You've wandered the cavernous interior of La Sagrada Familia, dodged the hustle and bustle of Las Ramblas, and sampled local fare at La Boqueria market: Now it's time to venture beyond Barcelona for a proper day trip. Whether you seek beaches, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1675 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Tarragona - AMAZING is the only thing to say about this trip! I totally recommend it for anyone with a love of history! Walking around the actual gladiator pit and stepping on the market steps where Romans once were is just truly the coolest thing ever! Sitges is the cutest town on the beach side and another great way to wrap up the tour!

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small-Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Lynnette N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Despite the awful weather, our guide made the most of this day. Loved the old city of Girona, I'm now watching S6 GoT again to recognise parts of the town. It would be spectacular in better weather. Pals and Costa Brava lovely, and the restaurant, La Vela was happy for us to wile away the time there with a yummy lunch of char grilled fish and a glass of vino. Our guide wisely assumed we'd all be happy to get back to Barcelona a little earlier due to weather.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Beth A P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Montserrat was an excellent trip. On the way to Montserrat, Mark, our guide, gave us lots of great information. It was lovely to see. The only downside was that Mark fell and broke his leg. I certainly hope he is doing well.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Katherine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our excellent guide Nico he was our guide the previous day as well took us on an unforgettable day tour of three villages outside of Barcelona. There were only four of us on the tour so it felt like a private tour. HIghlights included a picturesque Romanesque bridge in Besalu, charming Rupit with streets made of lava and best four course lunch ever! and sublime Tavertet, situated on the edge of a basalt cliff. We would have never visited these towns on our own. The was an outstanding tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Medieval Villages Day Trip from Barcelona

glenn k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our small group to Tarragona and Sitges consisted of only my wife, myself, and our guide Arnold. This was by far the most personal tour we have ever been on. The Roman ruins are absolutely amazing and the aquaduct is truly a site to behold. It is in fantastic condition and the walk there is not too far. However, there are areas you need to be careful when walking. Our guide was extremely familiar with the history of the Romans in this region and had sufficient visual aids to assist in our understanding. While in Tarragona on our own we visited the history museum of the old Roman Circus and it was really good and cost only five euro. We also enjoyed Sitges and had a late lunch at a very good restaurant Arnold recommended. Walking around in both of these old historic seaside towns was a lot of fun and we were quite pleased with the entire experience.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small-Group Day Trip from Barcelona

glenn k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our small group visit to Besalu, Rupit, and Tavertet was absolutely incredible. Anna, our guide, did a really wonderful job explaining the history of each town and allowed us plenty of time to roam the town on our own with a map. Each of the medieval towns is very clean and extremely well maintained. Especially enjoyed Besalu and was able take a number of good pictures. The drive through the mountains to Rupit is picturesque and once there we enjoyed crossing the wooden bridge that will only accommodate 10 people or less at one tome. We also enjoyed the restaurant In Rupit that Anna recommended to the group. Even though the tour was in February the weather was accommodating as it was sunny but windy. The last stop was in Tavertet and while the town is very small and the time spent there was minimal the view of the mountains and ravines was truly spectacular. I would highly recommend this tour. As my wife was under the weather during the tour, Anna was extremely kind and went beyond the call of duty by assisting her with medication needed to purchase at a local pharmacy.

Doing what: Small-Group Medieval Villages Day Trip from Barcelona

Sonia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Not only was this one of the best days of our honeymoon, but one of the best days of my LIFE! The hike into the Pyrenees was mindblowing and beautiful. Our guide was super prepared and friendly, and she organized the day beautifully. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Joan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We loved our tour of Montserrat and cava tasting. Gloria is an excellent, knowledgeable guide. She has a fun and lively personality! It was snowing the day of our tour. Montserrat looked magical. The cava tour was very informative and delicious! We absolutely recommend this all day tour!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Timothy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent half-day trip! Montserrat is just an hour outside of Barcelona, and the approach to the mountains is beautiful. I recommend the afternoon trip because the late afternoon light is beautiful on the mountains. A must-see if you visit Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cogwheel Train Ride

Kimdrago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a great time on these tours. For both Montserrat and Gaudi, each guide was very knowledgeable and enjoyable to follow along with. In Montserrat, enjoyed the chance to explore on our own as well. I cannot remember the name of our Gaudi tour guide, but she was fantastic clearly passionate about the works she speaks to.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

Lorenzina F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Montserrat was spectacular! Wish we had more time to explore. We missed seeing the choir and the Black Madonna.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

Meredith R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We are so glad that we booked this day trip to experience three medieval villages in Catalan! We were staying in Barcelona for five days and while we loved the city, it was great to see and learn about the surrounding area. Our guide Gloria was friendly, personable, knowledgeable, interesting, and accommodating--she was keen to the needs of the group and the individuals within it.

We were expecting to see the three villages on the tour, but we were delighted at the beauty of the Catalan countryside and spectacular views of the Pyrenees off in the distance. Gloria let us make some unplanned stops for photos of the landscape. She knew the history of the villages and of Catalan and we found her knowledge interesting and relevant to the tour. We would recommend this tour to anyone who visits Barcelona.

Tips: We took the tour in January and found that the villages were colder than Barcelona, so wear layers and expect a change in temperature. We also didn't reach our second destination for lunch until 1:30 or 2:00, so pack a snack to eat in case you get hungry between breakfast before the during and the lunch during the tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Medieval Villages Day Trip from Barcelona

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Montserrat is a breathtakingly beautiful place - well worth a visit! Our guide Martha was helpful and informative and we also had plenty of time to do the fantastic walk out to the chapel which I recommend. The cog wheel to the very top was closed for maintenance which was disappointing but we saw the black Madonna and heard the choir sing which was special! And then we had the unexpectedly fun experience of a tour of the cava caves and a generous tasting! A highlight of our Barcelona trip!
Karen

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

elshirkey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Beautiful hiking on the coast and you got to select your own restaurant for lunch. Recommended. We ate paella on the beach in Sitges.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small-Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Alex D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was an excellent way to see Montserrat. You get in just as it opens, which is excellent as you miss most of the crowds. I thought the tour of the cathedral and monastery was just about right-enough information to get a good understanding, but not too much that you felt overwhelmed. It was neat the ride the funicular train, and the hike was awesome.

Our guides were good, friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

Frederick W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour took us back in time. We got to see the antiquities of early Spain. The Roman wall and stone streets in Girona were alone worth the price. The Jewish Section was a wonderful experience. Our guide Joseph was an affable chap with a truly intrinsic knowledge of the area. The visits to the city of Pal and other stops along the beach gave us a flavor of life in Spain long ago plus a guide who talked to us about the intricacies of Spanish life today. Great tour...you will not be disappointed

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Amy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome tour! We got to Montserrat early and took a short tour with our guide before being given about three hours to explore on our own. This gave us plenty of time to take a funicular up to the top, each a picnic lunch with stunning views, and hike back down to the monastery. We then drove a short ways to a family-run winery where we took a tour of facilities and sampled 5 different cavas and wines. I wouldn't change a thing about this day - it's was perfect. Our tour guide, Julia, was fantastic - friendly, energetic, and knowledgeable. I'd highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Debbie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

There were 6 of us in this small group and it was very nice. Would have liked to have more time in Tarragonia and less in Sitges as there are more sites in tarragonia. Our guide Marta was awesome!

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small-Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Jack A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

One of the most meaningful side tours we have ever taken anywhere. Our guide was able to get the key to open the door of the Jewish Mikveh Ritual Bath in the town of Besalum that goes back to the 11th century. If you know the history of the Jews in Spain, this was extremely moving for my wife and I. Our guide made it that much more meaningful, by accompanying us and sharing the emotion of that place with us.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small-Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Saurabh S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very well planned tour. Loved each moment of it. Only problem was food for me being a veggie. People say Besalu has really good restaurants but we struggled to find one with good vegetarian option.

Doing what: Small-Group Medieval Villages Day Trip from Barcelona

Margaret J. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Would have been a beautiful site from Montserrat except that day was rainy and the fog was so thick we couldn't see beyond 10 feet in front of us. The monastery was beautiful and the boys choir was angelic to hear. The black Madonna was a nice feature to see. The second stop was to Cordorniu Cava vineyards for a tour and tasting. Beautiful facility and the tour was kinteresting and educational. Tastings were quite nice with opportunity to purchase additional Cava from the company store.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Margaret J. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful trip to Girona, Pals and Costa Brava on what would have been Thanksgiving Day in the US. Lovely medieval villages and beautiful country side seen on this trip. Last stop was a beautiful town on the Costa Brava where we had a leisurely late lunch looking at the Mediterranean with our terrific guide, Arnu. The coast was rocky and the sea was glistening in the sun. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

KM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Super informative tour guide, he really knew his stuff and was passionate about the country and its history. Tarragona is a must see place!! highly recommend doing the tours that stop in the beach towns, Sitges, only in the summer though, as nearly everything was closed and the time we had to explore was wasted.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small-Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Frieda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Tarragona and Sitges tour tour was a wonderful experience for anyone with an interest in the Roman period. Beautiful views and Sitges was a complete complement from forest to beautiful town.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small-Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Alan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing trip--especially once you get to Costa Brava--mixing it with the rich and famous--make sure you take your bathers and a towel--beautiful spot--take time to find a cafe and have a meal and a beer and watch the world go buy

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message