where our hike started.

I cannot speak highly enough of what a great job Quim did. As we moseyed along, unbeknownst to us, we were slowly making an ascent up to the top-most peak. Quim would point out both easy and harder ways to climb, which really appealed to our 7-year-old daughter. He was a great storyteller about the features of the mountain, including the hermit caves, which we got to explore. When we arrived at the top, Quim jokingly confessed that he never tells people thats where they are headed, because it looks imposing, but it really is not. In huge part, this is due to Quims expertise as a climber, and his vast experience guiding groups on Montserrat. We always felt safe, and we were all in sandals! And what spectacular views of the region. So worth it!

The real litmus for this trip was our daughter, who thoroughly enjoyed herself. Quim understood how to keep her engaged and motivated to keep walking in the summer heat.

When returning to Barcelona, I would definitely return to this company for another excursion. Bravo!

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

Kathleen E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We started out on a bus ride with the Julia, the tour guide to the city of Vic. Julia is bright, interesting and very knowledgeable about the history and politics of Spain. We walked through Vic, had some time to wander on our own, and then headed to the Pyrenees. The ride to the top was exciting with beautiful scenery. Once at the top we were given a good historical overview of the area, told the three places where we could eat and how we could spend our free time. Julia's timelines for hiking were spot on! Unfortunately the food places were closed so several of us were very hungry by the end of long hikes. The top of the funicular is breath taking and I highly recommend it. The hiking was definitely worthwhile!! On the way back to Barcelona we stopped and walked into a small village with very interesting old history. Be prepared to walk! Wear comfortable shoes for uneven surfaces, hills, and mountains. Bring snacks and water!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message